Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:41:17 +0000One Way to Visit Bhutan Is By Way of El Pasohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/one-way-to-visit-bhutan-is-by-way-el-paso-180955065/After making its debut at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, a temple from the Himalayan kingdom is uniquely reincarnated on a Texan university campusFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:41:17 +0000The Abandoned Settlements Inside National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/abandoned-settlements-hidden-inside-national-parks-180955064/Once vibrant places, these relics now linger inside America's great natural treasuresFri, 24 Apr 2015 12:05:10 +0000Filipino Cuisine Was Asian Fusion Before "Asian Fusion" Existedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/filipino-cuisine-asian-fusion-180954947/A wave of Filipino families in Las Vegas is putting a Pacific spin on fried chicken, hot dogs and Sin City itselfThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How Farms Became the New Hot Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-farms-became-new-hot-suburb-180954956/A new real estate trend has developments planted around working farms. But are these communities sustainable?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Is Paris Still a Haven for Black Americans?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/paris-still-haven-black-americans-180955082/The City of Light once drew thousands of black expats across the Atlantic, but does it still have the same appeal?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 17:52:22 +0000Redesigning the World's Most Remote Human Settlementhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/redesigning-worlds-most-remote-island-180955011/Why architects are hosting a competition to help inhabitants keep living there—and how you can visit Wed, 22 Apr 2015 19:10:38 +0000Welcome to the Tundra: Kobuk Valley, One of America's Least-Visited National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/welcome-tundra-and-one-americas-least-visited-national-parks-180955038/Dramatic weather and impassable terrain shouldn’t stop you from visiting this parkMon, 20 Apr 2015 16:11:56 +0000Cowboys Without Horseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/smithsonian-channel/cowboys-without-horses/The nomadic people of Arctic Siberia depend on reindeer for food and warmth. But when they escape, the only way to herd them back is on footMon, 20 Apr 2015 14:38:20 +0000How Einstein's Brain Ended Up at the Mütter Museum in Philadelphiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-einsteins-brain-ended-mutter-museum-philadelphia-180954987/Sixty years after the great scientist's death, his gray matter is on display Fri, 17 Apr 2015 18:32:50 +0000The 20 Best Small Towns to Visit in 2015http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-small-towns-2015-180954993/From sea to shining sea, our top picks for the most amazing American small towns to see this yearThu, 16 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Only a Handful of People Can Enter the Chauvet Cave Each Year. Our Reporter Was One of Them.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/only-handful-people-can-enter-chauvet-cave-each-year-our-reporter-was-one-them-180954981/A rare trip inside the home of the world’s most breathtaking cave painting leaves lasting memoriesTue, 14 Apr 2015 17:07:08 +0000The World's Most Interesting (and Accessible) Library Collectionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/libraries-world-eight-most-interesting-and-accessible-collections-180954974/From the Magna Carta to Winnie the Pooh, what you can see at some of the world's great librariesTue, 14 Apr 2015 16:40:18 +0000What the Final, Major 150th Anniversary Civil War Reenactment Looked Likehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/civil-war-reenactors-battle-appomattox-180954969/What war—and surrender—looked like on the 150th anniversary of the end of the Civil WarMon, 13 Apr 2015 17:51:00 +0000The Curtain Hasn't Closed Quite Yet on America's Longest-Running Puppet Theaterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/magic-strings-bob-baker-marionette-theater-180954908/Though its namesake died last year, the Bob Baker Marionette Theater is still hosting performances for audiences of all agesFri, 10 Apr 2015 14:46:21 +0000Kyrgyzstan’s Otherworldly Cities of the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/kyrgyzstan-ancestral-cemeteries-180954829/Photographer Margaret Morton traveled to the remote corners of the Central Asian nation to document its city-like ancestral cemeteriesThu, 09 Apr 2015 19:33:43 +0000Ask Smithsonian: Could the Volcano Beneath Yellowstone National Park Ever Erupt?