Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenThu, 02 Jul 2015 16:30:00 +0000A Danish Festival Will Recycle Partiers’ Urine To Make Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/danish-festival-will-recycle-partiers-urine-make-beer-180955801/Gallons of urine will be used to fertilize barley for future festivalgoersThu, 02 Jul 2015 16:30:00 +0000SpaceX Failure Puts Dozens of Satellites on Holdhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/spacex-failure-causing-satellite-traffic-jam-earth-180955800/Recent losses have left other SpaceX customers in limboThu, 02 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000To Better Understand Lava, an Artist and Scientist Make Their Ownhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/better-understand-lava-artist-and-scientist-make-their-own-180955795/A lab at Syracuse University creates melts basaltic rock in a modified furnaceThu, 02 Jul 2015 13:30:00 +0000In the Future, Grocery Stores May be More Like ATMshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grocery-store-future-180955786/Robots and motion detection expand the idea of what it means to shopWed, 01 Jul 2015 15:12:08 +0000Canned Goods and Cucumber Seeds: Food Banks Are Starting to Give Out Garden Startershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/food-banks-are-teaching-hungry-how-garden-180955770/Canned goods take a backseat to freshly-grown produceTue, 30 Jun 2015 18:49:43 +0000Germany is Turning its Old Military Bases Into Nature Reserveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/old-military-bases-germany-become-nature-reserves-180955755/While downsizing the military, Germany sets aside land for wildlifeTue, 30 Jun 2015 17:30:00 +0000Here's How Plastic Toy Dinosaurs are Madehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-plastic-toy-dinosaurs-are-made-180955753/A series of molds help the toy creators’ vision pop into 3-DTue, 30 Jun 2015 16:30:00 +0000Scale El Capitan From Your Couch Using Google Street Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scale-el-capitan-google-street-view-180955727/The latest expansion of the Maps project takes users up Yosemite’s iconic climbFri, 26 Jun 2015 19:00:00 +0000The First Human Clinical Trial of Synthetic Blood Will Begin Soonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fake-blood-will-go-clinical-trial-uk-180955721/People could receive artificial blood transfusions as early as 2017Fri, 26 Jun 2015 18:30:00 +0000Norway is Building a Highway for Beeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norway-has-highway-bees-180955703/The world’s first superhighway for bees sends Oslo bee traffic from east to westFri, 26 Jun 2015 12:00:00 +0000In Sweden the Blood Bank Will Text You When Your Blood is Usedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/social-media-helping-increase-blood-bank-stores-sweden-180955676/Stockholm’s blood bank uses text messages and Facebook posts to remind donors to give againWed, 24 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Catch and Release: This Device Could Help Accidentally Caught Fish Survivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/device-could-help-accidentally-caught-fish-survive-180955680/The SeaQualizer returns fish safely to the depths of the oceanWed, 24 Jun 2015 13:30:00 +0000Can Hookworms Cure Hayfever?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/can-hookworms-cure-hayfever-180955516/Maybe. But we need to learn a lot more about them before they hit pharmacy shelvesTue, 23 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000The Demand for Sand is so High There are Illegal Sand Mining Operationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/demand-sand-so-high-there-are-illegal-sand-mining-operations-180955669/Only certain kinds of sand can be used in construction and mining it causes problemsTue, 23 Jun 2015 12:33:32 +0000The Mystery of the Failed Chlamydia Vaccinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smartnews-science/why-1960s-chlamydia-vaccines-made-people-more-susceptible-chlamydia-180955652/In the 1960s, a vaccine for chlamydia made patients more susceptible to chlamydia. Now scientists know whyMon, 22 Jun 2015 18:00:00 +0000Here’s What People Are Asking Google About Climate Changehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/all-climate-change-related-things-people-google-search-around-world-180955654/The visualization reveals what people want to know about the environmentMon, 22 Jun 2015 17:30:00 +0000How Elephant Poop is Helping Nab Ivory Poachershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/elephant-poop-helping-nab-ivory-poachers-180955664/Scientists match DNA in seized tusks to elephant dung to map where poaching is taking placeMon, 22 Jun 2015 14:17:32 +0000Researchers Have Finally Figured Out How to Stop Lithium Batteries from Spontaneously Combustinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-figured-out-how-stop-lithium-batteries-spontaneously-combusting-180955641/Unexpected fires have kept experts cautious about the potential of lightweight batteriesFri, 19 Jun 2015 19:30:00 +0000Every Year, Norway Hosts an Oil Cleanup Drillhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/every-year-norway-hosts-oil-cleanup-drill-180955650/The annual release of offshore oil is no accident — it’s a chance to train, test, and prepare for the possibility of a catastrophic oil spillFri, 19 Jun 2015 16:44:15 +0000History’s Most Creative Paintings, As Picked by a Computerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/historys-most-creative-paintings-picked-computer-180955635/Some masters got snubbedThu, 18 Jun 2015 16:07:08 +0000U.S. Grants Captive Chimpanzees Endangered Species Status, Prohibiting Most Research on Themhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-grants-captive-chimpanzees-endangered-species-status-prohibiting-most-research-them-180955610/Captive chimps now have the same protections as wild onesWed, 17 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Elon Musk’s Futuristic Hyperloop is Coming to California Next Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/construction-five-mile-futuristic-hyperloop-scheduled-california-next-year-1-180955587/The project isn’t the enormous high-speed rail alternative that Elon Musk orginialy proposed, but it is closeTue, 16 Jun 2015 15:30:00 +0000Excess Embryos: Families Are Now Adopting Unused Embryos Leftover from IVF Treatmentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/families-are-donating-frozen-embryos-left-after-ivf-hopeful-couples-180955581/The practice is relatively new and touches on complicated legal and ethical issuesTue, 16 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000In California, Smart Water Meters Tattle on Wasteful Wayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/smart-water-meters-tattle-wasteful-ways-180955605/The internet-connected meters provide nearly real-time feedback on water useTue, 16 Jun 2015 14:25:14 +0000Worried About the Robot Takeover? Here’s a Video of Robots Falling Overhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/dont-worry-about-robot-takeover-just-yet-heres-video-robots-falling-over-180955573/It’s like humanoid robots have ended adolescence — awkward clumsiness aboundsFri, 12 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Here's How Claw Machines Are Rigged to Make Sure You Losehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/claw-machines-have-long-been-designed-steal-your-money-180955565/That's why simply grabbing a prize is so deceptively difficultThu, 11 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000Google is Trying to Count Calories in Food Pornhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-trying-count-calories-food-porn-180955548/All you need is an Instagram photo and an algorithm Thu, 11 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Restaurants are Facing an Egg Shortage Thanks to Avian Fluhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/restaurants-are-facing-egg-shortage-thanks-avian-flu-180955563/The outbreak, which spread surprisingly fast, hit farms that produce liquid eggsWed, 10 Jun 2015 18:10:05 +0000This Computer Runs on Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/computer-runs-water-180955558/A new class of computers takes advantage of the physical properties of waterWed, 10 Jun 2015 15:57:28 +0000How Non-stick Frying Pans Are Madehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-non-stick-frying-pans-are-made-180955545/Spinning the pans helps coatings apply evenly and makes the process hypnoticWed, 10 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Behind the Scenes at a Tyrannosaurus Rex Dissectionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/behind-scenes-tyrannosaurus-rex-dissection-180955543/Months of work went into creating a model, life-sized dinosaur for experts to dismember and cut openWed, 10 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Researchers Are Training Robots Using Minecrafthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-are-training-robots-using-minecraft-180955542/The popular game helps robots learn real-world skillsWed, 10 Jun 2015 12:00:00 +0000This is What it Looks Like When a GoPro Falls From Space http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-it-looks-when-gopro-falls-space-180955526/SpaceX put a camera in a payload fairing for its Falcon 9 rocketMon, 08 Jun 2015 17:49:39 +0000The Most Popular Eating Banana Might Soon Go Extinct http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/most-popular-eating-banana-might-soon-go-extinct-180955517/The Cavendish banana is succumbing to a disease that wiped out its predecessorFri, 05 Jun 2015 19:30:00 +0000An Oregon Town Tried (and Failed) to Scare Off Sea Lions With a Fake Orcahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/oregon-town-tried-and-failed-scare-sea-lions-fake-orca-180955510/“Fake Willy" nearly drowned on its mission to drive sea lions out of Astoria, OregonFri, 05 Jun 2015 15:32:28 +0000Stop Calling Flibanserin "Female Viagra"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-flibanserin-isnt-female-viagra-180955506/As the FDA weighs the merits of a new drug to boost female libido, it's clear this is not a little blue pill for womenFri, 05 Jun 2015 14:10:41 +0000NASA Will Launch a Flying Saucer Soonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasa-will-hopefully-launch-flying-saucer-soon-180955498/Weather has kept the test vehicle, designed to land softly on Mars, grounded for the moment but the launch window is still openThu, 04 Jun 2015 16:30:00 +0000Japanese Elevators May Soon Have Toiletshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japanese-elevators-may-soon-have-toilets-180955499/Earthquake-trapped travelers could have access to running water in elevatorsThu, 04 Jun 2015 15:41:23 +0000How Bug Guts Slow Down Planes and What Engineers are Doing About ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-bug-guts-slow-down-planes-and-what-engineers-are-doing-about-it-180955486/Designing the most fuel-efficient plane means keeping wings free of sticky exploded bugsWed, 03 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Does Planet Earth Need Its Own Flag?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/does-planet-earth-need-its-own-flag-180955463/Some think we need a universal flag to stake our claim in spaceTue, 02 Jun 2015 18:28:57 +0000This is What the First Home Pregnancy Test Looked Like http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-first-home-pregnancy-test-looked-180955478/"Predictor" gave results in just two hours Tue, 02 Jun 2015 14:34:38 +0000New ATMs in China Recognize Your Facehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-atms-china-recognize-your-face-180955467/Facial-recognition cash machines were designed to cut down on fraudTue, 02 Jun 2015 13:36:28 +0000The Case for Washing Clothes in Cold Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/case-washing-clothes-cold-water-180955459/Laundry: You're doing it wrongMon, 01 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000These Perfumers Are Analyzing the Stench of Toiletshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-chemicals-give-toilets-their-stench-180955453/Fair warning: Toilet chemistry is not for the faint of stomachMon, 01 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +000060 NASA Scientists are Trying to Build a Better Parachutehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/60-nasa-scientists-are-trying-build-better-parachute-180955446/The Supreme Council of Parachute Experts wants to construct a parachute that can help a heavier craft land on MarsFri, 29 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Scientists Just Mummified a Human Leg to Test Ancient Egyptian Techniqueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-mummify-human-leg-test-ancient-egyptian-techniques-180955439/It took 208 days for Swiss scientists to mummify a fresh leg using natronThu, 28 May 2015 17:10:23 +0000Take a Drone Tour of Ancient Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-drone-tour-ancient-history-180955413/Drones offer a soaring perspective of ancient sitesWed, 27 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Pac-Man Turns 35 This Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pac-man-turns-35-month-180955401/The now-iconic game was originally released by Namco in 1980Wed, 27 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000This Surfboard Maps Waves and Gathers Ocean Data for Researchershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/surfboard-maps-waves-and-gathers-ocean-data-researchers-180955403/Sensors would make surfers into citizen scientistsWed, 27 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000 This Beer Was Brewed to Save Sea Starshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/beer-brewed-save-sea-stars-180955385/A new ale sends some proceeds to research on sea star wasting syndromeFri, 22 May 2015 18:16:21 +0000Jerusalem is Running Out of Room for the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jerusalem-running-out-room-dead-180955358/A new project looks to save space by building modern catacombsWed, 20 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000A Malaysian Farm is Playing Classical Music to its Chickens http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/malaysian-farm-uses-classical-music-healthier-chickens-180955337/Drug-free chickens roam in a barn filled with tunes from MozartTue, 19 May 2015 17:42:09 +0000Engineered Yeast Could Open up a DIY Painkiller Markethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/engineered-yeast-could-open-diy-painkiller-market-180955334/The modified microbes could also make cheaper and better opiatesTue, 19 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Will Your Doctor One Day Pay You? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/will-your-doctor-one-day-pay-you-180955317/New research shows that incentive-based health programs really do workTue, 19 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000These Scientists Want to Unleash an Army of Caterpillars to Destroy Cocaine Cropshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cocaine-eating-moths-could-be-new-weapon-drug-war-180955307/Colombian scientists say the insect could replace cocaine-killing herbicides.Tue, 19 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000How Angry AI Will Train Telemarketers to Handle Angry Real Peoplehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/angry-ai-will-train-telemarketers-handle-real-people-180955308/The robot apocalypse will come with the howling fury of an angry customer service call.Mon, 18 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Twitter is Helping Scientists Spot More Northern Lightshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/twitters-helping-scientists-spot-more-northern-lights-180955272/A new study shows the power of social media to pinpoint where and when auroras occurSun, 17 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Scientists Are Stopping Malaria With Viagrahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-are-stopping-malaria-its-tracks-viagra-180955259/Viagra can help boost the spleen’s ability to filter out infected blood cellsThu, 14 May 2015 15:18:11 +0000Stop Calling it Bird Flu: World Health Organization Calls for More Care in Naming Diseaseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-health-organization-calls-more-care-naming-diseases-180955251/New naming guidelines issued to avoid stigmatizing communities.Thu, 14 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Alaska is Growing a Plant the Soviet Military Used in Secret Experimentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alaska-growing-herb-soviet-military-used-secret-experiments-180955252/Golden root, or Rhodiola rosea, is also popular in Siberian folk medicineThu, 14 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000This Company is Turning Holocaust Survivor Interviews into Hologramshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/future-holographic-holocaust-survivors-may-bear-witness-180955244/Researchers are using new technology to keep Holocaust testimonies aliveWed, 13 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000How Snow Keeps the World’s Most Powerful Space Telescope Squeaky Cleanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-snow-keeps-worlds-most-powerful-space-telescope-squeaky-clean-180955236/CO2 snowflakes are being tested for use with Hubble’s successorWed, 13 May 2015 12:30:00 +0000Computers Are Learning About Art Faster than Art Historianshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/computers-are-getting-better-identifying-artists-art-historians-are-180955241/An algorithm took just a few months to draw connections between artists that scholars have been working on for yearsWed, 13 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000New York State Forms Emergency Task Force to Protect Manicuristshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-state-forms-emergency-task-force-protect-manicurists-180955234/State authorities spurred into action by New York Times expose uncovering health risks and wage theft in New York City’s nail salonsTue, 12 May 2015 12:58:35 +0000Starbucks Moves its Bottled Water Operations Out of California’s Droughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-getting-called-out-starbucks-moves-its-bottling-operations-out-californias-drought-180955218/Bottling water in California might not be a great idea, but many companies still do itSat, 09 May 2015 13:54:34 +0000How to Crash a Drone, Safelyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/drones-need-learn-how-crash-land-safely-180955209/It’s time to teach drones how to safely land in an emergency.Fri, 08 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000A Streak in the Sky: Photographer Captures an Incredible Time-lapse Image of the Moon http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/moon-trail-180955200/Janne Voutilainen's photo took nearly 40 minutes to shootThu, 07 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Here's How NASA is Keeping The Satellites Around Mars From Running Into Each Other http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mars-drawing-crowd-satellites-180955183/NASA is beefing up traffic monitoring as more satellites enter orbit around the red planet.Wed, 06 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000The Very First Self-Driving Semi Truck Has Hit the Roadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-time-theres-self-driving-semi-road-180955184/The Freightliner Inspiration is the first commercially-licensed autonomous truckWed, 06 May 2015 15:24:23 +0000Department of Justice Says it’s Time to Reevaluate the Stingray Phone-Tracking Systemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/department-justice-says-its-time-reevaluate-stingray-180955171/New report says agency to take a look into cell phone snooping.Tue, 05 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000This African Plant Leads the Way to Diamond Depositshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/african-plant-shows-where-diamonds-can-be-found-180955165/A palm-like plant seems to grow only on top of diamond-rich deposits called kimberlite pipesTue, 05 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000This is How Bombardier Beetles Fire Explosives From Their Buttshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/machine-gun-bug-180955150/The beetls have a special chamber in their abdomens where they mix together chemicals to produce an explosive reactionTue, 05 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000