Smart News History & Archaeology | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-history-archaeology/RSS feed for Smart News History & ArchaeologyenFri, 03 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000More than 1,200 Miles of China’s Great Wall Have Been Destroyedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/erosion-and-human-damage-have-destroyed-more-1200-miles-chinas-great-wall-180955810/Only a small fraction of the remaining wall is in good conditionFri, 03 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000Summer Jobs May Be a Thing of the Past http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/summer-jobs-may-be-thing-past-180955711/Fewer than one third of American teens snag summer employmentFri, 26 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Have Something Rude to Say? Put it on This 2300-Year Old Statue in Romehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/have-something-rude-say-put-it-2300-year-old-statute-rome-180955704/A cardinal started the tradition of decorating this statue with snarky poems and insultsThu, 25 Jun 2015 18:20:00 +0000This Mockumentary Explains the Appeal of Skateboarding to Scared Parents http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mockumentary-explains-appeal-skateboarding-sixties-squares-180955702/“The Devil’s Toy” looks “an epidemic from which no one was secure”: having fun on skateboardsThu, 25 Jun 2015 18:08:44 +0000Did an Auction of Hitler’s Art Go Too Far? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-auction-hitlers-art-go-too-far-180955691/A collection of Hitler’s paintings just sold for $450,000Thu, 25 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000People Used to Wear Dunce Caps to Showerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/people-used-wear-dunce-caps-shower-180955694/“Extinguisher caps” were nineteenth-century shower caps Thu, 25 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000The Murky Tale of John Smith and the Mermaid http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/no-john-smith-did-not-see-mermaid-1614-180955692/Alexander Dumas probably just made it up Thu, 25 Jun 2015 12:30:00 +0000These Are the Most Threatened Historical Places in Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-most-threatened-historical-places-america-180955689/The Grand Canyon, The Factory and the A.G. Gaston Motel are just a few of the 11 names on the listWed, 24 Jun 2015 16:58:54 +0000In Egypt, There Was Once a Tomb Full of Eight Million Dog Mummies http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-8-million-dog-mummies-180955679/Devotees of the Ancient Egyptian deity Anubis buried dogs at the necropolis of SaqqaraWed, 24 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Some 19th-Century Physicians Thought Music Could Infect the Brainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/19th-century-physicians-thought-music-was-disease-180955662/When it comes to music in the brain, medicine has come a long wayMon, 22 Jun 2015 14:45:00 +0000Juneteenth Didn’t Stop the Enslavement of Black People in Houston http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/juneteenth-didnt-stop-enslavement-blacks-houston-180955646/The delayed enforcement of Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation still didn’t bring freedom to many black TexansFri, 19 Jun 2015 18:00:00 +0000Napoleon Had a Thing for Rotisserie Chicken http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/napoleon-had-thing-rotisserie-chicken-180955649/The military powerhouse ate chicken dinners 24/7 — even as his army starvedFri, 19 Jun 2015 17:30:00 +0000Andrew Jackson Wasn't Always on the $20 Billhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/andrew-jackson-used-be-10-bill-180955633/The controversial president's face has only been on $20 bills since 1928Thu, 18 Jun 2015 17:30:00 +0000Michigan Owns 1,500 Shipwrecks http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/michigan-owns-1500-shipwrecks-180955620/Divers, historians and state officials team up to preserve the state’s underwater heritageThu, 18 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000Los Alamos’s “Atomic Secretary” Was Never Told What the Manhattan Project Was Forhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/los-alamos-atomic-secretary-was-never-told-what-manhattan-project-was-180955606/Dorothy McKibbin coordinated entry of all people and property to the Los Alamos siteTue, 16 Jun 2015 14:33:57 +0000Destroyed Buddha Statues Are Coming Back to Life in Afghanistan as Beautiful 3D Projectionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/destroyed-statues-are-coming-back-life-afghanistan-180955601/3D light projections recreate a pair of statues destroyed by the Taliban Tue, 16 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Half of All Languages Come From This One Root Tongue. Here’s How it Conquered the Earth.