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/ask-smithsonian-could-volcano-beneath-yellowstone-national-park-ever-erupt-180954904/The good news is that an eruption there is highly unlikely, but the bad news is that it would be hugeThu, 09 Apr 2015 17:44:46 +0000Inside the Atom Smasher at CERNhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/inside-atom-smasher-cern-180954913/What you can see on a tour of the largest particle collider in the world, now that it's back in actionThu, 09 Apr 2015 17:38:03 +0000Two Eerie Medusa Heads Watch Over Turkey’s Waterwayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/two-eerie-medusa-heads-watch-over-turkeys-waterways-1-180954883/Why the Greek monster stares out from an ancient cistern in IstanbulWed, 08 Apr 2015 16:04:11 +0000Where to Go to Visit the Oldest Breweries in America http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/celebrate-national-beer-day-visiting-oldest-breweries-america-180954894/To commemorate National Beer Day, throw back a cold one for historyTue, 07 Apr 2015 16:30:31 +0000Planned Afghan Cultural Center Will Honor Ancient Statues Destroyed by the Talibanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/winning-design-honors-ancient-statues-taliban-destroyed-180954840/The winning design will memorialize two ancient Buddha statues demolished in 2001Mon, 06 Apr 2015 19:17:05 +0000These Breathtaking Photos of Vietnam’s Caves Bring Out the Armchair Spelunker in Everyonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/these-breathtaking-photos-vietnams-caves-bring-out-armchair-spelunker-everyone-180954879/Photographer Ryan Deboodt discovers beauty in this subterranean realmMon, 06 Apr 2015 14:12:20 +0000Where to See the Fabled Fabergé Imperial Easter Eggshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-you-can-see-fabled-imperial-russia-faberge-eggs-180954863/Remnants of a vanished past, Fabergé Easter eggs live on in museums and collections across the worldFri, 03 Apr 2015 12:05:43 +0000How to Travel by Scenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-travel-scent-180954807/We tend to privilege our sense of sight, but why not be led by your nose?Thu, 02 Apr 2015 12:27:21 +0000Inside Los Angeles's Strangest Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/inside-las-strangest-museum-180954803/Enter the dark and completely unique world of the Museum of Jurassic TechnologyTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:44:07 +0000What's It Like to Take the First Photos of a New Volcanic Island?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/whats-it-like-take-photos-new-volcanic-island-180954750/Meet the man who climbed to the top and took these stunning shotsFri, 27 Mar 2015 17:19:32 +0000Fishing Bans Create a Glimmer of Hope on the Great Barrier Reefhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/fishing-bans-create-glimmer-hope-great-barrier-reef-180954760/No-take reserves have helped commercially important species bounce back, but the reef still faces some serious threatsThu, 26 Mar 2015 16:00:00 +0000"The World's Most Dangerous Trail" Reopens This Weekhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-dangerous-trail-reopens-week-180954747/A once-deadly path is now a modern tourist attractionThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:32:01 +0000Eight Modern Speakeasies With Real Roots in the 1920shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/explore-american-speakeasies-still-offering-1920s-intrigue-180954683/These speakeasies across the United States do justice to the Jazz AgeWed, 25 Mar 2015 16:43:37 +0000Where to Catch Tulip Maniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-catch-tulip-mania-180954717/The Netherlands isn’t the only place for glorious tulip displays Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:02:58 +0000Make a Pilgrimage to the Brand New John Wayne Birthplace & Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/john-wayne-birthplace-museum-180954679/Opening in April, a museum to match the movie star's legacyMon, 23 Mar 2015 15:37:29 +0000The Underappreciated and Forgotten Sites of the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/underappreciated-forgotten-sites-civil-war-180954579/To commemorate the end of the war 150 years ago, here are fascinating locales that remind us of the conflict's sprawling impactThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:50:47 +0000Rome's Very Short Street With a Long, Magnificent Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/rome-very-short-street-180954580/Taste the food life on the Via Margutta, once home to Fellini and since 1953, the scene of Americans' sweetest Roman HolidayThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Retracing the Footsteps of China's Patron Saint of Tourismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/retracing-footsteps-china-patron-saint-tourism-180954581/Travelers are discovering the Ming dynasty's own Indiana Jones, an adventurer who dedicated his life to exploring his country's Shangri-LasThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finally, the Beauty of France's Chauvet Cave Makes its Grand Public Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/france-chauvet-cave-makes-grand-debut-180954582/A high-tech recreation of the immortal artworks shines a new light on the dawn of human imaginationThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The 11 Most Endearing Small Streets Worth Visitinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/top-ten-small-streets-worth-visiting-180954589/These tiny corridors around the world invite you in with their charm