Smart News History & Archaeology | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-history-archaeology/RSS feed for Smart News History & ArchaeologyenTue, 14 Apr 2015 16:55:51 +0000The Pony Express Was Short-Lived And Costlyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pony-express-was-short-lived-and-costly-180954986/The service only lasted 18 months, but became an important icon of the WestTue, 14 Apr 2015 16:55:51 +0000New York City Ran a Slave Market http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ran-slave-market-180954982/New marker will acknowledge the bustling slave trade that helped build New YorkTue, 14 Apr 2015 14:15:45 +0000Tour the Theater Where Lincoln Was Assassinated on Google Street Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tour-theater-where-lincoln-was-assassinated-google-street-view-180954979/150 years later, a new view of Ford’s TheatreTue, 14 Apr 2015 12:00:00 +0000How Rum Helped the U.S. Win Its Independence http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-rum-helped-us-win-its-independence-180954975/Rum may was a key player in America's revolutionary daysMon, 13 Apr 2015 17:38:46 +0000Ancient Tech Could Help Solve Lima’s Water Crisis http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-tech-could-help-solve-limas-water-crisis-180954936/Turns out Peru’s Wari people were excellent urban planners...and their 1,500-year-old 'amunas' could soon bring water to LimaFri, 10 Apr 2015 16:30:20 +0000Northern Europeans Were Not So Sold on Farminghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/northern-europeans-were-not-so-sold-farming-180954925/A new study of ancient beads shows “an enduring cultural boundary” between northern and southern Europe during the Neolithic AgeThu, 09 Apr 2015 16:30:33 +0000This Little Kid Discovered a Dinosaur http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/little-kid-discovered-dinosaur-180954923/A rare nodosaur has been found in Texas...by a little boyThu, 09 Apr 2015 14:45:08 +0000How Did an Ottoman War Camel End Up in an Austrian Basement?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-did-ottoman-war-camel-end-austrian-basement-180954916/Archaeologists think they have solved the mysteryWed, 08 Apr 2015 18:30:15 +0000Archaeologists Unfold World's Largest Underground City in Turkeyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archaeologists-unfold-worlds-largest-underground-city-turkey-180954895/Archaeologists find evidence to believe a site just discovered in 2012 could be a complex subsurface labyrinth Tue, 07 Apr 2015 16:36:39 +0000Early Flying Machines Were Just Weirdhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/early-flying-machines-were-just-weird-180954877/There’s a reason most designs didn’t stick aroundMon, 06 Apr 2015 13:30:57 +0000A Racing Car Built in 1910 Roars to Life Once Morehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/racing-car-built-1910-roars-life-once-more-180954843/It was unofficially the fastest car in its time and still impresses todayThu, 02 Apr 2015 19:00:10 +0000Here’s What the Apostles Ate at the Last Supperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-apostles-ate-last-supper-180954838/Beans, charoset, and unleavened breadThu, 02 Apr 2015 17:00:02 +0000Isaac Newton’s Laundry List of Sinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/isaac-newtons-laundry-list-sin-180954824/The famous physicist kept a catalog of very human transgressions Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:25:39 +0000This Ancient Egyptian Masterpiece Might Be Fakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-egyptian-masterpiece-might-be-fake-180954822/“Egypt’s Mona Lisa” is likely a shamWed, 01 Apr 2015 17:57:17 +0000There's New Information About Anne Frank's Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anne-frank-probably-died-month-earlier-previously-estimated-180954820/New research challenges the notion that if the Frank sisters had lived a few days more, they’d have survived the warWed, 01 Apr 2015 15:02:40 +0000This Nasty Medieval Remedy Kills MRSAhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasty-medieval-remedy-kills-mrsa-180954808/An ancient brew could lead to modern-day drugs to fight the superbugTue, 31 Mar 2015 13:45:20 +0000Why These Stone-Age Farmers Took the Flesh Off Their Deadhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-these-stone-age-farmers-defleshed-their-dead-180954798/New research shows evidence of an early burial rite Mon, 30 Mar 2015 14:45:56 +0000Tree Grown From 2,000-Year-Old Seed Has Reproducedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/tree-grown-2000-year-old-seed-has-reproduced-180954746/Age doesn’t have much on this rare piece of greenery sprouted from a seed discovered in an ancient Israeli siteThu, 26 Mar 2015 14:00:41 +0000That Time an Astronaut Smuggled a Corned Beef Sandwich To Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/time-when-astronaut-smuggled-corned-beef-sandwich-space-180954749/The