Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenMon, 05 Dec 2016 20:44:24 +0000Hawaii Faces Down Nearly Three Feet of Snowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/its-snowing-hawaii-three-feet-180961294/And more of the white stuff is on its way to the Big Island’s tallest peaks Mon, 05 Dec 2016 20:44:24 +0000These Photos Bring the Women’s Movement to Life http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-photos-bring-womens-movement-life-180961283/<i>Catching the Wave</i> dramatizes the large and small moments of second-wave feminism Mon, 05 Dec 2016 17:44:11 +0000Ambitious New Public Art Project Will Turn the Thames Into an Illuminated Canvas http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ambitious-new-public-art-project-will-turn-thames-illuminated-canvas-180961087/When <i>Illuminated River</i> launches in 2018, it will be the biggest such project ever undertaken Mon, 05 Dec 2016 16:53:25 +0000Escape With a Virtual Ride on the World’s Steepest Train http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/escape-virtual-ride-worlds-steepest-train-180961275/Things are looking up (down, right and left) thanks to a 360-degree video captures a stunning Norwegian fjord Mon, 05 Dec 2016 16:40:01 +0000Dallas Proposes the Country's Largest Urban Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dallas-proposes-countrys-largest-urban-park-180961256/A 10,000-acre Nature District could turn the Trinity River into the city’s centerpieceMon, 05 Dec 2016 16:24:22 +0000For 50 Years, This Swedish City Has Celebrated Christmas Season With a Giant Straw Goathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/50-years-swedish-city-has-celebrated-christmas-season-giant-straw-goat-180961259/And most of the time it meets a fiery endMon, 05 Dec 2016 13:00:00 +0000Unesco Just Added Belgian Beer to Its Heritage List http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/unesco-just-added-belgian-beer-its-heritage-list-180961260/The move celebrates the tiny country's huge love of sudsFri, 02 Dec 2016 21:39:32 +0000Goodbye, Barrow, Alaska. Hello, Utqiagvikhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/goodbye-barrow-alaska-hello-utqiagvik-180961273/The most northerly city has officially reverted back to the Inupiaq name for the settlement on the Arctic seaFri, 02 Dec 2016 20:53:29 +0000Massive Cluster of Sinkholes Found Deep in China’s Mountainous Northwesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/massive-sinkhole-cluster-found-deep-chinas-mountainous-northwest-180961269/The network of pockmarks is packed with old-growth forests and giant flying squirrelsFri, 02 Dec 2016 20:28:26 +0000Yasir Arafat Museum Opens in Ramallahhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yasir-arafat-museum-opens-ramallah-180961226/The three-story building tells the story of the controversial Palestinian leader and includes artifacts like his Nobel Prize and views of his bedroomFri, 02 Dec 2016 15:59:03 +0000India Inches Closer to Creating World's Largest River Networkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/project-would-create-worlds-largest-river-network-india-180961245/The plan to interlink rivers would connect up to 30 rivers via 30 canals and 3,000 damsThu, 01 Dec 2016 18:56:53 +0000New York’s Upper West Side Has Its Own Whale http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-yorks-upper-west-side-has-its-own-whale-180961177/The mammal is on what seems to be an epic tour of Manhattan Mon, 21 Nov 2016 20:11:17 +0000World’s Largest Herd of Origami Elephants Takes Over the Bronx Zoohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-herd-origami-elephants-takes-over-bronx-zoo-180961161/People around the world folded the paper pachyderms to raise awareness of the elephants' plightFri, 18 Nov 2016 18:37:57 +0000The Newest National Landmark Is Chock-Full of Dinosaur Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/newest-national-landmark-chock-full-dinosaur-history-180961158/The West Bijou Site is home to a snapshot of the dinosaurs’ extinctionFri, 18 Nov 2016 17:51:24 +0000One of Rome’s Most Famous Sculptures Has Been Vandalizedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-romes-most-famous-sculptures-has-been-vandalized-180961112/Bernini’s “Elephant