Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenFri, 26 Aug 2016 11:00:00 +0000This Algorithm Lets You “Write” Like the Greatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-can-now-teach-computer-write-anyone-180960202/Your words, their handwritingFri, 26 Aug 2016 11:00:00 +0000This Robot Is Soft and Squishy Inside and Out—No Wires or Batteries Necessaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-robot-no-wires-or-batteries-180960250/"Octobot" uses a deceptively simple fuel source and inspiration from the depths of the seaThu, 25 Aug 2016 17:56:05 +0000Explore Some of America's Greatest National Parks in Virtual Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-some-americas-greatest-national-parks-virtual-reality-180960243/The next best thing to celebrating the Centennial in personThu, 25 Aug 2016 14:36:26 +0000Why This Rwandan City Bans Cars Once a Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-rwandan-city-bans-cars-once-month-180960150/Kigali’s #CarFreeDay is a first for AfricaFri, 19 Aug 2016 13:45:00 +0000Not So Fast: Here's Why That Chinese Elevated Bus May Not Be Quite What It Seemshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-the-chinese-elevated-bus-may-not-be-quite-what-it-seems-180960092/The TEB is the latest iteration of a concept that's been "floating" for decades, but it has some big problemsThu, 11 Aug 2016 14:17:07 +0000Scientists Uncover a “Hidden” Portrait by Edgar Degashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-uncover-hidden-portrait-edgar-degas-180960031/A powerful X-ray unveiled one of the painter’s rough draftsThu, 04 Aug 2016 20:31:47 +0000New Observation Tower Is World's Thinnesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-observation-tower-worlds-thinnest-180960028/Brighton's West Pier comes back to life...as a crazy vertical viewing towerThu, 04 Aug 2016 18:42:27 +0000The First Private Lunar Landing Was Just Approvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-private-lunar-landing-was-just-approved-180960007/Moon Express will head to Earth’s nearest neighbor in 2017Wed, 03 Aug 2016 18:33:02 +0000Chernobyl Might Get a Second Life as a Solar Power Planthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chernobyl-might-get-second-life-solar-power-plant-180959964/From nuclear disaster to renewable energyFri, 29 Jul 2016 17:49:22 +0000How Sojourner Truth Used Photography to Help End Slaveryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-sojourner-truth-used-photography-help-end-slavery-180959952/The groundbreaking orator embraced newfangled technology to make her message heardThu, 28 Jul 2016 19:14:07 +0000Why VHS and Five Other Formats May Live Foreverhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-vhs-and-five-other-formats-may-live-forever-180959892/The final VCRs will ship later this month, but if recent history is any indicator, it doesn't mean the VHS format will vanish for goodTue, 26 Jul 2016 14:24:53 +0000Italy Just Hosted the First Olympics-Like Competition for People With Down Syndromehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italy-just-hosted-worlds-first-olympics-people-down-syndrome-180959902/The unique competition drew 1,000 athletesMon, 25 Jul 2016 17:40:31 +0000This Classical Mandolinist Makes Music With...Instagram?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/classical-mandolinist-makes-music-instagram-180959854/“InstaConcerto for Mandolin and Orchestra” plays with a genre known more for its selfies than its chamber musicWed, 20 Jul 2016 18:00:00 +0000Explore the Apollo 11 Command Module in 3Dhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-apollo-11-3d-180959853/For the first time, you can peek inside the craft that enabled “one giant leap for mankind”Wed, 20 Jul 2016 16:43:09 +0000Alexander McQueen Is Being Turned Into Leatherhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alexander-mcqueen-being-turned-leather-180959837/The late designer's DNA is part of a bizarre experiment in fashion ethicsWed, 20 Jul 2016 13:53:08 +0000Watch Corals in Action With New Underwater Microscopehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-corals-action-new-underwater-microscope-180959800/The Benthic Underwater Microscope opens up a whole new age of ocean explorationFri, 15 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Impatient Islanders Create Google "Sheep View"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/impatient-islanders-create-google-sheep-view-180959793/Ewe won’t forget this unique look at the Faroe IslandsWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:34:04 +0000Give Me a Drink, HAL: Artificial Intelligence Helps Design New Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/give-me-drink-hal-new-beer-designed-artificial-intelligence-debuts-180959751/IntelligenceX uses AI to guide its brewmaster's tweaksTue, 12 Jul 2016 11:00:00 +0000Check Out the Best Illusions of 2016http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-best-illusions-2016-180959703/Baffle your brain with these contest-winning mind-bendersWed, 06 Jul 2016 18:00:59 +0000Google's Self-Driving Cars Are Learning to Recognize Cyclists’ Hand Signalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-teaching-its-self-driving-cars-recognize-cyclists-hand-signals-180959698/Cyclists, meet the nicest car you’ll ever share the road withWed, 06 Jul 2016 17:30:18 +0000More Than Half a Million Hoverboards Were Just Recalledhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/more-half-million-hoverboards-were-just-recalled-180959697/Sorry, McFlyWed, 06 Jul 2016 15:53:29 +0000Why the Humble Sweet Potato Won the World Food Prizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-humble-sweet-potato-won-world-food-prize-180959656/Researchers are helping to fight malnutrion and childhood blindness in Africa with new varieties of starchy, orange-fleshed sweet potatoesTue, 05 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000Four Explosive Advancements for Future Fireworkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-ways-fireworks-are-getting-even-better-180959680/From color to sound, the next-gen fireworks are sure to wowFri, 01 Jul 2016 20:06:42 +0000