Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenThu, 26 May 2016 18:16:31 +0000Rome Is Looking for People to Adopt Famous, Falling-Apart Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rome-looking-people-adopt-famous-falling-apart-sites-180959236/When in Rome, pony up some cash for cultural preservation Thu, 26 May 2016 18:16:31 +0000The Longest, Deepest Train Tunnel in the World Is About to Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/longest-deepest-train-tunnel-world-about-open-180959228/It goes straight through the base of the AlpsThu, 26 May 2016 14:58:38 +0000A Painting Georgia O’Keeffe Wanted Destroyed Is on Display for the First Time in Nearly 60 Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/painting-georgia-okeeffe-wanted-destroyed-display-first-time-nearly-60-years-180959229/O’Keeffe’s watercolor returns to the town where she painted itWed, 25 May 2016 15:16:26 +0000This Startup Wants to Open the 2020 Olympics With a Man-Made Meteor Showerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/startup-wants-open-2020-olympics-man-made-meteor-shower-180959219/Could the only thing better than fireworks be fireworks launched from space?Wed, 25 May 2016 14:50:32 +0000These Are America’s Most Well-Read Citieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-americas-most-well-read-cities-180959224/Did your bookish burg make Amazon.com's list? Wed, 25 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000Bug Poop Is Turning the Taj Mahal Greenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bug-poop-turning-taj-mahal-green-180959222/To make matters worse, constant cleaning is damaging the monument’s delicate marbleTue, 24 May 2016 19:33:02 +0000Four People Have Died on Everest in as Many Dayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-people-have-died-everest-many-days-180959209/The mountain's terrible toll has set the 2016 climbing season off to a rocky start Mon, 23 May 2016 18:20:00 +0000Houston Opens Up Its Huge "Underground Cathedral" to Visitorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/houston-opens-its-huge-underground-cathedral-visitors-180959204/A haunting 1920's city reservoir full of 25-foot columns and shafts of light is now open to the public Mon, 23 May 2016 18:00:00 +0000When It Rains in Boston, the Sidewalks Reveal Poetryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-it-rains-boston-sidewalks-reveal-poetry-180959205/Water-resistant spray paint creates hidden poems on Beantown’s streetsMon, 23 May 2016 16:40:00 +0000A Giant Flock of Pigeons Is Lighting up New York’s Night Skyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-giant-flock-pigeons-lighting-new-yorks-night-sky-180959192/The show is meant to illustrate that pigeons aren't rats with wingsMon, 23 May 2016 14:42:52 +0000The World's Longest Pizza Took 250 Chefs More Than Six Hours to Makehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-longest-pizza-took-250-chefs-more-six-hours-make-180959177/No surprise, the record-holding pie was created in NaplesFri, 20 May 2016 16:00:00 +0000Five of the Most Iconic State Sandwicheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-most-iconic-state-sandwiches-180959180/Choosing a state sandwich is hard workFri, 20 May 2016 15:34:43 +0000Get Ready for the “Summer of Hamilton”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-ready-summer-hamilton-180959166/A new exhibition at the New-York Historical Society focuses on the "$10 Founding Father"Thu, 19 May 2016 16:48:49 +0000Amateur Divers Find Huge Cache of Bronze Artifacts in Israel National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amateur-divers-find-huge-cache-bronze-artifacts-israel-national-park-180959143/Recreational divers discover a Roman shipwreck full of rare bronze statues, coins and other artifacts in Caesarea National ParkWed, 18 May 2016 14:16:30 +0000Baby Bison Euthanized After Tourists Try to "Save" Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/baby-bison-euthanized-after-tourists-try-save-it-180959142/Don't touch the wildlifeTue, 17 May 2016 15:56:22 +0000A Brief History of Taking Books Along for the Ridehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-brief-history-of-taking-books-along-for-the-ride-180959116/Have books, will travelTue, 17 May 2016 15:28:08 +0000Why You Might Start Seeing Disney And Other Brands in National Parkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-you-might-start-seeing-disney-other-brands-in-national-parks-180959106/Relaxed rules on donor recognition could allow corporate sponsors to fund items within National ParksMon, 16 May 2016 18:03:23 +0000Wander About an Art Installation Inspired by the Large Hadron Colliderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wander-about-art-installation-inspired-large-hadron-collider-180959117/Art from scienceMon, 16 May 2016 15:40:35 +0000China Will Start Publicly Shaming Tourists Who Graffiti Mount Everesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/china-will-start-publicly-shaming-tourists-who-graffiti-mount-everest-180959097/Leave nothing but footprintsMon, 16 May 2016 14:53:09 +0000Why "The Royal Oak" Is a Popular Pub Name in the U.K.