Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/travel/RSS feed for TravelenTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:44:07 +0000Inside Los Angeles's Strangest Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/inside-las-strangest-museum-180954803/Enter the dark and completely unique world of the Museum of Jurassic TechnologyTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:44:07 +0000What's It Like to Take the First Photos of a New Volcanic Island?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/whats-it-like-take-photos-new-volcanic-island-180954750/Meet the man who climbed to the top and took these stunning shotsFri, 27 Mar 2015 17:19:32 +0000Fishing Bans Create a Glimmer of Hope on the Great Barrier Reefhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/fishing-bans-create-glimmer-hope-great-barrier-reef-180954760/No-take reserves have helped commercially important species bounce back, but the reef still faces some serious threatsThu, 26 Mar 2015 16:00:00 +0000"The World's Most Dangerous Trail" Reopens This Weekhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-dangerous-trail-reopens-week-180954747/A once-deadly path is now a modern tourist attractionThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:32:01 +0000Eight Modern Speakeasies With Real Roots in the 1920shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/explore-american-speakeasies-still-offering-1920s-intrigue-180954683/These speakeasies across the United States do justice to the Jazz AgeWed, 25 Mar 2015 16:43:37 +0000Where to Catch Tulip Maniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-catch-tulip-mania-180954717/The Netherlands isn’t the only place for glorious tulip displays Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:02:58 +0000Make a Pilgrimage to the Brand New John Wayne Birthplace & Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/john-wayne-birthplace-museum-180954679/Opening in April, a museum to match the movie star's legacyMon, 23 Mar 2015 15:37:29 +0000The Underappreciated and Forgotten Sites of the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/underappreciated-forgotten-sites-civil-war-180954579/To commemorate the end of the war 150 years ago, here are fascinating locales that remind us of the conflict's sprawling impactThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:50:47 +0000Rome's Very Short Street With a Long, Magnificent Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/rome-very-short-street-180954580/Taste the food life on the Via Margutta, once home to Fellini and since 1953, the scene of Americans' sweetest Roman HolidayThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Retracing the Footsteps of China's Patron Saint of Tourismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/retracing-footsteps-china-patron-saint-tourism-180954581/Travelers are discovering the Ming dynasty's own Indiana Jones, an adventurer who dedicated his life to exploring his country's Shangri-LasThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finally, the Beauty of France's Chauvet Cave Makes its Grand Public Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/france-chauvet-cave-makes-grand-debut-180954582/A high-tech recreation of the immortal artworks shines a new light on the dawn of human imaginationThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The 11 Most Endearing Small Streets Worth Visitinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/top-ten-small-streets-worth-visiting-180954589/These tiny corridors around the world invite you in with their charm and surprising level of bustleThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Best Places to See Nature After Darkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-see-nature-after-dark-180954634/The sun may power most of our world—but some things come alive only at nightThu, 19 Mar 2015 13:30:27 +0000The Town That Breeds Olympic Runnershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/smithsonian-channel/the-town-that-breeds-olympic-runners/Bekoji, a small town in the Ethiopian highlands, has produced five Olympic champions in the past ten yearsThu, 19 Mar 2015 13:20:40 +0000See Street Art Around the World via Googlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/see-street-art-around-world-google-180954605/Thousands of new images help preserve the art formTue, 17 Mar 2015 19:41:35 +0000Severe Solar Storm Paints the Sky Green on St. Patrick's Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/severe-solar-storm-paints-sky-green-st-patricks-day-180954608/A burst of particles from the sun is hitting our atmosphere and lighting up the night as far south as IllinoisTue, 17 Mar 2015 18:03:02 +0000These Spellbinding