Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenFri, 19 Dec 2014 17:26:58 +000010 Thrilling Trips to Take with Smithsonian Journeys in 2015http://www.smithsonianmag.com/sponsored/10-Smithsonian-Journeys-trips-take-2015-180952578/From ancient fortresses in Sri Lanka to safaris in the shadow of Kilimanjaro, explore the world with Smithsonian JourneysFri, 19 Dec 2014 17:26:58 +0000The Most Beautiful Drone Travel Videos of 2014http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/most-beautiful-drone-travel-videos-2014-180953650/2014 was the year of the aerial drone travel video—here are some of the best of the bestThu, 18 Dec 2014 16:24:17 +0000Evotourism: Great Places to Celebrate Evolution Around the Globehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/evotourism-180953631/From lemurs to Neanderthals, here's our latest guide so you can travel the globe to enjoy what Darwin famously called "endless forms most beautiful"Wed, 17 Dec 2014 19:26:13 +0000When Texas Was at the Bottom of the Seahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/when-texas-was-bottom-sea-180953653/A hike to the “top of Texas,” the world’s most famous fossil reef, leads to a new sense of the sublimeWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Want to Excite Your Inner Dinosaur Fan? Pack Your Bags for Albertahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/want-excite-inner-dinosaur-fan-pack-bags-for-alberta-180953654/Canada’s badlands are the place to see fantastic dinosaur fossils (and kitsch)—and eye-opening new evidence about the eve of their fallWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How Australia Put Evolution on Darwin’s Mindhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/australia-put-evolution-darwins-mind-180953651/The famous naturalist’s revolutionary theory first took shape not in the Galápagos but in the primeval Blue MountainsWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Six Historic Trains That Embody the Holiday Spirithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/six-holiday-train-rides-take-2014-180953603/Trains have always been a part of holiday celebrations—so why not hop aboard this season? Here are six seasonally appropriate rides to considerMon, 15 Dec 2014 13:07:42 +0000A Sea of Fog Completely Filled the Grand Canyonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/sea-fog-completely-filled-grand-canyon-180953609/Known as total cloud inversion, the weather phenomenon is quite rare—and spectacularFri, 12 Dec 2014 18:08:41 +0000Christmas Markets Might Be the Best Reason to Spend the Holidays in Europehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/christmas-markets-might-be-best-reason-spend-holidays-europe-180953515/From mulled wine to intricate ornaments, Europe's Christmas markets are a mix of food, goods and holiday cheerThu, 04 Dec 2014 15:11:02 +0000Rescuing Jorge Prelorán’s Films From Storage And Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/long-storage-jorge-prelorans-documentaries-again-see-light-day-180953465/The Smithsonian’s Film Archives is reintroducing the world to the influential work of the Argentine-American filmmakerWed, 03 Dec 2014 22:48:36 +0000The Deadly Dilemma Facing Romania's Brown Bearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/deadly-dilemma-facing-romanias-brown-bears-180953502/Around the Carpathian Mountains, frustrated farmers and high-paying sport hunters are helping to set the highest bear hunting quotas yet allowedTue, 02 Dec 2014 14:00:00 +0000Haunting Drone Footage of Chernobyl Townhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/haunting-drone-footage-chernobyl-180953495/"Postcards from Pripyat, Chernobyl" shows a drone's-eye view of the city nearly three decades after nuclear disasterMon, 01 Dec 2014 21:16:38 +0000What to Give to the Traveler in Your Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/2014-smithsonian-gift-guides-traveler-180953442/From clothespin reading lights to a clear-bottom kayak, gifts for every traveler (and price point)Wed, 26 Nov 2014 17:00:30 +0000Stuck at the Airport? Why Not Take In an Art Exhibithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/stuck-airport-why-not-take-art-exhibit-180953432/A missed connection or delayed arrival doesn't have to ruin your time at the airport, especially if your airport has an art showTue, 25 Nov 2014 20:33:49 +0000An Electric Fence Wards Off Sharkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/electric-fence-wards-sharks-180953380/South Africa has begun testing a humane way to make its beaches saferTue, 25 Nov 2014 16:43:28 +0000The Science of How to Fly Stress-Free Over the Holidayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/fly-stress-free-over-holidays-180953397/From getting to the airport to avoiding lost luggage, a little research can help you have a stress-free plane tripMon, 24 Nov 2014 18:31:06 +0000Before Instagram, Memorializing Asia’s Most Traveled Roadshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/instagram-memorializing-asias-most-traveled-roads-180953429/From Moroccan postcards to Japanese scrolls, the Sackler Gallery explores five centuries of travel around the Asian continentFri, 21 Nov 2014 19:03:00 +0000Prague's Famous John Lennon Wall: Is It Over, or Reborn?