Technology | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/technology/RSS feed for TechnologyenWed, 22 Oct 2014 14:08:28 +0000This Device Tracks Your Sleep Without Ever Touching Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/device-tracks-your-sleep-without-ever-touching-you-180953060/The ResMed S+ monitors your Zzzs from the comfortable distance of your nightstand and offers tips for getting a better restWed, 22 Oct 2014 14:08:28 +0000Exclusive: The Chimpanzees of Gombe National Park Make Their Street View Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/chimpanzees-gombe-national-park-street-view-debut-180953035/For its latest collection, Google traveled to the African rainforest where Jane Goodall pioneered her groundbreaking chimp researchTue, 21 Oct 2014 14:00:00 +0000The 2014 Smithsonian American Ingenuity Award Winnershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/2014-smithsonian-american-ingenuity-award-winners-180953057/These 10 innovators in science, history, society and the arts are a testament to the imagination and hard work that define the nation's spiritThu, 16 Oct 2014 21:00:00 +0000Is This the Future of Robotic Legs?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/future-robotic-legs-180953040/Hugh Herr’s bionic limbs have already revolutionized life for amputees (including himself). Now he’s envisioning new capabilities for everyone elseThu, 16 Oct 2014 20:58:00 +0000How Palmer Luckey Created Oculus Rifthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-palmer-luckey-created-oculus-rift-180953049/The young visionary dreamed up a homemade headset that may transform everything from gaming to medical treatment to engineering—and beyondThu, 16 Oct 2014 20:58:00 +0000Who Needs a Driver? These Navy Boats Are Programmed to Swarm Like Beeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/who-needs-driver-these-navy-boats-are-programmed-swarm-bees-180953005/Using algorithms based on the swarming behavior of ants and bees, the U.S. Navy is turning to driverless boats to protect its shipsTue, 14 Oct 2014 18:08:29 +0000This Stealthy Robot Could Boost Security at Our Portshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-stealthy-robot-could-boost-security-at-our-ports-180952990/MIT researchers have developed a craft to spot pockets of contraband inside ships' hulls Fri, 10 Oct 2014 20:34:53 +000010 Weird Things Humans Have Sent Into the Stratospherehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/10-weird-things-humans-have-sent-stratosphere-180952978/Tied to high-altitude balloons, bacon and LEGO figures have reached heights nearing 100,000 feetThu, 09 Oct 2014 00:29:12 +0000Building a Better Earplughttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/building-a-better-earplug-180952930/Using a series of acoustic filters, DUBS lower the intensity of sounds without muddying themWed, 08 Oct 2014 16:03:04 +0000Need a Quick Diagnosis? A Prescription for What Ails You? The Doctor Will Video Chat With You Nowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/need-quick-diagnosis-prescription-what-ails-you-doctor-will-video-chat-you-now-180952928/One of the hottest trends in health care is telemedicine networks of doctors who diagnose ailments over the phoneMon, 06 Oct 2014 18:46:57 +0000A Mantis Shrimp Inspires a New Camera for Detecting Cancerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/mantis-shrimp-inspires-a-new-camera-for-detecting-cancer-180952927/The mantis shrimp's eyes, which can see differences in polarized light, are informing researchers building a tiny, easy-to-use camera that can spot cancerFri, 03 Oct 2014 19:25:13 +0000Making Super-Telescopes Requires Some Creative Engineeringhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/making-super-telescopes-requires-some-creative-engineering-180952854/The Giant Magellan Telescope, under construction in Chile, could help scientists answer big questions about the universeThu, 02 Oct 2014 20:17:32 +0000Scientists Prove That Telepathic Communication Is Within Reachhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/scientists-prove-that-telepathic-communication-is-within-reach-180952868/An international research team develops a way to say “hello” with your mindThu, 02 Oct 2014 14:36:20 +0000The World Is What It Is Today Because of These Six Innovationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/world-what-it-today-because-these-six-innovations-180952871/In a new book, Steven Johnson describes the many technologies that glass, refrigeration and other fundamental inventions have made possibleTue, 30 Sep 2014 19:16:08 +0000Helsinki Has a Plan to Get People to Stop Owning Cars http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/helsinki-has-plan-to-get-people-stop-owning-cars-180952694/A system being developed in Finland would allow people to subscribe to all kinds of