Smart News Travel | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-travel/RSS feed for Smart News TravelenFri, 22 Jul 2016 13:00:00 +0000The Media Village at the Rio Olympics Is Built on a Mass Grave of Slaveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/media-village-rio-olympics-built-mass-grave-slaves-180959873/As Brazil looks forward to an Olympic future, it buries its pastFri, 22 Jul 2016 13:00:00 +0000Horrifying Sculpture Depicts a Human Evolved to Survive a Car Crashhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/horrifying-sculpture-depicts-human-evolved-survive-car-crash-180959878/Once you’ve seen it, you can’t unsee itFri, 22 Jul 2016 11:00:00 +0000Museum Unveils Henry VIII's Flagshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-unveils-henry-viiis-flagship-180959861/The <i>Mary Rose</i> sank almost 500 years ago, but following more than 30 years of restoration, the remains of the warship are open to the publicThu, 21 Jul 2016 17:52:45 +0000Cave Graffiti Shows Natives and Europeans Had Early Dialogue in the Caribbeanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cave-graffiti-shows-natives-and-europeans-had-early-dialogue-caribbean-180959857/Cave art from both Taíno people and Spanish explorers in a cave on Mona Island shows the two had some early cultural understandingThu, 21 Jul 2016 16:47:38 +0000The World’s Largest Picnic Basket Faces an Uncertain Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-picnic-basket-faces-uncertain-future-180959835/The fast decline of a kitschy landmarkTue, 19 Jul 2016 16:49:18 +0000Keep Your Eyes to the Sky for the Delta Aquarid Meteors This Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/keep-your-eyes-peeled-delta-aquarid-meteors-month-180959812/The late-July meteor shower heralds the popular PerseidsMon, 18 Jul 2016 17:48:11 +0000Unesco Names New World Heritage Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-unescos-new-world-heritage-sites-180959822/Rock art, irrigation and education add to the organization's growing list of sites worthy of protectionFri, 15 Jul 2016 19:27:29 +0000Go Inside New York’s Nearly Secret Botanical Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/go-inside-new-yorks-nearly-secret-botanical-library-180959813/It’s a gardener’s fragrant fantasyFri, 15 Jul 2016 13:53:20 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Impatient Islanders Create Google "Sheep View"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/impatient-islanders-create-google-sheep-view-180959793/Ewe won’t forget this unique look at the Faroe IslandsWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:34:04 +0000The World’s Oldest Working Library Will Soon Open Its Doors to the Publichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-oldest-working-library-will-soon-open-to-the-public-180959670/After renovations wrap up in September, the library at Morocco’s al-Qarawiyyin University will debut an exhibition section for non-scholarsWed, 13 Jul 2016 16:23:36 +0000A Seattle Dump Just Got Some Clever Public Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/seattle-dump-just-got-some-clever-public-art-180959688/Recycled rebar will make the Seattle North Transfer Station more beautifulTue, 12 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000This Exhibit Captures the Magic of Being a Kidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/exhibit-captures-magic-being-kid-180959671/The Metropolitan Museum of Art peeks into the idealized lives of kids pastMon, 11 Jul 2016 15:00:00 +0000This Renaissance Sculptor Is Getting His First U.S. Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renaissance-sculptor-getting-his-first-us-show-180959734/Luca della Robbia is finally getting a showcase in the StatesMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:30:00 +0000These Beatrix Potter Illustrations Were Found Tucked Inside a Mansion’s Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-beatrix-potter-illustrations-were-found-inside-mansions-books-180959742/The children’s book author found inspiration on vacationMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:00:00 +0000These Artifacts Show the Best—And Worst—of American Election Ephemerahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-artifacts-show-the-best-and-worst-of-american-election-ephemera-180959669/From trash to political treasureFri, 01 Jul 2016 16:49:37 +0000Experience the Secrets of a Threatened Taiwanese Templehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/experience-secrets-threatened-taiwanese-temple-180959611/New 3D reconstructions make it possible to look inside Lukang LongshanThu, 30 Jun 2016 16:00:00 +0000This Pass Might Help Get More Toddlers Into New York City’s Museumshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pass-might-help-get-more-toddlers-new-york-citys-museums-180959653/The Cool Culture pass helps low-income families introduce their children to cultural institutionsThu, 30 Jun 2016 15:33:50 +0000A New Project Tells the Stories of the Women of Route 66http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-project-tells-stories-women-route-66-180959614/An oral history project with the National Park Service follows women on the iconic highwayThu, 30 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000Tour de France Goes High Tech to Battle Mechanical Cheatinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-de-france-goes-high-tech-battle-mini-motors-180959601/Organizers will use thermal cameras developed by the French nuclear agency to detect "mechanical doping" during the 2016 TourWed, 29 Jun 2016 16:59:31 +0000Take a Peek Inside the International Center for Photography’s New Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-peek-inside-international-center-photographys-new-home-180959597/The Center’s newest exhibition explores what it means to be constantly in front of the lensWed, 29 Jun 2016 14:44:56 +0000Researchers Will Soon Get Their First Taste of "Martian" Vegetableshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researcher-will-soon-taste-martian-vegetable-180959579/After testing them for heavy metals, the scientists will eat vegetables grown in simulated Martian soil later this weekTue, 28 Jun 2016 15:13:24 +0000Explore the Netherlands’ Most Iconic Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-netherlands-most-iconic-museum-180959578/The Rijksmuseum is now the best-represented institution in the Google Cultural InstituteTue, 28 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Sculptor's New Show is a Riot of Color http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sculptort-new-show-is-a-riot-of-color-180959567/Dale Chihuly sets out to "overwhelm with light and color" in 'Persian Ceiling'Mon, 27 Jun 2016 18:25:00 +0000After 60 Years, An Expedition Determines Highest Peaks in U.S. Arctichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-60-years-mountaineer-and-pilot-determine-highest-peaks-us-arctic-180959555/Glaciologist Matt Nolan and ski mountaineer Kit DesLauriers tested a new mapping system to end uncertainty about the highest mountain in the Brooks RangeMon, 27 Jun 2016 17:10:00 +0000President Obama Just Created the First National Monument to Gay Rightshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/president-obama-just-created-first-national-monument-gay-rights-180959562/The Stonewall National Monument tells the story of LGBTQ struggles in the United StatesFri, 24 Jun 2016 19:34:31 +0000What's the Difference Between England, Britain and the U.K.?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whats-difference-between-england-britain-and-uk-180959558/Listen up, would-be Anglophiles: Here's how never to mess up your realms, kingdoms and empires again Fri, 24 Jun 2016 17:21:14 +0000A Lucky Artist Will Be Marooned on a Deserted Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lucky-artist-will-be-marooned-deserted-island-180959525/An artist-in-residence program invites applicants to consider spending a month alone in paradiseThu, 23 Jun 2016 16:50:29 +0000This Library Has Books Checked Out by Hamilton and Burrhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/library-has-books-checked-out-hamilton-and-burr-180959433/The New York Society Library was wide enough for both menMon, 20 Jun 2016 17:30:00 +0000As U.S.-Cuba Relations Warm, This Long-Dead Author Benefitshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-cuba-relations-warm-long-dead-author-benefits-180959465/A new conservation facility is on its way to Hemingway’s home near HavanaMon, 20 Jun 2016 13:54:45 +0000Mongolia Adopts Address System That Uses Three-Word Nameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mongolia-adopts-address-system-that-uses-three-word-names-180959439/What3words' geo-coding system divides the Earth's surface into 57 trillion squares, and assigns each a unique, memorable string of namesFri, 17 Jun 2016 16:00:00 +0000Check Out NASA's Retro Mars Recruitment Postershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasa-releases-retro-mars-recruitment-posters-180959453/Farmers, teachers, surveyors and engineers will all be needed in the envisaged Mars settlementFri, 17 Jun 2016 14:50:00 +0000A New Hitch in the Plan for Building a Space Elevatorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-may-have-found-fatal-flaw-dream-building-space-elevator-180959417/Carbon nanotubes may not be as strong as scientists once thoughtFri, 17 Jun 2016 11:00:00 +0000New Agreement Will Help Protect the Amazon Basinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-agreement-will-protect-amazon-basin-180959450/Earth's largest tropical rainforest just got a slew of new allies Thu, 16 Jun 2016 17:25:00 +0000The Expanded Tate Modern Opens Its Doors Fridayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/expanded-tate-modern-opens-its-doors-friday-180959419/The museum is being called the UK’s most important new cultural building since the British LibraryThu, 16 Jun 2016 17:05:50 +0000One Day Only: A Chance to View One Map to Rule Them Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-day-only-chance-view-one-map-rule-them-all-180959391/A rare Tolkien-annotated map goes on display June 23Wed, 15 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000This New York Project Wants You to Write on the Wallshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-project-wants-you-write-walls-180959380/Writing On It All gives voice—and a pen—to one and allTue, 14 Jun 2016 16:10:00 +0000A Brief History of Children Sent Through the Mailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brief-history-children-sent-through-mail-180959372/In the early days of the parcel post, some parents took advantage of the mail in unexpected waysTue, 14 Jun 2016 15:31:23 +0000Laser Scans Reveal Massive Khmer Cities Hidden in the Cambodian Junglehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/laser-scans-reveal-massive-khmer-cities-hidden-cambodian-jungle-180959395/Using Lidar technology, researchers are discovering the extent of the medieval Khmer empireTue, 14 Jun 2016 14:20:00 +0000One of the World's Most Colorful Places Is in Taiwanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-most-colorful-place-is-in-taiwan-180959382/Rainbow Family Village shows there's nothing a man with a paintbrush can't do Tue, 14 