Magazine | Smithsonian Magazinehttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenThu, 22 Apr 2021 14:00:00 +0000Readers Respond to the April 2021 Issuehttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/may-discussion-1-180977466/Your feedback on our coverage of the Tulsa Race Massacre and moreThu, 22 Apr 2021 14:00:00 +0000Lessons Learnedhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/lessons-learned-180977463/A photographic homage to a momentous education experimentThu, 22 Apr 2021 14:00:00 +0000Secretary Lonnie Bunch on the Power of Research at the Smithsonianhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/power-research-lonnie-bunch-smithsonian-180977501/We can accomplish more when we unite our robust scientific capabilities with our educational reachThu, 22 Apr 2021 12:00:00 +0000The New Science of Motherhoodhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/new-science-motherhood-180977456/Through studies of fetal DNA, researchers are revealing how a child can shape a mom's heart and mind—literallyThu, 22 Apr 2021 11:00:00 +0000What a Vintage Guidebook Taught Me About Oregon's Past and Presenthttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/travel-guidebook-oregon-past-present-180977454/Our writer takes a quirky trip through Oregon, from a wilderness lodge to a Gilded Age saloon to a town hidden undergroundThu, 22 Apr 2021 11:00:00 +0000When Is Kente Cloth Worn and More Questions From Our Readershttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/kente-cloth-wear-ask-smithsonian-more-questions-180977464/You've got questions. We've got expertsWed, 21 Apr 2021 13:30:00 +0000Before He Wrote a Thesaurus, Roget Had to Escape Napoleon's Dragnethttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/roget-gets-last-word-180977459/At the dawn of the 19th century, the young Brit got caught in an international crisis while touring EuropeWed, 21 Apr 2021 13:00:00 +0000An Epic Monarch Migration Faces New Threatshttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/epic-monarch-butterfly-migration-faces-threats-180977449/The butterflies’ path, which stretches thousands of miles, is endangered by an array of challenges, including changes in climate and pesticidesWed, 21 Apr 2021 12:00:00 +0000How the Associated Press Got Its Start 175 Years Agohttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/associated-press-turns-175-years-old-180977462/A newsworthy birthday for a venerable source of trusted reportingWed, 21 Apr 2021 11:00:00 +0000The Unmatched Bravery of the Harlem Hellfightershttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/umatched-bravery-harlem-hellfighters-180977458/A salute to the all-Black World War I fighting unitTue, 20 Apr 2021 13:30:00 +0000Why the Peace Corps’ Mission Is Needed Now More Than Everhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/peace-corps-60th-birthday-180977461/On its 60th anniversary, a moment of reckoning arrives for the nation's globe-trotting volunteersTue, 20 Apr 2021 13:00:00 +0000An Exclusive Look at James Turrell's Visionary Artwork in the Arizona Deserthttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/james-turrell-visionary-artwork-arizona-desert-180977452/In the American Southwest, the famed light-bending artist is putting the final touches on Roden Crater, his ambitious, mind-boggling masterpieceTue, 20 Apr 2021 11:00:00 +0000These Are the Winners of Smithsonian Magazine's 18th Annual Photo Contesthttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/these-are-winning-photos-smithsonian-magazines-18th-annual-photo-contest-180977370/From India to Antarctica, these pictures capture the passion, solitude and surprise of a year unlike any otherThu, 01 Apr 2021 13:01:00 +0000Secretary Lonnie Bunch on What Makes for a Great Museum Exhibitionhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/lonnie-bunch-great-museum-exhibition-180977158/A well-curated show makes the unknown feel familiar—and reveals the unexpected Fri, 19 Mar 2021 15:00:00 +0000How Mrs. Edge Saved the Birdshttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-mrs-edge-saved-birds-180977167/Meet a forgotten hero of our natural world whose brave campaign to protect birds charted a new course for the environmental movementFri, 19 Mar 2021 14:15:57 +0000This Summer, a New Smithsonian Exhibition Takes You Inside Béisbolhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/inside-beisbol-180977165/At the American History Museum, cover all the bases with Latino ballplayersFri, 19 Mar 2021 12:30:00 +0000How the Baseball Cap Went From Athletic Gear to Fashion Statementhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/history-baseball-cap-180977162/A tip of the cap to the nation’s crowning accessoryFri, 19 Mar 2021 11:00:00 +0000A Brief History of the Harmonicahttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/history-harmonica-180977157/How the world’s handiest instrument took over American