Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenFri, 12 Feb 2016 18:45:00 +0000Obama Just Added Three More National Monumentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/obama-just-added-three-more-national-monuments-180958137/This time, the California desert was the president's preservation focusFri, 12 Feb 2016 18:45:00 +0000Check Out These Vintage Computer Viruses at the Malware Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-these-vintage-computer-viruses-malware-museum-180958090/Relive the horror of watching your computer catch a ‘90s-era virusThu, 11 Feb 2016 14:57:06 +0000NASA Went Retro With Their New Space Travel Postershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasa-went-retro-with-their-new-space-travel-posters-180958086/Travel to the world of tomorrow—today! Wed, 10 Feb 2016 20:00:03 +0000Glow to This Flickering Tribute to Neonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/glow-to-this-flickering-tribute-to-neon-180958084/The past shines at the Museum of Neon Art in Southern CaliforniaWed, 10 Feb 2016 17:06:03 +0000Zika Virus May Spell Trouble for the Rio Olympic Gameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/zika-virus-may-spell-trouble-rio-olympic-games-180958070/U.S Olympic Committee officials suggest that athletes concerned about Zika stay on the sidelines this yearTue, 09 Feb 2016 16:12:27 +0000Board of Sexism in Chess? Check Out These New Exhibitionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/board-of-sexism-in-chess-check-out-these-new-exhibitions-180958069/The World Chess Hall of Fame is showcasing the power of its womenMon, 08 Feb 2016 21:11:25 +0000Julia Child's Provence Kitchen Will Serve Up New Meals as a Cook's Retreathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/julia-childs-provence-kitchen-will-serve-up-new-meals-as-a-cooking-retreat-180958062/An American couple has a vision to preserve and continue the legacy of the famous chefMon, 08 Feb 2016 19:51:36 +0000A Museum Courtyard Will Be Taken Over by a Colorful Webhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-courtyard-will-be-taken-over-colorful-web-180958048/“Weaving the Courtyard” will bring a kaleidoscopic of color to MoMA PS1Fri, 05 Feb 2016 16:30:00 +0000Check Out This Scale Replica of The International Space Stationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-scale-replica-international-space-station-180957989/Pretend you’re in orbit without ever leaving the groundThu, 04 Feb 2016 12:30:00 +0000A Historic Conservation Agreement Will Protect Canada’s Great Bear Rainforesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/historic-conservation-agreement-will-protect-canadas-great-bear-rainforest-180958025/It's a victory for First Nations, loggers, and environmentalistsWed, 03 Feb 2016 15:32:40 +0000Digital Projections Show the Vivid Colors That Once Decorated an Egyptian Templehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/digital-projections-show-the-vivid-colors-that-once-decorated-an-egyptian-temple-180958008/The Metropolitan Museum of Art is adding a bright flourish to the Temple of DendurTue, 02 Feb 2016 19:35:41 +0000100,000 Travelers Were Stranded at a Chinese Train Stationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/100000-travelers-were-stranded-chinese-train-station-180958016/And you thought your holiday commute was badTue, 02 Feb 2016 17:45:00 +0000Williams-Sonoma’s Founder Is Getting His Own Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/williams-sonomas-founder-getting-his-own-museum-180957982/The museum will feature the 4,000-plus pieces of cookware that the kitchenware impresario donated upon his death Fri, 29 Jan 2016 20:30:00 +0000Step Inside a Dalí Painting at This Virtual Reality Exhibithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/step-inside-dali-painting-virtual-reality-exhibit-180957967/Surrealism meets real life in an exploration of a Dalí masterworkThu, 28 Jan 2016 20:03:18 +0000British People Are Building Highways for Hedgehogs Through Their Yardshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/british-people-are-building-highways-hedgehogs-through-their-yards-180957956/Hedgehog populations in England have declined since the 1970s due urban and suburban developmentThu, 28 