Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenThu, 22 Jun 2017 19:27:19 +0000London Exhibit Showcases Powerful Artwork Created by Teenage Refugeeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/london-exhibit-showcases-artwork-teenage-refugees-180963785/“All I Left Behind. All I Will Discover” includes pieces by 80 teens who fled to the UKThu, 22 Jun 2017 19:27:19 +0000Camera Film Reveals Images of the Mount St. Helens Eruptionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/camera-contained-images-mount-st-helens-eruption-180963789/A photographer developed the film found at a Goodwill, revealing images of the ash plume from the 1980 eruption that killed 57Wed, 21 Jun 2017 20:34:30 +0000Will You See August's Great Eclipse? This New Tool Helps You Find Outhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/simulator-lets-you-know-what-youll-see-during-augusts-great-eclipse-180963718/Just plug in a zip code and the solar simulator will show when the big event will pass overheadWed, 21 Jun 2017 14:13:30 +0000UK Charity Calls On Developers to Save At-Risk Buildings http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/uk-charity-calls-developers-save-risk-buildings-180963592/The ‘Up My Street’ catalogue profiles 100 historic properties in desperate need of repairWed, 21 Jun 2017 12:00:00 +0000Traditional Polynesian Vessel to Complete Round-the-World Journeyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/traditional-polynesian-vessel-complete-round-world-journey-180963734/The Hōkūleʻa’s crew did not use any modern navigational devices, instead relying on the stars, waves, and clouds to guide themFri, 16 Jun 2017 18:58:08 +0000This Father’s Day, Check Out Furniture Made by Abraham Lincoln’s Much-Maligned Dadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fathers-day-check-out-furniture-made-abraham-lincolns-much-maligned-dad-180963741/Thomas Lincoln was a master craftsman—and a man history has misrepresentedFri, 16 Jun 2017 17:55:52 +0000San Francisco Is Creating Its Own Governors Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/san-francisco-creating-its-own-governors-island-180963724/Treasure Island will turn into a major cultural destination under new, multi-billion dollar planThu, 15 Jun 2017 18:21:59 +0000Climate Change, and Cod, Are Causing One Heck of a Lobster Boom in Maine http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/climate-change-causing-one-heck-lobster-boom-maine-180963664/The complex relationships between humans, lobster, and cod are creating boom times--for nowThu, 15 Jun 2017 13:34:35 +0000Art Installation Recreates the Smell of Cities Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/art-installation-recreates-smell-cities-around-world-180963696/The Pollution Pod project emphasizes the unequal air quality divide between rich and poor citiesWed, 14 Jun 2017 17:44:59 +0000First House Designed by Antoni Gaudí to Open as a Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-house-designed-antoni-gaudi-open-museum-180963637/The vibrant Casa Vicens was an early hallmark of Gaudí’s unique styleWed, 14 Jun 2017 16:02:45 +0000Puerto Rico Will Seek Statehood Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/puerto-rico-will-seek-statehood-again-180963655/Successful referendum sets the stage for another statehood bidMon, 12 Jun 2017 17:53:02 +0000An Ohio City is Turning an Unused Highway Into a Pop-Up Foresthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-do-you-do-highway-no-one-wants-anymore-180963602/Akron, Ohio hopes to fight urban inequality by removing a divisive highway. Other cities across America are looking into doing the same. Mon, 12 Jun 2017 11:52:53 +0000Indonesia’s Trying to Figure Out How Many Islands It Containshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/indonesias-trying-figure-out-how-many-islands-it-contains-180963606/And it’s really complicatedFri, 09 Jun 2017 18:50:43 +0000First-Ever Roma Cultural Institution Opens in Europehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-ever-roma-cultural-institution-opens-europe-180963620/It’s a step toward cultural inclusion for Europe’s largest minority groupFri, 09 Jun 2017 17:19:19 +0000Gigantic Aztec Temple Unearthed in Mexico City http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gigantic-aztec-temple-unearthed-mexico-city-180963629/It was built in tribute to the wind godFri, 09 Jun 2017 12:00:00 +0000Three Things to Know About the Coral Triangle, the Ocean's Biodiversity Hot Spothttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/three-things-know-about-coral-triangle-180963561/At more than a billion acres of ocean, the Coral Triangle is one of the world's biggest and most important marine regionsThu, 08 Jun 2017 13:36:49 +0000Dr. Seuss Museum Opens in Massachusettshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dr-seuss-museum-opens-massachusetts-180963577/The