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000A Brief History of Bog Butterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/a-brief-history-of-bog-butter-180959384/Turf cutters in Ireland regularly find chunks of butter deep in the nation's peat bogs. What is the stuff doing there?Mon, 13 Jun 2016 16:11:45 +0000Grand Canyon Turns Down Its Lights to Become a Dark Sky Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grand-canyon-dims-lights-become-dark-sky-park-180959377/Star gazers, rejoice—the skies above the Grand Canyon will never lose their sparkleFri, 10 Jun 2016 17:09:59 +0000The Library of Congress Needs Your Help to Identify These Silent Movieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-library-of-congress-needs-your-help-to-identify-these-silent-movies-180959366/For the fifth year, the "Mostly Lost" film festival calls on its audience to help identify obscure details in movie-making historyFri, 10 Jun 2016 16:55:43 +0000Archaeologists Find Gigantic Ancient Monument in Jordanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archaeologists-found-gigantic-ancient-monument-jordan-180959368/In the ancient city of Petra, Google Earth and drones helped uncover remnants of a platform the size of an Olympic swimming poolThu, 09 Jun 2016 19:50:14 +0000This New Satellite Project Helps People Find Patterns in City Spaceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/this-new-satellite-project-helps-people-find-patterns-in-city-spaces-180959336/Terrapattern turns a mad world into a satisfying, matchy-matchy nirvanaThu, 09 Jun 2016 18:34:40 +0000Parisians Are in an Uproar Over Their New Newstandshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/parisians-are-uproar-over-their-new-newstands-180959326/Paris’ iconic kiosks are being updated and replacedWed, 08 Jun 2016 18:45:55 +0000Vandals Destroyed 8,000-Year-Old Aboriginal Artworks in Tasmaniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vandals-destroyed-8000-year-old-aboriginal-artworks-in-tasmania-180959328/The priceless rock art is damaged beyond repairWed, 08 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Olympics Allows Refugees to Compete on Their Own Teamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/olympics-allows-refugees-compete-their-own-team-180959321/Ten refugee-athletes from Syria, Sudan, Ethiopia and the Republic of Congo will compete at the Rio OlympicsTue, 07 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000There’s a World Cup For Unrecognized Stateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-world-cup-unrecognized-states-180959301/This game is for soccer's international underdogsFri, 03 Jun 2016 14:44:43 +0000This "Lost Underwater City" Was Actually Made by Microbeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lost-underwater-city-was-actually-made-microbes-180959299/Though these formations may not be evidence of a lost city, they show off some intriguing chemistryThu, 02 Jun 2016 23:01:00 +0000Bordeaux’s New Wine Museum Is Open for Businesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bordeauxs-new-wine-museum-open-business-180959287/The “City of Wine” is a vino lover’s amusement parkThu, 02 Jun 2016 17:43:15 +0000This Museum Made Art Out of a John Deere Harvesterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-made-art-out-john-deere-harvester-180959281/'Continuous Service Altered Daily' finds life inside a familiar machineWed, 01 Jun 2016 16:38:44 +0000Paris’ Iconic “Love Locks” Bridge Is Now Home to a Set of Creepy Statueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paris-iconic-love-locks-bridge-now-home-set-creepy-statues-180959275/The rotating art installation on the Pont des Arts bridge was inspired by classical mythology Wed, 01 Jun 2016 14:33:00 +0000Land of Oz Theme Park Will Temporarily Reopen Its Emerald Gateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/land-oz-theme-park-will-temporarily-reopen-its-emerald-gates-180959268/This June, the yellow brick road will once again take you to see the WizardTue, 31 May 2016 18:55:08 +0000Five Landmarks Threatened by Climate Change http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-landmarks-threatened-climate-change-180959248/Will a warming planet destroy humankinds' most precious cultural treasures? Fri, 27 May 2016 13:52:43 +0000Rome Is Looking for People to Adopt Famous, Falling-Apart Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rome-looking-people-adopt-famous-falling-apart-sites-180959236/When in Rome, pony up some cash for cultural preservation Thu, 26 May 2016 18:16:31 +0000The Longest, Deepest Train Tunnel in the World Is About to Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/longest-deepest-train-tunnel-world-about-open-180959228/It goes straight through the base of the AlpsThu, 26 May 2016 14:58:38 +0000A Painting Georgia O’Keeffe Wanted Destroyed Is on Display for the First Time in Nearly 60 Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/painting-georgia-okeeffe-wanted-destroyed-display-first-time-nearly-60-years-180959229/O’Keeffe’s watercolor returns to the town where she painted itWed, 25 May 2016 15:16:26 +0000This Startup Wants to Open the 2020 Olympics With a Man-Made Meteor Showerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/startup-wants-open-2020-olympics-man-made-meteor-shower-180959219/Could the only thing better than fireworks be fireworks launched from space?Wed, 25 May 2016 14:50:32 +0000These Are America’s Most Well-Read Citieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-americas-most-well-read-cities-180959224/Did your bookish burg make Amazon.com's list? Wed, 25 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000