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000Here Are the World's Most Corrupt Countrieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-worlds-most-corrupt-countries-180957952/Corruption is everywhere, but some nations are more corrupt than others Wed, 27 Jan 2016 22:02:03 +0000Rare White Giraffe Survived Her First Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rare-white-giraffe-survived-her-first-year-180957942/The 15-month old calf has so far survived possible predation from lions, leopards, hyenas and human poachersWed, 27 Jan 2016 18:21:38 +0000This Is the Winning Design for the New World War I Memorialhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/winning-design-new-world-war-i-memorial-180957949/One hundred years later, WWI will finally get a large-scale memorial in Washington, D.C.Wed, 27 Jan 2016 17:02:20 +0000You Can Get an Antarctic Passporthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/you-can-get-antarctic-passport-180957936/Pledge your loyalty to the southernmost continent—and to the ideals of peace, equality and sustainabilityWed, 27 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000China’s Lantern Makers Are Gearing Up for the New Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chinas-lantern-makers-are-gearing-new-year-180957935/Delicate, bright and iconic, China's lanterns symbolize celebration and good luckTue, 26 Jan 2016 17:45:00 +0000These Drawings of Historic Places Were Just Honored by the Library of Congresshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-drawings-historic-places-were-just-honored-library-congress-180957929/Step back in time with architectural drawings of buildings steeped in historyTue, 26 Jan 2016 16:15:00 +0000After Nearly 50 Years, Niagara Falls Might Soon Run Dry Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/niagara-falls-might-soon-run-dry-and-not-first-time-180957932/Repairing a set of 115-year-old bridges may require shutting off the rush of water that usually flows over the fallsTue, 26 Jan 2016 13:30:00 +0000Visit New York’s Guggenheim Museum Without Leaving Your Househttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/visit-new-yorks-guggenheim-museum-without-leaving-your-house-180957926/It's easier than ever to immerse yourself in the iconic, Frank Lloyd Wright-designed museumMon, 25 Jan 2016 20:45:00 +0000A Prison Camp in Montenegro Is Now Becoming a Luxury Resorthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-war-prison-in-montenegro-now-becoming-luxury-resort-180957906/The tiny Mamula island once held more than 2,300 prisoners during World War IIMon, 25 Jan 2016 17:15:00 +0000See the World Like a Paleolithic Cave Dweller With This Replica of the Lascaux Cave Paintingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/see-the-world-like-a-paleolithic-cave-dweller-with-this-replica-lascaux-cave-paintings-180957897/Go back in time with the help of some talented French artistsThu, 21 Jan 2016 20:06:43 +0000One of the Most Popular Pieces of Street Art in Brooklyn Is Coming Down http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-of-the-most-popular-pieces-of-street-art-in-brooklyn-is-coming-down-180957873/“Love Letter Brooklyn” will soon be gone foreverWed, 20 Jan 2016 18:03:36 +0000Don't Miss This Month's Rare Planetary Alignmenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dont-miss-this-months-rare-planetary-alignment-180957874/Five planets will appear together in the sky—all visible to the naked eye Wed, 20 Jan 2016 12:00:00 +0000This Postmodern Art Captures a Tiny Moment of Hope During Romania’s Communist Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/postmodern-art-captures-tiny-moment-hope-during-romanias-communist-years-180957821/Learn about Romania's “unfrozen years” at Bucharest’s Postmodernism MuseumFri, 15 Jan 2016 15:45:00 +0000Get a Big View of the World’s Largest Miniature Train Sethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-street-view-worlds-largest-miniature-train-set-180957815/All aboard the Cute Train to TinytownThu, 14 Jan 2016 18:45:00 +0000Here's Why Nobody Made It Up Mount Everest Last Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nobody-scaled-mount-everest-last-year-180957812/For the first time in over four decades, red tape and poor conditions prevented any climbers