Technology | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/technology/RSS feed for TechnologyenFri, 23 Sep 2016 12:00:00 +0000The $10 Million Race to Invent Star Trek's Tricorderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/new-label/the-10-million-race-to-invent-star-treks-t/Star Trek's fictional tricorder is far from becoming a reality. But a $10 million prize from the XPRIZE Foundation is hoping to motivate inventorsFri, 23 Sep 2016 12:00:00 +0000Can This App Cure Your Fear of Flying?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/can-app-cure-your-fear-flying-180960470/No, you're not plummeting from the sky. But the SkyGuru app can help explain why it might feel that way, using real-time flight dataThu, 15 Sep 2016 15:07:12 +0000Google Is Redefining 3D Tech at the New African American History Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-google-changing-3d-tech-museum-african-american-history-180960438/Next spring, visitors will interact with artifacts beyond those in the physical exhibitions Wed, 14 Sep 2016 13:03:00 +0000Will AI Revolutionize Wall Street? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/will-ai-revolutionize-wall-street-180960409/A handful of new hedge funds promise to beat human traders by using artificial intelligenceTue, 13 Sep 2016 13:54:06 +0000The Biggest Mass-Production Submarine of WWIIhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-biggest-mass-production-submarine-of-wwii/Brought into service just five months after Pearl Harbor, the USS Wahoo was built for sizeTue, 13 Sep 2016 12:00:00 +0000How a Deep-Sea Offshore Drilling Rig Workshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/innovation/how-a-deep-sea-offshore-drilling-rig-works/After 22 hours, the crew of the Maersk Interceptor have assembled and lowered 551 feet of pipes into the waterMon, 12 Sep 2016 12:00:00 +0000This NASA-Developed AI Could Help Save Firefighters' Lives http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/nasa-developed-ai-could-help-save-firefighters-lives-180960398/AUDREY, an artificial intelligence system created by NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, helps firefighters navigate through blazesFri, 09 Sep 2016 14:21:48 +0000These Photos of Deconstructed Devices Reveal Their Hidden Beautyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/these-photos-deconstructed-devices-reveal-their-hidden-beauty-180960316/Engineer-artist Todd McLellan finds marvel in blowing out the mundaneThu, 08 Sep 2016 14:23:57 +0000Laser Scientists Are Developing Star Trek's Phaserhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/arts-culture/laser-scientists-are-developing-star-treks-phaser/Some of the technology from Star Trek is already coming to life in the Lockheed Martin labSun, 04 Sep 2016 12:00:00 +0000The Story of the Weber Grill Begins With a Buoyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/story-weber-grill-begins-buoy-180960335/When metalworker George Stephen, Sr. put two halves of a buoy together, he didn't know he was making a charcoal grill that would stand the test of timeFri, 02 Sep 2016 14:56:20 +0000Is Plastic the Secret to Clothes That Will Keep You Cool?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/plastic-secret-clothes-will-keep-you-cool-180960317/Because it allows infrared radiation to escape your body, polyethylene could become key to what we wear in a warming worldThu, 01 Sep 2016 18:10:00 +0000Inspired by Squid, Scientists Create New Materials That Change Color and Texturehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/inspired-by-squid-scientists-create-new-materials-that-change-color-texture-180960286/The technology has a number of potential uses, from anti-glare screens to color-changing clothingWed, 31 Aug 2016 13:00:00 +0000Here's a Food Wrapper You Can Eathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/heres-food-wrapper-you-can-eat-180960287/Made from milk protein, it not only keeps food from spoiling, but it also could keep a lot of plastic out of landfillsTue, 30 Aug 2016 14:30:51 +0000IBM’s Watson Takes On Yet Another Job, as a Weather Forecasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/ibms-watson-takes-yet-another-job-weather-forecaster-180960264/The integration of the supercomputer and weather stations around the world could have a huge impact on global industryFri, 26 Aug 2016 14:46:15 +0000Now, Let the "Olympics" of Sports Startups Beginhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/now-let-olympics-sports-startups-begin-180960220/Eight companies from around the world specializing in athletics will compete in Rio de Janeiro for a 100,000 Euro prizeTue, 23 Aug 2016 14:28:30 +0000 Could This San Francisco Startup Transform Garbage Collecting?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/could-san-francisco-startup-transform-garbage-collecting-180960115/Compology uses sensors and software to plot truck routes to empty only dumpsters that are fullMon, 15 Aug 2016 16:19:56 +0000Google Thinks These 20 Teenagers Could Change Our World for the Betterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/google-thinks-these-20-teenagers-could-change-our-world-for-better-180960097/These kids from around the globe have created innovative new technologies, from malaria-testing apps to water-saving agriculture systemsThu, 11 Aug 2016 17:33:56 +000010 New Ways to Use Droneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/10-new-ways-use-drones-180960061/From fighting wildfires to coaching people on their tennis game, the aerial devices are becoming a tool of choiceWed, 10 Aug 2016 13:33:14 +00003D Print Your Own Breakfasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/3d-print-your-own-breakfast-180960048/A team of researchers at Columbia University has developed a 3D food printer capable of printing and cooking multiple ingredients at one timeTue, 09 Aug 2016 15:50:37 +0000Technology for the Poor Should Help, Not Hurt: An Interview With MIT's Cauam Cardoso http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/technology-poor-should-help-not-hurt-interview-mits-cauam-cardoso-180959999/The PhD candidate is working on ways to systematically evaluate new technologies for the developing worldWed, 03 Aug 2016 15:13:00 +0000Five Ways National Parks Are Embracing Technologyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/five-ways-national-parks-are-embracing-technology-180959970/Cell phones and other screens don't have to detract from the park experienceMon, 01 Aug 2016 15:42:28 +0000