Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenFri, 19 Sep 2014 12:40:00 +0000Best Places to Celebrate Oktoberfest Other Than Munichhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-celebrate-oktoberfest-outside-munich-180952714/If drinking beer and eating schnitzel alongside 6 million people doesn't appeal to you, here are places to celebrate while avoiding Munich's crowdsFri, 19 Sep 2014 12:40:00 +0000Why is Ai Weiwei Breaking Into Alcatraz?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-ai-weiwei-breaking-into-alcatraz-180952742/China's most controversial artist selected America's most notorious prison as the home for his new showThu, 18 Sep 2014 13:54:34 +0000Maine's Most Interesting Lighthouseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/maine-lighthouses-180951882/Shipwrecks, poetry and alien encounters: The lighthouses dotting Maine's coast pack a double punch of beauty and historyFri, 12 Sep 2014 14:48:24 +0000Frank Gehry’s Biomuseo in Panama, Finally Open for Businesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/frank-gehrys-biomuseo-panama-finally-open-business-180952677/The eye-popping structure devoted to the nation’s vibrant ecosystems makes its grand debutThu, 11 Sep 2014 18:12:13 +0000Google Street View Brings Egypt's Pyramids To A Computer Near Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/egypts-great-pyramids-come-computer-near-you-google-street-view-180952653/From ancient citadels to the Great Sphinx, you can now explore Egypt's wonders in the digital worldWed, 10 Sep 2014 09:00:00 +0000Explore 50 Wilderness Areas Across Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/50-wilderness-areas-across-america-180952504/To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Wilderness Act, explore 50 different wilderness areas around the countryWed, 03 Sep 2014 20:53:12 +000010 Historic Canal Towns to Visit That Aren't Venicehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/historic-canal-towns-visit-arent-venice-180952331/Venice might be the most famous town to feature picturesque waterways, but beautiful canals can be found all over the globeThu, 28 Aug 2014 18:49:24 +0000Photos from La Tomatina, the World's Biggest Food Fighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/la-tomatina-spains-biggest-food-fight-180952489/On the last Wednesday of August each year, a small Spanish town erupts into a food fight featuring tomato-throwing Wed, 27 Aug 2014 21:49:52 +0000The World's Most Colorful Beacheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-colorful-beaches-180952354/From green sand to glass, here are some of the most eye-popping beaches around the worldTue, 26 Aug 2014 15:29:55 +0000Commemorate the War of 1812 With These Bicentennial Eventshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/commemorate-war-1812-bicentennial-events-180952421/Gain new insight into the events of 1814 by attending these reenactments, concerts, walking tours and mealsFri, 22 Aug 2014 15:57:39 +0000Amid the Heated Debates, Iraqi Immigrants Struggle to Make a Living in Arizonahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/amid-heated-debates-iraqi-immigrants-struggle-make-living-arizona-180952433/ Familiar fare—qeema, biryani, dolma—offers comfort to the thousands of refugees starting life over in PhoenixThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000A Carpet of 750,000 Flowers Blooms in Belgiumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/carpet-flowers-blooms-belgium-180952365/To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Turkish workers' migrating to Belgium, a colorful flower carpet has bloomed in BrusselsFri, 15 Aug 2014 19:42:06 +0000Save the Sharks By Swimming With Themhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/save-sharks-swimming-them-180952302/Ecotourism is helping promote shark conservation around the world—while also boosting local economies.Thu, 14 Aug 2014 14:17:44 +0000Paris Brings the Beach to the Banks of the Seinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/paris-river-has-become-beach-180952270/During the summer months, the French capital usually empties out, but the city is hoping to reverse the trend with these urban oasesTue, 12 Aug 2014 15:43:22 +0000Can Eco-Conscious Travelers Do Anything To Fly Green?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/if-you-travel-and-care-about-environment-you-should-buy-carbon-offsets-180952222/Buying carbon offsets won't stop global warming, but if you're traveling, it's your best individual option for reducing your carbon footprintMon, 11 Aug 2014 17:51:53 +0000Inspiring Photos of the Biggest, Brightest Supermoon of 2014http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/inspiring-photos-biggest-brightest-supermoon-2014-180952318/Feast your eyes on these snapshots from around the worldMon, 11 Aug 2014 17:23:13 +0000Ride Taiwan's "Sunrise Train" into a Sea of Cloudshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/sponsored/ride-taiwans-sunrise-train-into-the-cloud-180951763/A miraculous feat of engineering, the Alishan Forest Railway carries passengers to a land of world-class tea and sought-after sunrisesFri, 08 Aug 2014 17:28:15 +0000Baboquivari Peak Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/baboquivari-peak-wilderness-180952519/Scenic desert, rock climbing, splendid vistasSun, 03 Aug 2014 21:23:52 +0000Wrangell – Saint Elias Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/wrangell-saint-elias-wilderness-180952515/Caribou, glaciers, World Heritage SiteSun, 03 Aug 2014 20:57:41 +0000Seney National Wildlife Refugehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/seney-national-wildlife-refuge-180952579/String bogs, sand dune islands and carnivorous plantsSun, 03 Aug 2014 20:42:34 +0000Teton Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/teton-wilderness-180952577/The continental divide, wild rivers and grey wolvesSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:55:32 +0000Gaylord Nelson Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/gaylord-nelson-wilderness-180952576/Pristine sandscapes, boreal forest and wild gameSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:52:41 +0000Dolly