Smart News History & Archaeology | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-history-archaeology/RSS feed for Smart News History & ArchaeologyenFri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Once Helped Clear an Innocent Man of Murderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sir-arthur-conan-doyle-investigates-180955379/On his birthday, revist the mystery author's most famous caseFri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Cyber-archeology May be the Way to Remember Artifacts Destroyed by Militantshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cyber-archeology-may-be-way-preserve-artifacts-destroyed-militants-180955384/Digitally saving 3D models is the only way to offset some lost cultural artifacts Fri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Humans May Have Domesticated Dogs Tens of Thousands of Years Earlier Than Thoughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/humans-may-have-domesticated-dogs-24000-years-earlier-thought-180955374/Genetic analysis from an ancient wolf show just how complicated dog evolution wasFri, 22 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000Vikings Didn't Just Raid, They Traded Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-vikings-tried-trade-then-resorted-pillaging-180955377/Reindeer artifacts found at Medieval market sites suggest the famed raiders tried the merchant thing firstFri, 22 May 2015 07:00:00 +0000Jerusalem is Running Out of Room for the Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jerusalem-running-out-room-dead-180955358/A new project looks to save space by building modern catacombsWed, 20 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000This 1,500-Year-Old Skeleton May Belong to the Man That Brought Leprosy to Britainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1500-year-old-skeleton-may-be-man-brought-leprosy-britain-180955312/Modern techniques show that the young man was in his 20s and likely ScandinavianMon, 18 May 2015 15:59:25 +0000Mysterious Shipwreck Reveals how the Spanish Built Their Boatshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mysterious-spanish-shipwreck-reveals-how-they-built-their-boats-180955310/Search for Captain Morgan’s fleet turns up treasure trove of Spanish cargoMon, 18 May 2015 05:00:00 +0000Science on a Shoestring: How Cuba’s Researchers Survived the Embargohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/science-shoestring-how-cubas-researchers-survived-embargo-180955273/Will normalized U.S.-Cuban relations make science easier in the once-isolated country? Sat, 16 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000How Do You Figure out Where the Very Center of the United States Is?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-centers-united-states-180955253/Three different places have laid claim to the title since 1901.Thu, 14 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000A Third of Animal Mummies Contain no Animals at Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-animal-mummies-are-just-bundles-rags-180955247/Researchers discover ancient Egyptians peddled fake animal mummies.Wed, 13 May 2015 17:45:38 +0000Scientists Investigate a Medieval Mass Grave Under a French Supermarkethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-investigate-medieval-mass-grave-under-french-supermarket-180955248/Renovation work uncovered hundreds of individuals, perhaps all killed by disease at the same timeWed, 13 May 2015 17:40:24 +0000Happy Birthday to Inge Lehmann, the Woman Who Discovered Earth's Inner Corehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/happy-birthday-inge-lehmann-180955246/Pioneering geologist used earthquakes to unravel the mystory of the Earth’s coreWed, 13 May 2015 16:39:06 +0000This Company is Turning Holocaust Survivor Interviews into Hologramshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/future-holographic-holocaust-survivors-may-bear-witness-180955244/Researchers are using new technology to keep Holocaust testimonies aliveWed, 13 May 2015 14:30:00 +0000The White House is Mostly a Reconstruction of the Originalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/white-house-mostly-reconstruction-original-180955229/The mansion may have been built over 200 years ago, but its skeleton was redone in the early 1950sTue, 12 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Archivists Are Uncovering Lost Mark Twain Stories http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archivists-uncover-stash-lost-mark-twain-stories-180955225/Digital archives reveal Samuel Clemens, struggling journalistMon, 11 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000‘Captain Kidd’s Treasure’ Has Finally Been Discoveredhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/captain-kidds-treasure-has-been-discovered-deep-180955214/Archaeologist hope their discovery of a 121-pound bar of silver is just the beginningFri, 08 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000The Last Wooly Mammoths Died Isolated and Alonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/last-wooly-mammoths-died-isolated-and-alone-180955208/Genome sequencing shows severe inbreeding contributed to the mammoths’ extinction.Fri, 08 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000Seventy Years Ago Today, Queen Elizabeth Secretly Partied with Commoners