Chenango County Historical Society & Museum

45 Rexford Street, Norwich, NY 13815 - United States





Free Everyday

First established in 1939, the Chenango County Historical Society (CCHS) received an absolute charter in 1956. Ward School No. 2 was acquired in 1958 with renovations beginning immediately. Since reopening as a museum in 1962, Ward School No. 2 has been the home of the CCHS for more than five decades. The campus has expanded greatly since then, with the acquisition of the one-room Ross Schoolhouse (Preston), Loomis Barn (Tyner), and the Chenango Canal building, home to packet boat model the “Lillie.”


The primary organization dedicated to actively and comprehensively preserving the history of Chenango County, CCHS celebrates local culture – unique traditions, noteworthy residents, and unusual stories. Museum visitors are immersed in the center of Chenango County’s past through exhibits exploring the rich history of the local region.

Admission is a free-will donation left up to each visitor's discretion. We are able to remain a sustainable community resource thanks to the tremendous generosity of our patrons.

Participation in Museum Day is open to any tax-exempt or governmental museum or cultural venue on a voluntary basis. Smithsonian magazine encourages museum visitation, but is not responsible for and does not endorse the content of the participating museums and cultural venues, and does not subsidize museums that participate.