Sods Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/dolly-sods-wilderness-180952575/Rocky plains, upland bogs and a variety of floraSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:50:20 +0000Alpine Lakes Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/alpine-lakes-wilderness-180952574/Diverse forests, outstanding rock-climbing and scenic lakesSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:44:55 +0000Ramsey's Draft Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ramseys-draft-wilderness-180952572/Neotropical migrant birds, mountain biking and brook troutSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:41:56 +0000Breadloaf Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/breadloaf-wilderness-180952571/Presidential Range, the Norske Trail, moose and black bearsSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:38:44 +0000High Uintas Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/high-uintas-wilderness-180952570/Alpine ecosystem, numerous birds and colorful quartziteSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:36:09 +0000Guadalupe Mountains Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/guadalupe-mountains-wilderness-180952569/Exposed fossil reef, rough hiking and extreme weatherSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:32:33 +0000Citico Creek Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/citico-creek-wilderness-180952568/Virgin forest, Unicoi Mountains and steep-walled valleysSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:29:16 +0000Badlands Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/badlands-wilderness-180952567/Coyotes, bighorn sheep, mixed-grass prairies and fossil-filled canyonsSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:23:46 +0000Congaree National Park Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/congaree-national-park-wilderness-180952566/Hardwood forests, Southeastern woodpeckers and floodplainsSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:20:09 +0000Allegheny Islands Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/allegheny-islands-wilderness-180952565/Seven islands, placid-water canoeing, turkey buzzards and songbirdsSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:17:05 +0000Kootznoowoo Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/kootznoowoo-wilderness-1-180952518/Brown bears, coastal forests, rocky spiresSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:04:37 +0000Sawtooth Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/sawtooth-wilderness-180952533/Clean air, jagged peaks and alpine lakesSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:01:19 +0000Opal Creek Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/opal-creek-wilderness-180952563/Lush mosses, ancient trees and scenic vantage pointsSun, 03 Aug 2014 17:00:11 +0000Charon's Garden Wilderness Area, Wichita Mountainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/charon-gardens-wilderness-area-180952562/Rock-climbing, bison and granite canyonsSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:56:02 +0000West Sister Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/west-sister-island-180952561/Shady hackberry trees, WWII history and great blue heronsSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:39:50 +0000Chase Lake Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/chase-lake-wilderness-180952560/More than 30,000 white pelicans and an isolated alkali lakeSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:36:14 +0000Joyce Kilmer-Slickrock Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/joyce-kilmer-slickrock-wilderness-180952559/Old-growth forest, 60 miles of trail, herbaceous plantsSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:32:39 +0000Otis Pike Fire Island High Dune Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/otis-pike-fire-island-high-dune-wilderness-180952558/White beaches, grassy wetlands and waterfowlSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:27:31 +0000Gila Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/gila-wilderness-180952557/High mesas, juniper woodland, hot springsSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:23:59 +0000Great Swamp National Wildlife Refugehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/great-swamp-national-wildlife-refuge-180952556/Extensive wetlands, cattail marshes and rare bog turtlesSun, 03 Aug 2014 16:19:30 +0000Pemigewasset Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/pemigewasset-wilderness-180952555/Expansive views, ragged peaks and mixed forest of hardwood and coniferSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:39:18 +0000Death Valley Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/death-valley-wilderness-180952550/Vast fields of shimmering sand dunes, nocturnal creatures and extreme temperaturesSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:35:47 +0000Fort Niobrara Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/fort-niobrara-wilderness-180952549/Rolling sand hills, roaming bison, prairie and wooded valleysSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:25:51 +0000Gates of the Mountains Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/gates-mountains-wilderness-180952548/The Lewis and Clark Trail, gray limestone and big horn sheepSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:19:58 +0000Hercules Glades Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/hercules-glades-wilderness-180952546/Open grassland, forested knobs and dogwood treesSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:10:51 +0000Black Creek Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/black-creek-wilderness-180952545/Floodplains, red maples and white sand riverbanksSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:07:36 +0000Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/boundary-waters-canoe-area-wilderness-180952544/1,175 lakes, Paleo-Indian culture and gray wolvesSun, 03 Aug 2014 15:03:50 +0000Sylvania Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/sylvania-wilderness-180952543/Virgin forests, lakes and sugar maples Sun, 03 Aug 2014 14:59:21 +0000Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshorehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonianmag/sleeping-bear-dunes-national-lakeshore-180952542/Massive sand dunes, Lake Michigan shoreline, northern hardwoodSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:54:49 +0000Monomoy Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/monomoy-wilderness-180952541/Migratory birds, shifting sand dunes and hundreds of gray sealsSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:52:39 +0000Moosehorn (Baring Unit) Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/moosehorn-baring-unit-wilderness-180952540/Migratory birds, wooded lakes and rolling hillsSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:42:48 +0000Caribou-Speckled Mountain Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/caribou-speckled-mountain-wilderness-180952539/Spectacular fall colors, moose and stunning vistasSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:38:47 +0000Breton Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/breton-wilderness-180952538/Thousands of seabirds, geologically young island formations and saltwater marshesSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:34:39 +0000Kisatchie Hills Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/kisatchie-hills-wilderness-180952537/Flat-topped mesas, steep cliffs and feral hogsSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:31:38 +0000Clifty Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/clifty-wilderness-180952536/Hemlock thickets, sandstone arches and scenic river vistasSun, 03 Aug 2014 14:27:22 +0000Charles C. Deam Wilderness Areahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/charles-c-deam-wilderness-area-180952535/Geode-laden streams and Karst topographySun, 03 Aug 2014 14:22:27 +0000Garden of the Gods Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/garden-gods-wilderness-180952534/Carved ridges, bird-watching, massive sandstone formations Sun, 03 Aug 2014 14:18:10 +0000Hells Canyon Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/hells-canyon-wilderness-180952532/Deep river gorge, Seven Devils Mountains, ponderosa pineSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:40:23 +0000Hawaii Volcanoes Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/hawaii-volcanoes-wilderness-180952531/Erupting vents, Mauna Loa, shadeless lava fieldsSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:38:17 +0000Ellicott Rock Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ellicott-rock-wilderness-180952530/Rugged terrain, tall peaks, Wild and Scenic Chattooga RiverSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:35:05 +0000Marjory Stoneman Douglas Wilderness, Everglades National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/everglades-national-park-180952529/Tropical climates, pine rocklands, Florida pantherSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:31:13 +0000Pelican Island National Wildlife Refugehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/pelican-island-national-wildlife-refuge-180952527/ Small, island, pelicansSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:22:31 +0000Lost Creek Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/lost-creek-wilderness-180952526/Bighorn sheep, spectacular rock formations, alpine foothillsSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:17:38 +0000Desolation Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/desolation-wilderness-180952525/Glacially smooth, expansive, Pacific Crest TrailSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:14:36 +0000Dry Creek Wildernesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/dry-creek-wilderness-180952524/Sandstone bluffs, pine-hardwood forest, steep slopesSun, 03 Aug 2014 13:12:08 +0000For WWI Anniversary, the Tower of London Has Become Surrounded by a Sea of Poppieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/wwi-anniversary-tower-london-bleeding-poppies-180952236/888,246 red ceramic flowers encircle the landmark structure in remembrance of fallen soldiersFri, 01 Aug 2014 20:12:56 +0000The Winding History of the Mazehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/winding-history-maze-180951998/Love the idea of getting lost in crooked pathways? Check out the National Building Museum's summer installationThu, 31 Jul 2014 21:31:29 +0000Beautiful Drone Video Captures Rarely Visited Area of Arizona's Vermilion Cliffshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/vermilion-cliffs-drone-video-180951947/Filmmaker Tristan Greszko takes us on an aerial journey through the isolated White Pocket of Vermilion Cliffs National MonumentTue, 29 Jul 2014 17:57:02 +0000This Hiker Is Trying to Make It from Mexico to Canada in Just 59 Dayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/hiker-trying-make-it-mexico-canada-just-59-days-180952192/Hikers and runners are trying to cover the country's longest, most iconic trails, faster than anyone ever has beforeTue, 29 Jul 2014 14:47:19 +0000How Do You Build the World's Tallest Water Slide?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-do-you-build-worlds-tallest-waterslide-180952069/From conceptualization to the first plunge, building the world's tallest water slide takes more trial-and-error than you might believeMon, 28 Jul 2014 15:09:01 +0000Airbus Demos A Near-Silent, Zero-Emission Planehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/airbus-demos-a-near-silent-zero-emission-plane-180952165/The E-Fan 2.0 is the first step on the road to all-electric and hybrid flightFri, 25 Jul 2014 19:39:14 +0000Surfers, Sunsets, and Dancing Girls: How Air Travel Came To Hawaiihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/surfers-sunsets-and-dancing-girls-how-air-travel-came-hawaii-180952170/“Hawaii by Air” opens today at the National Air and Space Museum, tracing the history of air travel to America’s “most exotic state.”Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:05:53 +0000How to Plan the Most Beautiful Stroll Through a Cityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-to-plan-the-most-beautiful-stroll-through-a-city-180952161/A team of researchers has used crowdsourcing to develop an algorithm that can map out the most eye-pleasing walksFri, 25 Jul 2014 16:03:37 +0000