sandwich was a joke but its crumbs proved to be too much — for politicians, not for the missionWed, 25 Mar 2015 18:04:02 +0000Found: A Secret Nazi Hideaway in the Heart of an Andean Junglehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-secret-nazi-hideaway-heart-andean-jungle-180954716/Hints of a dark Nazi history found in ArgentinaMon, 23 Mar 2015 22:20:21 +0000530 Years Later, Richard III Gets a Royal Reburial http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/530-years-later-richard-iii-gets-royal-reburial-180954699/The king’s remains, which were found buried beneath a Leicester parking lot, will be reinterred this week Mon, 23 Mar 2015 15:09:40 +0000American Bugs Almost Wiped Out France’s Wine Industryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/american-bugs-almost-wiped-out-frances-wine-industry-180954619/When the Great French Wine Blight hit in the mid 1800s, the culprit turned out to be a pest from the New World that would forever alter wine productionThu, 19 Mar 2015 13:30:36 +0000The Oldest Known Ancient Roman Fort Has Been Discovered in Italyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/oldest-known-ancient-roman-fort-has-been-discovered-italy-180954616/Researchers use laser scanners to identify a Roman military camp that may have initiated the settlement of the modern Italian city of TriesteWed, 18 Mar 2015 17:09:48 +0000People Ate Pork in the Middle East Until 1,000 B.C.—What Changed?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/people-ate-pork-middle-east-until-1000-bcwhat-changed-180954614/A new study investigates the historical factors leading up to the emergence of pork prohibitionWed, 18 Mar 2015 13:30:36 +0000How an Early 19th Century Journalist Took Lincoln to Task for Travel Reimbursementhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-early-18th-century-journalist-took-lincoln-task-travel-reimbursement-180954613/Lincoln was a congress member at the time but not the only one charging too much for travelTue, 17 Mar 2015 19:40:56 +0000Did Stonehenge Hold Up a Giant Stage?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-stonehenges-monoliths-hold-giant-stage-altar-1-180954600/A new theory poses that the prehistoric structure could have been something like an “ancient Mecca on stilts”Tue, 17 Mar 2015 15:30:41 +0000Would You Pass Thomas Edison’s Employment Test? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/would-you-pass-thomas-edisons-employment-test-180954562/Probably not. Fri, 13 Mar 2015 18:30:16 +0000Did a Recent Expedition Really Discover a “Lost City” in Honduras? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-recent-expedition-really-discover-lost-city-honduras-180954559/Controversy surrounds the recent announcement of a re-discovered ancient settlement in the jungles of Central AmericaFri, 13 Mar 2015 15:00:07 +0000Neanderthal Jewelry Is Just as Fiercely Cool as You'd Imaginehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/neanderthal-jewelry-just-fiercely-cool-you-imagine-180954553/A re-examination of a cave find indicates that the early human species sported eagle talons like some kind of prehistoric punk rockersThu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:14 +0000When Breathtaking Rock Billboards Dominated the Sunset Striphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-breathtaking-rock-billboards-dominated-sunset-strip-180954545/A new exhibition showcases the Sunset Strip's "rock 'n' roll billboards"Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:30:44 +0000Sorry, ‘Ben-Hur’ Remake...No Circus Maximus for You http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-ben-hur-remakeno-circus-maximus-you-180954547/Rome blocks the remake from filming at the historic stadiumThu, 12 Mar 2015 16:00:10 +0000We Now Have a Toll of All the Whales Killed by Hunting in the Last Centuryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/we-now-have-toll-all-whales-killed-hunting-last-century-180954537/The whaling industry killed nearly 3 million for their oil, researchers estimate. But the true total is likely higher.Thu, 12 Mar 2015 13:01:29 +0000Saving the World’s Oldest Mummies From Rot in a Warmer, Wetter Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/saving-worlds-oldest-mummies-rotting-warmer-wetter-world-180954513/Why are the ancient bodies of the Chinchorro people stored in a Chilean museum rapidly degrading into black ooze?Tue, 10 Mar 2015 14:00:14 +0000How Dick Tracy Invented the Smartwatch http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-dick-tracy-invented-smartwatch-180954506/The detective’s two-way wrist radio paved the way for the Apple Watch and other wearablesMon, 09 Mar 2015 16:03:13 +0000UN: Destroying the Ancient City of Nimrud Was a “War Crime” http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/un-destroying-ancient-city-nimrud-was-war-crime-180954489/Global outcry after ISIS razes 3,000-year-old archaeological site with bulldozersFri, 06 Mar 2015 15:12:57 +0000St. Barts Is Like the Galapagos for Linguistic Diversityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/caribbean-island-galapagos-linguistic-diversity-180954481/Beyond the glitz of tourism, St. Barts natives speak in unique varieties of FrenchThu, 05 Mar 2015 19:15:06 +0000Who's Inside the Lead Coffin Found Near Richard III?