Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenTue, 28 Jun 2016 15:13:24 +0000Researchers Will Soon Get Their First Taste of "Martian" Vegetableshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researcher-will-soon-taste-martian-vegetable-180959579/After testing them for heavy metals, the scientists will eat vegetables grown in simulated Martian soil later this weekTue, 28 Jun 2016 15:13:24 +0000Explore the Netherlands’ Most Iconic Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-netherlands-most-iconic-museum-180959578/The Rijksmuseum is now the best-represented institution in the Google Cultural InstituteTue, 28 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Sculptor's New Show is a Riot of Color http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sculptort-new-show-is-a-riot-of-color-180959567/Dale Chihuly sets out to "overwhelm with light and color" in 'Persian Ceiling'Mon, 27 Jun 2016 18:25:00 +0000After 60 Years, An Expedition Determines Highest Peaks in U.S. Arctichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-60-years-mountaineer-and-pilot-determine-highest-peaks-us-arctic-180959555/Glaciologist Matt Nolan and ski mountaineer Kit DesLauriers tested a new mapping system to end uncertainty about the highest mountain in the Brooks RangeMon, 27 Jun 2016 17:10:00 +0000President Obama Just Created the First National Monument to Gay Rightshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/president-obama-just-created-first-national-monument-gay-rights-180959562/The Stonewall National Monument tells the story of LGBTQ struggles in the United StatesFri, 24 Jun 2016 19:34:31 +0000What's the Difference Between England, Britain and the U.K.?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whats-difference-between-england-britain-and-uk-180959558/Listen up, would-be Anglophiles: Here's how never to mess up your realms, kingdoms and empires again Fri, 24 Jun 2016 17:21:14 +0000A Lucky Artist Will Be Marooned on a Deserted Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lucky-artist-will-be-marooned-deserted-island-180959525/An artist-in-residence program invites applicants to consider spending a month alone in paradiseThu, 23 Jun 2016 16:50:29 +0000This Library Has Books Checked Out by Hamilton and Burrhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/library-has-books-checked-out-hamilton-and-burr-180959433/The New York Society Library was wide enough for both menMon, 20 Jun 2016 17:30:00 +0000As U.S.-Cuba Relations Warm, This Long-Dead Author Benefitshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-cuba-relations-warm-long-dead-author-benefits-180959465/A new conservation facility is on its way to Hemingway’s home near HavanaMon, 20 Jun 2016 13:54:45 +0000Mongolia Adopts Address System That Uses Three-Word Nameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mongolia-adopts-address-system-that-uses-three-word-names-180959439/What3words' geo-coding system divides the Earth's surface into 57 trillion squares, and assigns each a unique, memorable string of namesFri, 17 Jun 2016 16:00:00 +0000Check Out NASA's Retro Mars Recruitment Postershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasa-releases-retro-mars-recruitment-posters-180959453/Farmers, teachers, surveyors and engineers will all be needed in the envisaged Mars settlementFri, 17 Jun 2016 14:50:00 +0000A New Hitch in the Plan for Building a Space Elevatorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-may-have-found-fatal-flaw-dream-building-space-elevator-180959417/Carbon nanotubes may not be as strong as scientists once thoughtFri, 17 Jun 2016 11:00:00 +0000New Agreement Will Help Protect the Amazon Basinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-agreement-will-protect-amazon-basin-180959450/Earth's largest tropical rainforest just got a slew of new allies Thu, 16 Jun 2016 17:25:00 +0000The Expanded Tate Modern Opens Its Doors Fridayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/expanded-tate-modern-opens-its-doors-friday-180959419/The museum is being called the UK’s most important new cultural building since the British LibraryThu, 16 Jun 2016 17:05:50 +0000One Day Only: A Chance to View One Map to Rule Them Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-day-only-chance-view-one-map-rule-them-all-180959391/A rare Tolkien-annotated map goes on display June 23Wed, 15 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000This New York Project Wants You to Write on the Wallshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-project-wants-you-write-walls-180959380/Writing On It All gives voice—and a pen—to one and allTue, 14 Jun 2016 16:10:00 +0000A