Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenMon, 31 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000The American West is Full of Old Mines Threatening to Pollute Waterwayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wests-waterways-have-long-struggled-pollution-old-mines-180956450/Lessons can be learned from the recent spill in the Animas RiverMon, 31 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000These Drum Pants Might Help People Who Can’t Speakhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-drum-pants-might-help-people-who-cant-speak-communicate-180956428/An electronic drum kit could give a voice to some people who can’t talk.Fri, 28 Aug 2015 13:08:27 +0000During Prohibition, Vintners Sold "Wine Bricks" Rather Than Winehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ingenious-brick-helped-wine-industry-survive-prohibition-180956412/Dissolve, ferment, enjoyThu, 27 Aug 2015 13:30:00 +0000New York City Might Get a Climate Change Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-will-have-climate-change-museum-180956411/The museum will be the first of its kind in the U.S.Thu, 27 Aug 2015 13:15:00 +0000Utah Has the First Tar Sands Mine in the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/utah-has-first-tar-sands-mine-us-180956393/The mine will operate on land in the Book Cliffs areaWed, 26 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000There’s Now Whiskey On the ISShttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-whiskey-iss-180956390/(But astronauts can't drink it)Wed, 26 Aug 2015 13:45:54 +0000Psychopaths Might Be Immune to Contagious Yawninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pyschopaths-might-be-immune-contagious-yawning-180956386/The less empathetic someone is, the less likely they are to yawn back.Tue, 25 Aug 2015 12:30:00 +0000Japan’s Subways Now Have Drunk-Spotting Camerashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japans-subways-have-drunk-spotting-cameras-180956358/A pilot program seeks to save drunken passengers from the dangers of busy train tracksFri, 21 Aug 2015 18:40:28 +0000This is a Robot Taking a Leisurely, Terrifying Walk in the Woods http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/robot-walking-woods-180956314/Mechanical humanoid robots have never been so relaxedWed, 19 Aug 2015 13:30:00 +0000Drone Racing Wants to Become a Professional Sporthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watching-drone-races-riding-shotgun-fighter-jet-180956302/The Drone Racing League just got $1 million from Miami Dolphins owner Stephen RossTue, 18 Aug 2015 14:30:55 +0000Is Chocolate Milk the Next Sports Drink?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chocolate-milk-next-sports-drink-180956293/It all comes down to cowsMon, 17 Aug 2015 16:00:00 +0000Today, Cassini Will Say Goodbye to Saturn’s Moon Dionehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smartnews-science/today-cassini-will-say-goodbye-saturns-moon-dione-180956298/It's curtains for the NASA mission's close relationship with the satelliteMon, 17 Aug 2015 14:57:30 +0000Cadavers Are Teaching Doctors to Be More Empathetichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/med-schools-are-teaching-empathy-dead-their-students-learn-180956279/By getting to know the person behind the cadaver, new doctors are honing the skills they'll use on living patientsMon, 17 Aug 2015 12:00:00 +0000A New Cooking Oil Can Be Reused 80 Timeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-cooking-oil-reused-eighty-times-180956280/Could it make for better French fries and disrupt a worldwide black market at the same time? Fri, 14 Aug 2015 18:45:00 +0000The European Space Agency Wants to Build a Moon Villagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/european-space-agency-wants-build-moon-village-180956275/Someday soon, the hot new European vacation spot could have a great view of the planet EarthFri, 14 Aug 2015 15:10:00 +0000Watch a Robot Evolvehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-robot-evolve-180956260/It's the mother of all robotsThu, 13 Aug 2015 12:00:00 +0000Inside a Dutch Police Academy...for Ratshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rats-are-training-help-dutch-police-patrol-180956221/Cigarette-sniffing rats are creating new job opportunities for their fellow rodentsTue, 11 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000Teenage Girls Have Led Language Innovation for Centurieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/teenage-girls-have-been-revolutionizing-language-16th-century-180956216/They've been on the cutting edge of the English language since at least the 1500sMon, 10 Aug 2015 18:45:00 +0000Bats and Balloon Bombs: The Weird Weapons That Could Have Won WWIIhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bats-balloon-bombs-world-war-ii-180956203/World War II's lesser-known weapons were ingenious, indeedMon, 10 Aug 2015 13:00:00 +0000The Washing Machine of the Future May Use Beads Instead of Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cut-down-water-use-washing-machines-plastic-beads-180956199/A new washing machine cuts down on water use with deep-cleaning polymer beadsMon, 10 Aug 2015 12:00:00 +0000Steve Jobs is About to Get His Own Operahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/steve-jobs-opera-set-santa-fe-stage-2017-180956182/But will it include a singing