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whos-inside-lead-coffin-found-near-richard-iii-180954476/The mysterious identity of a female skeleton discovered in a coffin-within-a-coffin stumps archeologistsThu, 05 Mar 2015 16:03:28 +0000Microsoft Billionaire Finds Enormous Sunken Japanese Battleshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/microsoft-billionaire-finds-enormous-sunken-japanese-battleship-180954468/Paul Allen used his megayacht to locate the long-lost ship, which has been missing since World War IIWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:00:02 +0000The Real Smokey Bear Has A New Biographyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/real-smokey-bear-has-new-biography-180954444/It’s officially licensed by the Forest Service and written from Smokey’s point of viewTue, 03 Mar 2015 15:20:26 +0000Amazing Ruins of a Long Lost City Discovered in Hondurashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/amazing-ruins-long-lost-city-discovered-honduras-180954447/A scientific expedition into the depths of the Honduran rain forest discovered a lost cityTue, 03 Mar 2015 14:15:31 +0000How 1960s Mouse Utopias Led to Grim Predictions for Future of Humanityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-mouse-utopias-1960s-led-grim-predictions-humans-180954423/John Calhoun studied behavior during overcrowding in mice and ratsThu, 26 Feb 2015 19:15:22 +0000Germans Brace for the Re-Release of ‘Mein Kampf’ http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germans-brace-re-release-mein-kampf-180954413/Is Hitler’s 90-year-old manifesto too dangerous to be on bookshelves? Thu, 26 Feb 2015 15:45:21 +0000Impatient Scientists Used Paint-By-Numbers Technique to Create the First Image From Marshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/impatient-scientists-used-paint-numbers-technique-create-first-image-mars-180954406/Scientists used raw data to create their first image of the red planetWed, 25 Feb 2015 17:00:55 +0000The First African American Senator Was Sworn in 145 Years Ago Todayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-african-american-senator-was-sworn-145-years-ago-today-180954403/Hiram R. Revels made history when, amid the tensions of Reconstruction, he became a senator from MississippiWed, 25 Feb 2015 16:15:10 +0000Modern Cities Grow the Same Way As Ancient Oneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/trend-shared-both-modern-and-ancient-cities-180954389/Scientists find that despite time and location, the productivity of settlements grows faster than their populationsMon, 23 Feb 2015 20:00:47 +0000The 18th Century Fur Trade Polluted Lake Superior's Shore With Mercury That's Never Gone Awayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/historical-fur-trade-blame-high-mercury-levels-lake-superior-shore-180954388/The area’s elevated mercury levels aren’t healthy for fish, birds or humansMon, 23 Feb 2015 19:30:45 +0000Found: One Lost Sherlock Holmes Storyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-one-lost-sherlock-holmes-story-180954381/It was in the attic, my dear WatsonMon, 23 Feb 2015 15:15:08 +0000For the Kennedys' Virginia Home, Jackie Had Ideas About Every Detail, Down to the Guest Room Ashtrayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jackies-notes-while-designing-virginia-home-jfk-even-specify-guest-room-ashtrays-180954375/She drew inspiration from French magazines and colors from Colonial AmericaFri, 20 Feb 2015 20:21:09 +0000Legend Says the Ankerwycke Yew Witnessed the Magna Carta's Signinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/legend-says-ankerwycke-yew-witnessed-signing-magna-carta-180954373/The tree on the bank of the River Thames may be 2,000 years oldFri, 20 Feb 2015 18:37:43 +0000Neanderthals Divvied Up Chores by Sex http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/neanderthals-divvied-chores-sex-180954369/New research on Neanderthal teeth shows differing gender roles Fri, 20 Feb 2015 16:03:13 +0000Should You Speculate in Flower Bulbs? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/should-you-speculate-snowdrops-180954368/Move over, real estate—there’s a new bubble in snowdrop bulbsFri, 20 Feb 2015 15:23:11 +0000Some Ancient Egyptians Had State-Sponsored Healthcarehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/some-ancient-egyptians-had-state-sponsored-healthcare-180954361/Craftsmen who built royal tombs enjoyed sick days, designated physicians and rationed medicine—all paid by the stateFri, 20 Feb 2015 14:30:15 +0000