Brief History of Children Sent Through the Mailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brief-history-children-sent-through-mail-180959372/In the early days of the parcel post, some parents took advantage of the mail in unexpected waysTue, 14 Jun 2016 15:31:23 +0000Laser Scans Reveal Massive Khmer Cities Hidden in the Cambodian Junglehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/laser-scans-reveal-massive-khmer-cities-hidden-cambodian-jungle-180959395/Using Lidar technology, researchers are discovering the extent of the medieval Khmer empireTue, 14 Jun 2016 14:20:00 +0000One of the World's Most Colorful Places Is in Taiwanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-most-colorful-place-is-in-taiwan-180959382/Rainbow Family Village shows there's nothing a man with a paintbrush can't do Tue, 14 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000A Brief History of Bog Butterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-brief-history-of-bog-butter-180959384/Turf cutters in Ireland regularly find chunks of butter deep in the nation's peat bogs. What is the stuff doing there?Mon, 13 Jun 2016 16:11:45 +0000Grand Canyon Turns Down Its Lights to Become a Dark Sky Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grand-canyon-dims-lights-become-dark-sky-park-180959377/Star gazers, rejoice—the skies above the Grand Canyon will never lose their sparkleFri, 10 Jun 2016 17:09:59 +0000The Library of Congress Needs Your Help to Identify These Silent Movieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-library-of-congress-needs-your-help-to-identify-these-silent-movies-180959366/For the fifth year, the "Mostly Lost" film festival calls on its audience to help identify obscure details in movie-making historyFri, 10 Jun 2016 16:55:43 +0000Archaeologists Find Gigantic Ancient Monument in Jordanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archaeologists-found-gigantic-ancient-monument-jordan-180959368/In the ancient city of Petra, Google Earth and drones helped uncover remnants of a platform the size of an Olympic swimming poolThu, 09 Jun 2016 19:50:14 +0000This New Satellite Project Helps People Find Patterns in City Spaceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/this-new-satellite-project-helps-people-find-patterns-in-city-spaces-180959336/Terrapattern turns a mad world into a satisfying, matchy-matchy nirvanaThu, 09 Jun 2016 18:34:40 +0000Parisians Are in an Uproar Over Their New Newstandshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/parisians-are-uproar-over-their-new-newstands-180959326/Paris’ iconic kiosks are being updated and replacedWed, 08 Jun 2016 18:45:55 +0000Vandals Destroyed 8,000-Year-Old Aboriginal Artworks in Tasmaniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vandals-destroyed-8000-year-old-aboriginal-artworks-in-tasmania-180959328/The priceless rock art is damaged beyond repairWed, 08 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Olympics Allows Refugees to Compete on Their Own Teamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/olympics-allows-refugees-compete-their-own-team-180959321/Ten refugee-athletes from Syria, Sudan, Ethiopia and the Republic of Congo will compete at the Rio OlympicsTue, 07 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000There’s a World Cup For Unrecognized Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-world-cup-unrecognized-states-180959301/This game is for soccer's international underdogsFri, 03 Jun 2016 14:44:43 +0000This "Lost Underwater City" Was Actually Made by Microbeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lost-underwater-city-was-actually-made-microbes-180959299/Though these formations may not be evidence of a lost city, they show off some intriguing chemistryThu, 02 Jun 2016 23:01:00 +0000Bordeaux’s New Wine Museum Is Open for Businesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bordeauxs-new-wine-museum-open-business-180959287/The “City of Wine” is a vino lover’s amusement parkThu, 02 Jun 2016 17:43:15 +0000This Museum Made Art Out of a John Deere Harvesterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-made-art-out-john-deere-harvester-180959281/'Continuous Service Altered Daily' finds life inside a familiar machineWed, 01 Jun 2016 16:38:44 +0000Paris’ Iconic “Love Locks” Bridge Is Now Home to a Set of Creepy Statueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paris-iconic-love-locks-bridge-now-home-set-creepy-statues-180959275/The rotating art installation on the Pont des Arts bridge was inspired by classical mythology Wed, 01 Jun 2016 14:33:00 +0000Land of Oz Theme Park Will Temporarily Reopen Its Emerald Gateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/land-oz-theme-park-will-temporarily-reopen-its-emerald-gates-180959268/This June, the yellow brick road will once again take you to see the WizardTue, 31 May 2016 18:55:08 +0000Five Landmarks Threatened by Climate Change http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-landmarks-threatened-climate-change-180959248/Will a warming planet destroy humankinds' most precious cultural treasures? Fri, 27 May 2016 13:52:43 +0000Rome Is Looking for People to Adopt Famous, Falling-Apart Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rome-looking-people-adopt-famous-falling-apart-sites-180959236/When in Rome, pony up some cash for cultural preservation Thu, 26 May 2016 18:16:31 +0000The Longest, Deepest Train Tunnel in the World Is About to Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/longest-deepest-train-tunnel-world-about-open-180959228/It goes straight through the base of the AlpsThu, 26 May 2016 14:58:38 +0000A Painting Georgia O’Keeffe Wanted Destroyed Is on Display for the First Time in Nearly 60 Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/painting-georgia-okeeffe-wanted-destroyed-display-first-time-nearly-60-years-180959229/O’Keeffe’s watercolor returns to the town where she painted itWed, 25 May 2016 15:16:26 +0000This Startup Wants to Open the 2020 Olympics With a Man-Made Meteor Showerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/startup-wants-open-2020-olympics-man-made-meteor-shower-180959219/Could the only thing better than fireworks be fireworks launched from space?Wed, 25 May 2016 14:50:32 +0000These Are America’s Most Well-Read Citieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-americas-most-well-read-cities-180959224/Did your bookish burg make Amazon.com's list? Wed, 25 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000Bug Poop Is Turning the Taj Mahal Greenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bug-poop-turning-taj-mahal-green-180959222/To make matters worse, constant cleaning is damaging the monument’s delicate marbleTue, 24 May 2016 19:33:02 +0000Four People Have Died on Everest in as Many Dayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-people-have-died-everest-many-days-180959209/The mountain's terrible toll has set the 2016 climbing season off to a rocky start Mon, 23 May 2016 18:20:00 +0000Houston Opens Up Its Huge "Underground Cathedral" to Visitorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/houston-opens-its-huge-underground-cathedral-visitors-180959204/A haunting 1920's city reservoir full of 25-foot columns and shafts of light is now open to the public Mon, 23 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000When It Rains in Boston, the Sidewalks Reveal Poetryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-it-rains-boston-sidewalks-reveal-poetry-180959205/Water-resistant spray paint creates hidden poems on Beantown’s streetsMon, 23 May 2016 16:40:00 +0000A Giant Flock of Pigeons Is Lighting up New York’s Night Skyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-giant-flock-pigeons-lighting-new-yorks-night-sky-180959192/The show is meant to illustrate that pigeons aren't rats with wingsMon, 23 May 2016 14:42:52 +0000The World's Longest Pizza Took 250 Chefs More Than Six Hours to Makehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-longest-pizza-took-250-chefs-more-six-hours-make-180959177/No surprise, the record-holding pie was created in NaplesFri, 20 May 2016 16:00:00 +0000Five of the Most Iconic State Sandwicheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-most-iconic-state-sandwiches-180959180/Choosing a state sandwich is hard workFri, 20 May 2016 15:34:43 +0000Get Ready for the “Summer of Hamilton”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-ready-summer-hamilton-180959166/A new exhibition at the New-York Historical Society focuses on the "$10 Founding Father"Thu, 19 May 2016 16:48:49 +0000Amateur Divers Find Huge Cache of Bronze Artifacts in Israel National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amateur-divers-find-huge-cache-bronze-artifacts-israel-national-park-180959143/Recreational divers discover a Roman shipwreck full of rare bronze statues, coins and other artifacts in Caesarea National ParkWed, 18 May 2016 14:16:30 +0000Baby Bison Euthanized After Tourists Try to "Save" Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/baby-bison-euthanized-after-tourists-try-save-it-180959142/Don't touch the wildlifeTue, 17 May 2016 15:56:22 +0000A Brief History of Taking Books Along for the Ridehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-brief-history-of-taking-books-along-for-the-ride-180959116/Have