and Obelisk” is missing part of its tuskWed, 16 Nov 2016 17:39:50 +0000The Colosseum Waits on Funding for Critical Repairs in the Fight Over Rome’s Subway Systemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/colosseum-waits-funding-critical-repairs-fight-over-romes-subway-system-180961082/Caretakers fear the row over the metro's overspending could endanger the ancient arenaWed, 16 Nov 2016 16:15:02 +0000Africa Just Got Its First Bike Share Programhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/africa-just-got-its-first-bike-share-program-180961086/Now you can get around Marrakech on a fleet of bicycles—no air pollution needed Mon, 14 Nov 2016 19:01:59 +0000New Underpass Helps New Zealand Penguins Cross Busy Roadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-underpass-helps-new-zealand-penguins-cross-busy-road-180961081/The blue penguin colony in Oamaru can now cross between their nesting area and the ocean without dodging trafficMon, 14 Nov 2016 17:20:39 +0000Get to Know Man Mound, One of 10 New National Historical Landmarkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-to-know-man-mound-one-10-new-national-historical-landmarks-180961062/The Interior Department has designated new landmarks including James Merrill's house, a silent film studio and the only human-shaped effigy moundFri, 11 Nov 2016 18:53:36 +0000National Parks and Forests Are Free Todayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/national-parks-and-forests-are-free-today-180961065/Celebrate Veterans Day on public land Fri, 11 Nov 2016 14:34:42 +0000The Biggest Supermoon in 68 Years Will Leave You “Moonstruck”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/next-weeks-supermoon-will-be-biggest-next-18-years-180961068/It hasn't been this close since 1948 and won't be again for the next 18 yearsFri, 11 Nov 2016 13:00:00 +0000Oskar Schindler’s Factory Will Become a Holocaust Memorial http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/schindlers-factory-holocaust-memorial-180961059/Long abandoned, the dilapidated factory is where the industrialist put over 1,200 threatened Jews to work during World War II Thu, 10 Nov 2016 18:42:51 +0000Researchers Are Recording New York to Make it Quieterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-are-recording-new-york-make-it-quieter-180961038/A high-tech aural map could reduce noise nuisances throughout the city Thu, 10 Nov 2016 14:00:00 +0000These Places Have the Nation’s Worst Roads http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-places-have-nations-worst-roads-180961027/Bumps and potholes are par for the course on more than two-thirds of America’s roads Mon, 07 Nov 2016 20:17:34 +0000An Artist Is Building a Parthenon of Banned Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-building-parthenon-banned-books-180960923/More than 100,000 books will become a monument to intellectual freedom in Germany next yearWed, 02 Nov 2016 17:00:00 +0000Visually Impaired People Can Now Explore Andy Warhol’s Work With Their Ears and Fingershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/visually-impaired-people-can-now-explore-andy-warhols-work-their-ears-180960935/"Out Loud" adds depth to an artist obsessed with the surface of thingsWed, 02 Nov 2016 14:00:00 +0000Pope Francis Isn’t Using His Summer House, so the Vatican Is Letting the Public inhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pope-francis-isnt-using-his-summer-house-so-vatican-letting-public-in-180960883/Get a rare look at the pope’s luxurious vacation homeTue, 01 Nov 2016 17:32:23 +0000Why Japan Is Asking Foreigners About Racismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-japan-asking-foreigners-about-racism-180960956/Just how widespread is racism in Japan? An unprecedented survey aims to find outTue, 01 Nov 2016 15:07:43 +0000Walls of "Jesus' Tomb" Exposed for the First Time in Centuries http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/walls-jesus-tomb-exposed-first-time-centuries-180960953/During repair work, archaeologists removed the marble slabs that covered the walls of the limestone cave where Jesus was purportedly laid after crucifixionMon, 31 Oct 2016 20:38:24 +0000Join an English Scavenger Hunt for Spooky, Supernatural Scratches