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/pragues-famous-john-lennon-wall-it-over-or-just-reborn-180953415/Art students painted over the famous landmark to make space for the next generation of artists—and people are already festooning the wall with new graffitiFri, 21 Nov 2014 17:39:08 +0000Where to See the Oldest Artifacts in the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/whats-oldest-thing-you-can-see-museum-180953279/From a royal soccer ball to a very old book, see humanity's history of innovation in ten amazing everyday objectsMon, 17 Nov 2014 21:18:33 +0000Experience Van Gogh's 'Starry Night' on This Beautiful Illuminated Bike Pathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/experience-van-goghs-starry-night-beautiful-solar-bike-path-180953322/To mark the 125th anniversary of the artists' death, a group of designers have lit a solar-powered path through historic Van Gogh sitesFri, 14 Nov 2014 22:02:37 +0000A Third of Natural World Heritage Sites Are in Dangerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/third-natural-world-heritage-sites-are-danger-180953328/From the Florida Everglades to Africa's first national park, many crucial protected areas are in serious troubleFri, 14 Nov 2014 15:27:13 +0000What the Heck Are Wallabies Doing in Ireland?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-heck-are-wallabies-doing-ireland-180953304/Normally spotted in Australia, the marsupial species is thriving on a remote island off the Irish coastWed, 12 Nov 2014 17:27:06 +0000A Las Vegas Bathroom and 9 Other Unexpected Places to See the Berlin Wallhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/las-vegas-bathroom-unexpected-places-to-see-berlin-wall-180953226/Twenty five years ago, the Berlin Wall came crumbling down. Today, segments can be found in over 140 memorials worldwideThu, 06 Nov 2014 19:01:47 +0000"I’ve Lived the Life of 500 People": The Photography of Art Wolfehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ive-lived-life-500-people-photography-art-wolfe-180953144/<i>Earth Is My Witness</i> chronicles Wolfe's 40-year career as a photographerTue, 04 Nov 2014 18:01:52 +0000An Awe-Inspiring Altar Remembers One Latino Artist's Guiding Spirit http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/awe-inspiring-altar-remembers-one-latino-artists-guiding-spirit-180953215/At the American History Museum, an installation reimagines the life story of a Latina artist and writerFri, 31 Oct 2014 19:19:40 +0000The Best Places Around the World to See Bats (by the Millions)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-around-world-see-bats-180953185/Bat tourism might sound creepy, but it may be the best way to help bat conservation around the worldFri, 31 Oct 2014 10:00:00 +0000Festivals of the Dead Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/festivals-dead-around-world-180953160/In the United States, Halloween is mostly about candy, but elsewhere in the world celebrations honoring the departed have a spiritual meaningThu, 30 Oct 2014 12:00:00 +0000This Grave Atlas Shows Where to Find the Distinguished Deceasedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/grave-atlas-shows-where-find-distinguished-deceased-180953187/We know where the bodies are buried ... take a virtual tour of world cemeteries that host famous artists and roguesWed, 29 Oct 2014 18:01:49 +0000Take a Trip Through Edgar Allan Poe's Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/take-trip-through-edgar-allan-poes-america-180953067/From his birth in Boston to his death in Baltimore, check out places that were important to America's favorite macabre authorTue, 28 Oct 2014 13:34:24 +0000The Best Places in America to See Fall Bird Migrationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-america-see-fall-bird-migrations-180953083/All across the country, birds are making the trek south for the winter—here are some of the best places to witness their journeyThu, 23 Oct 2014 13:22:33 +0000World’s Most Beautiful Cemeterieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-beautiful-cemeteries-180953102/A visit to these hauntingly beautiful cemeteries illuminates more than just mortalityWed, 22 Oct 2014 19:21:39 +0000