Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenMon, 29 Aug 2016 15:11:45 +0000New Exhibition Shares Rare Ansel Adams Photos of the American Westhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibition-shares-rare-ansel-adams-photos-american-west-180960273/See breathtaking early works by the iconic photographerMon, 29 Aug 2016 15:11:45 +0000President Obama Just Created the World's Largest Marine Protected Area http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/president-obama-just-created-worlds-largest-marine-protected-area-180960271/Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument is now twice the size of TexasFri, 26 Aug 2016 18:40:17 +0000The Fight to Preserve Langston Hughes’ Harlem Home From Gentrificationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/langston-hughes-harlem-home-180960260/A new kind of Harlem renaissance is threatening the home of one of America's greatest poetsFri, 26 Aug 2016 15:16:11 +0000Explore Some of America's Greatest National Parks in Virtual Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-some-americas-greatest-national-parks-virtual-reality-180960243/The next best thing to celebrating the Centennial in personThu, 25 Aug 2016 14:36:26 +0000Maine Just Got the Nation’s Newest National Monumenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/maine-just-got-nations-newest-national-monument-180960234/Katahdin Woods and Waters National Monument could one day become a national parkWed, 24 Aug 2016 17:24:37 +0000Inside the Upcoming Memorial and Museum Dedicated to Lynching Victimshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/inside-upcoming-memorial-and-museum-dedicated-to-lynching-victims-180960219/Spanning slavery to segregation to mass incarcerationWed, 24 Aug 2016 16:25:10 +0000Why London's New Abstract Expressionism Show Is a Big Dealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-londons-abstract-expressionism-show-big-deal-180960140/It's a survey of luminaries from Pollock to De KooningTue, 23 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Gulp: The World's Highest, Longest Glass Bridge Opens in Chinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gulp-worlds-highest-longest-glass-bridge-opens-china-180960215/The new bridge in Hunan's Zhangjiajie Forest Park overlooks the mountains that inspired AvatarMon, 22 Aug 2016 19:10:34 +0000Forget Bowling: Taiwan Has Shrimping Alleys Insteadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-bowling-taiwan-has-shrimping-alleys-instead-180960116/Catch-your-own shrimp bars are one of Taiwan's tastiest trendsMon, 22 Aug 2016 16:52:12 +0000Summer Heat Turns This Siberian Lake Bright Pinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/summer-heat-turning-siberian-lake-pink-180960206/And it's not the only oneMon, 22 Aug 2016 15:30:00 +0000Explorers Find Second Oldest Shipwreck in the Great Lakeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/second-oldest-great-lakes-shipwreck-found-180960178/The merchant sloop <i>Washington</i> went down in a storm in 1803 on Lake OntarioThu, 18 Aug 2016 18:57:55 +0000Why the 1980 Olympic Village Is Now a Prisonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-1980-olympic-village-now-prison-180960161/It’s one way to deal with leftover infrastructureThu, 18 Aug 2016 15:42:59 +0000Dig to Find Fabled Nazi Gold Train Beginshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dig-find-fabled-nazi-gold-train-begins-180960165/Explorers believe the Nazis stashed an armored train full of gold and weapons in tunnels in Poland's Owl MountainsWed, 17 Aug 2016 17:23:33 +0000Highest Peak in South Dakota Renamed for Oglala Lakota Medicine Manhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/highest-peak-south-dakota-renamed-oglala-lakota-medicine-man-180960133/A federal board has officially changed South Dakota's Harney Peak to Black Elk PeakTue, 16 Aug 2016 17:09:51 +0000Finland’s Hot New Karaoke Bar Is a Public Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/finlands-hot-new-karaoke-bar-public-library-180960137/Don’t stop believin’ in the power of musicTue, 16 Aug 2016 15:37:49 +0000There’s a Price to Pay for Saving Spots at Italian Beacheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-price-pay-saving-spots-italian-beaches-180960095/Be careful where you lay your towelFri, 12 Aug 2016 15:22:13 +0000Tourists in Hawaii Accidentally Discovered Ancient Petroglyphshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tourists-hawaii-accidentally-discovered-ancient-petroglyphs-180960104/A stroke of luck on the beachFri, 12 Aug 2016 14:09:00 +0000Librarians Have an