Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenFri, 23 Jun 2017 12:00:00 +0000New Badges Will Make Today's Girl Scouts Tomorrow's Cybersleuthshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-badges-todays-girl-scouts-tomorrow-cybersleuths-180963804/Camping and cookie sales are just the tip of the iceberg for modern scoutsFri, 23 Jun 2017 12:00:00 +0000Celebrate the Eclipse With a Color-Shifting Stamp http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-eclipse-color-shifting-stamp-180963787/Your next letter just got more celestial Wed, 21 Jun 2017 19:57:26 +0000Take a Peep at This Gallery of Historic Selfieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-peep-gallery-historic-selfies-180963726/People have been photographing themselves almost since the dawn of the technologyWed, 21 Jun 2017 13:40:41 +0000Renewables Generated Ten Percent of U.S. Energy In Marchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renewables-generated-10-us-energy-march-180963735/Longer days, stronger wind and reduced electricity demand helped green energy break double digits for the first timeMon, 19 Jun 2017 17:43:42 +0000Canada's New Two-Dollar Coins Glow in the Darkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/canada-putting-glow-dark-toonies-circulation-180963711/The two-dollar coins celebrate the nation's 150th anniversary and include a scene with Northern Lights that really glowThu, 15 Jun 2017 19:14:10 +0000350 Years Ago, A Doctor Performed the First Human Blood Transfusion. A Sheep Was Involvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/350-years-ago-doctor-performed-first-human-blood-transfusion-sheep-was-involved-180963631/Early scientists thought that the perceived qualities of an animal—a lamb’s purity, for instance—could be transmitted to humans in blood formThu, 15 Jun 2017 14:00:00 +0000Two Myths and One Truth About Wind Turbineshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/two-myths-and-one-truth-about-wind-turbines-180963626/From the cost of turbines to one U.S. senator's suggestion that "wind is a finite resource" Thu, 15 Jun 2017 13:35:19 +0000Art Installation Recreates the Smell of Cities Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/art-installation-recreates-smell-cities-around-world-180963696/The Pollution Pod project emphasizes the unequal air quality divide between rich and poor citiesWed, 14 Jun 2017 17:44:59 +0000In a Fit of 1940s Optimism, Greyhound Proposed a Fleet of Helicopter Buseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fit-1940s-optimism-greyhound-proposed-fleet-helicopter-buses-180963613/"Greyhound Skyways" would have turned major cities into bustling helicopter hubsWed, 14 Jun 2017 13:37:44 +0000How Sheep's Blood Helped Disprove This Wacky Nineteenth-Century Theory of Illnesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pasteur-anthrax-vaccine-180963609/Scientists didn't understand that bacteria caused disease, but then enter Louis PasteurTue, 13 Jun 2017 19:44:16 +0000In 1913, One Gluttonous Pupper Changed the Course of Animation Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1913-one-gluttonous-pupper-changed-course-animation-history-180963593/Years before "Steamboat Willie," this animated dog hammed it up onscreenMon, 12 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000This Tool Makes it Easy to Compare Art From Different Museums http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tool-makes-it-easy-compare-art-different-museums-180963584/IIIF frees images from the confines of individual websites Thu, 08 Jun 2017 16:34:03 +0000Mail Delivery By Rocket Never Took Offhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mail-delivery-rocket-never-took-180963557/Although the Postmaster General was on board with the idea of missile mail, the Navy was ultimately less interestedThu, 08 Jun 2017 14:10:00 +0000Got Food Waste? Get Some Maggotshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/maggots-may-be-our-solution-food-waste-180963558/In just a few hours, these tiny crawlers can eat more than their weight in foodWed, 07 Jun 2017 18:00:15 +0000China Turns On the World's Largest Floating Solar Farmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/china-launches-largest-floating-solar-farm-180963587/Floating on a lake over a collapsed coal mine, the power station in Anhui province can produce 40 megawatts of energyWed, 07 Jun 2017 15:29:21 +0000Abused Animals in Connecticut Get Their Own Legal Advocateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/abused-animals-connecticut-get-courtroom-advocates-180963571/Last week, for the first time, a lawyer testified in court on behalf of abused pit bullsTue, 06 Jun 2017 17:42:20 +0000Meet the Daredevil Parachutist Who Tested the First Nylon Parachute 75 Years Agohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-daredevil-parachutist-who-tested-duponts-first-nylon-parachute-180963527/Adeline Gray was just 24, but she was already an experienced parachutist and a trained pilotTue, 06 Jun 2017 13:00:00 +0000The First Artificial Skating Rinks Looked Pretty But Smelled Terriblehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-artificial-skating-rinks-looked-pretty-smelled-terrible-180963486/Before the technology to reliably freeze water existed, the first rinks used pig fat and saltsFri, 02 Jun 2017 10:00:00 +0000Is Light Pollution Really Pollution?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/light-pollution-really-pollution-180963474/As countries grow richer, light pollution gets worse–but some are fighting to change thatThu, 01 Jun 2017 16:30:28 +0000These Sustainable Sneakers Are Made Using Algaehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-sustainable-sneakers-were-made-algae-180963483/The shoes’ manufacturers harvest harmful algal blooms and turn the goo into footwearWed, 31 May 2017 10:00:00 +0000New Zealand Sent a 3D-Printed Rocket to Space http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealand-sent-3d-printed-rocket-space-180963463/Will the Electron usher in a new era for satellites? Thu, 25 May 2017 18:49:32 +0000Italy Is Giving Away 103 Historic Buildings, Free of Chargehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italy-giving-away-103-historic-buildings-free-charge-180963423/But potential owners are required to transform the properties into tourist-friendly sites Tue, 23 May 2017 19:02:33 +0000The 1870s Dairy Lobby Turned Margarine