Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenFri, 21 Nov 2014 19:03:00 +0000Before Instagram, Memorializing Asia’s Most Traveled Roadshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/instagram-memorializing-asias-most-traveled-roads-180953429/From Moroccan postcards to Japanese scrolls, the Sackler Gallery explores five centuries of travel around the Asian continentFri, 21 Nov 2014 19:03:00 +0000Prague's Famous John Lennon Wall: Is It Over, or Reborn?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/pragues-famous-john-lennon-wall-it-over-or-just-reborn-180953415/Art students painted over the famous landmark to make space for the next generation of artists—and people are already festooning the wall with new graffitiFri, 21 Nov 2014 17:39:08 +0000Where to See the Oldest Artifacts in the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/whats-oldest-thing-you-can-see-museum-180953279/From a royal soccer ball to a very old book, see humanity's history of innovation in ten amazing everyday objectsMon, 17 Nov 2014 21:18:33 +0000Experience Van Gogh's 'Starry Night' on This Beautiful Illuminated Bike Pathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/experience-van-goghs-starry-night-beautiful-solar-bike-path-180953322/To mark the 125th anniversary of the artists' death, a group of designers have lit a solar-powered path through historic Van Gogh sitesFri, 14 Nov 2014 22:02:37 +0000A Third of Natural World Heritage Sites Are in Dangerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/third-natural-world-heritage-sites-are-danger-180953328/From the Florida Everglades to Africa's first national park, many crucial protected areas are in serious troubleFri, 14 Nov 2014 15:27:13 +0000What the Heck Are Wallabies Doing in Ireland?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-heck-are-wallabies-doing-ireland-180953304/Normally spotted in Australia, the marsupial species is thriving on a remote island off the Irish coastWed, 12 Nov 2014 17:27:06 +0000A Las Vegas Bathroom and 9 Other Unexpected Places to See the Berlin Wallhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/las-vegas-bathroom-unexpected-places-to-see-berlin-wall-180953226/Twenty five years ago, the Berlin Wall came crumbling down. Today, segments can be found in over 140 memorials worldwideThu, 06 Nov 2014 19:01:47 +0000"I’ve Lived the Life of 500 People": The Photography of Art Wolfehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ive-lived-life-500-people-photography-art-wolfe-180953144/<i>Earth Is My Witness</i> chronicles Wolfe's 40-year career as a photographerTue, 04 Nov 2014 18:01:52 +0000An Awe-Inspiring Altar Remembers One Latino Artist's Guiding Spirit http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/awe-inspiring-altar-remembers-one-latino-artists-guiding-spirit-180953215/At the American History Museum, an installation reimagines the life story of a Latina artist and writerFri, 31 Oct 2014 19:19:40 +0000The Best Places Around the World to See Bats (by the Millions)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-around-world-see-bats-180953185/Bat tourism might sound creepy, but it may be the best way to help bat conservation around the worldFri, 31 Oct 2014 10:00:00 +0000Festivals of the Dead Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/festivals-dead-around-world-180953160/In the United States, Halloween is mostly about candy, but elsewhere in the world celebrations honoring the departed have a spiritual meaningThu, 30 Oct 2014 12:00:00 +0000This Grave Atlas Shows Where to Find the Distinguished Deceasedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/grave-atlas-shows-where-find-distinguished-deceased-180953187/We know where the bodies are buried ... take a virtual tour of world cemeteries that host famous artists and roguesWed, 29 Oct 2014 18:01:49 +0000Take a Trip Through Edgar Allan Poe's Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/take-trip-through-edgar-allan-poes-america-180953067/From his birth in Boston to his death in Baltimore, check out places that were important to America's favorite macabre authorTue, 28 Oct 2014 13:34:24 +0000The Best Places in America to See Fall Bird Migrationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-america-see-fall-bird-migrations-180953083/All across the country, birds are making the trek south for the winter—here are some of the best places to