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-how-indo-european-languages-conquered-earth-180955578/Today, three billion people speak Indo-European langaugesTue, 16 Jun 2015 12:15:40 +0000How Much Water Did Rome’s Aqueducts Really Carry? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-much-water-did-romes-aqueducts-really-carry-180955568/Not as much as previously thought Thu, 11 Jun 2015 16:49:50 +0000Here's How Claw Machines Are Rigged to Make Sure You Losehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/claw-machines-have-long-been-designed-steal-your-money-180955565/That's why simply grabbing a prize is so deceptively difficultThu, 11 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000A Playmobil Figure of Martin Luther Has Become the Fastest-Selling of All Time http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/fastest-selling-playmobil-figure-all-time-coming-america-and-its-not-what-you-might-think-180955560/The first edition of 34,000 figurines sold out in 72 hoursThu, 11 Jun 2015 14:30:00 +0000This Film Shows a Glimpse of Amelia Earhart Before Her Final Flight http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/film-shows-glimpse-amelia-earhart-her-final-flight-180955557/After 70 years in storage, the footage shows the pilot posing for press photographsWed, 10 Jun 2015 14:55:08 +0000Houghton Mifflin Once Sued Another Publisher on Behalf of Hitler and Mein Kampfhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/houghton-mifflin-once-sued-another-publisher-behalf-hitler-and-mein-kampf-180955539/Rival versions of the book once vied for American readersTue, 09 Jun 2015 18:58:44 +0000How George Washington Did His Hairhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-george-washington-did-his-hair-180955547/Despite the powder and curls it wasn't a wig at allTue, 09 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000100-Year-Old Chalkboards, With Drawings Still Intact, Discovered in Oklahoma School http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/100-year-old-chalkboards-drawings-still-intact-discovered-oklahoma-school-180955532/The find includes lessons on pilgrims, math and musicTue, 09 Jun 2015 14:30:00 +0000Auction House is Selling Decades-Old Slices of Royal Wedding Cakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sale-decades-old-slices-cake-180955527/Boxed slices of wedding cakes from British royals are not-so-edible pieces of history Tue, 09 Jun 2015 13:30:00 +0000Amateur Women's Baseball Teams Existed as Early as 1866http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-giants-once-had-girls-team-180955519/They typically challenged local a men’s teams to playTue, 09 Jun 2015 12:42:22 +0000The Civil War’s Division of North and South is Reflected in Cookbookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/civil-wars-division-north-and-south-apparent-cookbooks-180955492/Naval blockades kept the South starving for salt and other foods, a fact reflected in the recipes of the timeThu, 04 Jun 2015 17:30:00 +0000In 1938, the NY Times Wrote About a Weird New Food: The Cheeseburgerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1938-ny-times-wrote-about-weird-new-food-cheeseburger-180955493/Apparently, cheese on meat needed some explanationThu, 04 Jun 2015 17:00:00 +0000These Two Female Assassins Independently Tried to Kill Gerald Fordhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-two-female-assassins-independently-tried-kill-gerald-for-180955489/The only two women to attempt to kill a president did so within 17 days of one anotherWed, 03 Jun 2015 17:00:00 +0000Museums Issue Most-Threatened List of Iraqi Treasureshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museums-issue-most-threatened-list-iraqi-treasures-180955488/Seven types of cultural objects are under threat from the Islamic State and instability in IraqWed, 03 Jun 2015 16:02:31 +0000Tools Weren’t Invented in Europe, They Were Carried There 50,000 Years Agohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tools-werent-invented-europe-they-were-carried-there-50000-years-ago-180955485/Analysis of shells and human bones from a site in Lebanon suggests modern tools were in useWed, 03 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000This is What the First Home Pregnancy Test Looked Like http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-first-home-pregnancy-test-looked-180955478/"Predictor" gave results in just two hours Tue, 02 Jun 2015 14:34:38 +0000A 19th Century Shipwreck Might Be Why This Famous Female Naturalist Faded to Obscurityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/19th-century-shipwreck-might-be-why-famous-female-naturalists-name-faded-obscurity-180955468/Jeanne Villepreux-Power invented the aquarium and studied cephalopods, but today few recognize her