Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenFri, 24 Apr 2015 14:18:56 +0000An Imagined Catalogue of Self-Assembling Furniture http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/catalogue-self-assembling-furniture-180955091/The furniture of the future will put itself togetherFri, 24 Apr 2015 14:18:56 +0000A Record-Breaking Clock Won’t Lose a Second For Another 15 Billion Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/record-breaking-clock-wont-lose-second-another-15-billion-years-180955072/Strontium atomic clocks could eventually help scientists map the Earth’s shapeWed, 22 Apr 2015 17:00:00 +0000Lifeless Venus Could Hold the Key to Life on Earthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/questions-how-life-emerged-have-scientists-interested-exploring-venus-180955061/Earth’s sister planet is astonishingly hostile to life, but exactly how it got that way has researchers intriguedTue, 21 Apr 2015 17:25:58 +0000Scientists Want to Use Lasers to Shoot Down Space Junkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-want-use-lasers-shoot-down-space-junk-180955052/The idea sounds farfetched, but it may be better than previous solutionsMon, 20 Apr 2015 19:35:55 +0000Why Astronomers Are Fighting Back Against Robotic Lawnmowershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-astronomers-are-fighting-back-against-robotic-lawnmowers-180955048/It’s a feud fueled by radio frequencies Mon, 20 Apr 2015 15:45:00 +0000This Tiny Trackpad Fits on a Fingernailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/case-fingernail-trackpad-180955039/But why would you actually want one?Mon, 20 Apr 2015 13:45:05 +0000Disney's Getting Into 3D-Printing Soft, Cuddly Thingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/disneys-3d-printing-soft-cuddly-things-course-180955040/The world of cartoons is going to get a little realer Mon, 20 Apr 2015 13:00:14 +0000Scientists Bombard the Earth With Asteroids to Practice Saving Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-bombard-earth-asteroids-practice-saving-it-180955031/The Planetary Defense Conference doesn’t just have papers and seminars. It also has an asteroid disaster scenario to solve.Fri, 17 Apr 2015 18:00:59 +0000Levitating Train Breaks Speed Record in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/levitating-train-breaks-speed-record-japan-180955029/This magnetic levitation bullet train is capable of speeds of 366 miles per hour—and possibly moreFri, 17 Apr 2015 17:00:40 +0000Why You Can’t Listen to Radio On Your Smartphonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-you-cant-listen-radio-your-smartphone-180955028/There’s an FM radio on your phone…but you likely can’t use it Fri, 17 Apr 2015 15:45:58 +0000Scientists Are Trying to Figure Out If Humans Can Hibernatehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-are-trying-figure-out-if-humans-can-hibernate-180955018/Studies of hibernators and experiments inducing short-term torpor in humans may answer whether human hibernation is possibleThu, 16 Apr 2015 17:20:18 +0000What If Job Interviews Were Automated? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-if-job-interviews-were-automated-180955015/New study shows that computers can predict how applicants will do at interviewsThu, 16 Apr 2015 14:45:58 +0000Forget Fake Meat…How About Fake Milk? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-fake-meathow-about-fake-milk-180954996/Move over, soy—a group of bio-hackers is trying to turn snippets of DNA into milk-producing yeastWed, 15 Apr 2015 14:30:07 +0000SpaceX Didn’t Land Its Rocket http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/spacex-didnt-land-its-rocket-180954995/The third time was not a charm for the Falcon 9Wed, 15 Apr 2015 13:46:20 +0000These Magic Toothbrushes Work Without Toothpastehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-magic-toothbrushes-work-without-toothpaste-180954988/A new brush—and an old one, too—that don't rely on possibly harmful pastes to make your smile shineTue, 14 Apr 2015 19:00:11 +0000Sound Waves Could Help Find Elusive Cancer Cellshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sound-waves-could-help-find-elusive-cancer-cells-180954943/Researchers have developed a new device that could help determine the presence of tumor cells circulating in the bloodstreamFri, 10 Apr 2015 19:00:14 +0000Ancient Tech Could Help Solve Lima’s Water Crisis http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-tech-could-help-solve-limas-water-crisis-180954936/Turns out Peru’s Wari people were excellent urban planners...and their 1,500-year-old 'amunas' could soon bring water to LimaFri, 10 Apr 2015 16:30:20 +0000Mountaineers Are Taking a New Route Up Everest http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mountaineers-are-taking-new-route-everest-180954935/They’ll forge their path sans sherpas or oxygen tanksFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:30:32 +0000Yes, Facebook is Making You Sadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yes-facebook-making-you-sad-180954934/Stop comparing your life to flattering photos and carefully-crafted status updatesFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:00:06 +0000A Plan for a Robot Who Can Impersonate Your Mom http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/plan-robot-who-can-impersonate-your-mom-180954922/Google has a patent for artificial intelligence with a personality -- and that patent might not be a good ideaThu, 09 Apr 2015 15:50:37 +0000Meet Your New Favorite Fonthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-favorite-font-180954910/Haas Unica, Helvetica’s long-lost sibling, is back after 30 years in obscurity Wed, 08 Apr 2015 16:00:10 +0000Meet a Hermit