Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenFri, 29 May 2015 16:30:00 +000060 NASA Scientists are Trying to Build a Better Parachutehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/60-nasa-scientists-are-trying-build-better-parachute-180955446/The Supreme Council of Parachute Experts wants to construct a parachute that can help a heavier craft land on MarsFri, 29 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Scientists Just Mummified a Human Leg to Test Ancient Egyptian Techniqueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-mummify-human-leg-test-ancient-egyptian-techniques-180955439/It took 208 days for Swiss scientists to mummify a fresh leg using natronThu, 28 May 2015 17:10:23 +0000Take a Drone Tour of Ancient Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-drone-tour-ancient-history-180955413/Drones offer a soaring perspective of ancient sitesWed, 27 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Pac-Man Turns 35 This Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pac-man-turns-35-month-180955401/The now-iconic game was originally released by Namco in 1980Wed, 27 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000This Surfboard Maps Waves and Gathers Ocean Data for Researchershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/surfboard-maps-waves-and-gathers-ocean-data-researchers-180955403/Sensors would make surfers into citizen scientistsWed, 27 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000 This Beer Was Brewed to Save Sea Starshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/beer-brewed-save-sea-stars-180955385/A new ale sends some proceeds to research on sea star wasting syndromeFri, 22 May 2015 18:16:21 +0000Jerusalem is Running Out of Room for the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jerusalem-running-out-room-dead-180955358/A new project looks to save space by building modern catacombsWed, 20 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000A Malaysian Farm is Playing Classical Music to its Chickens http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/malaysian-farm-uses-classical-music-healthier-chickens-180955337/Drug-free chickens roam in a barn filled with tunes from MozartTue, 19 May 2015 17:42:09 +0000Engineered Yeast Could Open up a DIY Painkiller Markethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/engineered-yeast-could-open-diy-painkiller-market-180955334/The modified microbes could also make cheaper and better opiatesTue, 19 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Will Your Doctor One Day Pay You? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/will-your-doctor-one-day-pay-you-180955317/New research shows that incentive-based health programs really do workTue, 19 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000These Scientists Want to Unleash an Army of Caterpillars to Destroy Cocaine Cropshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cocaine-eating-moths-could-be-new-weapon-drug-war-180955307/Colombian scientists say the insect could replace cocaine-killing herbicides.Tue, 19 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000How Angry AI Will Train Telemarketers to Handle Angry Real Peoplehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/angry-ai-will-train-telemarketers-handle-real-people-180955308/The robot apocalypse will come with the howling fury of an angry customer service call.Mon, 18 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Twitter is Helping Scientists Spot More Northern Lightshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/twitters-helping-scientists-spot-more-northern-lights-180955272/A new study shows the power of social media to pinpoint where and when auroras occurSun, 17 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Scientists Are Stopping Malaria With Viagrahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-are-stopping-malaria-its-tracks-viagra-180955259/Viagra can help boost the spleen’s ability to filter out infected blood cellsThu, 14 May 2015 15:18:11 +0000Stop Calling it Bird Flu: World Health Organization Calls for More Care in Naming Diseaseshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-health-organization-calls-more-care-naming-diseases-180955251/New naming guidelines issued to avoid stigmatizing communities.Thu, 14 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Alaska is Growing a Plant the Soviet Military Used in Secret Experimentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alaska-growing-herb-soviet-military-used-secret-experiments-180955252/Golden root, or Rhodiola rosea, is also popular in Siberian folk medicineThu, 14 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000This Company is Turning Holocaust Survivor Interviews into Hologramshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/future-holographic-holocaust-survivors-may-bear-witness-180955244/Researchers