Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenThu, 26 May 2016 18:47:52 +0000The U.S. Nuclear Program Still Uses Eight-Inch Floppy Diskshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-nuclear-program-still-uses-eight-inch-floppy-disks-180959245/Technological change takes forever to boot up Thu, 26 May 2016 18:47:52 +0000Surf Legend Builds Artificial Wave That Could Bring Surfing to the Masseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/surf-legend-builds-artificial-wave-could-bring-surfing-to-the-masses-180959234/The World Surf League just bought Kelly Slater's artificial wave technology, a move that could bring surfing to places like NebraskaThu, 26 May 2016 17:22:16 +0000The Longest, Deepest Train Tunnel in the World Is About to Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/longest-deepest-train-tunnel-world-about-open-180959228/It goes straight through the base of the AlpsThu, 26 May 2016 14:58:38 +0000This Startup Wants to Open the 2020 Olympics With a Man-Made Meteor Showerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/startup-wants-open-2020-olympics-man-made-meteor-shower-180959219/Could the only thing better than fireworks be fireworks launched from space?Wed, 25 May 2016 14:50:32 +0000Fake Blood and All, the Next-Gen Veggie Burger Is Set to Debut at Whole Foodshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/next-gen-veggie-burger-fake-blood-and-all-debut-supermarket-180959220/With creations of pea proteins and beet pulp, Beyond Meat hopes to mimic beef as closely as possibleTue, 24 May 2016 20:37:24 +0000This Computer Algorithm Transforms Movies Into Breathtaking Works of Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/computer-algorithm-can-transform-movies-breathtaking-works-art-180959165/These neural networks can make any moving image into a masterpiece from Picasso to van Gogh Fri, 20 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000Brewery Introduces Edible, Biodegradable Six-Pack Ringshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brewery-introduces-edible-biodegrable-six-pack-rings-180959172/Saltwater Brewery's new packaging is made of beer byproducts and can be eaten by sea lifeThu, 19 May 2016 16:44:06 +0000Can Wine Made Without Grapes Match the Real Thing?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/can-wine-made-without-grapes-match-real-thing-180959145/A San Francisco start-up is trying to create synthetic wine—just by mixing together the right ingredientsWed, 18 May 2016 16:00:42 +0000These Temporary Tattoos Can Help ID a Food Allergyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-temporary-tattoos-can-help-id-buckwheat-allergies-180959079/Plus, the tattoo is inspired by historical Japanese printsFri, 13 May 2016 18:08:56 +0000Help London's Science Museum Bring Britain's First Robot Back to Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/science-museum-rebuilding-eric-britains-first-robot-180959055/Eric impressed crowds in the 1920's by standing up, bowing, and shooting sparks from his teethThu, 12 May 2016 15:45:13 +0000Video Calls Are Replacing In-Person Visits at Some Prisonshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/video-calls-are-replacing-in-person-visits-at-some-prisons-180959025/For some companies, bans on in-person prison visits mean big businessMon, 09 May 2016 15:36:31 +0000Virtual Reality Film Will Simulate Anne Frank’s Hiding Placehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/virtual-reality-film-will-simulate-anne-franks-hiding-place-180958996/'Anne' will give audiences a sense of what it was like to be in the "Secret Annex"Wed, 04 May 2016 19:39:08 +0000The First Delivery Drone in the United States Lands a Spot at the Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-delivery-drone-united-states-lands-spot-smithsonian-180958964/The Flirtey F3.0 hexacopter touches ground at the National Air and Space MuseumMon, 02 May 2016 17:20:00 +0000A Robot Monk Is Spreading Buddhist Teachings in Chinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/robot-monk-spreading-buddhist-teachings-china-180958938/An adorable robot serves up automated mantrasThu, 28 Apr 2016 16:22:31 +0000A German City Installed Traffic Lights For Textershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/german-city-installed-traffic-lights-texters-180958926/In Augsburg, distracted smartphone users don't have to look up to stay safeWed, 27 Apr 2016 15:57:14 +0000A British Store Will Go Quiet For Customers With Autismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/british-store-will-go-quiet-customers-autism-180958917/Shh—people are shoppingWed, 27 Apr 2016 15:03:44 +0000Thirty Years Later, a Gigantic Arch Is Set to Cover Chernobylhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/thirty-years-later-gigantic-arch-set-cover-chernobyl-180958915/The New Safe Confinement is one of history’s most ambitious engineering projects—and it comes not a moment too soonTue, 26 Apr 2016 16:16:08 +0000This “Sweaty” Billboard Kills Mosquitoeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sweaty-billboard-kills-mosquitoes-180958893/Gross gimmick or Zika-fighting innovation?Mon, 25 Apr 2016 15:46:44 +0000Help First Responders in Ecuador Without Leaving Your Deskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/help-first-responders-ecuador-without-leaving-your-desk-180958822/Scour satellite imagery of earthquake-stricken areas to help aid agencies decide where to go nextTue, 19 Apr 2016 16:20:00 +0000Your Body Could One Day Be a Computer Displayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/your-body-could-one-day-be-computer-display-180958807/Forget screen time—a new technology is all about skin timeMon, 18 Apr 2016 16:17:24 +0000New York’s Newest Urban Farm Floatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-yorks-newest-urban-farm-floats-180958764/A barge bursting with vegetables takes to the water this summerMon, 18 Apr 2016 15:04:52 +0000Could Virtual Reality Inspire Empathy for Others?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/could-virtual-reality-inspire-empathy-others-180958703/Virtual reality could allow users to step into someone else's shoes, experiencing things like having migraines or swapping gendersTue, 12 Apr 2016 12:00:00 +0000"New" Rembrandt Created, 347 Years After the Dutch Master's Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-rembrandt-created-347-years-after-the-dutch-masters-death-180958664/The painting was created using data from more than 168,000 fragments of Rembrandt’s workTue, 05 Apr 2016 17:49:16 +0000Researchers Make Cyborg Beetles a Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-make-cyborg-beetles-reality-180958631/Outfitted with microprocessor-equipped backpacks, scientists can control the beetle's steps via remote controlFri, 01 Apr 2016 16:35:24 +0000Tower Lights Will Soon Blink for the Sake of Birdshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tower-lights-soon-blink-sake-birds-180958627/With a simple blink, tall towers can go from deadly to bird-friendlyThu, 31 Mar 2016 18:50:00 +0000Switzerland Will Host the First Cyborg Olympicshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/switzerland-will-host-first-cyborg-olympics-180958608/The “Cybathlon” will show what happens when humans and machines collaborateWed, 30 Mar 2016 17:32:49 +0000Tesla vs. Edison Is a Video Game That Will Literally Shock Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tesla-vs-edison-now-video-game-180958564/Fight the 'War of the Currents'Tue, 29 Mar 2016 12:30:00 +0000An AI-Written Novella Almost Won a Literary Prizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ai-written-novella-almost-won-literary-prize-180958577/A short novel co-written by humans and AI passed the first round of a Japanese literary contestMon, 28 Mar 2016 18:53:39 +0000