http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/70-years-ago-future-queen-did-conga-commoners-celebrate-v-e-day-180955212/Before she became Elizabeth II, the then-princess slipped into London's streets incognito to celebrate Europe's victory over GermanyFri, 08 May 2015 14:36:39 +0000Here’s How to Fight Wearing 15th Century Armorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-how-fight-wearing-15th-century-armor-180955204/ Experts demonstrate some moves in a video while wearing full suits of plate armorFri, 08 May 2015 14:25:16 +0000John Quincy Adams Once Approved an Expedition to the Center of the Earthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/john-quincy-adams-said-yes-expedition-center-earth-180955203/He believed a man who said the Earth was hollowThu, 07 May 2015 18:34:35 +0000Ancient Pit Home Unearthed in a Salt Lake City Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-pit-home-unearthed-salt-lake-city-suburb-180955198/Spear points and other artifacts found in the 1,500-year-old homeThu, 07 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Was the Loch Ness Monster Inspired by Earthquakes?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/was-loch-ness-monster-inspired-earthquakes-180955195/Just one of many monsters that might have geological origins.Thu, 07 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000Probiotics Exist Thanks to a Man Who Drank Cholerahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/thank-man-who-drank-cholera-your-yogurt-180955197/One man’s obsession with the immune system led to today’s probiotic fadThu, 07 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Listen to the Newly Reconstructed, Very Creepy Voices of Thomas Edison’s Dolls http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonianmag/new-tech-brings-life-voice-thomas-edisons-dolls-180955186/A lab figured out how to hear the rare talking dolls without damaging the original recordingsWed, 06 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000Why People Call Apartments 'Pads'http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-do-we-call-apartments-pads-180955185/The slang term has a sordid pastWed, 06 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000Two French Towns Are Battling Over a Saint’s Remainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/two-french-towns-are-battling-over-saints-remains-180955174/Should Saint Bernadette be laid to rest in the town she made famous…or the one she chose to live in?Tue, 05 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000The Silk Road Never Really Existedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/silk-road-didnt-really-exist-180955172/China is attempting to turn away from its isolated past with an immense new infrastructure projectTue, 05 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000How to Become a Fossil in Five Easy Steps http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-easy-steps-becoming-fossil-180955167/Tricks to preserving your bones for future archaeologistsTue, 05 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000Germany Just Opened a Nazi Museum in the Party's Former Headquarters http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germany-just-opened-nazi-museum-180955154/70 years later, Munich's mayor says the city is ready to "face up to its Nazi past" Fri, 01 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000Meet the Group of Scientists That Keeps Lenin’s 90-Year-Old Corpse Freshhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/group-scientists-keeps-lenins-90-year-old-corpse-fresh-180955151/90 years later, Vladimir Lenin’s body is still maintained by a Russian labFri, 01 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Paper Airplanes Flew Decades Before Real Ones Didhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paper-airplanes-flew-decades-real-ones-did-180955129/Kids have been folding paper so it flies since at least the mid-19th centuryThu, 30 Apr 2015 12:30:00 +0000How "Operation Mummy’s Curse" is Helping Fight Terrorismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/federal-agents-are-fighting-terrorism-tracking-down-missing-mummies-180955113/Selling illicit relics is the third most profitable wing of the black market, after drugs and weaponsTue, 28 Apr 2015 12:00:00 +0000Lake Michigan is So Clear Right Now its Shipwrecks Are Visible From the Airhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sunken-ships-lake-michigan-are-visible-ghostly-blue-180955108/A Coast Guard patrol spotted the wrecks in shallow waters that are only clear after the lake's ice melts and before summer sediment swirls and algae bloomsMon, 27 Apr 2015 17:42:29 +0000Nepal Struggles With the Loss of Lives, Cultural Treasures After Earthquakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nepal-struggles-loss-cultural-treasures-after-earthquake-180955105/Historic sites were damaged and destroyed in the 7.8 quakeMon, 27 Apr 2015 14:40:50 +0000How Settlers Wiped Out the Caribbean’s Rodents of Unusual Sizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/europeans-wiped-out-caribbeans-cat-sized-rats-180955096/The eradication of rice rats in the Lesser Antilles was part of a massive mammal extinction eventFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:52:48 +0000How a Piano Dropped from a Helicopter Paved the Way For Woodstock http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/day-piano-fell-sky-180955093/The