Crab Who Has Shacked Up in a Legohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-hermit-crab-who-has-shacked-lego-180954902/Weird things can become home sweet home when you are a tiny soft crustaceanTue, 07 Apr 2015 17:15:20 +0000High Schoolers Might Code Rather Than Speak Frenchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/high-schoolers-have-chance-learn-code-instead-foreign-language-180954875/But proponents of foreign language schooling aren’t pleasedFri, 03 Apr 2015 19:15:47 +0000Most Plastic Trash Comes From Farmshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/most-plastic-trash-comes-farms-heres-what-were-trying-do-about-it-180954873/Here's what they're trying to do about itFri, 03 Apr 2015 18:00:46 +0000An Autonomous Car Just Completed a 3,400-Mile Road Triphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/autonomous-car-just-completed-3400-mile-road-trip-180954869/Delphi’s robo-car drove itself across 15 states in just nine daysFri, 03 Apr 2015 17:12:48 +0000Why the ESA’s Astronauts Train Underground http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-esas-astronauts-train-underground-180954835/The European Space Agency is applying protocols from the International Space Station in cavesThu, 02 Apr 2015 15:01:11 +00003D Printing Could Help Developing Countries Predict Natural Disastershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/3d-printing-could-help-developing-countries-predict-natural-disasters-180954830/The development of more affordable, 3D printed equipment could save livesThu, 02 Apr 2015 14:30:29 +0000This Onion Will Never Make You Cryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/no-more-tears-now-theres-gentler-onion-180954826/A Japanese food company has designed an onion that won't make you cryWed, 01 Apr 2015 19:31:47 +0000Found: The Bacteria That Are Making You Stinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-bacteria-s-making-you-stink-180954821/Scientists have finally discovered the culprit behind smelly armpitsWed, 01 Apr 2015 16:00:58 +0000This Nasty Medieval Remedy Kills MRSAhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasty-medieval-remedy-kills-mrsa-180954808/An ancient brew could lead to modern-day drugs to fight the superbugTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:45:20 +0000Japan Is Building a 40-foot Wall to Stop Tsunamishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-building-40-foot-wall-stop-tsunamis-180954790/But the expensive, extensive wall might not be high enoughFri, 27 Mar 2015 18:56:08 +0000Why Craigslist Users Are Flocking to Police Departments http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-craigslist-users-are-flocking-police-departments-180954778/New “safe lot” programs aim to make buying and selling goods saferFri, 27 Mar 2015 16:30:34 +0000The Navajo Nation Will Have the First Junk Food Tax in the U.S.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/navajo-nation-will-have-first-junk-food-tax-us-180954766/The Navajo National Council approved a 2 percent increase in sales tax on foods like pastries, fried foods, desserts, chips and sodaThu, 26 Mar 2015 17:49:30 +0000An Asteroid Boulder Will Be A Stepping Stone on the Journey to Marshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/asteroid-boulder-will-be-stepping-stone-journey-mars-180954752/NASA announces details in its plan to capture an asteroid and bring it into lunar orbitWed, 25 Mar 2015 20:57:09 +0000How Tampons Might One Day Help Detect Cancerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-tampons-might-one-day-help-detect-cancer-180954744/New research suggests tampons could screen for endometrial cancerWed, 25 Mar 2015 17:30:01 +0000Why Forecasters Were Once Banned From Using the Word “Tornado”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-forecasters-were-once-banned-using-word-tornado-180954742/Before meteorologists developed reliable prediction techniques, the t-word was off the tableWed, 25 Mar 2015 14:30:01 +0000Here’s How Music Really Could Soothe Your Soul http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-music-really-could-sooth-your-soul-180954738/A leading scholar theorizes that music developed as an evolutionary adaptation to help us deal with the contradictory nature of lifeWed, 25 Mar 2015 13:30:11 +0000Here’s Why the Navy Designed a New Diving Suit http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-navy-designed-new-diving-suit-180954726/New design spurred by a global helium shortageTue, 24 Mar 2015 15:30:56 +0000Half of All Local Council Positions in France Will Be Held by Womenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/half-all-local-council-positions-france-will-be-held-women-180954721/Joint tickets with men and women running together will lead to councils balanced by genderTue, 24 Mar 2015 13:45:28 +0000Got Allergies? Air Pollution Could Be to Blamehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/got-allergies-air-pollution-could-be-blame-3-180954709/New research suggests that ozone and nitrogen dioxide can alter allergens, creating more potent immune responsesMon, 23 Mar 2015 16:20:07 +0000Trouble Remembering Passwords? Charles Dickens May Be Able Helphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/trouble-remembering-passwords-charles-dickens-may-be-able-help-180954698/A programmer has devised a creative “password generation scheme” using <i>A Tale of Two Cities</i>Mon, 23 Mar 2015 13:30:23 +0000The Rules of Wrinkling, From Brain Folds to Pumpkin Ridgeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rules-wrinkling-can-explain-everything-brain-folds-ridges-pumpkins-180954690/Creases, ridges, folds and "delaminated buckles" are all different forms of wrinklingFri, 20 Mar 2015 19:00:56 +0000Drones Are Teaching Falcons How to Hunthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/drones-are-teaching-falcons-how-hunt-180954678/One of the newest training techniques used by falconers could eventually help conservation efforts to save the birds’ preyFri, 20 Mar 2015 13:55:39 +0000Wikipedia Editing Shows That Different Countries Have Different Sets of Interestshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wikipedia-editing-shows-different-countries-have-different-sets-interests-180954643/New analysis shows that interests are local, not global Thu, 19 Mar 2015 16:40:25 +0000Could Your Browser Make You a Better Employee?