mobility options and pay for everything on their phonesTue, 30 Sep 2014 16:25:25 +0000This Clear Plastic Material Harvests Solar Energy Without You Even Knowing It's Therehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-clear-plastic-material-harvests-solar-energy-without-you-even-knowing-its-there-180952514/ Researchers are developing transparent solar collectors that let sunlight in, while turning ultraviolet and near-infrared light into electricityTue, 30 Sep 2014 16:24:01 +0000Research Into How Squid Camouflage Leads to An Ultra-Sharp Display for Televisions and Smartphoneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/research-into-how-squid-camouflage-leads-to-an-ultra-sharp-display-for-televisions-and-smartphones-180952838/Researchers at Rice University have created pixels 40 times smaller than those found in today's LCD displaysMon, 29 Sep 2014 15:14:52 +0000How the Artist Behind the Giant Landscape Portrait on the Mall Used a Super-Precise GPS Satellite System as a Paintbrushhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-artist-behind-giant-landscape-portrait-mall-used-super-precise-gps-satellite-system-paintbrush-180952856/To create the National Portrait Gallery's "facescape," artist Jorge Rodríguez-Gerada got some high-tech helpFri, 26 Sep 2014 18:58:04 +0000Celebrating Pittsburgh, the City Behind Pro Football, Big Macs and the Polio Vaccinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/celebrating-pittsburgh-city-behind-pro-football-big-macs-and-polio-vaccine-180952839/The Pennsylvanian city had more lives than a cat and thrives as a hub of innovationWed, 24 Sep 2014 21:05:43 +0000Are Tablets the Way Out of Child Illiteracy?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/are-tablets-way-out-child-illiteracy-180952826/Give them technology that they may have never seen before, and students' brains will work wonders Wed, 24 Sep 2014 15:30:49 +0000Building the World's First Carbon-Neutral Cityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/building-the-worlds-first-carbon-neutral-city-180952772/Masdar City, near Abu Dhabi, boasts green buildings, a fleet of electric cars and massive solar arrays. But will the experiment work?Mon, 22 Sep 2014 16:05:53 +0000This Smart Lightbulb Adjusts To Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-smart-lightbulb-adjusts-to-you-180952761/Armed with motion and ambient light sensors, Stack's Alba bulb learns and follows your patternsMon, 22 Sep 2014 13:35:08 +0000The Pay Phone's Journey From Patent to Urban Relichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/first-and-last-pay-phone-180952727/The history of the device that is well on its way to becoming, well, historyThu, 18 Sep 2014 14:53:21 +0000What Idea From Science Fiction Would You Most Like To See Become Reality?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-idea-science-fiction-would-you-most-see-become-reality-180952696/Astronomers, writers and an astronaut weigh in with some interesting answersMon, 15 Sep 2014 19:21:22 +0000Researchers Trick E. Coli Into Making Propanehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/researchers-trick-e-coli-into-making-propane-180952651/European researchers have taken an important first step toward renewable propane, powered by the sunFri, 12 Sep 2014 19:03:16 +0000IBM's Watson Will Match Cancer Patients With Trials at Mayo Clinichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/ibms-watson-will-match-cancer-patients-with-trials-at-mayo-clinic-180952671/By pairing patients with trials in seconds, the supercomputer will help speed the pace of medical innovationThu, 11 Sep 2014 19:56:27 +0000The 5 Biggest Challenges to the Success of the Apple Watchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/5-biggest-challenges-success-apple-watch-180952672/Even though wearables are on the rise, Apple's newest product has its obstacles, from limited battery life to a hefty price tagThu, 11 Sep 2014 16:50:48 +0000Software Creates One Picture That Says It Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-software-creates-one-picture-says-it-all-180952632/Researchers at UC Berkeley have created software that averages image searches into one artistic resultMon, 08 Sep 2014 18:25:23 +0000Google’s Delivery Drones Will Airlift Supplies Practically Anywherehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/googles-delivery-drones-will-airlift-supplies-practically-anywhere-180952607/Project Wing, a development platform, completes test deliveries over AustraliaFri, 05 Sep 2014 14:23:29 +0000The Innovative Spirit: Changing Our World For the Betterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/innovative-spirit-changing-our-world-better-180952004/In partnership with the United States Patent and Trademark Office, we look at the innovative spirit within the Smithsonian and beyondThu, 04 Sep 2014 19:53:20 +0000