books, will travelTue, 17 May 2016 15:28:08 +0000Why You Might Start Seeing Disney And Other Brands in National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-you-might-start-seeing-disney-other-brands-in-national-parks-180959106/Relaxed rules on donor recognition could allow corporate sponsors to fund items within National ParksMon, 16 May 2016 18:03:23 +0000Wander About an Art Installation Inspired by the Large Hadron Colliderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wander-about-art-installation-inspired-large-hadron-collider-180959117/Art from scienceMon, 16 May 2016 15:40:35 +0000China Will Start Publicly Shaming Tourists Who Graffiti Mount Everesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/china-will-start-publicly-shaming-tourists-who-graffiti-mount-everest-180959097/Leave nothing but footprintsMon, 16 May 2016 14:53:09 +0000Why "The Royal Oak" Is a Popular Pub Name in the U.K.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-royal-oak-popular-pub-name-uk-180959098/The story goes back to the English Civil Wars and a prince on the runFri, 13 May 2016 15:43:15 +0000Chinese Cops Are Temporarily Patrolling the Streets of Rome and Milanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chinese-cops-are-temporarily-patrolling-streets-rome-and-milan-180959088/A new experimental program put international police at Italy's tourist hubs to help the influx of Chinese travelersThu, 12 May 2016 18:32:12 +0000Help London's Science Museum Bring Britain's First Robot Back to Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/science-museum-rebuilding-eric-britains-first-robot-180959055/Eric impressed crowds in the 1920's by standing up, bowing, and shooting sparks from his teethThu, 12 May 2016 15:45:13 +0000During the Cold War, the Air Force Dropped an Unarmed Nuke on South Carolinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/during-cold-war-air-force-dropped-an-unarmed-nuke-on-south-carolina-180959078/Amazingly, none of the Gregg family of Mars Bluff were seriously hurt, not even the catThu, 12 May 2016 14:47:59 +0000Central Park Opens Up Its "Secret Sanctuary"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/central-park-opens-its-secret-sanctuary-180959058/Closed for 80 Years, the Park recently announced it will open the restored Hallett Nature Sanctuary to vistorsWed, 11 May 2016 16:37:53 +0000Early Rembrandt Found in Basement Goes On Displayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/early-rembrandt-found-in-basement-goes-on-display-180959036/The painting is one of five in a series about the senses that the Dutch master created as a teenagerTue, 10 May 2016 15:47:56 +0000The Bison Is Now the Official Mammal of the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bison-now-official-mammal-united-states-180958921/The big beasts are the first official mammals recognized by the federal governmentMon, 09 May 2016 20:07:42 +0000Want to Browse Some National Park Maps? There’s a Site For Thathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/want-browse-some-national-park-maps-theres-site-180959021/Can you guess the most popular map?Mon, 09 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000Build Your Own Library at the First-Ever Little Library Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/build-your-own-library-first-ever-little-library-festival-180959017/The book-sharing stations have popped up all across the United StatesFri, 06 May 2016 17:57:07 +0000NASA Announces World's New Lightning Hotspothttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-announce-worlds-new-lightning-hot-spot-180958994/The electric capital tops the charts with lightning storms 297 nights per yearThu, 05 May 2016 14:35:00 +0000Why Are Chilean Beaches Covered With Dead Animals?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-are-chilean-beaches-covered-dead-animals-180958998/Warm waters have turned the country's once-pristine coast into a putrid sightWed, 04 May 2016 19:35:03 +0000Yellowstone’s Most Famous Bear Is Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yellowstones-most-famous-bear-dead-180958980/Who shot “Scarface”?Tue, 03 May 2016 18:20:00 +0000Five Things to Know About Megacitieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-things-to-know-about-megacities-180958937/Urbanization is happening fast—here's what to know about the world's largest citiesMon, 02 May 2016 19:12:41 +0000“New” 2,000-Year-Old Geoglyph Spotted in Peruhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-2000-year-old-geoglyph-spotted-peru-180958968/There’s always more to learn about the mysterious Nazca linesMon, 02 May 2016 16:01:22 +0000