Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenWed, 27 Apr 2016 15:57:14 +0000A German City Installed Traffic Lights For Textershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/german-city-installed-traffic-lights-texters-180958926/In Augsburg, distracted smartphone users don't have to look up to stay safeWed, 27 Apr 2016 15:57:14 +0000Prince’s Paisley Park Studios Will Become a Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/princes-paisley-park-studios-will-become-museum-180958920/A la GracelandTue, 26 Apr 2016 20:02:22 +0000Fire Devastates New Delhi's National Museum of Natural Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fire-devastates-new-delhis-national-museum-natural-history-180958914/A late night blaze guts one of India's favorite museums, destroying valuable collections and exhibitsTue, 26 Apr 2016 16:00:02 +0000An Israeli Brewery Recreated a 2,000-Year-Old Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/israeli-brewery-recreated-2000-year-old-beer-180958883/Beer brewed as in Biblical timesMon, 25 Apr 2016 18:13:04 +0000Celebrate Earth Day With a Rainbow of Spectacular Photoshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-earth-day-rainbow-spectacular-photos-180958876/Nature's palette is unparalleledFri, 22 Apr 2016 16:33:52 +0000This Artist Builds Tiny Rooms in Milan’s Forgotten Manholeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-builds-tiny-rooms-milans-forgotten-manholes-180958854/The seemingly whimsical project has a darker meaningFri, 22 Apr 2016 13:00:00 +0000Eight Awesome Maps From Stanford's New David Rumsey Map Centerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eight-awesome-maps-stanfords-new-david-rumsey-map-center-180958861/A collection of 150,000 historic maps merges paper and digital images in new waysFri, 22 Apr 2016 12:00:00 +0000Why Women Bring Their 'I Voted' Stickers to Susan B. Anthony's Grave http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-women-bring-their-i-voted-stickers-susan-b-anthonys-grave-180958847/It's a small tribute to a big leader in women's suffrage Wed, 20 Apr 2016 16:36:31 +0000Massive Roman Villa Found in British Backyardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/massive-roman-villa-found-british-backyard-180958821/One of the largest and best-preserved Roman homes ever found in Britain was discovered after a family decided they wanted to play ping-pong in their barnTue, 19 Apr 2016 16:55:36 +0000Help First Responders in Ecuador Without Leaving Your Deskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/help-first-responders-ecuador-without-leaving-your-desk-180958822/Scour satellite imagery of earthquake-stricken areas to help aid agencies decide where to go nextTue, 19 Apr 2016 16:20:00 +0000A New Exhibition Is All About Underwearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibition-all-about-underwear-180958809/From a queen's drawers to David Beckham's briefs, The Victoria and Albert Museum gets "Undressed"Tue, 19 Apr 2016 13:00:00 +0000Death Valley Has a Secret Shrine to…Teahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/death-valley-has-secret-shrine-tea-180958795/Take a kettle, leave a kettle at this remote junctionTue, 19 Apr 2016 12:00:00 +0000New York’s Newest Urban Farm Floatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-yorks-newest-urban-farm-floats-180958764/A barge bursting with vegetables takes to the water this summerMon, 18 Apr 2016 15:04:52 +0000This Perfume Smells Like the Apocalypsehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/perfume-smells-apocalypse-180958728/Artists bottled blood and thunder to capture the heady scent of the end timesMon, 18 Apr 2016 14:19:23 +0000Historic Sites of the London Underground Will Soon Open for Visitorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tourists-will-get-rare-chance-tour-secrets-london-underground-180958794/See Churchill’s blitz bunker and the first underwater tunnel ever builtFri, 15 Apr 2016 16:43:31 +0000The Czech Republic Wants to Change Its Namehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/czech-republic-wants-change-its-name-180958792/Welcome to “Czechia”Fri, 15 Apr 2016 15:24:49 +0000Five Fascinating Places to Visit This Obscura Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-fascinating-places-visit-obscura-day-180958762/<i>Atlas Obscura</i> celebrates all things weird and wonderful worldwide this SaturdayThu, 14 Apr 2016 17:07:12 +0000The U.S. Finally Has a National Monument That Honors Women’s Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-finally-has-national-monument-honors-womens-history-180958742/144 Constitution Avenue is now