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-royal-oak-popular-pub-name-uk-180959098/The story goes back to the English Civil Wars and a prince on the runFri, 13 May 2016 15:43:15 +0000Chinese Cops Are Temporarily Patrolling the Streets of Rome and Milanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chinese-cops-are-temporarily-patrolling-streets-rome-and-milan-180959088/A new experimental program put international police at Italy's tourist hubs to help the influx of Chinese travelersThu, 12 May 2016 18:32:12 +0000Help London's Science Museum Bring Britain's First Robot Back to Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/science-museum-rebuilding-eric-britains-first-robot-180959055/Eric impressed crowds in the 1920's by standing up, bowing, and shooting sparks from his teethThu, 12 May 2016 15:45:13 +0000During the Cold War, the Air Force Dropped an Unarmed Nuke on South Carolinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/during-cold-war-air-force-dropped-an-unarmed-nuke-on-south-carolina-180959078/Amazingly, none of the Gregg family of Mars Bluff were seriously hurt, not even the catThu, 12 May 2016 14:47:59 +0000Central Park Opens Up Its "Secret Sanctuary"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/central-park-opens-its-secret-sanctuary-180959058/Closed for 80 Years, the Park recently announced it will open the restored Hallett Nature Sanctuary to vistorsWed, 11 May 2016 16:37:53 +0000Early Rembrandt Found in Basement Goes On Displayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/early-rembrandt-found-in-basement-goes-on-display-180959036/The painting is one of five in a series about the senses that the Dutch master created as a teenagerTue, 10 May 2016 15:47:56 +0000The Bison Is Now the Official Mammal of the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bison-now-official-mammal-united-states-180958921/The big beasts are the first official mammals recognized by the federal governmentMon, 09 May 2016 20:07:42 +0000Want to Browse Some National Park Maps? There’s a Site For Thathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/want-browse-some-national-park-maps-theres-site-180959021/Can you guess the most popular map?Mon, 09 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000Build Your Own Library at the First-Ever Little Library Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/build-your-own-library-first-ever-little-library-festival-180959017/The book-sharing stations have popped up all across the United StatesFri, 06 May 2016 17:57:07 +0000NASA Announces World's New Lightning Hotspothttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-announce-worlds-new-lightning-hot-spot-180958994/The electric capital tops the charts with lightning storms 297 nights per yearThu, 05 May 2016 14:35:00 +0000Why Are Chilean Beaches Covered With Dead Animals?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-are-chilean-beaches-covered-dead-animals-180958998/Warm waters have turned the country's once-pristine coast into a putrid sightWed, 04 May 2016 19:35:03 +0000Yellowstone’s Most Famous Bear Is Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yellowstones-most-famous-bear-dead-180958980/Who shot “Scarface”?Tue, 03 May 2016 18:20:00 +0000Five Things to Know About Megacitieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-things-to-know-about-megacities-180958937/Urbanization is happening fast—here's what to know about the world's largest citiesMon, 02 May 2016 19:12:41 +0000“New” 2,000-Year-Old Geoglyph Spotted in Peruhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-2000-year-old-geoglyph-spotted-peru-180958968/There’s always more to learn about the mysterious Nazca linesMon, 02 May 2016 16:01:22 +0000The Swiss Have Made Cheese Since the Iron Agehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/swiss-have-made-cheese-iron-age-180958952/This discovery pushes Swiss cheesemaking traditions back millenniaFri, 29 Apr 2016 15:56:04 +0000A German City Installed Traffic Lights For Textershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/german-city-installed-traffic-lights-texters-180958926/In Augsburg, distracted smartphone users don't have to look up to stay safeWed, 27 Apr 2016 15:57:14 +0000Prince’s Paisley Park Studios Will Become a Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/princes-paisley-park-studios-will-become-museum-180958920/A la GracelandTue, 26 Apr 2016 20:02:22 +0000Fire Devastates New Delhi's National Museum of Natural Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fire-devastates-new-delhis-national-museum-natural-history-180958914/A late night blaze guts one of India's favorite museums, destroying valuable collections and exhibitsTue, 26 Apr 2016 16:00:02 +0000An Israeli Brewery Recreated a 2,000-Year-Old Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/israeli-brewery-recreated-2000-year-old-beer-180958883/Beer brewed as in Biblical timesMon, 25 Apr 2016 18:13:04 +0000Celebrate Earth Day With a Rainbow of Spectacular Photoshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-earth-day-rainbow-spectacular-photos-180958876/Nature's palette is unparalleledFri, 22 Apr 2016 16:33:52 +0000This Artist Builds Tiny Rooms in Milan’s Forgotten Manholeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-builds-tiny-rooms-milans-forgotten-manholes-180958854/The seemingly whimsical project has a darker meaningFri, 22 Apr 2016 13:00:00 +0000Eight Awesome Maps From Stanford's New David Rumsey Map Centerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eight-awesome-maps-stanfords-new-david-rumsey-map-center-180958861/A collection of 150,000 historic