Amazing World of Dr. Seuss features a life-sized Wump of Gump, a recreation of Sala-ma-Sond, and replicas of the author’s childhood hauntsThu, 08 Jun 2017 13:00:00 +0000This Wyoming Town Was Put Up for Auctionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/this-wyoming-town-was-put-auction-180963586/The bulk of the little hamlet was recently sold for $500,000Wed, 07 Jun 2017 18:48:41 +0000Florence Cracks Down on Picnicking Sightseers http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/florence-cracks-down-picnicking-sightseers-180963585/You can still eat in the city—but don’t do it on the white marble steps of the Basilica di Santa CroceWed, 07 Jun 2017 18:15:05 +0000Tourists Are Now Banned from Photographing This Swiss Villagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/swiss-village-bans-photographs-180963533/It's a blatant—if somewhat brilliant—press playFri, 02 Jun 2017 17:46:28 +0000Three Incredible Natural Areas Nominated for the World Heritage Listhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/three-incredible-natural-areas-nominated-world-heritage-list-180963444/Areas in Tibet, Argentina and West Africa are likely to receive international protection for their rare plants, animals and natural beautyThu, 01 Jun 2017 15:22:02 +0000What Do They Call a Quarter Pounder With Cheese in Casablanca? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-do-they-call-quarter-pounder-cheese-casablanca-180963468/McDonalds has been international for 50 years now... and its restaurants have learned how to blend in to the local sceneThu, 01 Jun 2017 12:07:00 +0000Footage of Early 20th-Century Explorations Now Available Onlinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/footage-early-20th-century-explorations-now-available-online-180963484/The UK’s Royal Geographical Society has digitized its archival footage of historic expeditions Wed, 31 May 2017 16:17:22 +0000The Powerful Story Behind Glacier Bay National Park's New Totem Poleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/national-park-gets-two-new-totem-poles-180963470/They're 20-foot-tall symbols of a slowly healing riftTue, 30 May 2017 16:44:57 +0000Venice Has Been Married to the Sea for Over a Thousand Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/venice-has-been-married-sea-over-thousand-years-180963370/Happy anniversary, you crazy kidsFri, 26 May 2017 16:05:00 +0000North Carolina Has a House Cat Museum http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/north-carolina-has-house-cat-museum-180963442/You’ll want to paws for this roadside attractionThu, 25 May 2017 16:03:08 +0000Blinged-Out Menorah Debuts at Pioneering Exhibit in Romehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/blinged-out-menorah-debuts-pioneering-exhibit-rome-180963381/The piece, which is encrusted with precious jewels, was gifted to the Jewish Museum in Rome by the artist Joel Arthur RosenthalWed, 24 May 2017 14:42:08 +0000Italy Is Giving Away 103 Historic Buildings, Free of Chargehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italy-giving-away-103-historic-buildings-free-charge-180963423/But potential owners are required to transform the properties into tourist-friendly sites Tue, 23 May 2017 19:02:33 +0000Indonesian Village Turns Into a Rainbow to Attract Touristshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/indonesian-village-turns-rainbow-attract-tourists-1-180963414/Every house and business in Kampung Pelangi is painted in bright rainbow colorsTue, 23 May 2017 16:53:05 +0000Take a Virtual Swim Through Five Marine Sanctuarieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-virtual-swim-through-five-marine-sanctuaries-180963334/From sunken ships to schools of fish, the new 360-degree, VR images are breathtaking Mon, 22 May 2017 19:48:26 +0000Has Hillary Step on Mount Everest Collapsed?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/has-hillary-step-mount-everest-collapsed-180963406/A British mountaineer says yes, but authorities in Nepal have denied his assertionsMon, 22 May 2017 18:49:03 +0000Sprawling Contemporary Art Museum to Open in Bangladeshhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sprawling-contemporary-art-museum-open-bangladesh-180963399/The space will include a 100-acre sculpture park and a vast gallery devoted to South Asian artMon, 22 May 2017 17:52:47 +0000Enormous Chicken Painting Comes Home to Roosthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/enormous-chicken-painting-comes-home-roost-180963401/After years overseas, Doug Argue’s iconic portrait is backMon, 22 May 2017 16:58:21 +0000Chasing Waterfalls? Head to Yosemitehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chasing-waterfalls-head-yosemite-180963386/Don’t stick to the rivers and the lakes that you’re used to—recent snowmelt is fueling spectacular fallsFri, 19 May 2017 17:28:39 +0000Six Portraits