Pink So People Would Buy Butterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1870s-dairy-lobby-turned-margarine-pink-so-people-would-buy-butter-180963328/Margarine or butter? The question has deep roots, and you shouldn't even ask it in WisconsinTue, 23 May 2017 13:40:00 +0000Switzerland Votes to Phase Out Nuclear Powerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/switzerland-votes-phase-out-nuclear-power-180963402/The nation plans to decommission its five nuclear plants and invest in renewablesMon, 22 May 2017 18:27:01 +0000Good News, Everybody! Someone Once Patented Plans For Keeping A Severed Head Alivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/good-news-everybody-someone-once-patented-plans-keeping-severed-head-alive-180963290/It was what's called a "prophetic patent"—one that isn't real yetFri, 19 May 2017 13:03:00 +0000Here’s How FDR Explained Making Electricity Publichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-fdr-explained-making-electricity-public-180963286/"My friends, my policy is as radical as the Constitution of the United States," he saidThu, 18 May 2017 17:10:00 +0000One Man Invented Two of the Deadliest Substances of the 20th Centuryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-man-two-deadly-substances-20th-century-180963269/Thomas Midgley Jr.'s inventions have had an outsize impact—not all of it good—on humankindThu, 18 May 2017 14:05:00 +0000Can Giving Paintings Their Own DNA Stop Art Forgery? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/can-giving-paintings-their-own-dna-stop-art-forgery-180963331/Science is leading the charge against copycatsWed, 17 May 2017 15:25:55 +0000Glue Made of Mussel Slime Could Prevent Scarringhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/glue-made-mussel-slime-could-prevent-scarring-180963326/The glue, infused with a version of the protein decorin, healed wounds in rats, giving them skin with hair follicles and oil glands instead of scar tissueTue, 16 May 2017 17:36:15 +0000A Little History of American Kindergartenshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/little-history-american-kindergartens-180963263/Songs, blocks and snack time (and don't forget a nap)Tue, 16 May 2017 16:49:43 +0000With This One Quotable Speech, Teddy Roosevelt Changed the Way America Thinks About Naturehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-teddy-roosevelt-changed-conservation-forever-180963258/In a speech at the start of the 1908 Conference of Governors, Roosevelt changed the national conversation about resource useMon, 15 May 2017 12:49:00 +0000This Infamous 19th-Century Birth Control Pamphlet Got Its Writer Imprisoned http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/19th-century-birth-control-pamphlet-got-its-writer-imprisoned-180963140/Charles Knowlton did three months hard labor and was fined $50Wed, 10 May 2017 15:10:51 +0000Google Maps Glitch Sends Tourists to the Wrong Norwegian Townhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-maps-glitch-sends-tourists-wrong-norwegian-town-180963215/Preikestolen is not in FossmorkTue, 09 May 2017 17:12:45 +0000Pricey Graphing Calculators Could Be Headed for Extinctionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pricey-graphing-calculators-are-going-extinct-180963212/Major testing companies are adopting embedded web calculators instead of freestanding devicesTue, 09 May 2017 16:41:10 +0000Crayola to Debut Crayon Inspired by New Shade of Bluehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/crayola-debut-crayon-inspired-new-shade-blue-180963205/The YInMn pigment was accidentally discovered by a chemist in 2009Tue, 09 May 2017 14:04:23 +0000U.S. Home Births Aren't As Safe As Many Abroadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-home-births-may-never-be-successful-those-other-countries-180963108/Home birth doesn't have to be a dangerous and deadly proposition–but in the United States, it often isFri, 05 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000How Mule Racing Led to Mule Cloninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-mule-racing-led-mule-cloning-180963101/It was a huge advance in cloning in the early 2000sThu, 04 May 2017 15:12:06 +0000The Man Who Invented the First Gas Maskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/man-who-invented-first-gas-mask-180963073/John Haldane came up with a rudimentary gas mask to protect Allied troops during WWIWed, 03 May 2017 14:16:18 +0000Insect-Based Munchies Coming to Grocery Stores Across Switzerlandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/insect-based-nosh-coming-100-swiss-grocery-stores-180963118/The country recently lifted restrictions on selling mealworms, locusts and crickets for consumptionWed, 03 May 2017 13:57:43 +0000This Prolific Inventor Helped Give Us The Phrase “The Real McCoy” http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/prolific-inventor-helped-give-us-phrase-real-mccoy-180963059/There are many stories about how we got this phrase. But there was only one Elijah McCoyTue, 02 May 2017 16:00:00 +0000Benjamin Franklin Was the First to Chart the Gulf Streamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/benjamin-franklin-was-first-chart-gulf-stream-180963066/Franklin's cousin, Timothy Folger, knew how the then-unnamed current worked from his days as a whalerTue, 02 May 2017 15:08:56 +0000Can Snow Machines Save Swiss Glaciers?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/can-snow-machines-save-swiss-glaciers-180963094/As many as 4,000 could be deployed to insulate ice on MorteratschMon, 01 May 2017 20:24:49 +0000Scientists Make Sturdy Bricks From Mars-Like Soilshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-make-sturdy-bricks-mars-soils-180963077/Their findings may be a step forward in the mission to build structures on the Red PlanetMon, 01 May 2017 10:00:00 +0000Check Out This Year's Entries to the RobotArt Competitionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-entries-years-robotart-competition-180963071/Thirty-eight teams have submitted almost 200 artworks painted by robots, many guided by artsy artificial intelligence Fri, 28 Apr 2017 20:16:08 +0000Times Square's Glitzy Look was One Man's Bright Ideahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/times-square-look-one-man-180963032/Douglas Leigh's ability to imagine new kinds of advertising shaped the signs of the cityFri, 28 Apr 2017 13:20:00 +0000