Piano Drop set the stage for the outdoor rock festival Fri, 24 Apr 2015 16:46:44 +0000Recently Translated Papyrus Details 1,900-Year-Old Hangover Curehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-papyrus-details-hangover-cure-180955085/Those disappointed by the effectiveness of this 1,900-year old remedy can instead peruse the eye surgery techniques in other ancient textsThu, 23 Apr 2015 15:26:11 +0000The Pony Express Was Short-Lived And Costlyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pony-express-was-short-lived-and-costly-180954986/The service only lasted 18 months, but became an important icon of the WestTue, 14 Apr 2015 16:55:51 +0000New York City Ran a Slave Market http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ran-slave-market-180954982/New marker will acknowledge the bustling slave trade that helped build New YorkTue, 14 Apr 2015 14:15:45 +0000Tour the Theater Where Lincoln Was Assassinated on Google Street Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-theater-where-lincoln-was-assassinated-google-street-view-180954979/150 years later, a new view of Ford’s TheatreTue, 14 Apr 2015 12:00:00 +0000How Rum Helped the U.S. Win Its Independence http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-rum-helped-us-win-its-independence-180954975/Rum may was a key player in America's revolutionary daysMon, 13 Apr 2015 17:38:46 +0000Ancient Tech Could Help Solve Lima’s Water Crisis http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-tech-could-help-solve-limas-water-crisis-180954936/Turns out Peru’s Wari people were excellent urban planners...and their 1,500-year-old 'amunas' could soon bring water to LimaFri, 10 Apr 2015 16:30:20 +0000Northern Europeans Were Not So Sold on Farminghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/northern-europeans-were-not-so-sold-farming-180954925/A new study of ancient beads shows “an enduring cultural boundary” between northern and southern Europe during the Neolithic AgeThu, 09 Apr 2015 16:30:33 +0000This Little Kid Discovered a Dinosaur http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/little-kid-discovered-dinosaur-180954923/A rare nodosaur has been found in Texas...by a little boyThu, 09 Apr 2015 14:45:08 +0000How Did an Ottoman War Camel End Up in an Austrian Basement?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-did-ottoman-war-camel-end-austrian-basement-180954916/Archaeologists think they have solved the mysteryWed, 08 Apr 2015 18:30:15 +0000Archaeologists Unfold World's Largest Underground City in Turkeyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archaeologists-unfold-worlds-largest-underground-city-turkey-180954895/Archaeologists find evidence to believe a site just discovered in 2012 could be a complex subsurface labyrinth Tue, 07 Apr 2015 16:36:39 +0000Early Flying Machines Were Just Weirdhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/early-flying-machines-were-just-weird-180954877/There’s a reason most designs didn’t stick aroundMon, 06 Apr 2015 13:30:57 +0000A Racing Car Built in 1910 Roars to Life Once Morehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/racing-car-built-1910-roars-life-once-more-180954843/It was unofficially the fastest car in its time and still impresses todayThu, 02 Apr 2015 19:00:10 +0000Here’s What the Apostles Ate at the Last Supperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-apostles-ate-last-supper-180954838/Beans, charoset, and unleavened breadThu, 02 Apr 2015 17:00:02 +0000Isaac Newton’s Laundry List of Sinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/isaac-newtons-laundry-list-sin-180954824/The famous physicist kept a catalog of very human transgressions Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:25:39 +0000This Ancient Egyptian Masterpiece Might Be Fakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-egyptian-masterpiece-might-be-fake-180954822/“Egypt’s Mona Lisa” is likely a shamWed, 01 Apr 2015 17:57:17 +0000There's New Information About Anne Frank's Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anne-frank-probably-died-month-earlier-previously-estimated-180954820/New research challenges the notion that if the Frank sisters had lived a few days more, they’d have survived the warWed, 01 Apr 2015 15:02:40 +0000This Nasty Medieval Remedy Kills MRSAhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasty-medieval-remedy-kills-mrsa-180954808/An ancient brew could lead to modern-day drugs to fight the superbugTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:45:20 +0000Why These Stone-Age Farmers Took the Flesh Off Their Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-these-stone-age-farmers-defleshed-their-dead-180954798/New research shows evidence of an early burial rite Mon, 30 Mar 2015 14:45:56 +0000Tree Grown From 2,000-Year-Old Seed Has Reproducedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tree-grown-2000-year-old-seed-has-reproduced-180954746/Age doesn’t have much on this rare piece of greenery sprouted from a seed discovered in an ancient Israeli siteThu, 26 Mar 2015 14:00:41 +0000That Time an Astronaut Smuggled a Corned Beef Sandwich To Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/time-when-astronaut-smuggled-corned-beef-sandwich-space-180954749/The sandwich was a joke but its crumbs proved to be too much — for politicians, not for the missionWed, 25 Mar 2015 18:04:02 +0000