on Display Deepen the Mystery of Jane Austenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibit-six-portraits-deepen-mystery-jane-austen-180963366/Was Austen demure, sardonic, or glamorous? Each portrait tells a different story about the beloved authorFri, 19 May 2017 14:26:23 +0000The Icelandic Translation of 'Dracula' Is Actually a Different Bookhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/icelandic-translation-dracula-actually-different-book-180963346/The mysteries of this Gothic classic aren't over yetFri, 19 May 2017 13:34:00 +0000Iceland's Volcano and Earthquake Museum is Devoted to the Country's "Epic" Geology http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/icelands-volcano-and-earthquake-museum-devoted-countrys-epic-geology-180963312/The Lava Center is surrounded by three volcanoesThu, 18 May 2017 15:28:13 +0000How a German Mathematician Took Responsibility for an Ancient Peruvian Artifacthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-german-mathematician-took-responsibility-ancient-peruvian-artifact-180963217/Maria Reiche lived in a shack in the desert with the Nazca Lines for 40 yearsMon, 15 May 2017 16:48:27 +0000An Upcoming Art Exhibition Caters to Canine Critics http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/upcoming-art-exhibition-caters-canine-critics-180963256/Touching (and licking and sniffing) the art is allowedMon, 15 May 2017 11:00:00 +0000Massive Royal Atlas Gets Digitizedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/massive-royal-atlas-gets-digitized-180963220/The magnificent Klencke Atlas is now available online courtesy of the British LibraryFri, 12 May 2017 15:03:54 +0000Why Does Every Tourist Attraction Sell Fudge? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-does-every-tourist-attraction-sell-fudge-180963152/One thing that places as different as Niagara Falls, Disneyland and Ellis Island have in common? FudgeFri, 12 May 2017 12:55:00 +0000Witness the Document that Set the Trail of Tears in Motionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/witness-document-set-trail-tears-motion-180963270/The Indian Removal Act is on display at the National Archives through June 14Fri, 12 May 2017 12:00:00 +0000This Island Can Only Be Visited by Menhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/island-can-only-be-visited-men-180963245/Okinoshima will soon become a Unesco world heritage site—but tradition bans women from its shoresThu, 11 May 2017 19:55:41 +0000Ornate Tiara, Once Worn by a Grand Duchess, Stolen From German Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ornate-tiara-once-worn-grand-duchess-stolen-german-museum-180963249/The headpiece is adorned with 367 diamonds and has been valued at $1.31 millionThu, 11 May 2017 16:47:57 +0000“Lost” 18th-Century Garden Found at Scottish Castlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lost-18th-century-garden-found-scottish-castle-180963179/Archaeologists believed that the garden had been demolished and buried during renovations of the sprawling estateWed, 10 May 2017 12:00:00 +0000Found: Pages From One of the First Books Printed in England http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-pages-one-first-books-printed-england-180963216/A librarian at the University of Reading discovered the 15th-century text buried in a boxTue, 09 May 2017 17:53:48 +0000Google Maps Glitch Sends Tourists to the Wrong Norwegian Townhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-maps-glitch-sends-tourists-wrong-norwegian-town-180963215/Preikestolen is not in FossmorkTue, 09 May 2017 17:12:45 +0000Minnesota Town Gets Veterans Memorial Covered With Satanic Imageryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/minnesota-town-gets-vets-memorial-covered-satanic-imagery-180963208/It’s America’s first satanic monument on public groundsTue, 09 May 2017 16:40:58 +0000These Groceries Are Made of Felt http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-groceries-are-made-felt-180963158/And artist Lucy Sparrow is opening an entire bodega full of themMon, 08 May 2017 14:51:15 +0000Obamas Unveil Plans for Presidential Library and Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/obamas-unveil-plans-his-presidential-library-and-museum-180963149/Located in Jackson Park on Chicago's South Side, the former first couple hopes the campus will help revitalize the areaFri, 05 May 2017 12:00:00 +0000After Brexit, A Tiny German Town Will Become the Center of the EUhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-brexit-tiny-german-town-will-become-center-eu-180963137/Residents of the area thought the announcement was an April Fool’s jokeThu, 04 May 2017 19:44:02 +0000Paris’ Infamous Love Locks Will Now Help Migrantshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paris-infamous-love-locks-will-now-help-migrants-180963143/The pesky padlocks are now removed from