Olympics, Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/librarians-have-olympics-too-180960085/Brains met brawn in a bookish competition for the agesThu, 11 Aug 2016 18:45:01 +0000Taiwan's Yehliu Geopark Is Like Disneyland for Rock Lovershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/taiwans-yehliu-geopark-is-like-disneyland-for-rock-lovers-180960060/These mushroom-like mounds are some of the country's greatest geological treasuresWed, 10 Aug 2016 16:51:57 +0000"New Lucy" Is Unveiled Nearby "Scary Lucy" in Lucille Ball's Hometownhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-lucy-is-unveiled-nearby-scary-lucy-in-lucille-balls-hometown-180960058/It's a tale of two LucysTue, 09 Aug 2016 15:28:22 +0000Rare Maya Burial Temple Discovered in Belizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rare-maya-burial-temple-discovered-belize-180960054/Excavations at Xunantunich have uncovered the remains of a body and hieroglyphics that tell the story of the snake-head dynastyMon, 08 Aug 2016 19:01:56 +0000A Palace Was Unearthed Where Legend Places King Arthur's Birthplacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/palace-unearthed-king-arthurs-birthplace-180960035/Archaeologists at Tintagel uncover walls and artifacts from a Dark Ages complex likely used by local kingsFri, 05 Aug 2016 14:44:43 +0000New Observation Tower Is World's Thinnesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-observation-tower-worlds-thinnest-180960028/Brighton's West Pier comes back to life...as a crazy vertical viewing towerThu, 04 Aug 2016 18:42:27 +0000One of the Earliest Images of Skiing Was Destroyed by Youths Trying to “Improve It”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norwegian-youth-destroys-one-earliest-images-skiing-trying-improve-it-180960013/The petroglyph was made 5,000 years agoThu, 04 Aug 2016 14:00:00 +0000The First Private Lunar Landing Was Just Approvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-private-lunar-landing-was-just-approved-180960007/Moon Express will head to Earth’s nearest neighbor in 2017Wed, 03 Aug 2016 18:33:02 +0000California’s Joshua Trees Are Under Threathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/californias-joshua-trees-are-under-threat-180959991/Climate change could decimate the iconic tree for future generationsWed, 03 Aug 2016 14:42:41 +0000Forget the Hive, Now Wild Bees Can Check in to These Swanky Hotelshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-hive-wild-bees-can-check-these-swanky-hotels-180959987/Don't six-legged guests also deserve the best bang for their buzz?Tue, 02 Aug 2016 15:50:59 +0000Explore Some of the World's Deepest Blue Holeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-worlds-deepest-blue-holes-180959977/The Dragon Hole in the South China Sea is now the "world's deepest" underwater sinkhole. Learn why these geologic wonders form in oceans around the globeTue, 02 Aug 2016 15:19:38 +0000A New Installation Turns the L.A. River Into Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-installation-turns-l-river-art-180959965/The river’s surreal landscape is the perfect place to make a statement about water useMon, 01 Aug 2016 17:21:20 +0000Tour the London of Yore With a Gigantic New Photo Maphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-london-yore-gigantic-new-photo-map-180959955/The London Picture Map brings an old city to new lifeFri, 29 Jul 2016 14:39:19 +0000The Cosmos Sings in This Fusion of Astrophysics and Musichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-cosmos-sings-in-this-fusion-of-astrophysics-and-music-180959907/<i>The Hubble Cantata</i> brings the stars down to earthThu, 28 Jul 2016 17:25:39 +0000Watch the Chincoteague Ponies Complete Their 91st Annual Swimhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-chincoteague-ponies-complete-their-91st-annual-swim-180959938/For nine decades, the local fire department has herded the horses from Assateague to Chincoteague Island to auction off the foals Wed, 27 Jul 2016 21:02:05 +0000The White House Was, in Fact, Built by Slaveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/white-house-was-fact-built-slaves-180959916/Along with the Capitol and other iconic buildings in Washington, D.C.Tue, 26 Jul 2016 17:19:53 +0000The World Trade Center's Only Surviving Art Is Headed Back Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-trade-centers-only-surviving-art-headed-back-home-180959910/Battered, but not broken, Fritz Koenig's "Sphere" will be reinstalled near its original location at Ground Zero Tue, 26 Jul 2016 15:46:39 +0000This App Puts a Museum in Your Phonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/app-puts-museum-your-phone-180959874/Get