Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenWed, 16 Aug 2017 15:53:28 +0000Once Plundered by Thieves, Ancient Cave Reopens with 3-D Replicas of Stolen Fossilshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/once-plundered-thieves-ancient-cave-reopens-3-d-replicas-stolen-fossils-180964455/It took multiple attempts—and two broken printers—to get the recreations rightWed, 16 Aug 2017 15:53:28 +0000A Virtual Exhibit Unites Vincent van Gogh's Sunflowershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/virtual-exhibit-reuniting-van-goghs-sunflowers-180964479/The global collaboration features five of the six surviving canvasesFri, 11 Aug 2017 20:36:06 +0000This "Tissue" Paper Is Made From Real Tissuehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bioactive-paper-could-help-repair-injured-muscle-and-organs-180964445/Made from powdered organs, the flexible paper could be used as a sophisticated bandage during surgeryFri, 11 Aug 2017 10:00:00 +0000Tate Modern’s Modigliani Exhibition Ventures Into Virtual Realityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tate-moderns-modigliani-exhibition-ventures-virtual-reality-180964310/The upcoming retrospective couples works by the famed modernist with the museum's first VR experienceThu, 10 Aug 2017 17:26:02 +0000The Bizarre Story of 'Vasa,' the Ship That Keeps On Givinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bizarre-story-vasa-ship-keeps-giving-180964328/'Vasa' sunk in front of horrified onlookers on this day in 1628, claiming 30 livesThu, 10 Aug 2017 15:30:00 +0000Aspirin's Four-Thousand-Year Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brief-history-aspirin-180964329/It's 2000 B.C. and you have a headache. Grab the willow barkThu, 10 Aug 2017 14:00:00 +0000This Obscure Fishing Book is One of the Most Reprinted English Books Everhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/obscure-fishing-book-one-most-reprinted-english-books-ever-180964320/'The Compleat Angler' is much more than an instruction manual on fishing. It's a Walden-like meditation on nature and friendshipWed, 09 Aug 2017 14:00:00 +0000The CIA Experimented On Animals in the 1960s Too. Just Ask ‘Acoustic Kitty’http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cia-experimented-animals-1960s-too-just-ask-acoustic-kitty-180964313/Turns out that cats really don't take direction wellTue, 08 Aug 2017 14:00:00 +0000Is One A Number? According to ‘Mathematicks Made Easie,' Yeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-number-according-mathematicks-made-easie-yes-180964318/The ancient Greeks, and people for almost 2,000 years after them, argued over whether one was a numberTue, 08 Aug 2017 13:20:00 +0000The Cuddly Tail of Guide Dogshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/guide-dog-tail-180964302/Dogs have been assisting blind humans for a very long time, but the arrangement only became formal recentlyMon, 07 Aug 2017 13:10:00 +0000Telephones Were Silenced for One Minute After Alexander Graham Bell Diedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/telephones-were-silenced-one-minute-after-alexander-graham-bell-died-180964296/By the time Bell died, he had moved on to other inventions. But the telephone made a huge mark on American societyFri, 04 Aug 2017 14:30:00 +0000Can the ‘Textalyzer’ Stop New Yorkers From Texting and Driving?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/textalyzer-may-stop-new-yorkers-texting-and-driving-180964266/The device would allow police to check if phone usage could be to blame for a car crash, but critics have raised privacy concernsWed, 02 Aug 2017 18:30:06 +000019th-Century Londoners Walked Under the Thames in This Creepy Tunnelhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/londoners-walked-under-the-thames-180964251/The Tower Subway tunnel was only seven feet in diameterWed, 02 Aug 2017 13:00:00 +0000The World Wide Web Was Almost Known as “The Mesh” http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-wide-web-was-almost-known-mesh-180964242/The inventor of the World Wide Web had a few different name ideasTue, 01 Aug 2017 16:00:00 +0000Why Salmon Sperm DNA Could Revolutionize Sunscreenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-salmon-sperm-dna-could-revolutionize-sunscreen-180964265/A thin layer of the genetic material seems to effectively block the sun's rays and becomes more effective over timeTue, 01 Aug 2017 10:00:00 +0000What the First Three Patents Say About Early Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-its-first-three-patents-say-about-early-america-180964216/Gunpowder, fertilizer, soap, candles and flour were all important to AmericansMon, 31 Jul 2017 13:20:00 +0000Why Does NOAA Still Send Pilots Into Hurricanes?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-does-noaa-still-send-pilots-hurricanes-180964135/The first “Hurricane Hunter” flight was a bet, but today they’re an essential part of risk managementThu, 27 Jul 2017 14:30:20 +0000America Has Been Struggling With the Metric System For Almost 230 Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/america-has-been-struggling-metric-system-almost-230-years-180964147/The United States is the one of the world's only holdouts at this point, but it could have been the first country outside of France to adopt the systemThu, 27 Jul 2017 10:00:00 +0000Roomba Wants to Sell Maps of Your Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/our-smart-vacuums-could-sell-maps-our-homes-180964206/Data from these robovacs could assist in the development of other 'smart home' devicesWed, 26 Jul 2017 15:32:36 +0000Five Fascinating Facts About Carl Junghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-fascinating-facts-about-carl-jung-180964112/He