from conquering the mountainThu, 14 Jan 2016 16:18:43 +0000These UFO-Like Buildings Are a Space-Age Tourist's Dreamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-ufo-buildings-are-space-age-tourists-dream-180957809/The future is now—follow this tour of UFO architecture found all around the world Thu, 14 Jan 2016 14:00:00 +0000The French Castle That May Have Inspired "Sleeping Beauty" Is Filled With Creepy Mannequinshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/french-castle-may-have-inspired-sleeping-beauty-filled-creepy-mannequins-180957797/In honor of Charles Perrault's birthday, explore the Chateau d'UsseTue, 12 Jan 2016 18:40:06 +0000Watch 100 Drones Dance Their Way to a World Recordhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-drones-dance-their-way-world-record-180957791/The swarm recently took to the skies to Beethoven's Fifth SymphonyTue, 12 Jan 2016 17:15:00 +0000How Museums Are Helping People With Memory Losshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-museums-are-helping-people-memory-loss-180957768/Serving the community means changing museum offerings for guests with Alzheimer's Mon, 11 Jan 2016 17:58:48 +0000This Ancient City Was Three Times Bigger Than Archaeologists Suspectedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-city-was-three-times-bigger-archaeologists-suspected-180957759/Will Crete's tourist boom threaten the archaeological treasures of Knossos? Mon, 11 Jan 2016 15:00:00 +0000Mumbai Is Getting a Museum Designed For and About Its Slumshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/Mumbai-is-Getting-a-Museum-Designed-For-and-About-Its-Slums-180957757/But is a museum showcasing objects created by slum residents ethical or exploitative?Fri, 08 Jan 2016 19:00:00 +0000Shakespeare’s First Folio Goes on Tour in the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/shakespeares-first-folio-goes-tour-us-180957736/Rare copies of the tome, containing 36 of the Bard’s plays, will visit every state for the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s deathThu, 07 Jan 2016 14:30:00 +0000Chinese Capitalists Built a Gigantic, Golden Statue of Chairman Maohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chinese-capitalists-built-gigantic-golden-statue-chairman-mao-180957724/Like the Chairman's legacy, this 121-foot statue is hard to ignoreWed, 06 Jan 2016 18:05:12 +0000Hawaii’s Humpback Whales Have Gone Missinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hawaiis-humpback-whales-have-gone-missing-180957703/Scientists expect about 10,000 whales to visit Hawaii's tropical waters this winter—but they're taking their timeMon, 04 Jan 2016 18:30:00 +0000Ring in the New Year by Dressing Up as a Bearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ring-new-year-dressing-up-bear-180957695/Romania's famed bear dance scares away winterThu, 31 Dec 2015 17:32:30 +0000Ancient Pompeii Is Alive Again as Italian Officials Unveil Six Restored Ruinshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/Ancient-Pompeii-is-Alive-Again-as-Italian-Officials-Unveil-Six-Restored-Ruins-180957660/The “Grand Pompeii Project” helps to preserve the dwellingsTue, 29 Dec 2015 16:00:00 +0000SpaceX's Rocket Stuck the Landinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/spacex-stuck-landing-its-rocket-180957612/During the first Falcon 9 launch in six months, the first stage booster rocket make a neat u-turn in air and a clean landing on the groundTue, 22 Dec 2015 17:39:50 +0000A New San Francisco Overpass Could Be Bedecked With Demonic-Looking Catshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-san-francisco-overpass-could-be-bedecked-demonic-looking-cats-180957599/"Catbridge": Unnerving or adorable? Mon, 21 Dec 2015 18:30:29 +0000This Weekend's Southern Lights Were Nothing Short of Spectacularhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/weekends-southern-lights-were-nothing-short-spectacular-180957598/The Northern Hemisphere hasn't yet cornered the market for glorious auroraeMon, 21 Dec 2015 17:24:37 +0000The Capitol’s Christmas Tree Is (Partially) Made of Trashhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/capitols-christmas-tree-partially-made-trash-180957568/Marine debris bedecks a 74-foot tree from Alaska Thu, 17 Dec 2015 14:30:09 +0000