Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:40:20 +0000New Census Data Shows Fastest-Growing Areashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-census-data-shows-fastest-growing-areas-180954758/Florida, Texas post big gains in 2013-2014 statisticsThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:40:20 +0000How Bad Is California’s Drought? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-bad-californias-drought-180954733/Hint: it’s pretty badTue, 24 Mar 2015 18:00:44 +0000Tortoise Defends His Lady in a Super Slow Chasehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tortoise-defends-his-lady-human-super-slow-chase-180954715/Here’s what happens when you interrupt two giant reptiles just trying to get in a bit of quality time togetherMon, 23 Mar 2015 22:30:38 +0000Found: A Secret Nazi Hideaway in the Heart of an Andean Junglehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-secret-nazi-hideaway-heart-andean-jungle-180954716/Hints of a dark Nazi history found in ArgentinaMon, 23 Mar 2015 22:20:21 +0000'The Stars and Sun Are Everywhere’: 50 Years of Spacewalkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/stars-and-sun-are-everywhere-50-years-spacewalks-180954620/Today marks five decades since cosmonaut Alexey Leonov became the first human to walk in spaceWed, 18 Mar 2015 19:07:32 +0000Watch a Drone Explore the World’s Largest Cave http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-drone-explore-worlds-largest-cave-180954603/Vietnam’s Son Doong cave is a magnificent not-so-microcosmTue, 17 Mar 2015 14:25:12 +0000Here’s How to Lay Claim to a Brand New Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-lay-claim-brand-new-island-180954592/It’s pretty complicated (surprise!)Mon, 16 Mar 2015 18:00:33 +0000The Children’s Book That Caused Japan’s Raccoon Problemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/childrens-book-behind-japans-raccoon-problem-180954577/When the story of one man’s childhood pet raccoon became a hit in 1970s Japan, it heralded a biological invasion still troubling the country todayMon, 16 Mar 2015 17:30:10 +0000Will 2015 Be the Best Mushroom Year Ever? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/will-2015-be-best-mushroom-year-ever-180954575/Canada braces itself for the biggest morel mushroom harvest in world history Mon, 16 Mar 2015 16:15:03 +0000There’s Finally Free Wifi in Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-finally-free-wifi-cuba-180954574/Cuba becomes more connectedMon, 16 Mar 2015 15:15:30 +0000When Breathtaking Rock Billboards Dominated the Sunset Striphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-breathtaking-rock-billboards-dominated-sunset-strip-180954545/A new exhibition showcases the Sunset Strip's "rock 'n' roll billboards"Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:30:44 +0000Sorry, ‘Ben-Hur’ Remake...No Circus Maximus for You http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-ben-hur-remakeno-circus-maximus-you-180954547/Rome blocks the remake from filming at the historic stadiumThu, 12 Mar 2015 16:00:10 +0000This is How Earth Welcomed Back Soyuz http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-earth-welcomed-back-soyuz-180954544/Not a bad re-entry after months on the International Space Station Thu, 12 Mar 2015 13:40:02 +0000London’s Congestion Pricing Plan Is Saving Lives http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/londons-controversial-traffic-reduction-plan-saving-lives-180954516/By charging $17.34 for a trip downtown during peak hours, London has reduced traffic fatalities by 40 percentTue, 10 Mar 2015 15:30:53 +0000Should People Be Allowed to Boat Through Yellowstone? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/should-people-be-allowed-boat-through-yellowstone-180954466/Conservationists and recreational paddlers are split on whether to open up remaining National Parks waterways to boatersThu, 05 Mar 2015 14:30:09 +0000A Beefalo Invasion Is Causing Trouble in the Grand Canyonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/beefalo-invasion-causing-trouble-grand-canyon-180954458/Hundreds of the hybrid animals are drying up water resources and messing with the ecosystem, eliciting calls for cullingWed, 04 Mar 2015 14:00:59 +0000Chilean Volcano Erupts in the Early Morninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chilean-volcano-could-prompt-20000-evacuations-180954449/The 9,000-foot volcano spewed ash, smoke and lava high into the airTue, 03 Mar 2015 15:36:24 +0000Amazing Ruins of a Long Lost City Discovered in Hondurashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amazing-ruins-long-lost-city-discovered-honduras-180954447/A scientific expedition into the depths of the Honduran rain forest discovered a lost cityTue, 03 Mar 2015 14:15:31 +0000The Fourth Tallest Man-made Structure Isn’t a Building at All http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fourth-tallest-man-made-structure-isnt-building-all-180954442/TV towers and power station chimneys are some less well-known record-breakers in the history of super-tall structuresMon, 02 Mar 2015 17:30:47 +0000It's Now Legal to Book a Cruise to Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/you-can-now-legally-book-cruise-cuba-180954437/A Canadian cruise line is allowing Americans to legally book a trip around CubaMon, 02 Mar 2015 15:01:14 +0000Statisticians Reveal the Best Place to Wait Out a Zombie Apocalypsehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/statisticians-reveal-best-place-wait-out-zombie-apocalypse-180954426/You’ll want to head for the Rocky MountainsFri, 27 Feb 2015 15:30:26 +0000Would You Live in an Antarctic Penguin Post Office? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/would-you-live-antarctic-penguin-post-office-180954425/Applications soar at post office in Port Lockroy, AntarcticaFri, 27 Feb 2015 14:45:32 +0000Adultery Is Now Legal in South Korea http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cheating-now-legal-south-korea-180954414/62 years after the passage of a morality law, spouses can’t be prosecuted for extramarital affairsThu, 26 Feb 2015 18:15:34 +0000Forget the Race to the Moon. These Rovers Will Race on the Moon.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/privately-built-rovers-will-race-surface-moon-180954398/It's going to be a pretty slow race, howeverTue, 24 Feb 2015 19:30:49 +0000Amsterdam Is Out of Bike Parkinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amsterdam-out-bike-parking-180954395/The city will create 40,000 new bike parking spaces by 2030Tue, 24 Feb 2015 16:51:27 +0000The Russian Village Entirely Populated by Tightrope Walkershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/russian-village-entirely-populated-tightrope-walkers-180954391/The circus-skill tradition goes back so far in tiny Tsovkra-1 that no one knows quite how or why it started—but it may end before longTue, 24 Feb 2015 14:30:19 +0000See the Winter of Our Discontent…From Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/winter-your-discontent-space-180954382/NASA photo of the eastern United States confirms it’s really, really cold out there Mon, 23 Feb 2015 14:38:47 +0000President Obama Announces a Trio of New National Monuments http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/president-obama-announces-trio-new-national-monuments-180954365/The sites include a historic neighborhood in Chicago, a former internment camp in Hawaii and a canyon in ColoradoThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:34:15 +00002014 Was National Parks’ Most-Visited Year Ever http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/2014-was-national-parks-most-visited-year-ever-180954358/Last year broke records with over 292 million visitsThu, 19 Feb 2015 17:00:29 +0000Everest Climbers Now Prohibited From Taking One Deadly Routehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/everest-climbers-now-prohibited-one-deadly-route-180954357/Nepal announces that the Khumbu Icefall, where 16 sherpa were killed last year, is now off-limitsThu, 19 Feb 2015 16:08:43 +0000Only 1 in 4 Americans Would Take a Free Space Flight http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/only-1-4-would-take-free-space-flight-180954340/Americans are still skeptical about some aspects of space travelWed, 18 Feb 2015 16:30:02 +0000Lack of Snow Forced the Iditarod to Move Its Trackhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/iditarod-had-move-track-due-lack-snow-180954246/Instead of starting in Willow, Alaska, this year, the race will start 300 miles north in FairbanksThu, 12 Feb 2015 20:33:38 +0000Tourist Trash Has Changed the Color of Yellowstone’s Morning Glory Poolhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tourist-trash-has-changed-color-yellowstones-morning-glory-pool-180954239/Researchers have found proof of what caused a hot spring’s drastic color modification—it's people, of courseThu, 12 Feb 2015 18:45:34 +0000These Bells Play Seismic Shifts http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-bells-play-seismic-shifts-180954198/Watch as UC Berkeley’s bells play the earth’s “natural frequencies” Tue, 10 Feb 2015 17:00:23 +0000Cards Against Humanity Has a Private Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cards-against-humanity-has-private-island-180954171/“Hawaii 2” started as a joke, turned into an island owned by the card game and licensed to its playersFri, 06 Feb 2015 17:30:04 +0000The Pacific Crest Trail Is So Popular It Needs a New Permit Systemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pacific-crest-trail-so-popular-it-needs-a-new-permit-system-180954161/Only 50 people per day will be allowed to start thru-hikes from the southern terminus Thu, 05 Feb 2015 17:25:01 +0000This Fake Gulag Will Let You Pretend the Soviets Are Still in Powerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fake-gulag-will-let-you-pretend-soviets-are-still-power-180954153/Barking dogs, harsh guards and brutal imprisonment in a bunker where the USSR never fellThu, 05 Feb 2015 15:26:05 +0000The Taj Mahal Gardens Have a Special Relationship to the Solstice http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/taj-mahal-gardens-have-special-solstice-relationship-180954136/On the day the sun climbs the highest in the sky, careful alignments within the gardens and buildings of the beautiful mausoleum appearTue, 03 Feb 2015 19:12:13 +0000For the First Time in Almost a Century, a Rare Red Fox Was Seen at Yosemitehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-yosemite-national-park-spotted-rare-red-fox-180954086/Cameras and “hair snares” could preserve a threatened Sierra speciesThu, 29 Jan 2015 16:30:28 +0000