Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenFri, 22 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000This Park in Ecuador is One of the Most Biodiverse Places on Earth http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/amazonian-rainforest-one-most-biodiverse-places-earth-180955364/Yasuní National Park in the Amazon rainforest may have more species of life than anywhere else in the world Fri, 22 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000This Obscura Day, Discover the Curiosities in Your Own Backyardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/discover-local-wonders-on-obscura-day-180955270/Creepy dolls, KGB secrets and unexpected pinball troves—media startup Atlas Obscura invites readers to explore their own hometowns on May 30Thu, 21 May 2015 15:22:14 +0000The "New Jerusalem" of Ethiopiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-new-jerusalem-of-ethiopia/No one knows for certain why the Lalibela churches share many similarities with Judaism, but scholars propose a handful of holy theoriesThu, 21 May 2015 15:13:12 +0000When Colorado Was (And in Many Ways Still Is) the Switzerland of Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/colorado-switzerland-america-180955293/A hundred years ago, city slickers looking for wild times in Rocky Mountain National Park invented a new kind of American vacationWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Urine for a Treat With a Tour of These Five Sewer Systemshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/five-fascinating-sewer-tours-180955201/Tunnels, drains and other wastewater structures to explore, from ancient Rome to present-day New YorkWed, 20 May 2015 16:04:24 +0000Visit Frida Kahlo’s Recreated Garden to See the Plants That Influenced Her Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/visit-frida-kahlos-recreated-garden-to-see-the-plants-that-influenced-her-art-180955255/The New York Botanical Garden is showing rare paintings and drawings alongside the types of flora Kahlo herself once cultivatedTue, 19 May 2015 20:28:59 +0000Urban Explorationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/urban-exploration-180955267/Cool finds in America's citiesMon, 18 May 2015 19:19:44 +0000A Long-Forgotten, Underground Tunnel in D.C. Is Finally Getting Some Fresh Airhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/underground-tunnel-dc-finally-getting-fresh-air-180955206/The 75,000-square-foot space underneath the city's Dupont Circle will become an impressive new art spaceMon, 18 May 2015 19:01:14 +000035 Years Later, Where You Can Still See Signs of the Mt. St. Helens Eruptionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-see-signs-americas-deadliest-eruption-180955278/Thirty-five years after Mt. St. Helens blew its top, the landscape is full of stark remindersSat, 16 May 2015 13:19:57 +0000New Photo Book Explores Places the Dead Don’t Resthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/new-photo-book-explores-places-dead-dont-rest-180955265/From mossy burial caves to bone-filled churches, photographer Paul Koudounaris spent a dozen years documenting sites where the living and dead interactFri, 15 May 2015 14:01:18 +0000Haute Stuff: Nine Unique Gifts to Buy in Parishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/nine-unique-gifts-to-buy-paris-180955233/Leave room in your suitcase for these irresistible items made by French artisansTue, 12 May 2015 17:47:43 +0000Why the Best Way to See Iceland Is by Horsehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/why-the-best-way-to-see-iceland-is-by-horse-180955104/The country’s landscape is surreal and one-of-a-kind—so is a ride on the Icelandic equineTue, 12 May 2015 13:10:43 +0000How the Giant "Cosmic Navel" Formed in Utahhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-giant-cosmic-navel-formed-utah-180955188/The unique landform in Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument is essentially one of the biggest potholes on EarthWed, 06 May 2015 19:49:54 +0000Dramatic Images of Berlin in May 1945, Set Against the City's Prosperous Presenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/spring-berlin-1945-and-today-180955146/"Spring in Berlin" compares Germany's capital city at the end of World War II and todayWed, 06 May 2015 14:01:58 +0000These History-Making Artifacts Can Only be Found at Presidential Librarieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/pieces-presidential-history-most-unusual-artifacts-presidential-museums-180955160/From coconut shells to boat cloaks, these mementos tell fascinating tales from American presidential historyTue, 05 May 2015 13:37:12 +0000Eight of the World's Best Destinations for Stargazinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-best-stargazing-destinations-180955159/Where to find the clearest, darkest skies – from Pennsylvania to the Canary IslandsTue, 05 May 2015 10:00:00 +0000Six Spectacular Rides in the Bicycle Kingdomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/sponsored/spectacular-rides-taiwan-bicycle-kingdom-180955066/With thousands of kilometers of new bike paths, Taiwan has emerged as one of the world's great cycling destinationsFri, 01 May 2015 15:11:02 +0000Seven of the Most Unusual McDonald’s Around the World http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/most-unique-mcdonalds-around-world-180955090/From Roswell to Norway, the quirkiest spots to get a Big MacFri, 01 May 2015 13:37:39 +0000The Reason Why D.C. Is Between Maryland and Virginiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-reason-why-dc-is-between-maryland-and-vi/Washington, D.C. is named after the first U.S. president. But do you know how he chose its location?Thu, 30 Apr 2015 18:39:05 +0000Is the Croissant Really French?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/croissant-really-french-180955130/A brief history of the croissant – from kipfel to CronutThu, 30 Apr 2015 16:27:24 +0000Where to Celebrate the History of American Jazzhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/jazz-tour-america-180955127/These six spots are just a short riff on what makes the musical genre particular to the United StatesThu, 30 Apr 2015 15:39:13 +0000The Adorable and Heroic Animals of the Museum of Maritime Pets http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/adorable-heroic-animals-museum-maritime-pets-180955012/Telling the stories of dogs in sailor hats and cats in life jacketsMon, 27 Apr 2015 14:42:59 +0000One Way to Visit Bhutan Is By Way of El Pasohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/one-way-to-visit-bhutan-is-by-way-el-paso-180955065/After making its debut at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, a temple from the Himalayan kingdom is uniquely reincarnated on a Texan university campusFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:41:17 +0000The Abandoned Settlements Inside National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/abandoned-settlements-hidden-inside-national-parks-180955064/Once vibrant places, these relics now linger inside America's great natural treasuresFri, 24 Apr 2015 12:05:10 +0000How Farms Became the New Hot Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-farms-became-new-hot-suburb-180954956/A new real estate trend has developments planted around working farms. But are these communities sustainable?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Filipino Cuisine Was Asian Fusion Before "Asian Fusion" Existedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/filipino-cuisine-asian-fusion-180954947/A wave of Filipino families in Las Vegas is putting a Pacific spin on fried chicken, hot dogs and Sin City itselfThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Is Paris Still a Haven for Black Americans?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/paris-still-haven-black-americans-180955082/The City of Light once drew thousands of black expats across the Atlantic, but does it still have the same appeal?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 17:52:22 +0000Redesigning the World's Most Remote Human Settlementhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/redesigning-worlds-most-remote-island-180955011/Why architects are hosting a competition to help inhabitants keep living there—and how you can visit Wed, 22 Apr 2015 19:10:38 +0000Welcome to the Tundra: Kobuk Valley, One of America's Least-Visited National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/welcome-tundra-and-one-americas-least-visited-national-parks-180955038/Dramatic weather and impassable terrain shouldn’t stop you from visiting this parkMon, 20 Apr 2015 16:11:56 +0000Cowboys Without Horseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/smithsonian-channel/cowboys-without-horses/The nomadic people of Arctic Siberia depend on reindeer for food and warmth. But when they escape, the only way to herd them back is on footMon, 20 Apr 2015 14:38:20 +0000How Einstein's Brain Ended Up at the Mütter Museum in Philadelphiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-einsteins-brain-ended-mutter-museum-philadelphia-180954987/Sixty years after the great scientist's death, his gray matter is on display Fri, 17 Apr 2015 18:32:50 +0000The 20 Best Small Towns to Visit in 2015http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-small-towns-2015-180954993/From sea to shining sea, our top picks for the most amazing American small towns to see this yearThu, 16 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Only a Handful of People Can Enter the Chauvet Cave Each Year. Our Reporter Was One of Them.