and surprising level of bustleThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Best Places to See Nature After Darkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-see-nature-after-dark-180954634/The sun may power most of our world—but some things come alive only at nightThu, 19 Mar 2015 13:30:27 +0000The Town That Breeds Olympic Runnershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/smithsonian-channel/the-town-that-breeds-olympic-runners/Bekoji, a small town in the Ethiopian highlands, has produced five Olympic champions in the past ten yearsThu, 19 Mar 2015 13:20:40 +0000See Street Art Around the World via Googlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/see-street-art-around-world-google-180954605/Thousands of new images help preserve the art formTue, 17 Mar 2015 19:41:35 +0000Severe Solar Storm Paints the Sky Green on St. Patrick's Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/severe-solar-storm-paints-sky-green-st-patricks-day-180954608/A burst of particles from the sun is hitting our atmosphere and lighting up the night as far south as IllinoisTue, 17 Mar 2015 18:03:02 +0000These Spellbinding Light Phenomena Will Make You Believe in Magichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/these-spellbinding-light-phenomena-will-make-you-believe-magic-180954561/See seven stunning natural light shows from around the worldTue, 17 Mar 2015 11:00:00 +0000The World is Full of Circleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/world-full-circles-180954529/In honor of a very special Pi Day, enjoy this map that explores the human-made and natural structures that come closest to a perfect circleThu, 12 Mar 2015 15:09:35 +000011 Fun Facts About Riohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/11-fun-facts-about-rio-180954485/It’s more than beaches, favelas and that Duran Duran songThu, 12 Mar 2015 13:30:36 +0000Holi 2015: Stunning Photos of Holi, the Festival of Colorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/holi-2015-stunning-photos-holi-festival-colors-180954496/Celebrated all over India and around the world, the Hindu festival heralds the beginning of springMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:39:08 +0000The Soul of Louisianahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-soul-of-louisiana/Where the first American mafias, Louis Armstrong, and chef Emeril Lagasse started out, New Orleans remains the soul of LouisianaMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:18:43 +0000India's Dying Well of Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/indias-well-death-1-180954126/Brave stuntmen have long been riding the near-vertical walls of India's Well of Death—but the popular spectacle is on the declineMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:17:11 +0000Ask Smithsonian: Will the Leaning Tower of Pisa Ever Topple?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/will-leaning-tower-pisa-topple-180954493/Imperceptible changes are occurring, but no worries, a collapse is not in the forecastMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:06:11 +0000Best Places to See Wildflowers Around the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-see-wildflowers-around-us-180954459/Snow and cold got you down? Remember, spring is around the corner, and that means wildflowersFri, 06 Mar 2015 15:10:18 +0000Announcing the Finalists of the 12th Annual Smithsonian.com Photo Contesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/multimedia/12th-annual-smithsonian-photo-contest-finalists-180954445/See the finalists of our 2014 photo contest and vote for the Readers' Choice winnerWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:26:12 +0000The Beautiful Canadian Rockies Shine in the Photography of Chris Burkardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/beautiful-canadian-rockies-shine-photography-chris-burkard-180954417/Known for his work with surfers, Burkard traveled to a much colder climate to immerse himself in a new worldMon, 02 Mar 2015 15:15:10 +0000How "Slurpee" Waves Formed Along a Nantucket Beachhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-slurpee-waves-formed-along-nantucket-beach-video-photos-180954428/New England's record cold created the perfect conditions for waves of slush, offering an unusual opportunity to ski on the beachFri, 27 Feb 2015 18:03:03 +0000Please Touch the Art: 3-D Printing Helps Visually Impaired Appreciate Paintingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/please-touch-art-3-d-printing-helps-visually-impaired-appreciate-paintings-180954420/The new "Touching the Prado" exhibit in Madrid showcases 3-D replicas of paintings, so blind visitors can feel key works of artThu, 26 Feb 2015 19:03:04 +0000The Eiffel Tower Gets a Green Upgradehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/eiffel-tower-gets-green-upgrade-180954401/The landmark now has two wind turbines above its second levelThu, 26 Feb 2015 17:08:41 +0000The Making and Remaking of the Original Ice Hotelhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/making-remaking-ice-hotel-180954387/Often imitated but never duplicated, the world's original ice hotel turns 25 this yearWed, 25 Feb 2015 18:25:51 +0000