one of the women’s movement’s most significant sitesTue, 12 Apr 2016 20:10:51 +0000Museum Building Is Booming in the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-building-booming-united-states-180958711/In a seven-year period, museums in the U.S. spent around $5 billionMon, 11 Apr 2016 18:31:25 +0000Celebrate Shakespeare’s Legacy at Hamlet’s Castlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-shakespeares-legacy-hamlets-castle-180958685/Rest, rest, perturbed spirit! A bed awaits at “Elsinore”Thu, 07 Apr 2016 15:54:56 +0000Researchers Crack Open the Mysterious Plain of Jarshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-crack-open-mysterious-plain-jars-180958675/After 80 years, archeologists get the chance to explore the Laotian plateau dotted with giant stone jarsWed, 06 Apr 2016 16:57:53 +0000Eco-Celebrity Crane Inspires Wetland Protection in Taiwanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eco-celebrity-crane-inspires-wetland-protection-taiwan-180958666/An endangered Siberian crane that has made Taiwan home is inspiring locals to protect the wetlandsTue, 05 Apr 2016 19:20:00 +0000Here are Seven of Zaha Hadid's Most Stunning Structures http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-seven-zaha-hadids-most-stunning-structures-180958635/The architect leaves behind an astonishing legacyFri, 01 Apr 2016 16:52:26 +0000Chicago Is Getting a Pizza Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chicago-getting-pizza-museum-180958624/Hold the anchovies: This pop-up is a pizza-lover’s dreamThu, 31 Mar 2016 19:20:00 +0000Switzerland Will Host the First Cyborg Olympicshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/switzerland-will-host-first-cyborg-olympics-180958608/The “Cybathlon” will show what happens when humans and machines collaborateWed, 30 Mar 2016 17:32:49 +0000Genetically Pure Bison Will Return to Montana After 100 Years in Exilehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/genetically-pure-bison-return-montana-after-100-years-exile-180958597/Next week, the Blackfeet Tribe will receive 89 buffalo calves that descended from Montana stock in a Canadian National ParkTue, 29 Mar 2016 18:30:50 +0000Rhinos Will Be Airlifted to Australia to Avoid Poachershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rhinos-flying-australia-avoid-poachers-180958587/A new project is flying rhinos from South Africa to Australia to create a "biological insurance policy" against increased poachingMon, 28 Mar 2016 18:05:23 +0000Johnny Rotten's Graffiti Made These Buildings Historic Landmarkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/johnny-rottens-graffiti-made-these-buildings-historic-landmarks-180958558/The Sex Pistols’ home and recording studio are now protected as a cultural heritage sitesThu, 24 Mar 2016 19:09:06 +0000This Could Be the World’s Most Colorful Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/could-be-worlds-most-colorful-library-180958560/Harvard’s Forbes Pigment Collection preserves some of history’s most precious colors—and helps conserve the world’s greatest artThu, 24 Mar 2016 16:32:38 +0000French Theme Park "Battles" British Government to Keep Joan of Arc's Ringhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/french-theme-park-battles-british-keep-joan-arcs-ring-180958556/After buying a ring purportedly owned by Joan of Arc, a French history park owner defies UK demandsThu, 24 Mar 2016 15:22:22 +0000These Are Europe’s Eight Most Endangered Cultural Landmarkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-europes-eight-most-endangered-cultural-landmarks-180958488/Unless things change, these historic sites could disappear from the map foreverThu, 24 Mar 2016 13:00:00 +0000Cruise Ship Set to Sail the Perilous Northwest Passagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cruise-ship-set-sail-perilous-northwest-passage-180958545/Crystal Cruises will sail a ship with over 1,000 passengers through the legendary—and deadly—Arctic routeWed, 23 Mar 2016 18:28:40 +0000A Saturated Snapshot of This Year’s Holi Celebrationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-saturated-snapshot-of-this-years-holi-celebrations-180958530/Revelers are already soaking in shades of the spring festivalTue, 22 Mar 2016 17:04:43 +0000Here's Why Some of Yosemite’s Iconic Landmarks Are Being Temporarily Renamedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-some-yosemites-iconic-landmarks-renamed-180958522/The U.S. government is battling a private company for the rights to historic namesTue, 22 Mar 2016 15:06:55 +0000This Polish Museum Exhibit Was Completely Curated By Kidshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/polish-museum-exhibit-was-completely-curated-kids-180958512/“Anything Goes” took six months and 69 children to createTue, 22 Mar 2016 14:19:23 +0000CERN Seeks International Artists For Full-Time Residencyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cern-seeks-international-artists-full-time-residency-180958448/The European Center for Nuclear Research is calling for art submissions for its annual awardWed, 16 Mar 2016 16:30:00 +0000The CDC Says High Elevation Regions Are Safe From Zikahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cdc-says-high-elevation-regions-are-safe-from-zika-180958421/It's welcome news for anyone with travel plansTue, 15 Mar 2016 16:23:25 +0000A Prominent Street Artist Just Destroyed All of His Workshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/prominent-street-artist-just-destroyed-all-his-works-180958408/Blu used a chisel and gray paint to make a pointMon, 14 Mar 2016 20:45:00 +0000World War II Survivor Tips Off Geologists to Hidden Tunnels Beneath Napleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-war-ii-survivor-tips-geologists-hidden-tunnels-beneath-naples-180958399/The forgotten tunnels were used as bomb sheltersMon, 14 Mar 2016 17:10:00 +0000These Mountains Are Made of Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-mountains-are-made-books-180958389/An interdisciplinary artist creates landscapes out of encyclopediasMon, 14 Mar 2016 14:22:46 +0000The Worcester Art Museum’s New Exhibit Is All Cats, All the Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worcester-art-museums-new-exhibit-all-cats-all-time-180958388/New art exhibit will trace humans' captivation with cats throughout historyFri, 11 Mar 2016 19:05:22 +0000Found: The Biggest Collection of Ancient Oaks in Europehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-biggest-collection-ancient-oaks-europe-180958364/The massive, old trees were hiding in plain sight in the woods of a spectacular mansionThu, 10 Mar 2016 15:45:20 +0000Mr. Darcy’s Wet Shirt is Coming to the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mr-darcys-wet-shirt-coming-united-states-180958367/It’s the costume that launched an entire generation of Jane Austen loversThu, 10 Mar 2016 14:00:00 +0000Virtual Reality is Coming to Real-Life Rollercoastershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/virtual-reality-coming-real-life-rollercoasters-180958314/Soar with Superman or pilot an alien-fighting jetWed, 09 Mar 2016 17:30:00 +0000The Sky Might Soon Be Flush With Self-Cleaning Bathroomshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-day-plane-bathrooms-could-clean-themselves-180958299/A new Boeing prototype lavatory zaps germs with UV raysTue, 08 Mar 2016 14:00:00 +0000A Restored Skyscraper in LA Will Feature a Terrifying Glass Slidehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/restored-skyscraper-la-will-feature-terrifying-glass-slide-180958285/Going to the bank just got that much scarierMon, 07 Mar 2016 17:46:53 +0000At Long Last, Santiago Calatrava’s World Trade Center Transit Hub Is Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/long-last-santiago-calatravas-world-trade-center-transit-hub-open-180958287/The $4 billion train station has been called beautiful and a boondoggleFri, 04 Mar 2016 19:00:00 +0000Japan Has a Hotel Staffed by Robots http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-has-hotel-staffed-robots-180958275/Androids, velociraptors and talking toys are all part of the experience at the Henn-na HotelFri, 04 Mar 2016 14:50:00 +0000New Zealanders Are Voting Whether to Adopt a New Flaghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealanders-are-voting-whether-to-adopt-new-flag-180958272/The country could drop the Union Jack in favor of a design with a more distinctive national symbol Thu, 03 Mar 2016 16:46:45 +0000Alaska Is Shipping in Snow for This Year’s Iditarodhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alaska-shipping-snow-years-iditarod-180958265/Could a warm winter make the famous sled race go to the dogs?Wed, 02 Mar 2016 19:03:09 +0000Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar Is Getting a Makeoverhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/istanbuls-grand-bazaar-getting-makeover-180958263/The bazaar has withstood at least seven fires and several major earthquakesWed, 02 Mar 2016 18:00:00 +0000It's Way Too Hard to Find Statues of Notable Women in the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/its-way-too-hard-to-find-statues-of-notable-women-in-the-us-180958237/Only a handful of the country's sculptures honor womenMon, 29 Feb 2016 20:31:12 +0000