Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenThu, 23 Oct 2014 13:22:33 +0000The Best Places in America to See Fall Bird Migrationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-america-see-fall-bird-migrations-180953083/All across the country, birds are making the trek south for the winter—here are some of the best places to witness their journeyThu, 23 Oct 2014 13:22:33 +0000World’s Most Beautiful Cemeterieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-beautiful-cemeteries-180953102/A visit to these hauntingly beautiful cemeteries illuminates more than just mortalityWed, 22 Oct 2014 19:21:39 +0000The London Graveyard That’s Become a Memorial for the City’s Seedier Pasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/london-graveyard-s-become-memorial-citys-seedier-past-180953104/Thousands of bodies from London’s first red light district are buried beneath a lot in the South Bank, an area under massive redevelopmentTue, 21 Oct 2014 19:31:37 +0000Exclusive: The Chimpanzees of Gombe National Park Make Their Street View Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/chimpanzees-gombe-national-park-street-view-debut-180953035/For its latest collection, Google traveled to the African rainforest where Jane Goodall pioneered her groundbreaking chimp researchTue, 21 Oct 2014 14:00:00 +0000Prehistoric Rock Art to Visit Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/prehistoric-rock-art-visit-around-world-180952989/Scientists just discovered some of the world's oldest art in a cave in Indonesia. Want to see more prehistoric masterpieces? Here are eight other optionsThu, 16 Oct 2014 18:16:03 +0000The Best Places in America to See Fossilshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/travel-through-time-national-fossil-day-180952992/October 15 is National Fossil Day—here are some of the best places in America to take a trip back in geological timeWed, 15 Oct 2014 15:12:42 +0000San Gabriel Mountains Designated A National Monumenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/san-gabriel-mountains-designated-national-monument-180952991/President Obama grants federal protection to half of the California mountain rangeFri, 10 Oct 2014 14:27:58 +0000Need Some Alone Time? Check Out America's Coolest Ghost Townshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/americas-coolest-ghost-towns-180952954/Old mines, abandoned buildings, and the occasional curse: Ghost towns cover the United States, and they make for a fun detourThu, 09 Oct 2014 19:55:03 +0000New Mexico's Skies Burst With Color During World's Largest Hot Air Balloon Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/new-mexicos-skies-burst-color-during-hot-air-balloon-festival-180952918/The 43rd Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta sends hundreds of hot air balloons soaring into the skyMon, 06 Oct 2014 19:13:55 +0000America's Best Fall Color Driveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/americas-best-fall-color-drives-180952907/Want to be dazzled by Mother Nature’s fall foliage display? Just hop in the car.Wed, 01 Oct 2014 20:10:04 +0000On the Hunt for the World's Most Spectacular Sky Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/quest-northern-lights-180952894/Photojournalist Randall Hyman journeys north to Tromsø, Norway, in search of the northern lightsWed, 01 Oct 2014 18:05:46 +0000From the Biggest to the Longest, Five Amazing Caves To Visithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/biggest-longest-five-amazing-caves-visit-180952892/New measurements revealed the world's largest cave, which is unfortunately off-limits. But what are some other impressive underworlds open for visitors?Wed, 01 Oct 2014 16:33:41 +0000Helsinki Has a Plan to Get People to Stop Owning Cars http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/helsinki-has-plan-to-get-people-stop-owning-cars-180952694/A system being developed in Finland would allow people to subscribe to all kinds of mobility options and pay for everything on their phonesTue, 30 Sep 2014 16:25:25 +0000Lonesome George, the Last Tortoise of His Kind, Is on Posthumous Display in NYC http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/lonesome-george-last-tortoise-his-kind-posthumous-display-nyc-180952833/Driven to extinction by overhunting, the world's last Pinta Island tortoise is now a taxidermy display at New York's American Museum of Natural HistoryFri, 26 Sep 2014 15:01:48 +0000Can't Make It to the Moon? Head to Arizona Insteadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/cant-make-it-to-the-moon-head-to-arizona-instead-180952821/In 1967, the United States Geological Survey turned an old volcano into a lunar training ground for astronautsThu, 25 Sep 2014 14:30:12 +0000Celebrating Pittsburgh, the City Behind Pro Football, Big Macs and the Polio Vaccinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/celebrating-pittsburgh-city-behind-pro-football-big-macs-and-polio-vaccine-180952839/The Pennsylvanian city had more lives than a cat and thrives as a hub of innovationWed, 24 Sep 2014 21:05:43 +0000A Private Tour of the CIA's Incredible Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/private-tour-cias-incredible-museum-180952738/Inside the agency's headquarters is a museum filled with relics from half a century of cloak-and-dagger exploitsTue, 23 Sep 2014 20:33:23 +0000Step Inside the World's Most Dangerous Garden (If You Dare)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/step-inside-worlds-most-dangerous-garden-if-you-dare-180952635/The Poison Garden at England's Alnwick Garden is beautiful—and filled with plants that can kill youMon, 22 Sep 2014 19:15:22 +0000Building the World's First Carbon-Neutral Cityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/building-the-worlds-first-carbon-neutral-city-180952772/Masdar City, near Abu Dhabi, boasts green buildings, a fleet of electric cars and massive solar arrays. But will the experiment work?Mon, 22 Sep 2014 16:05:53 +0000Best Places to Celebrate Oktoberfest Other Than Munichhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-celebrate-oktoberfest-outside-munich-180952714/If drinking beer and eating schnitzel alongside 6 million people doesn't appeal to you, here are places to celebrate while avoiding Munich's crowdsFri, 19 Sep 2014 12:40:00 +0000Why is Ai Weiwei Breaking Into Alcatraz?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-ai-weiwei-breaking-into-alcatraz-180952742/China's most controversial artist selected America's most notorious prison as the home for his new showThu, 18 Sep 2014 13:54:34 +0000Maine's Most Interesting Lighthouseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/maine-lighthouses-180951882/Shipwrecks, poetry and alien encounters: The lighthouses dotting Maine's coast pack a double punch of beauty and historyFri, 12 Sep 2014 14:48:24 +0000Frank Gehry’s Biomuseo in Panama, Finally Open for Businesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/frank-gehrys-biomuseo-panama-finally-open-business-180952677/The eye-popping structure devoted to the nation’s vibrant ecosystems makes its grand debutThu, 11 Sep 2014 18:12:13 +0000Google Street View Brings Egypt's Pyramids To A Computer Near Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/egypts-great-pyramids-come-computer-near-you-google-street-view-180952653/From ancient citadels to the Great Sphinx, you can now explore Egypt's wonders in the digital worldWed, 10 Sep 2014 09:00:00 +0000Explore 50 Wilderness Areas Across Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/50-wilderness-areas-across-america-180952504/To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Wilderness Act, explore 50 different wilderness areas around the countryWed, 03 Sep 2014 20:53:12 +000010 Historic Canal Towns to Visit That Aren't Venicehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/historic-canal-towns-visit-arent-venice-180952331/Venice might be the most famous town to feature picturesque waterways, but beautiful canals can be found all over the globeThu, 28 Aug 2014 18:49:24 +0000Photos from La Tomatina, the World's Biggest Food Fighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/la-tomatina-spains-biggest-food-fight-180952489/On the last Wednesday of August each year, a small Spanish town erupts into a food fight featuring tomato-throwing Wed, 27 Aug 2014 21:49:52 +0000