nameTue, 02 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Here Are Some of the Weird Ways You Could Die in Tudor Englandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-some-weird-ways-you-could-die-tudor-england-180955433/Pole vaulting and bacon are among the odd causes of death discovered by historians Fri, 29 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000Archivists Uncover an Unfinished Memoir By Orson Welleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archivists-uncover-unfinished-memoir-orson-welles-180955437/Fragments of “Confessions of a One-Man Band” discovered in a newly-acquired trove of documents Fri, 29 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Scientists Just Mummified a Human Leg to Test Ancient Egyptian Techniqueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-mummify-human-leg-test-ancient-egyptian-techniques-180955439/It took 208 days for Swiss scientists to mummify a fresh leg using natronThu, 28 May 2015 17:10:23 +0000What Was Life Like for a Girl in the Bronze Age?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-was-life-girl-bronze-age-180955406/Analysis of a 3,400-year-old burial traces the life story of a Bronze Age femaleWed, 27 May 2015 17:13:09 +0000Take a Drone Tour of Ancient Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-drone-tour-ancient-history-180955413/Drones offer a soaring perspective of ancient sitesWed, 27 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Pac-Man Turns 35 This Monthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pac-man-turns-35-month-180955401/The now-iconic game was originally released by Namco in 1980Wed, 27 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000As Glaciers Retreat, They Give up the Bodies and Artifacts They Swallowedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/glaciers-retreat-they-give-mummies-and-artifacts-they-swallowed-180955399/Around the world global warming is exposing bodies lost in glaciersWed, 27 May 2015 13:30:00 +0000Ancient Carnivores Had a Taste for Neanderthal Meathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-carnivores-had-taste-neanderthal-180955390/Researchers link bite marks on a Neanderthal skull to the fangs of an ancient big catTue, 26 May 2015 15:14:34 +0000Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Once Helped Clear an Innocent Man of Murderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sir-arthur-conan-doyle-investigates-180955379/On his birthday, revist the mystery author's most famous caseFri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Cyber-archeology May be the Way to Remember Artifacts Destroyed by Militantshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cyber-archeology-may-be-way-preserve-artifacts-destroyed-militants-180955384/Digitally saving 3D models is the only way to offset some lost cultural artifacts Fri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Humans May Have Domesticated Dogs Tens of Thousands of Years Earlier Than Thoughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/humans-may-have-domesticated-dogs-24000-years-earlier-thought-180955374/Genetic analysis from an ancient wolf show just how complicated dog evolution wasFri, 22 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Vikings Didn't Just Raid, They Traded Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-vikings-tried-trade-then-resorted-pillaging-180955377/Reindeer artifacts found at Medieval market sites suggest the famed raiders tried the merchant thing firstFri, 22 May 2015 07:00:00 +0000Jerusalem is Running Out of Room for the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jerusalem-running-out-room-dead-180955358/A new project looks to save space by building modern catacombsWed, 20 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000This 1,500-Year-Old Skeleton May Belong to the Man That Brought Leprosy to Britainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1500-year-old-skeleton-may-be-man-brought-leprosy-britain-180955312/Modern techniques show that the young man was in his 20s and likely ScandinavianMon, 18 May 2015 15:59:25 +0000Mysterious Shipwreck Reveals how the Spanish Built Their Boatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mysterious-spanish-shipwreck-reveals-how-they-built-their-boats-180955310/Search for Captain Morgan’s fleet turns up treasure trove of Spanish cargoMon, 18 May 2015 05:00:00 +0000Science on a Shoestring: How Cuba’s Researchers Survived the Embargohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/science-shoestring-how-cubas-researchers-survived-embargo-180955273/Will normalized U.S.-Cuban relations make science easier in the once-isolated country? Sat, 16 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000How Do You Figure out Where the Very Center of the United States Is?