Light Phenomena Will Make You Believe in Magichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/these-spellbinding-light-phenomena-will-make-you-believe-magic-180954561/See seven stunning natural light shows from around the worldTue, 17 Mar 2015 11:00:00 +0000The World is Full of Circleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/world-full-circles-180954529/In honor of a very special Pi Day, enjoy this map that explores the human-made and natural structures that come closest to a perfect circleThu, 12 Mar 2015 15:09:35 +000011 Fun Facts About Riohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/11-fun-facts-about-rio-180954485/It’s more than beaches, favelas and that Duran Duran songThu, 12 Mar 2015 13:30:36 +0000Holi 2015: Stunning Photos of Holi, the Festival of Colorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/holi-2015-stunning-photos-holi-festival-colors-180954496/Celebrated all over India and around the world, the Hindu festival heralds the beginning of springMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:39:08 +0000The Soul of Louisianahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-soul-of-louisiana/Where the first American mafias, Louis Armstrong, and chef Emeril Lagasse started out, New Orleans remains the soul of LouisianaMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:18:43 +0000India's Dying Well of Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/indias-well-death-1-180954126/Brave stuntmen have long been riding the near-vertical walls of India's Well of Death—but the popular spectacle is on the declineMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:17:11 +0000Will the Leaning Tower of Pisa Ever Topple?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/will-leaning-tower-pisa-topple-180954493/Imperceptible changes are occurring, but no worries, a collapse is not in the forecastMon, 09 Mar 2015 14:06:11 +0000Best Places to See Wildflowers Around the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-see-wildflowers-around-us-180954459/Snow and cold got you down? Remember, spring is around the corner, and that means wildflowersFri, 06 Mar 2015 15:10:18 +0000Announcing the Finalists of the 12th Annual Smithsonian.com Photo Contesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/multimedia/12th-annual-smithsonian-photo-contest-finalists-180954445/See the finalists of our 2014 photo contest and vote for the Readers' Choice winnerWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:26:12 +0000The Beautiful Canadian Rockies Shine in the Photography of Chris Burkardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/beautiful-canadian-rockies-shine-photography-chris-burkard-180954417/Known for his work with surfers, Burkard traveled to a much colder climate to immerse himself in a new worldMon, 02 Mar 2015 15:15:10 +0000How "Slurpee" Waves Formed Along a Nantucket Beachhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-slurpee-waves-formed-along-nantucket-beach-video-photos-180954428/New England's record cold created the perfect conditions for waves of slush, offering an unusual opportunity to ski on the beachFri, 27 Feb 2015 18:03:03 +0000Please Touch the Art: 3-D Printing Helps Visually Impaired Appreciate Paintingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/please-touch-art-3-d-printing-helps-visually-impaired-appreciate-paintings-180954420/The new "Touching the Prado" exhibit in Madrid showcases 3-D replicas of paintings, so blind visitors can feel key works of artThu, 26 Feb 2015 19:03:04 +0000The Eiffel Tower Gets a Green Upgradehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/eiffel-tower-gets-green-upgrade-180954401/The landmark now has two wind turbines above its second levelThu, 26 Feb 2015 17:08:41 +0000The Making and Remaking of the Original Ice Hotelhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/making-remaking-ice-hotel-180954387/Often imitated but never duplicated, the world's original ice hotel turns 25 this yearWed, 25 Feb 2015 18:25:51 +0000This Dutch Wind Wheel Is Part Green Tech Showcase, Part Architectural Attractionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-dutch-wind-wheel-part-green-tech-showcase-part-architectural-attraction-180954377/A giant structure proposed in Rotterdam puts cutting-edge energy tech inside a rotating observation wheel, with room for a hotel and apartmentsMon, 23 Feb 2015 19:11:25 +0000National Park Service Map Shows The Loudest, Quietest Places In the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/national-park-service-map-shows-loudest-quietest-places-us-180954372/Want some peace and quiet? Avoid cities, the East CoastMon, 23 Feb 2015 17:49:13 +0000Best Travel Destinations for Food Foraginghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-travel-destinations-food-foraging-180954353/Forage for wild foods like truffles, herbs and scallops on these guided tours—feasting includedFri, 20 Feb 2015 17:00:00 +0000Charming and Unusual Bookstores Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-interesting-bookstores-180954202/Curl up with a new book—or catch a reading or concert—at these thriving independent bookstores from Mexico City to MelbourneThu, 19 Feb 2015 20:57:51 +0000Who Can Save the Grand Canyon?