are using new technology to keep Holocaust testimonies aliveWed, 13 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000How Snow Keeps the World’s Most Powerful Space Telescope Squeaky Cleanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-snow-keeps-worlds-most-powerful-space-telescope-squeaky-clean-180955236/CO2 snowflakes are being tested for use with Hubble’s successorWed, 13 May 2015 12:30:00 +0000Computers Are Learning About Art Faster than Art Historianshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/computers-are-getting-better-identifying-artists-art-historians-are-180955241/An algorithm took just a few months to draw connections between artists that scholars have been working on for yearsWed, 13 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000New York State Forms Emergency Task Force to Protect Manicuristshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-state-forms-emergency-task-force-protect-manicurists-180955234/State authorities spurred into action by New York Times expose uncovering health risks and wage theft in New York City’s nail salonsTue, 12 May 2015 12:58:35 +0000Starbucks Moves its Bottled Water Operations Out of California’s Droughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-getting-called-out-starbucks-moves-its-bottling-operations-out-californias-drought-180955218/Bottling water in California might not be a great idea, but many companies still do itSat, 09 May 2015 13:54:34 +0000How to Crash a Drone, Safelyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/drones-need-learn-how-crash-land-safely-180955209/It’s time to teach drones how to safely land in an emergency.Fri, 08 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000A Streak in the Sky: Photographer Captures an Incredible Time-lapse Image of the Moon http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/moon-trail-180955200/Janne Voutilainen's photo took nearly 40 minutes to shootThu, 07 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Here's How NASA is Keeping The Satellites Around Mars From Running Into Each Other http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mars-drawing-crowd-satellites-180955183/NASA is beefing up traffic monitoring as more satellites enter orbit around the red planet.Wed, 06 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000The Very First Self-Driving Semi Truck Has Hit the Roadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-time-theres-self-driving-semi-road-180955184/The Freightliner Inspiration is the first commercially-licensed autonomous truckWed, 06 May 2015 15:24:23 +0000Department of Justice Says it’s Time to Reevaluate the Stingray Phone-Tracking Systemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/department-justice-says-its-time-reevaluate-stingray-180955171/New report says agency to take a look into cell phone snooping.Tue, 05 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000This African Plant Leads the Way to Diamond Depositshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/african-plant-shows-where-diamonds-can-be-found-180955165/A palm-like plant seems to grow only on top of diamond-rich deposits called kimberlite pipesTue, 05 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000This is How Bombardier Beetles Fire Explosives From Their Buttshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/machine-gun-bug-180955150/The beetls have a special chamber in their abdomens where they mix together chemicals to produce an explosive reactionTue, 05 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Meet the Group of Scientists That Keeps Lenin’s 90-Year-Old Corpse Freshhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/group-scientists-keeps-lenins-90-year-old-corpse-fresh-180955151/90 years later, Vladimir Lenin’s body is still maintained by a Russian labFri, 01 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Report Suggests Top Psychologists Worked With the C.I.A. on Torture Programhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/top-psychologists-worked-cia-torture-program-180955147/Newly-published emails reveal secret collaboration between the A.P.A. and Bush AdministrationFri, 01 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000Here's Why The Italian Army is Growing Weedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/italian-army-getting-weed-business-180955148/They want to lower the price of medicinal marijuana by growing their ownFri, 01 May 2015 13:18:59 +0000The U.S. Military Has Developed Self-Steering Bulletshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-military-develops-self-steering-bullets-180955139/Hi-tech bullets can help snipers hit moving targetsThu, 30 Apr 2015 17:00:00 +0000Have a Tattoo? The Apple Watch Might Not Work For Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/have-tattoo-maybe-wait-buy-apple-watch-180955136/Some people