musicFri, 19 Mar 2021 11:00:00 +0000Is the Artwork of Sophie Taeuber-Arp Still Avant-Garde?https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/it-still-avant-garde-180977156/Decades after she painted this canvas, a new show reconsiders a misunderstood Swiss artistFri, 19 Mar 2021 10:00:00 +0000Biologist Marie Fish Catalogued the Sounds of the Ocean for the World to Hearhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/biologist-marie-fish-catalogued-sounds-ocean-world-hear-180977152/Scientists once thought marine life kept quiet. Then the Navy tapped an aptly named researcher with an open mindThu, 18 Mar 2021 15:48:44 +0000Readers Respond to the March 2021 Issuehttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/april-discussion-180977160/Your feedback on our coverage of polar bears, Juanita Moody and the U.S. Capitol Peace MonumentThu, 18 Mar 2021 15:00:00 +0000How Can Suburbs Control Deer Populations? And More Questions From Our Readershttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/suburbs-control-deer-populations-ask-smithsonian-180977159/You've got questions. We've got expertsThu, 18 Mar 2021 11:00:00 +0000The Wild World of a New Nature Preserve in Ecuadorhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/wild-world-new-nature-preserve-ecuador-180977166/Scientists have already begun discovering new species in the hotbed of biodiversityThu, 18 Mar 2021 10:00:00 +0000Looking Back at the Tulsa Race Massacre, 100 Years Laterhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/tulsa-race-massacre-century-later-180977145/Confronting the murderous attack on the most prosperous black community in the nationWed, 17 Mar 2021 12:01:00 +0000The Unrealized Promise of Oklahomahttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unrealized-promise-oklahoma-180977174/How the push for statehood led a beacon of racial progress to oppression and violenceWed, 17 Mar 2021 12:00:00 +0000The Wolf That Discovered Californiahttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/wolf-discovered-california-conservation-ranchers-180977179/Nearly a century after the last wolf was eradicated in the state, a lone female arrived and established a pack. Not everyone is cheeringTue, 16 Mar 2021 14:20:00 +0000A Small Band of Panamanian Golden Frogs Is Saving Their Species From Oblivionhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/small-band-panamanian-golden-frog-saving-species-oblivion-180977151/Victims of a deadly fungus, the amphibians are now being selectively bred through a program at the Smithsonian's National ZooTue, 16 Mar 2021 13:00:00 +0000A Brief History of the Invention of the Home Security Alarmhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/history-home-security-alarm-180977002/A hardworking nurse envisioned a new way to know who was at the doorFri, 26 Feb 2021 13:00:00 +0000The Fever That Struck New Yorkhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/fever-struck-new-york-180976997/The front lines of a terrible epidemic, through the eyes of a young doctor profoundly touched by tragedyFri, 26 Feb 2021 12:00:00 +0000Secretary Lonnie Bunch on Healing a Divided Nationhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/bending-towards-justice-180976999/We must use the lessons of the past to help our country grow and move forwardThu, 25 Feb 2021 17:44:57 +0000Readers Respond to the January/February Issuehttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/march-discussion-2020-180977005/Your feedback on Yellowstone's history, Reconstruction and moreThu, 25 Feb 2021 16:47:39 +0000The Tragic Irony of the U.S. Capitol's Peace Monumenthttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/tragic-irony-peace-monument-us-capitol-180976998/An unfinished Civil War memorial became an allegory for peace—and a scene of insurrectionThu, 25 Feb 2021 16:44:25 +0000How Navajo Physicians Are Battling the Covid-19 Pandemichttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/healers-navajo-nation-pandemic-covid-19-180976994/Combining traditional medicine and modern science, these courageous doctors have risen to the challengeWed, 24 Feb 2021 13:00:00 +0000A New Exhibition Brings Artist Dusti Bongé Into the Lighthttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/exhibition-dusti-bonge-180977001/The overlooked Mississippi painter's strong connection to the South infused her workTue, 23 Feb 2021 16:00:00 +0000Will We Ever Send Humans to Venus?https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/will-we-ever-send-humans-venus-180977003/You’ve got questions. We’ve got expertsTue, 23 Feb 2021 14:00:00 +0000The Once-Classified Tale of Juanita Moody: The Woman Who Helped Avert a Nuclear Warhttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/juanita-moody-woman-helped-avert-nuclear-war-180976993/America’s bold response to the Soviet Union depended on an unknown spy agency operative whose story can at last be toldTue, 23 Feb 2021 13:00:00 +0000