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/who-can-save-the-grand-canyon-180954329/A holy war is being fought over a proposal to build a $500 million commercial development, on the rim of America's natural treasureThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Mad, Wonderful Photos From Mardi Gras and Carnivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/mardi-gras-carnival-2015-photos-180954347/From New Orleans to Panama to Spain, revelers celebrated Mardi Gras and the days leading up to it with costumes, color and craziness Thu, 19 Feb 2015 17:00:00 +0000How Oregon's Second Largest City Vanished in a Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/vanport-oregon-how-countrys-largest-housing-project-vanished-day-180954040/A 1948 flood washed away the WWII housing project Vanport—but its history still informs Portland's diversityWed, 18 Feb 2015 14:45:24 +0000Louisiana Spotlighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/louisiana-spotlight-180954296/Explore the Bayou StateTue, 17 Feb 2015 15:52:01 +0000Best Places to Celebrate Mardi Gras Outside of New Orleanshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-celebrate-mardi-gras-outside-new-orleans-180954286/The Big Easy might get all the fame, but places from Alabama to the south of France also know how to party before LentTue, 17 Feb 2015 15:33:35 +0000Now's the Time to See Hundreds of Bald Eagleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/weekend-visit-place-boasts-most-bald-eagles-lower-48-180954229/The Winter Wings Festival at Klamath Basin National Wildlife Refuge is one of the longest-running bird festivals in the countryFri, 13 Feb 2015 21:44:49 +0000Five Spots for a Romantic Presidents' Day (or a Presidential Valentine's Day)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/five-spots-romantic-presidents-day-or-presidential-valentines-day-180954231/These locations combine presidential history and romanceFri, 13 Feb 2015 14:10:29 +0000How the Backwater Town of Washington, D.C. Became the Beacon of a Nationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-backwater-town-washington-dc-become-beacon-nation-180954144/As the Anacostia Community Museum delves into daily life in a city at war, author Ernest B. Furgurson recalls the nascence of a city on the verge Wed, 11 Feb 2015 17:03:35 +0000Ten Restaurants the Best Chefs Say Are Worth Traveling Forhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ten-restaurants-chefs-would-travel-any-distance-visit-180954178/These establishments are always worth the trip, according to some of the top chefs in the worldWed, 11 Feb 2015 15:03:30 +0000Chocolate Destinations Around the World to Drool Overhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/world-travel-chocolate-countries-destinations-factory-tour-180954203/These five places from Belgium to Hong Kong offer their own enticing takes on the confectionWed, 11 Feb 2015 14:45:22 +0000Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated for Unesco World Heritage Statushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/frank-lloyd-wright-buildings-nominated-unesco-world-heritage-status-180954155/It's the first time the United States has nominated works of modern architecture Mon, 09 Feb 2015 15:43:53 +0000Japan Announces Plans for the First Hotel Run by Robotshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/japan-announces-plans-first-hotel-run-robots-180954168/Slated to open July 17, the hotel in a Japanese theme park will be staffed by "actroids"Fri, 06 Feb 2015 18:32:50 +0000The World’s Most-Visited Castles and Palaceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/worlds-most-visited-castles-180954081/From Paris to Beijing, these historic castles and palaces draw millions of visitors for a glimpse of the lifestyles of the rich and famousThu, 05 Feb 2015 18:39:42 +0000One Night Each Winter, Devils Run Through the Streets of Barcelonahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/els-foguerons-sa-pobla-gracia-barcelona-festival-january-spain-sant-antoni-180954137/Since the early 1990s, Barcelona's winter bonfire festival has celebrated the intersection of Catalan and Majorcan culturesWed, 04 Feb 2015 18:14:34 +0000