witness their journeyThu, 23 Oct 2014 13:22:33 +0000World’s Most Beautiful Cemeterieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-beautiful-cemeteries-180953102/A visit to these hauntingly beautiful cemeteries illuminates more than just mortalityWed, 22 Oct 2014 19:21:39 +0000The London Graveyard That’s Become a Memorial for the City’s Seedier Pasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/london-graveyard-s-become-memorial-citys-seedier-past-180953104/Thousands of bodies from London’s first red light district are buried beneath a lot in the South Bank, an area under massive redevelopmentTue, 21 Oct 2014 19:31:37 +0000Exclusive: The Chimpanzees of Gombe National Park Make Their Street View Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/chimpanzees-gombe-national-park-street-view-debut-180953035/For its latest collection, Google traveled to the African rainforest where Jane Goodall pioneered her groundbreaking chimp researchTue, 21 Oct 2014 14:00:00 +0000Prehistoric Rock Art to Visit Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/prehistoric-rock-art-visit-around-world-180952989/Scientists just discovered some of the world's oldest art in a cave in Indonesia. Want to see more prehistoric masterpieces? Here are eight other optionsThu, 16 Oct 2014 18:16:03 +0000The Best Places in America to See Fossilshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/travel-through-time-national-fossil-day-180952992/October 15 is National Fossil Day—here are some of the best places in America to take a trip back in geological timeWed, 15 Oct 2014 15:12:42 +0000San Gabriel Mountains Designated A National Monumenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/san-gabriel-mountains-designated-national-monument-180952991/President Obama grants federal protection to half of the California mountain rangeFri, 10 Oct 2014 14:27:58 +0000Need Some Alone Time? Check Out America's Coolest Ghost Townshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/americas-coolest-ghost-towns-180952954/Old mines, abandoned buildings, and the occasional curse: Ghost towns cover the United States, and they make for a fun detourThu, 09 Oct 2014 19:55:03 +0000New Mexico's Skies Burst With Color During World's Largest Hot Air Balloon Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/new-mexicos-skies-burst-color-during-hot-air-balloon-festival-180952918/The 43rd Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta sends hundreds of hot air balloons soaring into the skyMon, 06 Oct 2014 19:13:55 +0000America's Best Fall Color Driveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/americas-best-fall-color-drives-180952907/Want to be dazzled by Mother Nature’s fall foliage display? Just hop in the car.Wed, 01 Oct 2014 20:10:04 +0000On the Hunt for the World's Most Spectacular Sky Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/quest-northern-lights-180952894/Photojournalist Randall Hyman journeys north to Tromsø, Norway, in search of the northern lightsWed, 01 Oct 2014 18:05:46 +0000From the Biggest to the Longest, Five Amazing Caves To Visithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/biggest-longest-five-amazing-caves-visit-180952892/New measurements revealed the world's largest cave, which is unfortunately off-limits. But what are some other impressive underworlds open for visitors?Wed, 01 Oct 2014 16:33:41 +0000Helsinki Has a Plan to Get People to Stop Owning Cars http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/helsinki-has-plan-to-get-people-stop-owning-cars-180952694/A system being developed in Finland would allow people to subscribe to all kinds of mobility options and pay for everything on their phonesTue, 30 Sep 2014 16:25:25 +0000Lonesome George, the Last Tortoise of His Kind, Is on Posthumous Display in NYC http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/lonesome-george-last-tortoise-his-kind-posthumous-display-nyc-180952833/Driven to extinction by overhunting, the world's last Pinta Island tortoise is now a taxidermy display at New York's American Museum of Natural HistoryFri, 26 Sep 2014 15:01:48 +0000Can't Make It to the Moon? Head to Arizona Insteadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/cant-make-it-to-the-moon-head-to-arizona-instead-180952821/In 1967, the United States Geological Survey turned an old volcano into a lunar training ground for astronautsThu, 25 Sep 2014 14:30:12 +0000