Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenTue, 27 Sep 2016 10:00:00 +0000An 1885 Ship Just Sailed Back to New York Cityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1885-ship-just-sailed-back-nyc-180960587/After a 16-month-long overhaul, the Wavertree has been restored to her former gloryTue, 27 Sep 2016 10:00:00 +0000Chinese Malls Are Filled With Sad Animalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chinese-malls-are-filled-sad-animals-180960575/As cities spread, so do depressing mall zoosMon, 26 Sep 2016 18:43:34 +0000Getty Instagram Grant Winners Document the Drama of the Everydayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/getty-instagram-grant-winners-document-drama-of-everyday-180960577/From teen moms to slices of street lifeMon, 26 Sep 2016 16:29:02 +0000Canada Is Building a Trail That Measures Almost 15,000 Mileshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/canada-building-trail-measures-almost-15000-miles-180960558/In 2017, the world’s longest trail will finally be completeFri, 23 Sep 2016 16:59:22 +0000George Washington’s Biracial Family Is Getting New Recognitionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/george-washingtons-biracial-family-new-recognition-180960553/The National Park Service is finally acknowledging the first president’s biracial familyThu, 22 Sep 2016 19:28:24 +0000This Group Celebrates Kenya’s Religious Diversity by Painting Religious Centers Yellowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/group-celebrates-kenyas-religious-diversity-painting-religious-centers-yellow-180960539/Painting for pluralismWed, 21 Sep 2016 18:52:05 +0000Extreme Birdwatching Is a Thing, and This Could Be Its Greatest Year Everhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/extreme-birdwatching-thing-and-could-be-its-greatest-year-ever-180960536/Thank El Niño for a Big Year that's bashing previous recordsWed, 21 Sep 2016 15:22:52 +0000France Waves 'Au Revoir' to Plastic Tablewarehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/france-waves-au-revoir-plastic-tableware-180960533/If it doesn't come from biological sources, the country's new motto is "just say <i>non</i>" Wed, 21 Sep 2016 14:33:44 +0000A British Jail Is Paying Artistic Tribute to Oscar Wilde, its Most Famous Inmatehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/british-jail-paying-artistic-tribute-oscar-wilde-its-most-famous-inmate-180960510/Patti Smith, Ai Weiwei and others envision what it's like to be <i>Inside</i>Tue, 20 Sep 2016 15:41:25 +0000Augmented Reality Art Imagines What Could Be Seattle’s Weird, Bleak Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/augmented-reality-art-imagines-what-could-beseattles-weird-bleak-future-180960403/Artist envisions mutant flowers and drone-like seaweed that may one day take over a post-climate change SeattleMon, 19 Sep 2016 15:24:37 +0000Visit the Manuscript of 'Jane Eyre' in New Yorkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/visit-manuscript-jane-eyre-new-york-180960483/The handwritten novel is in the United States for the first time—along with an exhibition of artifacts from Charlotte Brontë’s brief and brilliant lifeMon, 19 Sep 2016 13:49:19 +0000The Oldest Lighthouse in the United States Just Celebrated 300 Years of Servicehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/oldest-lighthouse-united-states-just-celebrated-300-years-service-180960472/The Boston Light still welcomes sailors to Boston HarborFri, 16 Sep 2016 18:11:45 +0000You’ll Want to Sit on Guggenheim’s Latest Piece, an 18-Karat Golden Toilethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/youll-want-sit-guggenheims-latest-piece-18-karat-golden-toilet-180960491/Maurizio Cattelan returns from retirement with this pretentious pottyFri, 16 Sep 2016 17:55:48 +0000Obama Declares the First Atlantic Ocean National Marine Monumenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/obama-declares-first-atlantic-ocean-national-marine-monument-180960478/With the announcement of the Northeast Canyons and Seamounts Marine National Monument, Obama solidifies his legacy as an ocean guardianThu, 15 Sep 2016 20:05:47 +0000Watch a 10-Ton Ice Cube Melt on a Seattle Squarehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-10-ton-ice-cube-melt-seattle-square-180960377/It’s a different kind of block partyWed, 14 Sep 2016 15:30:00 +0000The New York Public Library’s Radical Zine Collection Is Now on Displayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-public-librarys-radical-zine-collection-now-display-180960397/Check out pamphlets from people like Noam Chomsky and Mumia Abu-JamalTue, 13 Sep 2016 16:56:37 +0000What Will the Memorials of the Future Look Like?