Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenThu, 19 Jan 2017 18:22:15 +0000New Grants Give Out Millions to Preserve African-American History http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-grants-give-out-millions-preserve-african-american-history-180961848/A $7.5 million grant program will fund 39 projects in over 20 statesThu, 19 Jan 2017 18:22:15 +0000The National Park Service Warns Inauguration-Goers to Keep Off Its Lawnhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/national-park-service-warns-inauguration-goers-keep-their-lawn-180961862/The National Mall finally recovered from President Obama's first inauguration, and rangers want to keep it that wayThu, 19 Jan 2017 16:26:02 +0000Where We Got the Term “Banana Republic”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/where-we-got-term-banana-republic-180961813/Hint: it’s not a great moment in American historyWed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000What the First European to Visit Hawaii Thought About Surfershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-first-european-visit-hawaii-thought-about-surfers-180961794/The Europeans were fascinated by Pacific Islanders' comfort in the waterWed, 18 Jan 2017 17:00:00 +0000This Altar Cloth Might Have Been Elizabeth I’s Skirthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/altar-cloth-might-be-elizabeth-is-skirt-180961756/It belonged to a parish church for centuriesTue, 17 Jan 2017 20:00:12 +0000Austin Is Looking for Its First Artist-in-Residencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/austin-is-looking-for-first-artist-residence-180961789/Winning artists will be embeded in city agencies to help bring in new eyes to reconsider old problemsFri, 13 Jan 2017 20:30:22 +0000New National Monuments Highlight Reconstruction and Civil Rights Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-national-monuments-highlight-reconstruction-and-civil-rights-history-180961796/President Obama designated three Southern sites critical to sharing that storyFri, 13 Jan 2017 17:20:59 +0000You Can Write Inside Mark Twain’s Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/you-can-write-inside-mark-twains-library-180961790/Commune with Clemens in his historic homeFri, 13 Jan 2017 15:40:21 +0000Bruce Springsteen Is Getting His Own Archivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bruce-springsteen-getting-his-own-archive-180961758/A new center will celebrate the glory days of Boss and other American musical iconsFri, 13 Jan 2017 13:00:00 +0000Norway Killed the Radio Starhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norway-killed-radio-star-180961761/The Scandinavian country began a controversial phase out of FM radio broadcasts this week in favor of Digital Audio BroadcastingThu, 12 Jan 2017 19:20:18 +0000Harriet Tubman Is Getting Her Own National Historical Park http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/harriet-tubman-getting-her-own-national-historical-park-180961784/The park will tell the story of Tubman’s later years Thu, 12 Jan 2017 18:17:19 +0000China Will Transform 100,000 Toilets for the Sake of Tourism http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/china-will-transform-100000-toilets-sake-tourism-180961706/Officials vow to flush out outmoded commodes Tue, 10 Jan 2017 15:41:47 +0000One of California’s Iconic “Tunnel Trees” Has Fallenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-californias-iconic-tunnel-trees-has-fallen-180961726/The Pioneer Cabin Tree was likely hundreds of years oldMon, 09 Jan 2017 21:03:41 +0000Tens of Thousands of Plastic Eggs Washed Up on a German Beach http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tens-thousands-plastic-eggs-washed-german-beach-180961713/It was an eggstravaganzaFri, 06 Jan 2017 20:12:17 +0000After Nearly 70 Years, the India-Pakistan Partition Gets a Museum http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-nearly-70-years-india-pakistan-partition-gets-museum-180961682/The Partition Museum is unrelenting in its portrayal of a brutal eraWed, 04 Jan 2017 19:22:06 +0000Swedish Woman Smashes Record for Skiing Solo to the South Polehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/swedish-woman-skis-south-pole-record-time-180961636/Skiing for 38 days, 23 hours and 5 minutes Johanna Davidsson beat the previous record by almost 10 hoursWed, 04 Jan 2017 19:21:18 +0000Strike It Rich (Without Marrying for Money) by Finding Hidden Jane Austen Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/strike-it-rich-without-marrying-for-money-by-finding-hidden-jane-austen-art-180961647/A British artist has sparked a nationwide scavenger hunt for £5 notes worth thousandsTue, 03 Jan 2017 21:13:40 +0000"Comfort Woman" Statue Stokes Old Tensions Between Japan and South Koreahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/comfort-woman-statue-stokes-old-tensions-between-japan-and-south-korea-180961628/She’s a silent reminder of the plight of hundreds of thousands of women forced into sexual slavery by Japan during World War IITue, 03 Jan 2017 13:00:00 +0000This Catastrophic Polar Journey Resulted in One of the Best Adventure Books Ever Writtenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/inside-worst-journey-world-180961589/Apsley Cherry-Garrard's travel memoir is still the one to beat, and not only because it features penguinsMon, 02 Jan 2017 20:33:05 +0000Poland Gets a da Vinci at a Big Discounthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/poland-gets-davinci-big-discount-180961624/The world famous Princes Czartoryski Foundation was recently acquired by the Polish government for a fraction of its valueMon, 02 Jan 2017 18:32:06 +0000The Year in National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/year-national-parks-180961615/From people stealing baby bison and Yosemite trademarks to epic blooms in Death Valley, 2016 has been an eventful centennial year for the NPSFri, 30 Dec 2016 19:51:42 +0000Meet the Men Behind Saturday Morning's Most Memorable Cartoonshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-men-behind-saturday-mornings-most-memorable-cartoons-180961596/Zoinks! Hanna-Barbera once dominated kids’ Saturday schedulesFri, 30 Dec 2016 15:58:01 +0000Obama Administration Designates Two New National Monumentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/obama-administration-designates-two-new-national-monuments-180961595/Bears Ears in Utah will span 1.3 million acres while Gold Butte in Nevada will protect 300,000 acresThu, 29 Dec 2016 18:41:54 +0000This Art Show Looks at 500 Years of Failed Utopiashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/art-show-looks-500-years-failed-utopias-180961587/So far, the ideal has yet to work outThu, 29 Dec 2016 17:53:49 +0000Lawyer Wants to Make Harper Lee’s Hometown a Haven for Tourists http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lawyer-wants-make-harper-lees-hometown-haven-tourists-180961584/Monroeville, Alabama, could change with a proposed Harper Lee TrailThu, 29 Dec 2016 16:35:34 +0000Five Years Ago, This Island Nation Lost an Entire Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-time-zones-make-work-worse-180961569/On this day in 2011, Samoa switched sides of the international date line for the second time, losing December 30 in the process. Here's whyThu, 29 Dec 2016 15:36:08 +00002016 Got You Down? Trash All Your Woes on Good Riddance Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/2016-got-you-down-trash-all-your-woes-good-riddance-day-180961583/Inspired by a Latin American tradition, Good Riddance Day is one way to say goodbye to this year’s bad memoriesWed, 28 Dec 2016 19:53:01 +0000New York City’s Long-Awaited Second Avenue Subway Is Packed With Public Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-citys-long-awaited-second-avenue-subway-packed-public-art-180961575/The city’s four newest subway stations are covered in colorful mosaicsWed, 28 Dec 2016 15:30:08 +0000You Can Hear Hagia Sophia’s Sublime Acoustics Without a Trip to Istanbulhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/you-can-hear-hagia-sophias-sublime-acoustics-without-trip-istanbul-180961563/Stanford scientists have digitally created the building’s unique sound, taking listeners back to the Middle AgesTue, 27 Dec 2016 14:00:00 +0000Snow Falls in the Sahara for the First Time Since 1979http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/snow-falls-sahara-first-time-1979-180961545/A cold snap in the Algerian city of Ain Sefra led to a snowfall that covered the area's distinctive orange dunesThu, 22 Dec 2016 15:44:54 +0000New Yorkers’ Post-Election Post-its Will Be Preserved http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-yorkers-post-election-post-its-will-be-preserved-180961534/<i>Subway Therapy</i> captured a city's outpouring of emotion. Now, the notes New Yorkers left behind will be archivedWed, 21 Dec 2016 19:50:19 +0000A Huge Bronze Hippo in a Tutu Is Coming to Lincoln Center http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/huge-bronze-hippo-tutu-coming-lincoln-center-180961523/Her name is <i>Hippo Ballerina</i>, and she’s sure to make theatergoers do a double-take Wed, 21 Dec 2016 18:41:33 +0000The Strange Story of the Westinghouse Atom Smasherhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/strange-story-westinghouse-atom-smasher-180961515/The giant bulb was an important part of early American nuclear history. Now it’s part of a miniature railroadTue, 20 Dec 2016 17:10:25 +0000Morbid Anatomy Museum Closes Its Doorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smartnews-arts-culture/morbid-anatomy-museum-closes-its-doors-180961509/But the museum that delights in the dead will have an afterlifeMon, 19 Dec 2016 21:44:00 +0000Each Christmas, Iceland’s Yule Cat Takes Fashion Policing to the Extremehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/each-christmas-icelands-yule-cat-takes-fashion-policing-extreme-180961420/The Jólakötturinn will make you thankful for those Christmas socksMon, 19 Dec 2016 15:00:00 +0000Pope’s New Nativity Scene Raises Awareness of Worldwide Refugee Crisishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/popes-new-nativity-scene-raises-awareness-worldwide-refugee-crisis-180961415/It's a lavish display complete with a plea for racial tolerance Wed, 14 Dec 2016 18:29:08 +0000The World’s First Motel Was a Luxury Establishment, Not a Divehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-first-motel-was-luxury-establishment-not-dive-180961384/The first motel was supposed to turn into a chain, but it was quickly overtaken by cheaper competitors. Mon, 12 Dec 2016 15:15:40 +0000People at the 1904 World's Fair Paid Half the Price of Admission for a Box of Cotton Candyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/people-worlds-fair-paid-half-admission-box-cotton-candy-180961332/Celebrating cotton candy's sugary, innovative goodnessWed, 07 Dec 2016 16:37:58 +0000Paris Is Selling Old Love Locks to Raise Money For Refugeeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paris-selling-old-love-locks-raise-money-refugees-180961315/Putting clipped locks to good useTue, 06 Dec 2016 18:39:06 +0000Hawaii Faces Down Nearly Three Feet of Snowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/its-snowing-hawaii-three-feet-180961294/And more of the white stuff is on its way to the Big Island’s tallest peaks Mon, 05 Dec 2016 20:44:24 +0000These Photos Bring the Women’s Movement to Life http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-photos-bring-womens-movement-life-180961283/<i>Catching the Wave</i> dramatizes the large and small moments of second-wave feminism Mon, 05 Dec 2016 17:44:11 +0000Ambitious New Public Art Project Will Turn the Thames Into an Illuminated Canvas http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ambitious-new-public-art-project-will-turn-thames-illuminated-canvas-180961087/When <i>Illuminated River</i> launches in 2018, it will be the biggest such project ever undertaken Mon, 05 Dec 2016 16:53:25 +0000Escape With a Virtual Ride on the World’s Steepest Train http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/escape-virtual-ride-worlds-steepest-train-180961275/Things are looking up (down, right and left) thanks to a 360-degree video captures a stunning Norwegian fjord Mon, 05 Dec 2016 16:40:01 +0000Dallas Proposes the Country's Largest Urban Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dallas-proposes-countrys-largest-urban-park-180961256/A 10,000-acre Nature District could turn the Trinity River into the city’s centerpieceMon, 05 Dec 2016 16:24:22 +0000For 50 Years, This Swedish City Has Celebrated Christmas Season With a Giant Straw Goathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/50-years-swedish-city-has-celebrated-christmas-season-giant-straw-goat-180961259/And most of the time it meets a fiery endMon, 05 Dec 2016 13:00:00 +0000Unesco Just Added Belgian Beer to Its Heritage List http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/unesco-just-added-belgian-beer-its-heritage-list-180961260/The move celebrates the tiny country's huge love of sudsFri, 02 Dec 2016 21:39:32 +0000Goodbye, Barrow, Alaska. Hello, Utqiagvikhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/goodbye-barrow-alaska-hello-utqiagvik-180961273/The most northerly city has officially reverted back to the Inupiaq name for the settlement on the Arctic seaFri, 02 Dec 2016 20:53:29 +0000Massive Cluster of Sinkholes Found Deep in China’s Mountainous Northwesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/massive-sinkhole-cluster-found-deep-chinas-mountainous-northwest-180961269/The network of pockmarks is packed with old-growth forests and giant flying squirrelsFri, 02 Dec 2016 20:28:26 +0000Yasir Arafat Museum Opens in Ramallahhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yasir-arafat-museum-opens-ramallah-180961226/The three-story building tells the story of the controversial Palestinian leader and includes artifacts like his Nobel Prize and views of his bedroomFri, 02 Dec 2016 15:59:03 +0000India Inches Closer to Creating World's Largest River Networkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/project-would-create-worlds-largest-river-network-india-180961245/The plan to interlink rivers would connect up to 30 rivers via 30 canals and 3,000 damsThu, 01 Dec 2016 18:56:53 +0000