Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenTue, 23 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Why London's New Abstract Expressionism Show Is a Big Dealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-londons-abstract-expressionism-show-big-deal-180960140/It's a survey of luminaries from Pollock to De KooningTue, 23 Aug 2016 16:00:00 +0000Harvard Just Launched a Fascinating Resource All About Bauhaushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/harvard-just-launched-fascinating-resource-all-about-bauhaus-180960156/The newly digitized collection is as ambitious as the art school it documentsTue, 23 Aug 2016 15:00:00 +0000How the Library of Congress Is Digitizing Its Braille Music Collectionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-library-congress-digitizing-its-braille-music-collection-180960112/It’s not as simple as putting it through a scannerTue, 23 Aug 2016 13:00:00 +0000Love Truman Capote? Buy His Asheshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/love-truman-capote-buy-his-ashes-180960216/Is the sale of Capote’s earthy remains a gauche publicity stunt or an act worthy of the audacious author?Mon, 22 Aug 2016 19:38:11 +0000Gulp: The World's Highest, Longest Glass Bridge Opens in Chinahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gulp-worlds-highest-longest-glass-bridge-opens-china-180960215/The new bridge in Hunan's Zhangjiajie Forest Park overlooks the mountains that inspired AvatarMon, 22 Aug 2016 19:10:34 +0000Johnny Cash’s Tennessee Ranch Is Now a Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/johnny-cashs-tennessee-ranch-now-museum-180960189/Complete with a car built “one piece at a time”Mon, 22 Aug 2016 14:47:04 +0000This Olympic Medal Is Even Harder to Win Than the Goldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/olympic-medal-even-harder-win-gold-180960188/The International Olympic Committee values sportsmanship above all elseFri, 19 Aug 2016 15:06:43 +0000Finland’s Hot New Karaoke Bar Is a Public Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/finlands-hot-new-karaoke-bar-public-library-180960137/Don’t stop believin’ in the power of musicTue, 16 Aug 2016 15:37:49 +0000Librarians Have an Olympics, Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/librarians-have-olympics-too-180960085/Brains met brawn in a bookish competition for the agesThu, 11 Aug 2016 18:45:01 +0000The Robe Volante, the First Comfortable Dress in France, Sells for $150,000http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/robe-volante-first-comfortable-dress-france-sells-150000-180960089/The sweatpants of its day for courtiers, the style was a rebellion against the elaborate, corseted dresses of Louis XIV's courtThu, 11 Aug 2016 15:33:42 +0000Sorry, Sweetie: American Bar Association Bans Sexist Language in Courthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-sweetie-american-bar-association-bans-sexist-language-court-180960090/Under a new rule, attorneys could be fined or suspended for using derogatory language while they practice lawWed, 10 Aug 2016 19:16:38 +0000Germany Is Reworking the Commission That Handles Restitution for Nazi-Looted Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germany-reworking-commission-handles-restitution-nazi-looted-art-180960087/A lackluster track record and controversial comments led to a shiftWed, 10 Aug 2016 18:47:10 +0000"New Lucy" Is Unveiled Nearby "Scary Lucy" in Lucille Ball's Hometownhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-lucy-is-unveiled-nearby-scary-lucy-in-lucille-balls-hometown-180960058/It's a tale of two LucysTue, 09 Aug 2016 15:28:22 +0000Bookworms, Rejoice: You May Live Longerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bookworms-rejoice-you-may-live-longer-180960052/In a new study, readers showed "a survival advantage" over those who don't ever crack open a book Mon, 08 Aug 2016 17:19:53 +0000Last Journalists Exit the Birthplace of Modern Newshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/last-journalists-exit-birthplace-modern-news-180960051/After 300 years, Fleet Street, the London thoroughfare home to dozens of newspapers and thousands of reporters, becomes a tourist stopMon, 08 Aug 2016 16:07:04 +0000These Meals Are Made of Paperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-meals-are-made-paper-180960040/Stop-motion spaghetti? Yes, pleaseMon, 08 Aug 2016 15:25:33 +0000This Museum's Giant Collection of Paper Peepshows Offers a Pinhole into the Pasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museums-giant-collection-of-paper-peepshow-offers-pinhole-into-past-180960012/The art pieces were created during the 19th and earth 20th centuries to celebrate coronations, world events and illustrate children's storiesMon, 08 Aug 2016 14:39:31 +0000Navy Bids Goodbye to “Blueberry” Uniformhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/navy-bids-goodbye-blueberry-uniform-180960039/Aquaflage is <i>so</i> 2010Fri, 05 Aug 2016 17:34:35 +0000Original Pooh Bear Gets Makeover, Returns to New York Public Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/original-pooh-bear-gets-makeover-returns-new-york-public-library-180960034/Winnie and his friends are clean, fluffy and filled with stories Fri, 05 Aug 2016 15:16:31 +0000Scientists Uncover a “Hidden” Portrait by Edgar Degashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-uncover-hidden-portrait-edgar-degas-180960031/A powerful X-ray unveiled one of the painter’s rough draftsThu, 04 Aug 2016 20:31:47 +0000Thieves Are Making Off With Millions of Dollars in Stolen Nutshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/thieves-are-making-millions-dollars-stolen-nuts-180960015/It's a hard case to crackThu, 04 Aug 2016 15:14:01 +0000Sorry, Soda: The U.S. Is Just Not That Into Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-soda-us-just-not-you-180960009/Americans will buy more bottled water than soda for the first time ever in 2016Thu, 04 Aug 2016 13:00:00 +0000The First Armed Art Heist in History Is Being Made Into a Moviehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-armed-art-heist-made-into-movie-180959998/But <i>Ocean’s 11</i>, this isn’tWed, 03 Aug 2016 15:48:03 +0000How Engineers Got a Vinyl Record to Play in the Stratospherehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-engineers-got-vinyl-record-play-stratosphere-180959974/Fittingly, it took notes from Carl SaganMon, 01 Aug 2016 18:51:46 +0000For Sale: 400 Awesome Vintage Boomboxeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sale-400-awesome-vintage-boomboxes-180959961/A New Zealand aficionado is auctioning off his collection of iconic 1980s music machinesMon, 01 Aug 2016 18:00:00 +0000A New Installation Turns the L.A. River Into Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-installation-turns-l-river-art-180959965/The river’s surreal landscape is the perfect place to make a statement about water useMon, 01 Aug 2016 17:21:20 +0000Peru Cracks Down on Illegal Gold Minershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/peru-cracks-down-on-illegal-gold-miners-180959954/A boom in outlaw mining activity in the last five years is polluting rivers, poisoning people and destroying forests in the Peruvian AmazonMon, 01 Aug 2016 16:50:00 +0000Protesters Prevent Chinese Museum From Evicting a Family of Catshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/protesters-prevent-chinese-museum-evicting-family-cats-180959953/The furry family is famous on the internetFri, 29 Jul 2016 18:37:13 +0000The Cosmos Sings in This Fusion of Astrophysics and Musichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-cosmos-sings-in-this-fusion-of-astrophysics-and-music-180959907/<i>The Hubble Cantata</i> brings the stars down to earthThu, 28 Jul 2016 17:25:39 +0000Watch the Chincoteague Ponies Complete Their 91st Annual Swimhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-chincoteague-ponies-complete-their-91st-annual-swim-180959938/For nine decades, the local fire department has herded the horses from Assateague to Chincoteague Island to auction off the foals Wed, 27 Jul 2016 21:02:05 +0000Civil Rights Legend John Lewis Won a Prestigious Comic Book Awardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/civil-rights-legend-john-lewis-won-prestigious-comic-book-award-180959918/With <i>March</i>, Lewis brings his life story to a whole new generationTue, 26 Jul 2016 19:14:00 +0000The World Trade Center's Only Surviving Art Is Headed Back Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-trade-centers-only-surviving-art-headed-back-home-180959910/Battered, but