Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenFri, 29 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000Should a Colony Where Leprosy Patients Were Once Exiled Become a Tourist Destination?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/should-colony-where-leprosy-patients-were-once-exiled-become-tourist-destination-180955449/The discussion gets sticky with concerns over how to respect the largely Native Hawaiian residents past and presentFri, 29 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000A Museum Keeps The Fake Noses That Once Replaced Those Missing on Ancient Sculptureshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-keeps-fake-noses-replaced-those-missing-ancient-sculptures-180955420/The exhibit is a testament to art restoration’s changing valuesWed, 27 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000A Heat Wave Has Killed Over 1,100 People in India http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heat-wave-has-killed-over-1100-india-180955419/Scorching temperatures are having a disproportionate affect on the poorWed, 27 May 2015 17:30:00 +00003D Copies of Art Let the Blind Experience Classic Works in New Wayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/3d-copies-art-let-blind-experience-classic-works-180955418/In this museum, touching the paintings is allowedWed, 27 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000Take a Drone Tour of Ancient Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-drone-tour-ancient-history-180955413/Drones offer a soaring perspective of ancient sitesWed, 27 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000A Volcano In the Galapagos Islands Is Threatening Precious Specieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/volcano-galapagos-islands-threatening-precious-species-180955395/Pink iguanas, marine life could be harmed by lava flows on Isabela IslandTue, 26 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000There's a Spacecraft Cemetery in the Pacifichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-spacecraft-cemetery-pacific-180955338/The middle of the Pacfic Ocean is one of the two places spacecrafts are laid to rest Thu, 21 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000This New Tower Gives Scientists a Bird's Eye View of the Amazonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tallest-structure-south-america-give-scientists-eyes-amazon-180955342/It pairs with a similar tower in Siberia to observe changes in the Earth's atmosphereThu, 21 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000How Feral Donkeys Saved a Lost Hiker’s Life in Death Valley http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/feral-burros-saved-lost-hikers-life-death-valley-180955271/But not everyone loves shaggy wild donkeysSun, 17 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000SpaceX’s Capsule Has an Emergency Eject Systemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/spacexs-capsule-has-safety-eject-get-away-rocket-if-launch-goes-wrong-180955187/The spaceflight company hits another milestone in tests of its Dragon 2 and Falcon 9 systems Thu, 07 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Two French Towns Are Battling Over a Saint’s Remainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/two-french-towns-are-battling-over-saints-remains-180955174/Should Saint Bernadette be laid to rest in the town she made famous…or the one she chose to live in?Tue, 05 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000A Piranha Was Just Found in an Arkansas Lakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/piranhas-been-found-arkansas-lake-180955163/The sharp-toothed fish was likely a pet gone rogue Mon, 04 May 2015 14:24:34 +0000Germany Just Opened a Nazi Museum in the Party's Former Headquarters http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germany-just-opened-nazi-museum-180955154/70 years later, Munich's mayor says the city is ready to "face up to its Nazi past" Fri, 01 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000Culinary Diplomacy: Why Governments Are Starting Food Trends http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-governments-are-starting-food-trends-180955116/Promoting your country's food is becoming a trendy tactic for nations looking to raise their profile (and tourist revenue)Tue, 28 Apr 2015 17:30:00 +0000Lake Michigan is So Clear Right Now its Shipwrecks Are Visible From the Airhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sunken-ships-lake-michigan-are-visible-ghostly-blue-180955108/A Coast Guard patrol spotted the wrecks in shallow waters that are only clear after the lake's ice melts and before summer sediment swirls and algae bloomsMon, 27 Apr 2015 17:42:29 +0000Japan Plans a Trip to the Moon by 2018http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-plans-land-moon-2018-180955088/The lander will use information from Japan’s moon-orbiting satellite to stick the landingFri, 24 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Watch A Dangerous Yet Lovely Volcano Erupt in Chile http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-unexpectedly-lovely-volcano-erupt-chile-180955083/Calbuco volcano springs to life after more than 40 years of dormancyThu, 23 Apr 2015 14:31:33 +0000Here’s How Cinnamon is Harvested in Indonesiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-cinnamon-harvested-valley-indonesia-180955063/Watch as the inner bark from cinnamon trees is cut and stripped down to create the spiceWed, 22 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Meet the First Donut That Went to Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-first-donut-went-space-180955032/A pair of Swedish brothers launched a tasty pastry into the stratosphere—and filmed the entire rideFri, 17 Apr 2015 18:35:07 +0000Levitating Train Breaks Speed Record in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/levitating-train-breaks-speed-record-japan-180955029/This magnetic levitation bullet train is capable of speeds of 366 miles per hour—and possibly moreFri, 17 Apr 2015 17:00:40 +0000This Man Plans to Spend a Year Living in a Giant Ball on an Iceberg http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/man-plans-spend-year-living-giant-ball-iceberg-180955022/Adventurer Alex Bellini wants to watch a Greenland iceberg melt while he dwells in a "survival pod"Thu, 16 Apr 2015 19:15:40 +0000New York City Ran a Slave Market http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ran-slave-market-180954982/New marker will acknowledge the bustling slave trade that helped build New YorkTue, 14 Apr 2015 14:15:45 +0000Tour the Theater Where Lincoln Was Assassinated on Google Street Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-theater-where-lincoln-was-assassinated-google-street-view-180954979/150 years later, a new view of Ford’s TheatreTue, 14 Apr 2015 12:00:00 +0000Here Are the Places Most at Risk of a Volcanic Explosionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-places-most-risk-volcanic-explosion-180954972/New research will help countries prepare Mon, 13 Apr 2015 15:30:48 +0000Mountaineers Are Taking a New Route Up Everest http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mountaineers-are-taking-new-route-everest-180954935/They’ll forge their path sans sherpas or oxygen tanksFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:30:32 +0000Here’s Why the Dutch Are So Tall http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-dutch-are-so-tall-180954930/A new study shows natural selection is alive and well in the Netherlands Fri, 10 Apr 2015 13:30:44 +000070 Percent of Western Canada’s Glaciers Will Disappear by 2100http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/70-percent-western-canadas-glaciers-will-disappear-2100-180954900/And that’s the conservative side of scientists’ ice melt projectionsTue, 07 Apr 2015 15:30:46 +0000Could NASA Stop on the Moon on the Way to Mars?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/could-nasa-stop-moon-way-mars-180954884/NASA's chief of human exploration thinks we'll need a pit stop en route to the fiery planetMon, 06 Apr 2015 14:15:50 +0000An Autonomous Car Just Completed a 3,400-Mile Road Triphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/autonomous-car-just-completed-3400-mile-road-trip-180954869/Delphi’s robo-car drove itself across 15 states in just nine daysFri, 03 Apr 2015 17:12:48 +0000California’s Drought Is Changing the Way Bay-Area Water Tastes And Smellshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/californias-drought-changing-way-bay-area-water-tastes-and-smells-180954836/The Bay Area’s water is still safe to use, but drought is causing a noxious algae bloom to affect tap waterThu, 02 Apr 2015 16:37:26 +0000Why the ESA’s Astronauts Train Underground http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-esas-astronauts-train-underground-180954835/The European Space Agency is applying protocols from the International Space Station in cavesThu, 02 Apr 2015 15:01:11 +0000Houston, We Might Have Some Major Problems Making Babies in Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/houston-we-might-have-some-major-problems-making-babies-space-180954828/From risky pregnancies to birth defects to problems with inbreeding, it just seems like a bad ideaThu, 02 Apr 2015 13:30:50 +0000