http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/join-english-scavenger-hunt-spooky-supernatural-scratches-180960945/"Witch marks" are all over old buildings in England—and this Halloween, a preservation group is calling on the public to help document themMon, 31 Oct 2016 16:00:00 +0000World's Largest Marine Sanctuary Declared Off Coast of Antarcticahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-marine-reserve-declared-antarctica-180960943/The 25 parties to the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources voted to protect 600,000 square miles of the Ross SeaFri, 28 Oct 2016 19:12:15 +0000Dragged-Out Drought May Make for Fainter Fall Foliagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fall-may-seem-duller-year-due-drought-180960904/Parched conditions in New England equal milder colors Tue, 25 Oct 2016 18:55:27 +0000Iggy Pop Bares More Than Abs in New Art Exhibition About Masculinityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/iggy-pop-bares-more-than-abs-in-new-art-exhibition-about-masculinity-180960876/Punk meets pencil in an art show that examines the portrayal of masculinity throughout the centuriesFri, 21 Oct 2016 17:58:54 +0000Italy Has a Free Wine Fountain http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italy-has-free-wine-fountain-180960823/Quench your thirst with what could be the world's most welcome glass of wineFri, 21 Oct 2016 12:00:00 +0000How the Poppy Came to Symbolize World War Ihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-poppy-came-symbolize-world-war-i-180960836/Red blooms help the world commemorate a bloody warThu, 20 Oct 2016 15:26:25 +0000What to Know About NASA's Historic Astronaut Beach Househttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hurricane-matthew-damages-nasas-historic-astronaut-beach-house-180960810/The famous bungalow is on track to be repaired by 2018 when SpaceX is hoped to launch humans into space once againWed, 19 Oct 2016 17:46:07 +0000Archaeologists Detect Two Previously Unknown Cavities Beneath Giza’s Great Pyramidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archaeologists-detect-two-previously-unknown-cavities-beneath-gizas-great-pyramid-180960809/But don't get too excited just yetTue, 18 Oct 2016 15:53:39 +0000China Now Has a 20th-Century Architectural Heritage Listhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/china-now-has-20th-century-architectural-heritage-list-180960805/A country with an uneasy relationship to its past will preserve 98 buildings of the 20th century for future generationsMon, 17 Oct 2016 17:27:44 +0000Reach Out And Touch This Version of Klimt’s “Kiss”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/reach-out-and-touch-version-klimts-kiss-180960769/A 3-D printed version of the classic painting lets blind people appreciate the artworkMon, 17 Oct 2016 16:08:52 +0000New Art Exhibition Celebrates 5,000 Years of Syria's Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-art-exhibition-celebrates-syrias-history-180960683/Syria is more than just a refugee crisisMon, 17 Oct 2016 14:46:52 +0000Did the Greeks Help Sculpt China's Terra Cotta Warriors?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-greeks-help-sculpt-chinas-terracotta-warriors-180960771/New analysis and DNA evidence suggests the 8,000 life-sized figures in emperor Qin Shi Huang's necropolis owe their inspiration to the GreeksFri, 14 Oct 2016 16:45:01 +0000Commercial Modules Are Coming to the International Space Station. But You Can't Visit Anytime Soonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/commercial-modules-are-coming-iss-you-wont-be-able-visit-anytime-soon-180960767/Small, slow steps for private spaceflightFri, 14 Oct 2016 14:42:06 +0000This Is What 18th-Century Paris Sounded Likehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-18th-century-paris-sounded-180960724/A bygone age comes back to life in this painstaking reconstruction of the sounds of 1739Fri, 07 Oct 2016 18:30:05 +0000Check Out This 3D Tour of a Villa in Ancient Pompeiihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-3d-tour-villa-ancient-pompeii-180960698/The Swedish Pompeii Project has digitally recreated a wealthy bankers villa and an entire city block using 3D scans from the devastated cityFri, 07 Oct 2016 16:02:57 +0000