thought he was two people (sort of) and more things you didn't know about the pioneering psychologistWed, 26 Jul 2017 14:00:00 +0000Meaty Secrets Behind the Record-Setting, 1,774-Pound Burgerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/were-gonna-need-bigger-bun-secrets-1774-pound-burger-180964197/The beefy behemoth was recently bestowed the title of world's largest commercially available burgerTue, 25 Jul 2017 19:08:11 +0000The First Self-Cleaning Home Was Essentially a 'Floor-to-Ceiling Dishwasher'http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-self-cleaning-home-was-essentially-floor-ceiling-dishwasher-180964115/Frances Gabe, who died late last year, channeled her frustration with housework into a futuristic design to end the drudgery of cleaningThu, 20 Jul 2017 15:53:11 +0000Debunking the Mechanical Turk Helped Set Edgar Allan Poe on the Path to Mystery Writinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/debunking-mechanical-turk-helped-set-edgar-allan-poe-path-mystery-writing-180964059/Like many others, Poe was certain the machine couldn't be playing chess under its own powerThu, 20 Jul 2017 10:00:00 +0000"Space Archaeologists" to Examine the International Space Stationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/space-archeologists-examine-international-space-station-180964092/Using millions of photos and documents, researchers will reconstruct life on the ISS to see how visitors interact with their tools and each otherTue, 18 Jul 2017 19:37:18 +0000Text an Emoji and the SFMOMA Will Respond with a Picture of Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/text-emoji-and-sfmoma-will-respond-picture-art-180964071/A new text messaging service lets users explore the museum’s vast collectionMon, 17 Jul 2017 15:17:21 +0000Ex-NASA Engineer Builds World's Largest Super Soakerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ex-nasa-engineer-builds-worlds-largest-super-soaker-180964056/More than a mere toy, this water gun can slice through glass and watermelonsFri, 14 Jul 2017 15:49:48 +0000How Hoop Skirts Led to Tape Measureshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-hoop-skirts-led-tape-measures-180963995/Eighteenth-century ladies would recognize some things about the modern contractor’s toolFri, 14 Jul 2017 14:00:00 +0000Buckminster Fuller Was Good at Ideas, Terrible at Car Designhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/buckminster-fuller-was-good-ideas-terrible-car-design-180963983/Fuller held more than 30 patents during his life, but many of his ideas didn't make it off the page–or not for longWed, 12 Jul 2017 16:00:00 +0000This Anti-Slavery Jewelry Shows the Social Concerns (and the Technology) of Its Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anti-slavery-jewelry-shows-social-concerns-and-technology-its-time-180963975/The 'Wedgwood Slave Medallion' was the first modern piece of protest jewelryWed, 12 Jul 2017 10:00:00 +0000Martin Luther King and Gandhi Weren’t the Only Ones Inspired By Thoreau’s ‘Civil Disobedience’http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/martin-luther-king-and-gandhi-werent-only-ones-inspired-thoreaus-civil-disobedience-180963972/Thoreau's essay became a cornerstone of 20th-century protestWed, 12 Jul 2017 10:00:00 +0000Surf Through Newly Digitized Images to See Rome’s Ever-Changing History http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/newly-digitized-images-document-romes-ever-changing-history-180963979/The Eternal City is always evolving. Now, a new web resource shows howFri, 07 Jul 2017 16:04:29 +0000High-Status Indigenous Family Brought Back to Life With Digital Reconstruction http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/indigenous-family-brought-back-life-digital-reconstruction-180963921/Some 3,700 years ago, the relatives were given elaborate burials along the coast of British ColumbiaWed, 05 Jul 2017 20:03:48 +0000Why Ancient Roman Concrete Is So Stronghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-ancient-roman-concrete-so-strong-180963946/A rare chemical reaction strengthens it even today—and that could help threatened coastal communitiesWed, 05 Jul 2017 16:59:22 +0000"Corpse Hotels" Are in Demand in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/corpse-hotels-are-demand-japan-180963924/Crematoria are too busy, so a new type of business stepped in to make the wait more comfortableWed, 05 Jul 2017 14:35:05 +0000AI Project Produces New Styles of Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ai-system-produces-new-styles-art-180963912/Researchers let two neural networks critique each other to create the imagesMon, 03 Jul 2017 19:30:03 +0000New Badges Will Make Today's Girl Scouts Tomorrow's Cybersleuthshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-badges-todays-girl-scouts-tomorrow-cybersleuths-180963804/Camping and cookie sales are just the tip of the iceberg for modern scoutsFri, 23 Jun 2017 12:00:00 +0000Celebrate the Eclipse With a Color-Shifting Stamp http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/celebrate-eclipse-color-shifting-stamp-180963787/Your next letter just got more celestial Wed, 21 Jun 2017 19:57:26 +0000Take a Peep at This Gallery of Historic Selfieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-peep-gallery-historic-selfies-180963726/People have been photographing themselves almost since the dawn of the technologyWed, 21 Jun 2017 13:40:41 +0000Renewables Generated Ten Percent of U.S. Energy In Marchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renewables-generated-10-us-energy-march-180963735/Longer days, stronger wind and reduced electricity demand helped green energy break double digits for the first timeMon, 19 Jun 2017 17:43:42 +0000