Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenTue, 26 Jul 2016 14:24:53 +0000Why VHS and Five Other Formats May Live Foreverhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-vhs-and-five-other-formats-may-live-forever-180959892/The final VCRs will ship later this month, but if recent history is any indicator, it doesn't mean the VHS format will vanish for goodTue, 26 Jul 2016 14:24:53 +0000Italy Just Hosted the First Olympics-Like Competition for People With Down Syndromehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italy-just-hosted-worlds-first-olympics-people-down-syndrome-180959902/The unique competition drew 1,000 athletesMon, 25 Jul 2016 17:40:31 +0000This Classical Mandolinist Makes Music With...Instagram?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/classical-mandolinist-makes-music-instagram-180959854/“InstaConcerto for Mandolin and Orchestra” plays with a genre known more for its selfies than its chamber musicWed, 20 Jul 2016 18:00:00 +0000Explore the Apollo 11 Command Module in 3Dhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-apollo-11-3d-180959853/For the first time, you can peek inside the craft that enabled “one giant leap for mankind”Wed, 20 Jul 2016 16:43:09 +0000Alexander McQueen Is Being Turned Into Leatherhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alexander-mcqueen-being-turned-leather-180959837/The late designer's DNA is part of a bizarre experiment in fashion ethicsWed, 20 Jul 2016 13:53:08 +0000Watch Corals in Action With New Underwater Microscopehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-corals-action-new-underwater-microscope-180959800/The Benthic Underwater Microscope opens up a whole new age of ocean explorationFri, 15 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Impatient Islanders Create Google "Sheep View"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/impatient-islanders-create-google-sheep-view-180959793/Ewe won’t forget this unique look at the Faroe IslandsWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:34:04 +0000Give Me a Drink, HAL: Artificial Intelligence Helps Design New Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/give-me-drink-hal-new-beer-designed-artificial-intelligence-debuts-180959751/IntelligenceX uses AI to guide its brewmaster's tweaksTue, 12 Jul 2016 11:00:00 +0000Check Out the Best Illusions of 2016http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-best-illusions-2016-180959703/Baffle your brain with these contest-winning mind-bendersWed, 06 Jul 2016 18:00:59 +0000Google's Self-Driving Cars Are Learning to Recognize Cyclists’ Hand Signalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-teaching-its-self-driving-cars-recognize-cyclists-hand-signals-180959698/Cyclists, meet the nicest car you’ll ever share the road withWed, 06 Jul 2016 17:30:18 +0000More Than Half a Million Hoverboards Were Just Recalledhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/more-half-million-hoverboards-were-just-recalled-180959697/Sorry, McFlyWed, 06 Jul 2016 15:53:29 +0000Why the Humble Sweet Potato Won the World Food Prizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-humble-sweet-potato-won-world-food-prize-180959656/Researchers are helping to fight malnutrion and childhood blindness in Africa with new varieties of starchy, orange-fleshed sweet potatoesTue, 05 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000Four Explosive Advancements for Future Fireworkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-ways-fireworks-are-getting-even-better-180959680/From color to sound, the next-gen fireworks are sure to wowFri, 01 Jul 2016 20:06:42 +0000Tour de France Goes High Tech to Battle Mechanical Cheatinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-de-france-goes-high-tech-battle-mini-motors-180959601/Organizers will use thermal cameras developed by the French nuclear agency to detect "mechanical doping" during the 2016 TourWed, 29 Jun 2016 16:59:31 +0000Scientists Found a Huge Reservoir of Much-Needed Heliumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-found-huge-reservoir-much-needed-helium-180959592/Helium is used in everything from particle accelerators to MRI machines, and a dearth of the gas has long plagued researchersTue, 28 Jun 2016 17:13:21 +0000This Perfume Smells Like a Comethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/perfume-smells-comet-180959574/Yum?Mon, 27 Jun 2016 18:00:00 +0000Columbus, Ohio Wins $140 Million to Become the Transporation City of Tomorrowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/columbus-ohio-gets-140-million-become-transporation-city-tomorrow-180959564/The city beat out 77 others vying for the chance to update its infrastructure with the latest and greatest technologyMon, 27 Jun 2016 14:08:57 +0000Editing of Human Genes May Begin by Year’s End in the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/editing-human-genes-may-begin-years-end-us-180959532/The first-ever trial of CRISPR in the U.S. will test if it's safe to edit T cells in cancer patientsThu, 23 Jun 2016 13:23:29 +0000PG&E Announces Closure of California's Last Nuclear Power Planthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/last-nuclear-power-plant-california-will-shut-down-180959527/One of the most famous, but aging, nuclear power plants in the U.S. will soon see its endWed, 22 Jun 2016 17:06:38 +0000This Floating School Was a Design Nerd’s Dreamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/floating-school-was-design-nerds-dream-180959479/…until it sankMon, 20 Jun 2016 18:00:00 +0000The Contentious History of the Cherry Tomatohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/contentious-history-cherry-tomato-180959420/The salad topper has a long and fraught historyMon, 20 Jun 2016 16:50:55 +0000Mongolia Adopts Address System That Uses Three-Word Nameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mongolia-adopts-address-system-that-uses-three-word-names-180959439/What3words' geo-coding system divides the Earth's surface into 57 trillion squares, and assigns each a unique, memorable string of namesFri, 17 Jun 2016 16:00:00 +0000A New Hitch in the Plan for Building a Space Elevatorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-may-have-found-fatal-flaw-dream-building-space-elevator-180959417/Carbon nanotubes may not be as strong as scientists once thoughtFri, 17 Jun 2016 11:00:00 +0000National Aquarium Will Move Dolphins to Seaside Sanctuary by 2020http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/national-aquarium-will-move-dolphins-seaside-sanctuary-180959427/Under mounting public pressure, the aquarium's eight bottle-nosed dolphins will soon move to a seaside retreat in the tropicsWed, 15 Jun 2016 17:27:02 +0000Net Neutrality Was Just Upheld in the U.S. Court of Appealshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/net-neutrality-was-just-upheld-us-court-appeals-180959402/It’s a victory for open internet activists—but will it stick?Tue, 14 Jun 2016 16:37:39 +0000This Robot Librarian Locates Haphazardly Placed Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/robot-librarian-locates-haphazardly-placed-books-180959381/It's the next best thing since the Dewey Decimal SystemTue, 14 Jun 2016 15:50:00 +0000This New Satellite Project Helps People Find Patterns in City Spaceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/this-new-satellite-project-helps-people-find-patterns-in-city-spaces-180959336/Terrapattern turns a mad world into a satisfying, matchy-matchy nirvanaThu, 09 Jun 2016 18:34:40 +0000The World’s "Ugliest" Color Could Help People Quit Smokinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-ugliest-color-could-help-people-quit-smoking-180959364/Officials hope hideous packs of cigarette packs will make would-be smokers think twice Thu, 09 Jun 2016 16:57:17 +0000Emotikis and New Keyboards Bring Indigenous Cultures to Text Messaginghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-smartphone-keyboards-bring-indigenous-languages-and-culture-text-messages-180959274/From Maori emojis to First Nations languagesWed, 01 Jun 2016 13:24:56 +0000