Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenFri, 24 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Japan Plans a Trip to the Moon by 2018http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-plans-land-moon-2018-180955088/The lander will use information from Japan’s moon-orbiting satellite to stick the landingFri, 24 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Watch A Dangerous Yet Lovely Volcano Erupt in Chile http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-unexpectedly-lovely-volcano-erupt-chile-180955083/Calbuco volcano springs to life after more than 40 years of dormancyThu, 23 Apr 2015 14:31:33 +0000Here’s How Cinnamon is Harvested in Indonesiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-cinnamon-harvested-valley-indonesia-180955063/Watch as the inner bark from cinnamon trees is cut and stripped down to create the spiceWed, 22 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Meet the First Donut That Went to Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-first-donut-went-space-180955032/A pair of Swedish brothers launched a tasty pastry into the stratosphere—and filmed the entire rideFri, 17 Apr 2015 18:35:07 +0000Levitating Train Breaks Speed Record in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/levitating-train-breaks-speed-record-japan-180955029/This magnetic levitation bullet train is capable of speeds of 366 miles per hour—and possibly moreFri, 17 Apr 2015 17:00:40 +0000This Man Plans to Spend a Year Living in a Giant Ball on an Iceberg http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/man-plans-spend-year-living-giant-ball-iceberg-180955022/Adventurer Alex Bellini wants to watch a Greenland iceberg melt while he dwells in a "survival pod"Thu, 16 Apr 2015 19:15:40 +0000New York City Ran a Slave Market http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ran-slave-market-180954982/New marker will acknowledge the bustling slave trade that helped build New YorkTue, 14 Apr 2015 14:15:45 +0000Tour the Theater Where Lincoln Was Assassinated on Google Street Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-theater-where-lincoln-was-assassinated-google-street-view-180954979/150 years later, a new view of Ford’s TheatreTue, 14 Apr 2015 12:00:00 +0000Here Are the Places Most at Risk of a Volcanic Explosionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-places-most-risk-volcanic-explosion-180954972/New research will help countries prepare Mon, 13 Apr 2015 15:30:48 +0000Mountaineers Are Taking a New Route Up Everest http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mountaineers-are-taking-new-route-everest-180954935/They’ll forge their path sans sherpas or oxygen tanksFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:30:32 +0000Here’s Why the Dutch Are So Tall http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-dutch-are-so-tall-180954930/A new study shows natural selection is alive and well in the Netherlands Fri, 10 Apr 2015 13:30:44 +000070 Percent of Western Canada’s Glaciers Will Disappear by 2100http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/70-percent-western-canadas-glaciers-will-disappear-2100-180954900/And that’s the conservative side of scientists’ ice melt projectionsTue, 07 Apr 2015 15:30:46 +0000Could NASA Stop on the Moon on the Way to Mars?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/could-nasa-stop-moon-way-mars-180954884/NASA's chief of human exploration thinks we'll need a pit stop en route to the fiery planetMon, 06 Apr 2015 14:15:50 +0000An Autonomous Car Just Completed a 3,400-Mile Road Triphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/autonomous-car-just-completed-3400-mile-road-trip-180954869/Delphi’s robo-car drove itself across 15 states in just nine daysFri, 03 Apr 2015 17:12:48 +0000California’s Drought Is Changing the Way Bay-Area Water Tastes And Smellshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/californias-drought-changing-way-bay-area-water-tastes-and-smells-180954836/The Bay Area’s water is still safe to use, but drought is causing a noxious algae bloom to affect tap waterThu, 02 Apr 2015 16:37:26 +0000Why the ESA’s Astronauts Train Underground http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-esas-astronauts-train-underground-180954835/The European Space Agency is applying protocols from the International Space Station in cavesThu, 02 Apr 2015 15:01:11 +0000Houston, We Might Have Some Major Problems Making Babies in Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/houston-we-might-have-some-major-problems-making-babies-space-180954828/From risky pregnancies to birth defects to problems with inbreeding, it just seems like a bad ideaThu, 02 Apr 2015 13:30:50 +0000New Census Data Shows Fastest-Growing Areashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-census-data-shows-fastest-growing-areas-180954758/Florida, Texas post big gains in 2013-2014 statisticsThu, 26 Mar 2015 15:40:20 +0000How Bad Is California’s Drought? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-bad-californias-drought-180954733/Hint: it’s pretty badTue, 24 Mar 2015 18:00:44 +0000Tortoise Defends His Lady in a Super Slow Chasehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tortoise-defends-his-lady-human-super-slow-chase-180954715/Here’s what happens when you interrupt two giant reptiles just trying to get in a bit of quality time togetherMon, 23 Mar 2015 22:30:38 +0000Found: A Secret Nazi Hideaway in the Heart of an Andean Junglehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-secret-nazi-hideaway-heart-andean-jungle-180954716/Hints of a dark Nazi history found in ArgentinaMon, 23 Mar 2015 22:20:21 +0000'The Stars and Sun Are Everywhere’: 50 Years of Spacewalkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/stars-and-sun-are-everywhere-50-years-spacewalks-180954620/Today marks five decades since cosmonaut Alexey Leonov became the first human to walk in spaceWed, 18 Mar 2015 19:07:32 +0000Watch a Drone Explore the World’s Largest Cave http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-drone-explore-worlds-largest-cave-180954603/Vietnam’s Son Doong cave is a magnificent not-so-microcosmTue, 17 Mar 2015 14:25:12 +0000Here’s How to Lay Claim to a Brand New Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-lay-claim-brand-new-island-180954592/It’s pretty complicated (surprise!)Mon, 16 Mar 2015 18:00:33 +0000The Children’s Book That Caused Japan’s Raccoon Problemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/childrens-book-behind-japans-raccoon-problem-180954577/When the story of one man’s childhood pet raccoon became a hit in 1970s Japan, it heralded a biological invasion still troubling the country todayMon, 16 Mar 2015 17:30:10 +0000Will 2015 Be the Best Mushroom Year Ever? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/will-2015-be-best-mushroom-year-ever-180954575/Canada braces itself for the biggest morel mushroom harvest in world history Mon, 16 Mar 2015 16:15:03 +0000There’s Finally Free Wifi in Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-finally-free-wifi-cuba-180954574/Cuba becomes more connectedMon, 16 Mar 2015 15:15:30 +0000When Breathtaking Rock Billboards Dominated the Sunset Striphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-breathtaking-rock-billboards-dominated-sunset-strip-180954545/A new exhibition showcases the Sunset Strip's "rock 'n' roll billboards"Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:30:44 +0000Sorry, ‘Ben-Hur’ Remake...No Circus Maximus for You http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-ben-hur-remakeno-circus-maximus-you-180954547/Rome blocks the remake from filming at the historic stadiumThu, 12 Mar 2015 16:00:10 +0000This is How Earth Welcomed Back Soyuz http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-earth-welcomed-back-soyuz-180954544/Not a bad re-entry after months on the International Space Station Thu, 12 Mar 2015 13:40:02 +0000London’s Congestion Pricing Plan Is Saving Lives http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/londons-controversial-traffic-reduction-plan-saving-lives-180954516/By charging $17.34 for a trip downtown during peak hours, London has reduced traffic fatalities by 40 percentTue, 10 Mar 2015 15:30:53 +0000Should People Be Allowed to Boat Through Yellowstone? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/should-people-be-allowed-boat-through-yellowstone-180954466/Conservationists and recreational paddlers are split on whether to open up remaining National Parks waterways to boatersThu, 05 Mar 2015 14:30:09 +0000A Beefalo Invasion Is Causing Trouble in the Grand Canyonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/beefalo-invasion-causing-trouble-grand-canyon-180954458/Hundreds of the hybrid animals are drying up water resources and messing with the ecosystem, eliciting calls for cullingWed, 04 Mar 2015 14:00:59 +0000Chilean Volcano Erupts in the Early Morninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chilean-volcano-could-prompt-20000-evacuations-180954449/The 9,000-foot volcano spewed ash, smoke and lava high into the airTue, 03 Mar 2015 15:36:24 +0000Amazing Ruins of a Long Lost City Discovered in Hondurashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amazing-ruins-long-lost-city-discovered-honduras-180954447/A scientific expedition into the depths of the Honduran rain forest discovered a lost cityTue, 03 Mar 2015 14:15:31 +0000The Fourth Tallest Man-made Structure Isn’t a Building at All http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fourth-tallest-man-made-structure-isnt-building-all-180954442/TV towers and power station chimneys are some less well-known record-breakers in the history of super-tall structuresMon, 02 Mar 2015 17:30:47 +0000It's Now Legal to Book a Cruise to Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/you-can-now-legally-book-cruise-cuba-180954437/A Canadian cruise line is allowing Americans to legally book a trip around CubaMon, 02 Mar 2015 15:01:14 +0000Statisticians Reveal the Best Place to Wait Out a Zombie Apocalypsehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/statisticians-reveal-best-place-wait-out-zombie-apocalypse-180954426/You’ll want to head for the Rocky MountainsFri, 27 Feb 2015 15:30:26 +0000Would You Live in an Antarctic Penguin Post Office? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/would-you-live-antarctic-penguin-post-office-180954425/Applications soar at post office in Port Lockroy, AntarcticaFri, 27 Feb 2015 14:45:32 +0000Adultery Is Now Legal in South Korea http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cheating-now-legal-south-korea-180954414/62 years after the passage of a morality law, spouses can’t be prosecuted for extramarital affairsThu, 26 Feb 2015 18:15:34 +0000