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/only-handful-people-can-enter-chauvet-cave-each-year-our-reporter-was-one-them-180954981/A rare trip inside the home of the world’s most breathtaking cave painting leaves lasting memoriesTue, 14 Apr 2015 17:07:08 +0000The World's Most Interesting (and Accessible) Library Collectionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/libraries-world-eight-most-interesting-and-accessible-collections-180954974/From the Magna Carta to Winnie the Pooh, what you can see at some of the world's great librariesTue, 14 Apr 2015 16:40:18 +0000What the Final, Major 150th Anniversary Civil War Reenactment Looked Likehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/civil-war-reenactors-battle-appomattox-180954969/What war—and surrender—looked like on the 150th anniversary of the end of the Civil WarMon, 13 Apr 2015 17:51:00 +0000The Curtain Hasn't Closed Quite Yet on America's Longest-Running Puppet Theaterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/magic-strings-bob-baker-marionette-theater-180954908/Though its namesake died last year, the Bob Baker Marionette Theater is still hosting performances for audiences of all agesFri, 10 Apr 2015 14:46:21 +0000Kyrgyzstan’s Otherworldly Cities of the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/kyrgyzstan-ancestral-cemeteries-180954829/Photographer Margaret Morton traveled to the remote corners of the Central Asian nation to document its city-like ancestral cemeteriesThu, 09 Apr 2015 19:33:43 +0000Ask Smithsonian: Could the Volcano Beneath Yellowstone National Park Ever Erupt?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/ask-smithsonian-could-volcano-beneath-yellowstone-national-park-ever-erupt-180954904/The good news is that an eruption there is highly unlikely, but the bad news is that it would be hugeThu, 09 Apr 2015 17:44:46 +0000Inside the Atom Smasher at CERNhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/inside-atom-smasher-cern-180954913/What you can see on a tour of the largest particle collider in the world, now that it's back in actionThu, 09 Apr 2015 17:38:03 +0000Two Eerie Medusa Heads Watch Over Turkey’s Waterwayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/two-eerie-medusa-heads-watch-over-turkeys-waterways-1-180954883/Why the Greek monster stares out from an ancient cistern in IstanbulWed, 08 Apr 2015 16:04:11 +0000Where to Go to Visit the Oldest Breweries in America http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/celebrate-national-beer-day-visiting-oldest-breweries-america-180954894/To commemorate National Beer Day, throw back a cold one for historyTue, 07 Apr 2015 16:30:31 +0000Planned Afghan Cultural Center Will Honor Ancient Statues Destroyed by the Talibanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/winning-design-honors-ancient-statues-taliban-destroyed-180954840/The winning design will memorialize two ancient Buddha statues demolished in 2001Mon, 06 Apr 2015 19:17:05 +0000These Breathtaking Photos of Vietnam’s Caves Bring Out the Armchair Spelunker in Everyonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/these-breathtaking-photos-vietnams-caves-bring-out-armchair-spelunker-everyone-180954879/Photographer Ryan Deboodt discovers beauty in this subterranean realmMon, 06 Apr 2015 14:12:20 +0000Where to See the Fabled Fabergé Imperial Easter Eggshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-you-can-see-fabled-imperial-russia-faberge-eggs-180954863/Remnants of a vanished past, Fabergé Easter eggs live on in museums and collections across the worldFri, 03 Apr 2015 12:05:43 +0000How to Travel by Scenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-travel-scent-180954807/We tend to privilege our sense of sight, but why not be led by your nose?Thu, 02 Apr 2015 12:27:21 +0000Inside Los Angeles's Strangest Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/inside-las-strangest-museum-180954803/Enter the dark and completely unique world of the Museum of Jurassic TechnologyTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:44:07 +0000What's It Like to Take the First Photos of a New Volcanic Island?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/whats-it-like-take-photos-new-volcanic-island-180954750/Meet the man who climbed to the top and took these stunning shotsFri, 27 Mar 2015 17:19:32 +0000Fishing Bans Create a Glimmer of Hope on the Great Barrier Reefhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/fishing-bans-create-glimmer-hope-great-barrier-reef-180954760/No-take reserves have helped commercially important species bounce back, but the reef still faces some serious threatsThu, 26 Mar 2015 16:00:00 +0000"The World's Most Dangerous Trail" Reopens This Weekhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-dangerous-trail-reopens-week-180954747/A once-deadly path is now a modern tourist attractionThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:32:01 +0000