the bridge—and up for auctionThu, 04 May 2017 19:14:24 +0000Norwegian TV Series on Migrating Reindeer Impeded After Animals Stop Migratinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norwegian-tv-series-migrating-reindeer-impeded-after-animals-stop-migrating-180963144/The animals are not moving fast enough for Norway’s "slow TV" crazeThu, 04 May 2017 18:25:05 +0000Rome Is Finally Restoring the Mausoleum of Augustushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rome-finally-restoring-mausoleum-augustus-180963132/Once the tomb of emperors, a project funded by a telecom company hopes to revive the massive monument now covered in trash and weedsThu, 04 May 2017 17:27:38 +0000Who Is the Mysterious Subject of This Alice Neel Portrait?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/who-mysterious-subject-alice-neel-portrait-180963119/A journalist has cracked the caseThu, 04 May 2017 15:08:36 +0000Rosa Parks’ Detroit House Finds a Home in Berlinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rosa-parks-house-finds-home-berlin-180963126/Once abandoned and decrepit, the house has been restored overseasThu, 04 May 2017 12:00:00 +0000"Get Your Kicks" at This Route 66 Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-your-kicks-route-66-museum-180963097/The Mill Restaurant, which once served hungry travelers, now hosts a shrine to the highway's roadside attractionsWed, 03 May 2017 18:10:43 +0000Project Is Making 3D Scans of Ancient Handprintshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/project-making-3d-scans-ancient-handprints-180963103/The Handpas Project is looking to unlock who made the prehistoric art and whyWed, 03 May 2017 17:02:57 +0000UK Appoints First Woman as Official Artist of General Electionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/uk-appoints-first-woman-official-artist-general-election-180963104/Cornelia Parker will create a piece for the Parliamentary Art CollectionWed, 03 May 2017 15:39:47 +0000Hong Kong’s Tiananmen Square Museum Reopenshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hong-kongs-tiananmen-square-museum-reopens-180963105/For some, the museum is the first time they confront information about the 1989 massacreWed, 03 May 2017 14:17:21 +0000Tasmanian Art Festival to Host Controversial Hermann Nitsch Performancehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tasmanian-art-festival-will-host-contentious-performance-180963083/The festival has decided to proceed with the avant-garde artist's work, despite public outrageTue, 02 May 2017 16:41:20 +0000Museum of Migration Opens in Londonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-migration-opens-london-180963095/The ambitious museum brings new perspective to a city shaped by immigrantsTue, 02 May 2017 15:04:06 +0000Model Looms Are Missing Link in China's Textile Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/model-looms-are-missing-link-chinas-textile-history-180962990/Four miniature pattern looms found in a burial in Chengdu show how the Han Dynasty produced cloth to trade on the Silk RoadMon, 01 May 2017 17:08:58 +0000New Exhibit Highlights the Art of the Courtroom Sketchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibit-highlights-art-courtroom-sketch-180963091/For decades, these drawings offered the public its only glimpse into high-profile court casesMon, 01 May 2017 16:12:51 +0000A Nude Sculpture of George Washington Is Coming to New Yorkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nude-sculpture-george-washington-coming-new-york-180963072/The work was made in preparation for a larger, clothed statue by the Italian artist Antonio Canova Fri, 28 Apr 2017 17:47:29 +0000The Essential I.M. Pei http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/essential-im-pei-180963063/The century-old architect changed the way the world sees itselfThu, 27 Apr 2017 16:42:42 +0000The Tragic Story of the First Ascent of the Matterhornhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tragic-story-first-ascent-matterhorn-180962998/Edward Whymper had tried seven times to reach the top of the Matterhorn. He made it on the eighth try–at great costThu, 27 Apr 2017 16:00:43 +0000This Building Is Covered in Emoji http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/building-covered-emoji-180963030/-Person raising both hands in celebration-Wed, 26 Apr 2017 15:56:43 +0000Cult Filmmaker John Waters Is Hosting a Summer Camp for Adultshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/john-waters-will-host-summer-camp-adults-180963027/It’s as kooky as you might imagineWed, 26 Apr 2017 14:43:29 +0000New Orleans Tears Down Controversial Confederate Monumentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-orleans-tears-down-controversial-confederate-monuments-180963023/A 35-foot obelisk in memory of a white supremacist uprising is no moreTue, 25 Apr 2017 19:57:49 +0000