maps merges paper and digital images in new waysFri, 22 Apr 2016 12:00:00 +0000Why Women Bring Their 'I Voted' Stickers to Susan B. Anthony's Grave http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-women-bring-their-i-voted-stickers-susan-b-anthonys-grave-180958847/It's a small tribute to a big leader in women's suffrage Wed, 20 Apr 2016 16:36:31 +0000Massive Roman Villa Found in British Backyardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/massive-roman-villa-found-british-backyard-180958821/One of the largest and best-preserved Roman homes ever found in Britain was discovered after a family decided they wanted to play ping-pong in their barnTue, 19 Apr 2016 16:55:36 +0000Help First Responders in Ecuador Without Leaving Your Deskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/help-first-responders-ecuador-without-leaving-your-desk-180958822/Scour satellite imagery of earthquake-stricken areas to help aid agencies decide where to go nextTue, 19 Apr 2016 16:20:00 +0000A New Exhibition Is All About Underwearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-exhibition-all-about-underwear-180958809/From a queen's drawers to David Beckham's briefs, The Victoria and Albert Museum gets "Undressed"Tue, 19 Apr 2016 13:00:00 +0000Death Valley Has a Secret Shrine to…Teahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/death-valley-has-secret-shrine-tea-180958795/Take a kettle, leave a kettle at this remote junctionTue, 19 Apr 2016 12:00:00 +0000New York’s Newest Urban Farm Floatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-yorks-newest-urban-farm-floats-180958764/A barge bursting with vegetables takes to the water this summerMon, 18 Apr 2016 15:04:52 +0000This Perfume Smells Like the Apocalypsehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/perfume-smells-apocalypse-180958728/Artists bottled blood and thunder to capture the heady scent of the end timesMon, 18 Apr 2016 14:19:23 +0000Historic Sites of the London Underground Will Soon Open for Visitorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tourists-will-get-rare-chance-tour-secrets-london-underground-180958794/See Churchill’s blitz bunker and the first underwater tunnel ever builtFri, 15 Apr 2016 16:43:31 +0000The Czech Republic Wants to Change Its Namehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/czech-republic-wants-change-its-name-180958792/Welcome to “Czechia”Fri, 15 Apr 2016 15:24:49 +0000Five Fascinating Places to Visit This Obscura Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-fascinating-places-visit-obscura-day-180958762/<i>Atlas Obscura</i> celebrates all things weird and wonderful worldwide this SaturdayThu, 14 Apr 2016 17:07:12 +0000The U.S. Finally Has a National Monument That Honors Women’s Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-finally-has-national-monument-honors-womens-history-180958742/144 Constitution Avenue is now one of the women’s movement’s most significant sitesTue, 12 Apr 2016 20:10:51 +0000Museum Building Is Booming in the United Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-building-booming-united-states-180958711/In a seven-year period, museums in the U.S. spent around $5 billionMon, 11 Apr 2016 18:31:25 +0000Celebrate Shakespeare’s Legacy at Hamlet’s Castlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-shakespeares-legacy-hamlets-castle-180958685/Rest, rest, perturbed spirit! A bed awaits at “Elsinore”Thu, 07 Apr 2016 15:54:56 +0000Researchers Crack Open the Mysterious Plain of Jarshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-crack-open-mysterious-plain-jars-180958675/After 80 years, archeologists get the chance to explore the Laotian plateau dotted with giant stone jarsWed, 06 Apr 2016 16:57:53 +0000Eco-Celebrity Crane Inspires Wetland Protection in Taiwanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eco-celebrity-crane-inspires-wetland-protection-taiwan-180958666/An endangered Siberian crane that has made Taiwan home is inspiring locals to protect the wetlandsTue, 05 Apr 2016 19:20:00 +0000Here are Seven of Zaha Hadid's Most Stunning Structures http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-seven-zaha-hadids-most-stunning-structures-180958635/The architect leaves behind an astonishing legacyFri, 01 Apr 2016 16:52:26 +0000Chicago Is Getting a Pizza Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chicago-getting-pizza-museum-180958624/Hold the anchovies: This pop-up is a pizza-lover’s dreamThu, 31 Mar 2016 19:20:00 +0000Switzerland Will Host the First Cyborg Olympicshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/switzerland-will-host-first-cyborg-olympics-180958608/The “Cybathlon” will show what happens when humans and machines collaborateWed, 30 Mar 2016 17:32:49 +0000Genetically Pure Bison Will Return to Montana After 100 Years in Exilehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/genetically-pure-bison-return-montana-after-100-years-exile-180958597/Next week, the Blackfeet Tribe will receive 89 buffalo calves that descended from Montana stock in a Canadian National ParkTue, 29 Mar 2016 18:30:50 +0000Rhinos Will Be Airlifted to Australia to Avoid Poachershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rhinos-flying-australia-avoid-poachers-180958587/A new project is flying rhinos from South Africa to Australia to create a "biological insurance policy" against increased poachingMon, 28 Mar 2016 18:05:23 +0000