with wrist ink say the Apple Watch can't detect their skinThu, 30 Apr 2015 16:00:00 +0000This is the View from Inside the Cockpit of a Solar-Powered Planehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonianmag/view-inside-cockpit-solar-powered-plane-180955131/There won’t be much sightseeing as the solar-powered airplane crosses the PacificThu, 30 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Laptops of the Future May Not Have Space Barshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-googles-trying-get-rid-space-bars-180955125/A recent Google patent points to a time when trackpads replace the trusty keyWed, 29 Apr 2015 16:36:12 +0000Brewmasters Now Using DNA Techniques to Spot Bad Batcheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bad-beer-can-be-spotted-its-dna-180955118/Instead of waiting for bacteria to grow, a quick genetic test can identify problem brewsTue, 28 Apr 2015 19:00:00 +0000Harnessing the Power of Peer Pressure Could Help Reduce Traffichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/peer-pressure-could-help-reduce-traffic-180955117/People are more likely to carpool if they think their peers are doing it tooTue, 28 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Eau de Death: Perfumer Develops Scents Based on Dead Loved Oneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/perfume-smells-your-dead-loved-one-180955106/A French perfumer is attempting to harness the emotional power of scent Mon, 27 Apr 2015 15:26:10 +0000SOS! The FAA Gives the Go-Ahead for Emergency Rescue Company to Use Droneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sos-faa-gives-go-ahead-emergency-rescue-company-use-drones-180955102/A Maine-based search and rescue company is the first of its kind to win FAA approval to experiment with dronesMon, 27 Apr 2015 12:54:54 +0000An Imagined Catalogue of Self-Assembling Furniture http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/catalogue-self-assembling-furniture-180955091/The furniture of the future will put itself togetherFri, 24 Apr 2015 14:18:56 +0000A Record-Breaking Clock Won’t Lose a Second For Another 15 Billion Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/record-breaking-clock-wont-lose-second-another-15-billion-years-180955072/Strontium atomic clocks could eventually help scientists map the Earth’s shapeWed, 22 Apr 2015 17:00:00 +0000Lifeless Venus Could Hold the Key to Life on Earthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/questions-how-life-emerged-have-scientists-interested-exploring-venus-180955061/Earth’s sister planet is astonishingly hostile to life, but exactly how it got that way has researchers intriguedTue, 21 Apr 2015 17:25:58 +0000Scientists Want to Use Lasers to Shoot Down Space Junkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-want-use-lasers-shoot-down-space-junk-180955052/The idea sounds farfetched, but it may be better than previous solutionsMon, 20 Apr 2015 19:35:55 +0000Why Astronomers Are Fighting Back Against Robotic Lawnmowershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-astronomers-are-fighting-back-against-robotic-lawnmowers-180955048/It’s a feud fueled by radio frequencies Mon, 20 Apr 2015 15:45:00 +0000This Tiny Trackpad Fits on a Fingernailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/case-fingernail-trackpad-180955039/But why would you actually want one?Mon, 20 Apr 2015 13:45:05 +0000Disney's Getting Into 3D-Printing Soft, Cuddly Thingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/disneys-3d-printing-soft-cuddly-things-course-180955040/The world of cartoons is going to get a little realer Mon, 20 Apr 2015 13:00:14 +0000Scientists Bombard the Earth With Asteroids to Practice Saving Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-bombard-earth-asteroids-practice-saving-it-180955031/The Planetary Defense Conference doesn’t just have papers and seminars. It also has an asteroid disaster scenario to solve.Fri, 17 Apr 2015 18:00:59 +0000Levitating Train Breaks Speed Record in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/levitating-train-breaks-speed-record-japan-180955029/This magnetic levitation bullet train is capable of speeds of 366 miles per hour—and possibly moreFri, 17 Apr 2015 17:00:40 +0000Why You Can’t Listen to Radio On Your Smartphonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-you-cant-listen-radio-your-smartphone-180955028/There’s an FM radio on your phone…but you likely can’t use it Fri, 17 Apr 2015 15:45:58 +0000Scientists Are Trying to Figure Out If Humans Can Hibernatehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-are-trying-figure-out-if-humans-can-hibernate-180955018/Studies of hibernators and experiments inducing short-term torpor in humans may answer whether human hibernation is possibleThu, 16 Apr 2015 17:20:18 +0000What If Job Interviews Were Automated? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-if-job-interviews-were-automated-180955015/New study shows that computers can predict how applicants will do at interviewsThu, 16 Apr 2015 14:45:58 +0000Forget Fake Meat…How About Fake Milk? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/forget-fake-meathow-about-fake-milk-180954996/Move over, soy—a group of bio-hackers is trying to turn snippets of DNA into milk-producing yeastWed, 15 Apr 2015 14:30:07 +0000SpaceX Didn’t Land Its Rocket http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/spacex-didnt-land-its-rocket-180954995/The third time was not a charm for the Falcon 9Wed, 15 Apr 2015 13:46:20 +0000These Magic Toothbrushes Work Without Toothpastehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-magic-toothbrushes-work-without-toothpaste-180954988/A new brush—and an old one, too—that don't rely on possibly harmful pastes to make your smile shineTue, 14 Apr 2015 19:00:11 +0000Sound Waves Could Help Find Elusive Cancer Cellshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sound-waves-could-help-find-elusive-cancer-cells-180954943/Researchers have developed a new device that could help determine the presence of tumor cells circulating in the bloodstreamFri, 10 Apr 2015 19:00:14 +0000Ancient Tech Could Help Solve Lima’s Water Crisis http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-tech-could-help-solve-limas-water-crisis-180954936/Turns out Peru’s Wari people were excellent urban planners...and their 1,500-year-old 'amunas' could soon bring water to LimaFri, 10 Apr 2015 16:30:20 +0000Mountaineers Are Taking a New Route Up Everest http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mountaineers-are-taking-new-route-everest-180954935/They’ll forge their path sans sherpas or oxygen tanksFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:30:32 +0000Yes, Facebook is Making You Sadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/yes-facebook-making-you-sad-180954934/Stop comparing your life to flattering photos and carefully-crafted status updatesFri, 10 Apr 2015 15:00:06 +0000A Plan for a Robot Who Can Impersonate Your Mom http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/plan-robot-who-can-impersonate-your-mom-180954922/Google has a patent for artificial intelligence with a personality -- and that patent might not be a good ideaThu, 09 Apr 2015 15:50:37 +0000Meet Your New Favorite Fonthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-favorite-font-180954910/Haas Unica, Helvetica’s long-lost sibling, is back after 30 years in obscurity Wed, 08 Apr 2015 16:00:10 +0000Meet a Hermit Crab Who Has Shacked Up in a Legohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-hermit-crab-who-has-shacked-lego-180954902/Weird things can become home sweet home when you are a tiny soft crustaceanTue, 07 Apr 2015 17:15:20 +0000High Schoolers Might Code Rather Than Speak Frenchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/high-schoolers-have-chance-learn-code-instead-foreign-language-180954875/But proponents of foreign language schooling aren’t pleasedFri, 03 Apr 2015 19:15:47 +0000Most Plastic Trash Comes From Farmshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/most-plastic-trash-comes-farms-heres-what-were-trying-do-about-it-180954873/Here's what they're trying to do about itFri, 03 Apr 2015 18:00:46 +0000An Autonomous Car Just Completed a 3,400-Mile Road Triphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/autonomous-car-just-completed-3400-mile-road-trip-180954869/Delphi’s robo-car drove itself across 15 states in just nine daysFri, 03 Apr 2015 17:12:48 +0000Why the ESA’s Astronauts Train Underground http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-esas-astronauts-train-underground-180954835/The European Space Agency is applying protocols from the International Space Station in cavesThu, 02 Apr 2015 15:01:11 +00003D Printing Could Help Developing Countries Predict Natural Disastershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/3d-printing-could-help-developing-countries-predict-natural-disasters-180954830/The development of more affordable, 3D printed equipment could save livesThu, 02 Apr 2015 14:30:29 +0000This Onion Will Never Make You Cryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/no-more-tears-now-theres-gentler-onion-180954826/A Japanese food company has designed an onion that won't make you cryWed, 01 Apr 2015 19:31:47 +0000Found: The Bacteria That Are Making You Stinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-bacteria-s-making-you-stink-180954821/Scientists have finally discovered the culprit behind smelly armpitsWed, 01 Apr 2015 16:00:58 +0000This Nasty Medieval Remedy Kills MRSAhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasty-medieval-remedy-kills-mrsa-180954808/An ancient brew could lead to modern-day drugs to fight the superbugTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:45:20 +0000