Smart News Ideas & Innovations | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-ideas-innovations/RSS feed for Smart News Ideas & InnovationsenFri, 05 Feb 2016 18:30:00 +0000This Biotech Company Is Growing Meatballs in a Labhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/biotech-company-growing-meatballs-lab-180958051/In just a few years, lab-grown meat might make it to the marketFri, 05 Feb 2016 18:30:00 +0000Which States Have the Fastest Talkers?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researchers-figured-out-which-states-talk-fastest-and-which-slowest-180958033/Next time you hear, "this call may be recorded," an analytics firm could be analyzing every wordFri, 05 Feb 2016 17:33:50 +0000What It Feels Like to Don a Skintight Virtual Reality Suit http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-it-feels-don-skintight-virtual-reality-suit-180957988/Though it sounds a little weird, it might be the future of virtual realityThu, 04 Feb 2016 13:00:00 +0000France Is Paving More Than 600 Miles of Road With Solar Panelshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/france-paving-more-600-miles-road-solar-panels-180958035/In five years, France hopes the panels will supply power to 5 million peopleThu, 04 Feb 2016 12:00:00 +0000This Water Bottle Refills Itself From Moisture in the Airhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/water-bottle-refills-itself-from-moisture-air-180957986/The Fontus is a gadget for adventurers and potentially a way to help people living regions where water is scarceWed, 03 Feb 2016 20:33:52 +0000Adventure Through the Water Cycle With NASA's New Comic Bookhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/adventure-through-water-cycle-nasas-new-comic-book-180958027/The comic brings whimsy and fun into the story of the Global Precipitation Measurement satellite missionWed, 03 Feb 2016 19:18:05 +0000These Stunning Fractals Are Made of Snowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-stunning-fractals-are-made-snow-180958012/Snow artist Simon Beck uses his own two snowshoe-clad feet to create these masterpiecesTue, 02 Feb 2016 18:15:00 +0000GoPro-Armed Vultures Capture Lima’s Trash Problemshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gopro-armed-vultures-capture-limas-trash-problems-180957987/By sniffing out illegal dumps, the watchful buzzards will hopefully inspire action to clean up the city's streetsMon, 01 Feb 2016 16:09:09 +0000Step Inside a Dalí Painting at This Virtual Reality Exhibithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/step-inside-dali-painting-virtual-reality-exhibit-180957967/Surrealism meets real life in an exploration of a Dalí masterworkThu, 28 Jan 2016 20:03:18 +0000British People Are Building Highways for Hedgehogs Through Their Yardshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/british-people-are-building-highways-hedgehogs-through-their-yards-180957956/Hedgehog populations in England have declined since the 1970s due urban and suburban developmentThu, 28 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000These Levitating Bonsai Will Brighten Your Home With Sciencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-levitating-bonsai-brighten-your-home-science-180957930/A workshop in Japan created tiny Bonsai plants that float with the help of magnetsTue, 26 Jan 2016 16:49:13 +0000New Way to Wean Calves Leaves Them Happier and Healthierhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-way-wean-calves-leaves-them-happier-healthier-180957919/Lowering stress on the animals may also have economic benefitsMon, 25 Jan 2016 19:17:56 +0000Describe Your Coffee With Sciencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/describe-your-coffee-with-science-180957915/There's an art—and a lot of science—to a consistent cup of coffeeMon, 25 Jan 2016 14:00:00 +0000How a Hidden Figure Emerged From One of Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-hidden-figure-emerged-from-one-of-leonardo-da-vincis-notebooks-180957867/Modern imaging reveals the approximately 500-year-old sketchTue, 19 Jan 2016 17:00:00 +0000Sunday's SpaceX Landing Didn't Exactly Go as Plannedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sundays-spacex-landing-didnt-exactly-go-planned-180957858/Jason-3 made it to orbit—but the company's Falcon 9 rocket didn't make it back to Earth in one pieceMon, 18 Jan 2016 16:59:45 +0000Vietnam Turns to DNA to Identify the Remains of Those Lost in the Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vietnam-turns-dna-identify-remains-those-lost-war-180957813/Technological advances in DNA analysis will make this massive effort possibleMon, 18 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000Move Over Hackers, Squirrels Are the Power Grid's Greatest Foehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/move-over-hackers-squirrels-power-grid-greatest-foe-180957834/Cyberattacks may loom large in peoples' minds, but these fluffy rodents are the ones actually taking down the gridMon, 18 Jan 2016 12:00:00 +0000Virtually Climb Mount Everest From Your Living Roomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-virtually-climb-mount-everest-your-living-room-180957832/A new virtual reality experience allows users delve into the world of Everest and scale the beast firsthandFri, 15 Jan 2016 14:00:00 +0000Incandescent Light Bulbs May Have a Bright Future After Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/incandescent-lightbulbs-may-have-bright-future-after-all-180957800/Nanotechnology could turn the inefficient bulbs’ weakness into a strengthTue, 12 Jan 2016 19:51:18 +0000Watch 100 Drones Dance Their Way to a World Recordhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-drones-dance-their-way-world-record-180957791/The swarm recently took to the skies to Beethoven's Fifth SymphonyTue, 12 Jan 2016 17:15:00 +0000Pennsylvania Libraries Will Let You Check Out a Ukulelehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pennsylvania-libraries-will-let-you-check-out-ukulele-180957772/Read, strum, repeatTue, 12 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000Grab Your Fork and Travel Back in Time With These Old USDA Dietary Guidelineshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/travel-back-time-these-old-usda-dietary-guidelines-180957741/Wheels, pyramids and plates—dietary recommendations have come a long way in the last centuryThu, 07 Jan 2016 17:56:03 +0000Scientists Trained Monitor Lizards Not to Chow Down on Poisonous Toadshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-trained-monitor-lizards-not-chow-down-poisonous-toads-180957730/And they did it by feeding them smaller and less-poisonous toadsThu, 07 Jan 2016 13:00:00 +0000Copenhagen Has a Cemetery for Homeless Peoplehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/copenhagen-has-cemetery-homeless-people-180957669/But proper burials for indigent individuals remain few and far betweenWed, 30 Dec 2015 17:04:43 +0000What Should People Do With Food Waste? Make Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-should-people-do-food-waste-make-beer-180957663/Craft beers are getting creativeWed, 30 Dec 2015 16:15:00 +0000Through This New Crowdfunding Site, a Lucky Few Can Make a Living Just by ... Livinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/Through-This-New-Crowdfunding-Site-A-Lucky-Few-Can-Make-a-Living-Just-By-Living-180957649/Participants make around $1,100 a month—just for being aliveMon, 28 Dec 2015 18:13:14 +0000France Has a Power Plant Fueled by Cheesehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/france-has-power-plant-fueled-cheese-180957642/Of course they doThu, 24 Dec 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Pen Can Draw Electrical Circuitshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pen-can-draw-electrical-circuits-180957641/A silver salt based ink lets users draw any circuit they can dreamThu, 24 Dec 2015 16:16:37 +0000Here's Why NASA Had to Postpone a 2016 Mission to Marshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-nasa-postponed-2016-mission-mars-insight-180957631/A leak in a key instrument on board the InSight lander means the team will have to wait for the next launch window in 2018Wed, 23 Dec 2015 17:00:00 +0000Oysters Could Save Staten Island From the Next Hurricane Sandyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/oysters-could-save-staten-island-next-hurricane-sandy-180957626/A living breakwater could prevent future flooding while cleaning polluted watersWed, 23 Dec 2015 16:36:39 +0000This Hearing Test Can Be Taken Over the Phonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hearing-test-can-be-taken-over-phone-180957624/Though it doesn't replace a visit to a doctor, researchers hope it will persuade more people to seek helpWed, 23 Dec 2015 13:30:00 +0000Sensors Designed for Prosthetic Hands Could Lead to New Textile Standardshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sensors-designed-prosthetic-hands-could-lead-new-textile-standards-180957607/Haptic sensors might help figure out if thread count really mattersWed, 23 Dec 2015 13:00:00 +0000Utah Will Soon Have an Imaginary Theme Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/utah-will-soon-have-imaginary-theme-park-180957563/In 2016, virtual reality fanatics will step into a VR "VOID" Wed, 16 Dec 2015 20:00:57 +0000Rainbow Collars Could Help Keep Cats From Wiping Out Birdshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/rainbow-collars-could-help-keep-cats-wiping-out-birds-180957559/This colorful trick may stop Fluffy from murdering local songbirdsWed, 16 Dec 2015 17:07:48 +0000Four Things to Know About the Paris Climate Dealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-things-know-about-paris-climate-deal-180957547/The strengths and limitations of the roadmap for fighting climate changeTue, 15 Dec 2015 18:30:00 +0000These Old-School Internet Browsers Are Like Real-Life Time Machineshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/old-school-internet-browsers-180957548/A new tool lets you experience the glory—and embarrassment—of the internet of yoreTue, 15 Dec 2015 17:30:23 +0000How Much Space Do Astronauts Need?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-much-space-do-astronauts-need-180957543/The answer could help design spacecraft for one day taking people on the months-long trip to MarsTue, 15 Dec 2015 16:00:00 +0000The Many Roads That Lead to Rome, Visualizedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-roads-lead-rome-visualized-180957542/Caveat: not all cities named Rome are in ItalyMon, 14 Dec 2015 20:00:41 +0000Jakarta Is Building a Gigantic Bird-Shaped Seawallhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jakarta-building-gigantic-bird-shaped-seawall-180957536/But will the Great Garuda project be enough to save a sinking city? Mon, 14 Dec 2015 16:36:00 +0000