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-centers-united-states-180955253/Three different places have laid claim to the title since 1901.Thu, 14 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000A Third of Animal Mummies Contain no Animals at Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-animal-mummies-are-just-bundles-rags-180955247/Researchers discover ancient Egyptians peddled fake animal mummies.Wed, 13 May 2015 17:45:38 +0000Scientists Investigate a Medieval Mass Grave Under a French Supermarkethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-investigate-medieval-mass-grave-under-french-supermarket-180955248/Renovation work uncovered hundreds of individuals, perhaps all killed by disease at the same timeWed, 13 May 2015 17:40:24 +0000Happy Birthday to Inge Lehmann, the Woman Who Discovered Earth's Inner Corehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/happy-birthday-inge-lehmann-180955246/Pioneering geologist used earthquakes to unravel the mystory of the Earth’s coreWed, 13 May 2015 16:39:06 +0000This Company is Turning Holocaust Survivor Interviews into Hologramshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/future-holographic-holocaust-survivors-may-bear-witness-180955244/Researchers are using new technology to keep Holocaust testimonies aliveWed, 13 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000The White House is Mostly a Reconstruction of the Originalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/white-house-mostly-reconstruction-original-180955229/The mansion may have been built over 200 years ago, but its skeleton was redone in the early 1950sTue, 12 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Archivists Are Uncovering Lost Mark Twain Stories http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archivists-uncover-stash-lost-mark-twain-stories-180955225/Digital archives reveal Samuel Clemens, struggling journalistMon, 11 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000‘Captain Kidd’s Treasure’ Has Finally Been Discoveredhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/captain-kidds-treasure-has-been-discovered-deep-180955214/Archaeologist hope their discovery of a 121-pound bar of silver is just the beginningFri, 08 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000The Last Wooly Mammoths Died Isolated and Alonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/last-wooly-mammoths-died-isolated-and-alone-180955208/Genome sequencing shows severe inbreeding contributed to the mammoths’ extinction.Fri, 08 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000Seventy Years Ago Today, Queen Elizabeth Secretly Partied with Commoners http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/70-years-ago-future-queen-did-conga-commoners-celebrate-v-e-day-180955212/Before she became Elizabeth II, the then-princess slipped into London's streets incognito to celebrate Europe's victory over GermanyFri, 08 May 2015 14:36:39 +0000Here’s How to Fight Wearing 15th Century Armorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-fight-wearing-15th-century-armor-180955204/ Experts demonstrate some moves in a video while wearing full suits of plate armorFri, 08 May 2015 14:25:16 +0000John Quincy Adams Once Approved an Expedition to the Center of the Earthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/john-quincy-adams-said-yes-expedition-center-earth-180955203/He believed a man who said the Earth was hollowThu, 07 May 2015 18:34:35 +0000Ancient Pit Home Unearthed in a Salt Lake City Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-pit-home-unearthed-salt-lake-city-suburb-180955198/Spear points and other artifacts found in the 1,500-year-old homeThu, 07 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Was the Loch Ness Monster Inspired by Earthquakes?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/was-loch-ness-monster-inspired-earthquakes-180955195/Just one of many monsters that might have geological origins.Thu, 07 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000Probiotics Exist Thanks to a Man Who Drank Cholerahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/thank-man-who-drank-cholera-your-yogurt-180955197/One man’s obsession with the immune system led to today’s probiotic fadThu, 07 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Listen to the Newly Reconstructed, Very Creepy Voices of Thomas Edison’s Dolls http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonianmag/new-tech-brings-life-voice-thomas-edisons-dolls-180955186/A lab figured out how to hear the rare talking dolls without damaging the original recordingsWed, 06 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000Why People Call Apartments 'Pads'http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-do-we-call-apartments-pads-180955185/The slang term has a sordid pastWed, 06 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000