Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenTue, 27 Sep 2016 10:00:00 +0000This Supermarket Sells Only Wasted Foodhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/supermarket-sells-only-wasted-food-180960590/It’s a yummy solution to a worldwide problemTue, 27 Sep 2016 10:00:00 +0000This Music Was Composed by Climate Changehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/music-was-composed-climate-change-180960560/Dying forests make magnificently melancholy listeningFri, 23 Sep 2016 17:43:55 +0000Fake Towns Could Help People With Alzheimer’s Live Happier Liveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fake-towns-could-help-people-alzheimers-live-happier-lives-180960518/Model towns meant to spark memories could help patients with dementiaWed, 21 Sep 2016 18:24:31 +0000Augmented Reality Art Imagines What Could Be Seattle’s Weird, Bleak Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/augmented-reality-art-imagines-what-could-beseattles-weird-bleak-future-180960403/Artist envisions mutant flowers and drone-like seaweed that may one day take over a post-climate change SeattleMon, 19 Sep 2016 15:24:37 +0000What Will the Memorials of the Future Look Like?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-will-memorials-future-look-180960401/From underwater trees to mechanical parrots, the memorials of tomorrow don’t look much like the ones that exist todayTue, 13 Sep 2016 16:28:58 +0000Explore Skulls and Artifacts From a 16th-Century Warshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/website-lets-anyone-study-skulls-and-artifacts-16th-century-warship-180960352/The <i>Mary Rose</i> was the pride of Henry VIII’s fleet before it sank at seaWed, 07 Sep 2016 16:10:22 +0000This Algorithm Lets You “Write” Like the Greatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-can-now-teach-computer-write-anyone-180960202/Your words, their handwritingFri, 26 Aug 2016 11:00:00 +0000This Robot Is Soft and Squishy Inside and Out—No Wires or Batteries Necessaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-robot-no-wires-or-batteries-180960250/"Octobot" uses a deceptively simple fuel source and inspiration from the depths of the seaThu, 25 Aug 2016 17:56:05 +0000Explore Some of America's Greatest National Parks in Virtual Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-some-americas-greatest-national-parks-virtual-reality-180960243/The next best thing to celebrating the Centennial in personThu, 25 Aug 2016 14:36:26 +0000Why This Rwandan City Bans Cars Once a Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-rwandan-city-bans-cars-once-month-180960150/Kigali’s #CarFreeDay is a first for AfricaFri, 19 Aug 2016 13:45:00 +0000Not So Fast: Here's Why That Chinese Elevated Bus May Not Be Quite What It Seemshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-the-chinese-elevated-bus-may-not-be-quite-what-it-seems-180960092/The TEB is the latest iteration of a concept that's been "floating" for decades, but it has some big problemsThu, 11 Aug 2016 14:17:07 +0000Scientists Uncover a “Hidden” Portrait by Edgar Degashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-uncover-hidden-portrait-edgar-degas-180960031/A powerful X-ray unveiled one of the painter’s rough draftsThu, 04 Aug 2016 20:31:47 +0000New Observation Tower Is World's Thinnesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-observation-tower-worlds-thinnest-180960028/Brighton's West Pier comes back to life...as a crazy vertical viewing towerThu, 04 Aug 2016 18:42:27 +0000The First Private Lunar Landing Was Just Approvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-private-lunar-landing-was-just-approved-180960007/Moon Express will head to Earth’s nearest neighbor in 2017Wed, 03 Aug 2016 18:33:02 +0000Chernobyl Might Get a Second Life as a Solar Power Planthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/chernobyl-might-get-second-life-solar-power-plant-180959964/From nuclear disaster to renewable energyFri, 29 Jul 2016 17:49:22 +0000