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-will-memorials-future-look-180960401/From underwater trees to mechanical parrots, the memorials of tomorrow don’t look much like the ones that exist todayTue, 13 Sep 2016 16:28:58 +0000Don't Miss These Dazzling, Iconic Flower Festivalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dont-miss-these-dazzling-iconic-flower-festivals-180960328/No matter the time of year, it’s always time for a flower festivalTue, 06 Sep 2016 20:02:01 +0000This Is the World’s Best Place for Expatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-best-place-expats-180960321/Taiwan wins big in survey of over 14,000 expatriatesTue, 06 Sep 2016 17:29:35 +0000What's With the People With Easels in Art Museums? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whats-people-easels-art-museums-180960261/Inside the longest-running program at the METFri, 02 Sep 2016 13:00:00 +0000Now Departing: Some of America’s Most Iconic Train Signshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/now-departing-some-americas-most-iconic-train-signs-180960294/Amtrak will demolish departure boards in Philadelphia and New YorkWed, 31 Aug 2016 18:00:00 +0000New Exhibit Shows Manspreading Has Been Taking up Subway Space for Decadeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibit-shows-manspreading-has-been-taking-up-subway-space-for-decades-180960291/Vintage ads show struggles with transit etiquette Wed, 31 Aug 2016 17:20:00 +0000New Exhibition Shares Rare Ansel Adams Photos of the American Westhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibition-shares-rare-ansel-adams-photos-american-west-180960273/See breathtaking early works by the iconic photographerMon, 29 Aug 2016 15:11:45 +0000President Obama Just Created the World's Largest Marine Protected Area http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/president-obama-just-created-worlds-largest-marine-protected-area-180960271/Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument is now twice the size of TexasFri, 26 Aug 2016 18:40:17 +0000The Fight to Preserve Langston Hughes’ Harlem Home From Gentrificationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/langston-hughes-harlem-home-180960260/A new kind of Harlem renaissance is threatening the home of one of America's greatest poetsFri, 26 Aug 2016 15:16:11 +0000Explore Some of America's Greatest National Parks in Virtual Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-some-americas-greatest-national-parks-virtual-reality-180960243/The next best thing to celebrating the Centennial in personThu, 25 Aug 2016 14:36:26 +0000Maine Just Got the Nation’s Newest National Monumenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/maine-just-got-nations-newest-national-monument-180960234/Katahdin Woods and Waters National Monument could one day become a national parkWed, 24 Aug 2016 17:24:37 +0000Inside the Upcoming Memorial and Museum Dedicated to Lynching Victimshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/inside-upcoming-memorial-and-museum-dedicated-to-lynching-victims-180960219/Spanning slavery to segregation to mass incarcerationWed, 24 Aug 2016 16:25:10 +0000Why London's New Abstract Expressionism Show Is a Big Dealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-londons-abstract-expressionism-show-big-deal-180960140/It's a survey of luminaries from Pollock to De KooningTue, 23 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Gulp: The World's Highest, Longest Glass Bridge Opens in Chinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gulp-worlds-highest-longest-glass-bridge-opens-china-180960215/The new bridge in Hunan's Zhangjiajie Forest Park overlooks the mountains that inspired AvatarMon, 22 Aug 2016 19:10:34 +0000Forget Bowling: Taiwan Has Shrimping Alleys Insteadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-bowling-taiwan-has-shrimping-alleys-instead-180960116/Catch-your-own shrimp bars are one of Taiwan's tastiest trendsMon, 22 Aug 2016 16:52:12 +0000Summer Heat Turns This Siberian Lake Bright Pinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/summer-heat-turning-siberian-lake-pink-180960206/And it's not the only oneMon, 22 Aug 2016 15:30:00 +0000Explorers Find Second Oldest Shipwreck in the Great Lakeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/second-oldest-great-lakes-shipwreck-found-180960178/The merchant sloop <i>Washington</i> went down in a storm in 1803 on Lake OntarioThu, 18 Aug 2016 18:57:55 +0000Why the 1980 Olympic Village Is Now a Prisonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-1980-olympic-village-now-prison-180960161/It’s one way to deal with leftover infrastructureThu, 18 Aug 2016 15:42:59 +0000Dig to Find Fabled Nazi Gold Train Beginshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dig-find-fabled-nazi-gold-train-begins-180960165/Explorers believe the Nazis stashed an armored train full of gold and weapons in tunnels in Poland's Owl MountainsWed, 17 Aug 2016 17:23:33 +0000Highest Peak in South Dakota Renamed for Oglala Lakota Medicine Manhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/highest-peak-south-dakota-renamed-oglala-lakota-medicine-man-180960133/A federal board has officially changed South Dakota's Harney Peak to Black Elk PeakTue, 16 Aug 2016 17:09:51 +0000Finland’s Hot New Karaoke Bar Is a Public Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/finlands-hot-new-karaoke-bar-public-library-180960137/Don’t stop believin’ in the power of musicTue, 16 Aug 2016 15:37:49 +0000There’s a Price to Pay for Saving Spots at Italian Beacheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-price-pay-saving-spots-italian-beaches-180960095/Be careful where you lay your towelFri, 12 Aug 2016 15:22:13 +0000Tourists in Hawaii Accidentally Discovered Ancient Petroglyphshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tourists-hawaii-accidentally-discovered-ancient-petroglyphs-180960104/A stroke of luck on the beachFri, 12 Aug 2016 14:09:00 +0000Librarians Have an Olympics, Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/librarians-have-olympics-too-180960085/Brains met brawn in a bookish competition for the agesThu, 11 Aug 2016 18:45:01 +0000Taiwan's Yehliu Geopark Is Like Disneyland for Rock Lovershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/taiwans-yehliu-geopark-is-like-disneyland-for-rock-lovers-180960060/These mushroom-like mounds are some of the country's greatest geological treasuresWed, 10 Aug 2016 16:51:57 +0000"New Lucy" Is Unveiled Nearby "Scary Lucy" in Lucille Ball's Hometownhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-lucy-is-unveiled-nearby-scary-lucy-in-lucille-balls-hometown-180960058/It's a tale of two LucysTue, 09 Aug 2016 15:28:22 +0000Rare Maya Burial Temple Discovered in Belizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rare-maya-burial-temple-discovered-belize-180960054/Excavations at Xunantunich have uncovered the remains of a body and hieroglyphics that tell the story of the snake-head dynastyMon, 08 Aug 2016 19:01:56 +0000A Palace Was Unearthed Where Legend Places King Arthur's Birthplacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/palace-unearthed-king-arthurs-birthplace-180960035/Archaeologists at Tintagel uncover walls and artifacts from a Dark Ages complex likely used by local kingsFri, 05 Aug 2016 14:44:43 +0000New Observation Tower Is World's Thinnesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-observation-tower-worlds-thinnest-180960028/Brighton's West Pier comes back to life...as a crazy vertical viewing towerThu, 04 Aug 2016 18:42:27 +0000One of the Earliest Images of Skiing Was Destroyed by Youths Trying to “Improve It”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norwegian-youth-destroys-one-earliest-images-skiing-trying-improve-it-180960013/The petroglyph was made 5,000 years agoThu, 04 Aug 2016 14:00:00 +0000The First Private Lunar Landing Was Just Approvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-private-lunar-landing-was-just-approved-180960007/Moon Express will head to Earth’s nearest neighbor in 2017Wed, 03 Aug 2016 18:33:02 +0000California’s Joshua Trees Are Under Threathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/californias-joshua-trees-are-under-threat-180959991/Climate change could decimate the iconic tree for future generationsWed, 03 Aug 2016 14:42:41 +0000Forget the Hive, Now Wild Bees Can Check in to These Swanky Hotelshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-hive-wild-bees-can-check-these-swanky-hotels-180959987/Don't six-legged guests also deserve the best bang for their buzz?Tue, 02 Aug 2016 15:50:59 +0000Explore Some of the World's Deepest Blue Holeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-worlds-deepest-blue-holes-180959977/The Dragon Hole in the South China Sea is now the "world's deepest" underwater sinkhole. Learn why these geologic wonders form in oceans around the globeTue, 02 Aug 2016 15:19:38 +0000A New Installation Turns the L.A. River Into Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-installation-turns-l-river-art-180959965/The river’s surreal landscape is the perfect place to make a statement about water useMon, 01 Aug 2016 17:21:20 +0000