Woz? Fri, 07 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000By Keeping Cows From Burping, This Drug Could Slow Down Climate Changehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/keeping-cows-burping-drug-could-slow-down-climate-change-180956166/That cheeseburger may soon be less harmful to the environmentWed, 05 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000Balloon or Drone? The Internet's Space Race is Heating Uphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/balloon-drone-internet-space-race-180956165/Facebook and Google battle to provide the best internet connection from the edge of the atmosphereWed, 05 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000North Korea's Military Still Uses Stealth Planes From the 1940s http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-north-korea-using-stealth-plane-1940s-180956145/The An-2 can hover and fly backwardsTue, 04 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000How Emojis Could Help People With Food Allergieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/emojis-food-allergies-180956150/Bread emoji. Disappointed face emoji.Tue, 04 Aug 2015 14:30:00 +0000How Hurricane Katrina Changed Pets' Legal Statushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/law-takes-pets-more-seriously-after-hurricane-katrina-180956138/The loss of thousands of pets to the hurricane encouraged lawmakers to rethink society’s responsibility to animalsTue, 04 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000How Do U.S. Carbon Emissions Rank Internationally?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-do-us-carbon-emissions-rank-internationally-180956142/It's complicatedMon, 03 Aug 2015 17:05:00 +0000This Robotic Insect Can Jump on Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-robotic-insect-jump-water-180956131/Why? Because it’s coolMon, 03 Aug 2015 12:00:00 +0000Hackers Have Figured Out How to Control Smart Rifleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/smart-sniper-rifle-vulnerable-hacking-180956118/With the right code, hackers can control guns from afarFri, 31 Jul 2015 18:00:00 +0000Maine Brewers Are Selling Lobster-Infused Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/maine-brewing-lobster-infused-beer-180956115/Because of course they areFri, 31 Jul 2015 15:00:00 +0000NYC Subway Technology Goes Way Back...to the 1930shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-subway-technology-1930s-180956111/America's busiest subway system relies on vintage machinesFri, 31 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000Kids Can Build Their Own Lego Prostheticshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/kids-can-build-their-own-lego-prosthetics-180956098/Prototype system brings a bit of fun to prostheticsThu, 30 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000Here's What Caused a Catastrophic Virgin Galactic Crashhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/co-pilots-error-caused-virgin-galactic-crash-says-ntsb-180956101/Investigators say space plane didn’t have enough safeguardsWed, 29 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000No One Knew This Plant Existed Until It Was Posted to Facebookhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/no-one-knew-plant-existed-until-it-was-posted-facebook-180956084/What's the emoji for "scientific discovery"? Tue, 28 Jul 2015 15:00:00 +0000Drones Are Getting in the Way of Firefighters Combating Wilderness Blazeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/drones-are-preventing-firefighters-combating-wilderness-blazes-180956064/Firefighters need to take to the air to fight fires, but sometimes that air is just too crowdedMon, 27 Jul 2015 18:00:00 +0000These Drones Hunt Whale Snot http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-drones-specialize-whale-snot-180956034/Snotbots will make mucus collection less stressful for whalesMon, 27 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000The First Malaria Vaccine Could Be Released Soonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-malaria-vaccine-could-be-released-soon-180956066/The vaccine isn’t as effective as hoped however, and needs several more approvalsSat, 25 Jul 2015 13:00:00 +0000A List of All the Times People Have Tried to Build a Working Tricorderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/all-times-weve-tried-build-working-tricorder-180956033/Star Trek-style scanning has been a bit more complicated than expected Fri, 24 Jul 2015 19:19:43 +0000Bakers Are Still Searching for the Perfect Egg Replacementhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bakers-are-searching-perfect-egg-understudy-180956019/Egg prices are hitting record highs, raising demand for substitutesFri, 24 Jul 2015 13:30:00 +0000Researchers are Fitting Rhinos With Hidden Horn Cameras http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rhinos-hidden-horn-cameras-could-serve-poaching-surveillance-system-180956013/One non-profit wants to outfit the animals with cameras and heart rate monitors to save them Thu, 23 Jul 2015 17:00:00 +0000The NSA Has a Summer Camp for Cyberspies http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nsa-has-summer-camp-cyberspies-180955999/43 camps nationwide teach teens white hat hacking skills Thu, 23 Jul 2015 14:24:07 +0000A New York City Airport is Building a Luxury Terminal Just for Animalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/major-airport-building-luxury-terminal-just-animals-180955975/Pets and livestock will soon travel in high style through JFKWed, 22 Jul 2015 13:00:00 +0000An Internet Billionaire Just Pledged $100 Million to Search for Extraterrestrial Life http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/internet-billionaire-just-pledged-100-million-find-extraterrestrial-life-180955966/More telescope time, better equipment could help scientists figure out what’s out thereTue, 21 Jul 2015 12:13:28 +0000One Man Packed and Shipped Over 700 Pounds of Boston Snow This Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-man-packed-and-shipped-more-700-pounds-boston-snow-year-180955951/But they refused to ship snow to anyone in Massachusetts Mon, 20 Jul 2015 13:13:20 +0000Public Drinking Fountains Are Disappearing, and That's a Bad Thinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-thinking-public-drinking-fountains-are-gross-problem-180955931/Bottling water divorces people from caring about keeping public water supply cleanThu, 16 Jul 2015 18:51:29 +0000Australians Are Building a Skyscraper Inspired by Beyoncéhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/australians-are-building-skyscraper-inspired-beyonce-1-180955902/Architects envision a rippling structure that takes a page from the singer’s famous lookThu, 16 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000Could This Shrub Overthrow the Mighty Rubber Tree?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rubber-trees-domination-rubber-production-may-soon-end-180955923/Researchers are working to make a shrub found in southwestern U.S. and northern Mexico a viable natural rubber alternativeWed, 15 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000Has the Internet Finally Killed the Greeting Card? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/has-internet-officially-killed-greeting-card-180955888/Companies like Hallmark are experiencing hard times as social media and ecards gain steamMon, 13 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000How Do You Give an Iberian Lynx a Pregnancy Test? Use an Assassin Bughttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-do-you-give-iberian-lynx-pregnancy-test-use-assassin-bug-180955879/Researchers used the insects to keep tabs on population growth in the threatened speciesFri, 10 Jul 2015 15:27:18 +0000Cannabis is Being Used to Build Homes http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cannabis-being-used-build-homes-180955872/“Hempcrete” turns weed into building materialsFri, 10 Jul 2015 13:00:00 +0000Here’s How to Make a Record Out of a Tortilla http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-make-record-out-tortilla-180955871/Yes, it’s edibleThu, 09 Jul 2015 18:57:53 +0000The Russian Government is Teaching its Citizens Selfie Safety http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/russian-government-teaching-selfie-safety-180955856/A rash of injuries while taking selfies prompted the new campaign Thu, 09 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000People Who Bring Their Own Grocery Bags are More Likely to Buy Junk Food http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/people-who-bring-their-own-grocery-bags-are-more-likely-buy-junk-food-180955855/It’s all about perceived virtueThu, 09 Jul 2015 11:30:00 +0000This is What Happened When an Australian City Gave Trees Email Addresses http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-happened-when-australian-city-gave-trees-email-addresses-180955851/Trees get fan mail and even write back to Melburnian residentsWed, 08 Jul 2015 17:24:42 +0000This Pac-Man Spacecraft Will Devour a Satellitehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pac-man-spacecraft-will-devour-swiss-satellite-180955846/Swiss researchers are designing a tiny satellite to eat their defunct cube satellite and clean up space junkWed, 08 Jul 2015 17:13:18 +0000Look Up: Clouds Could be the Next Movie Screens http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/clouds-could-be-next-movie-screens-180955849/An abandoned military strategy leads to the first “cloud movie” Wed, 08 Jul 2015 06:00:00 +0000Ultrasonic Fingerprint Readers Can Unlock Phones Even When Your Fingers are Gross and Sweatyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fingertips-unique-sounds-could-be-next-security-measure-electronics-180955833/Experts say ultrasound fingerprint sensors are harder to hackTue, 07 Jul 2015 16:25:21 +0000Researchers Are Using Facial Recognition Software To Save Lionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/facial-recognition-software-will-help-lion-conservation-180955832/Software algorithms offer a non-invasive way to track the big catsTue, 07 Jul 2015 16:21:08 +0000Virtual Reality Could Be the Next Big Thing in Charitable Giving http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/virtual-reality-could-be-next-big-thing-charitable-giving-180955830/Immersive storytelling brings a bit of sobering reality to would-be donorsTue, 07 Jul 2015 14:15:00 +0000This Scorpion-Shaped Robot Will Enter One of Fukushima’s Reactorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scorpion-shaped-robot-will-enter-one-fukushimas-reactors-180955817/The nuclear power plant's owners still don't know exactly what is going on inside the three reactors that melted downMon, 06 Jul 2015 14:33:13 +0000