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/could-your-browser-make-you-better-employee-180954640/The answer could be yes…if you use Firefox or ChromeThu, 19 Mar 2015 15:15:46 +0000A Special Facility in England Keeps the World’s Chocolate Safehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/special-facility-england-keeps-worlds-chocolate-safe-180954594/The cocoa tree is very sensitive to disease and pests, so someone checks every plant bound for international tradeMon, 16 Mar 2015 18:30:49 +0000There’s Finally Free Wifi in Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-finally-free-wifi-cuba-180954574/Cuba becomes more connectedMon, 16 Mar 2015 15:15:30 +0000The First Green Beer Was Made With Laundry Whitener http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-green-beer-was-made-laundry-whitener-180954573/Before food coloring, St. Patrick’s Day’s most festive brew got its hue from a different kind of dyeMon, 16 Mar 2015 14:15:10 +0000Slime Mold Has an Uncannily Accurate Sense of Where Rome Built Its Roadshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hidden-network-roman-roads-could-be-revealed-slime-mold-180954569/The strange organisms are remarkably good at mapping the most efficient route from place to place—and that's exactly what roads doMon, 16 Mar 2015 13:30:37 +0000Scientists Have Been Studying Two Fake Human Pheromones for Decadeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-have-been-studying-two-fake-human-pheromones-decades-180954567/Two chemicals provided by a perfume company appear in a 1991 research paper and side-track years of work on human pheromonesFri, 13 Mar 2015 20:27:02 +0000There’s an Invader in the International Space Stationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-street-art-international-space-station-180954563/An Invader mosaic has found its way to space Fri, 13 Mar 2015 19:00:34 +0000Now the Turing Test Goes Visualhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/now-turing-test-goes-visual-180954554/A proposed test would have computer programs not only pick out what is in a photo but what is happeningFri, 13 Mar 2015 14:00:26 +0000Celebrating the Women of the Supreme Court With LEGOshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrating-women-supreme-court-legos-180954536/What better way to hail the female trailblazers of the bench than miniaturizing them into tiny toys?Wed, 11 Mar 2015 18:00:36 +0000When Even the Simplest Word Looks Weird And Wrong You Have Wordnesiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-even-simplest-word-looks-weird-and-wrong-you-have-wordnesia-180954539/We don’t really know why it happens, but at least there is a term for itWed, 11 Mar 2015 14:00:52 +0000London’s Congestion Pricing Plan Is Saving Lives http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/londons-controversial-traffic-reduction-plan-saving-lives-180954516/By charging $17.34 for a trip downtown during peak hours, London has reduced traffic fatalities by 40 percentTue, 10 Mar 2015 15:30:53 +0000Why’s Wikimedia Suing the NSA? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whys-wikipedia-suing-nsa-180954514/Wikimedia Foundation joins Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch and others to protest mass surveillance onlineTue, 10 Mar 2015 14:45:56 +0000How Dick Tracy Invented the Smartwatch http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-dick-tracy-invented-smartwatch-180954506/The detective’s two-way wrist radio paved the way for the Apple Watch and other wearablesMon, 09 Mar 2015 16:03:13 +0000This Is Next-Level Origamihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/next-level-origami-180954490/From dancing cranes to protective structures, origami is popping up in science and techFri, 06 Mar 2015 16:04:03 +0000NASA’s Next Space Robot Was Inspired by a Baby’s Toyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasas-next-space-robot-was-inspired-babys-toy-180954479/Meet the Super Ball Bot, a flexible robot that could explore new planets Thu, 05 Mar 2015 18:00:18 +0000Microsoft Billionaire Finds Enormous Sunken Japanese Battleshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/microsoft-billionaire-finds-enormous-sunken-japanese-battleship-180954468/Paul Allen used his megayacht to locate the long-lost ship, which has been missing since World War IIWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:00:02 +0000The FCC Just Voted to Preserve Net Neutralityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/net-neutrality-vote-180954418/FCC passes “Preserving the Open Internet” rules by 3-2 voteThu, 26 Feb 2015 18:09:11 +0000See Shipping Traffic Move Through Straits Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/see-shipping-traffic-move-through-straits-around-world-180954399/A visualization shows a week’s worth of vessel movementTue, 24 Feb 2015 19:06:31 +0000Amsterdam Is Out of Bike Parkinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amsterdam-out-bike-parking-180954395/The city will create 40,000 new bike parking spaces by 2030Tue, 24 Feb 2015 16:51:27 +0000