out and get some culture with a newly released app that gives art a smart spinMon, 25 Jul 2016 17:00:00 +0000An Artist Will Slice Up a Peninsula to Remember Norway's 2011 Massacrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-will-slice-peninsula-remember-norways-2011-massacre-180959891/"Memory Wound" will evoke the brutal losses of the July 22 tragedyMon, 25 Jul 2016 16:22:31 +0000The Media Village at the Rio Olympics Is Built on a Mass Grave of Slaveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/media-village-rio-olympics-built-mass-grave-slaves-180959873/As Brazil looks forward to an Olympic future, it buries its pastFri, 22 Jul 2016 13:00:00 +0000Horrifying Sculpture Depicts a Human Evolved to Survive a Car Crashhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/horrifying-sculpture-depicts-human-evolved-survive-car-crash-180959878/Once you’ve seen it, you can’t unsee itFri, 22 Jul 2016 11:00:00 +0000Museum Unveils Henry VIII's Flagshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-unveils-henry-viiis-flagship-180959861/The <i>Mary Rose</i> sank almost 500 years ago, but following more than 30 years of restoration, the remains of the warship are open to the publicThu, 21 Jul 2016 17:52:45 +0000Cave Graffiti Shows Natives and Europeans Had Early Dialogue in the Caribbeanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cave-graffiti-shows-natives-and-europeans-had-early-dialogue-caribbean-180959857/Cave art from both Taíno people and Spanish explorers in a cave on Mona Island shows the two had some early cultural understandingThu, 21 Jul 2016 16:47:38 +0000The World’s Largest Picnic Basket Faces an Uncertain Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-picnic-basket-faces-uncertain-future-180959835/The fast decline of a kitschy landmarkTue, 19 Jul 2016 16:49:18 +0000Keep Your Eyes to the Sky for the Delta Aquarid Meteors This Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/keep-your-eyes-peeled-delta-aquarid-meteors-month-180959812/The late-July meteor shower heralds the popular PerseidsMon, 18 Jul 2016 17:48:11 +0000Unesco Names New World Heritage Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-unescos-new-world-heritage-sites-180959822/Rock art, irrigation and education add to the organization's growing list of sites worthy of protectionFri, 15 Jul 2016 19:27:29 +0000Go Inside New York’s Nearly Secret Botanical Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/go-inside-new-yorks-nearly-secret-botanical-library-180959813/It’s a gardener’s fragrant fantasyFri, 15 Jul 2016 13:53:20 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Impatient Islanders Create Google "Sheep View"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/impatient-islanders-create-google-sheep-view-180959793/Ewe won’t forget this unique look at the Faroe IslandsWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:34:04 +0000The World’s Oldest Working Library Will Soon Open Its Doors to the Publichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-oldest-working-library-will-soon-open-to-the-public-180959670/After renovations wrap up in September, the library at Morocco’s al-Qarawiyyin University will debut an exhibition section for non-scholarsWed, 13 Jul 2016 16:23:36 +0000A Seattle Dump Just Got Some Clever Public Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/seattle-dump-just-got-some-clever-public-art-180959688/Recycled rebar will make the Seattle North Transfer Station more beautifulTue, 12 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000This Exhibit Captures the Magic of Being a Kidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/exhibit-captures-magic-being-kid-180959671/The Metropolitan Museum of Art peeks into the idealized lives of kids pastMon, 11 Jul 2016 15:00:00 +0000This Renaissance Sculptor Is Getting His First U.S. Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renaissance-sculptor-getting-his-first-us-show-180959734/Luca della Robbia is finally getting a showcase in the StatesMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:30:00 +0000These Beatrix Potter Illustrations Were Found Tucked Inside a Mansion’s Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-beatrix-potter-illustrations-were-found-inside-mansions-books-180959742/The children’s book author found inspiration on vacationMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:00:00 +0000These Artifacts Show the Best—And Worst—of American Election Ephemerahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-artifacts-show-the-best-and-worst-of-american-election-ephemera-180959669/From trash to political treasureFri, 01 Jul 2016 16:49:37 +0000