not broken, Fritz Koenig's "Sphere" will be reinstalled near its original location at Ground Zero Tue, 26 Jul 2016 15:46:39 +0000Why VHS and Five Other Formats May Live Foreverhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-vhs-and-five-other-formats-may-live-forever-180959892/The final VCRs will ship later this month, but if recent history is any indicator, it doesn't mean the VHS format will vanish for goodTue, 26 Jul 2016 14:24:53 +0000This App Puts a Museum in Your Phonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/app-puts-museum-your-phone-180959874/Get out and get some culture with a newly released app that gives art a smart spinMon, 25 Jul 2016 17:00:00 +0000An Artist Will Slice Up a Peninsula to Remember Norway's 2011 Massacrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-will-slice-peninsula-remember-norways-2011-massacre-180959891/"Memory Wound" will evoke the brutal losses of the July 22 tragedyMon, 25 Jul 2016 16:22:31 +0000Common African Union Passport to Allow Free Movement Across the Continenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/common-africa-passport-to-allow-free-movement-across-continent-180959875/The African Union unveiled a new passport earlier this week that will allow citizens to cross between its 54 member states without visasFri, 22 Jul 2016 17:55:35 +0000Alexander McQueen Is Being Turned Into Leatherhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alexander-mcqueen-being-turned-leather-180959837/The late designer's DNA is part of a bizarre experiment in fashion ethicsWed, 20 Jul 2016 13:53:08 +0000The World’s Largest Picnic Basket Faces an Uncertain Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-picnic-basket-faces-uncertain-future-180959835/The fast decline of a kitschy landmarkTue, 19 Jul 2016 16:49:18 +0000Jane Austen’s Music Collection Is Now Onlinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jane-austens-music-collection-now-online-180959819/Play piano like a Darcy with nearly 600 Austen-approved tunesMon, 18 Jul 2016 14:28:44 +0000Unesco Names New World Heritage Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-unescos-new-world-heritage-sites-180959822/Rock art, irrigation and education add to the organization's growing list of sites worthy of protectionFri, 15 Jul 2016 19:27:29 +0000Anyone Can Contribute to This Giant Poem...if You Can Find This Typewriterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anyone-can-contribute-giant-poem-new-york-if-you-can-find-this-typewriters-180959758/A roving typewriter tries to capture New York's subconsciousFri, 15 Jul 2016 14:41:22 +0000Go Inside New York’s Nearly Secret Botanical Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/go-inside-new-yorks-nearly-secret-botanical-library-180959813/It’s a gardener’s fragrant fantasyFri, 15 Jul 2016 13:53:20 +0000Did Rembrandt Have Help With His Most Famous Paintings? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-rembrandt-have-help-180959809/A new study suggests the old master also knew his opticsFri, 15 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000Meet Your New Librarian of Congresshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-librarian-congress-180959807/Carla Hayden will make history as the first African-American in the role—and the first womanThu, 14 Jul 2016 17:30:00 +0000The Girl Scouts' Newest Badges Bring Art Outsidehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/girl-scouts-newest-badges-bring-art-outside-180959704/Scouts designed and voted on the new badgesThu, 14 Jul 2016 16:00:00 +0000Meet William Merritt Chase, the American Master Coming Back into Fashionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-william-merritt-chase-americas-artist-coming-back-into-fashion-180959665/At the turn of the century, Chase was one of the most well-known painters and teachers in the United States. A new exhibit revisits his revolutionary skillThu, 14 Jul 2016 16:00:00 +000010 Downing Street’s “Chief Mouser” Is Keeping His Job Despite Brexithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/10-downing-streets-chief-mouser-keeping-his-job-despite-brexit-180959799/Larry the Cat will outlast David Cameron at the Prime Minister’s residenceThu, 14 Jul 2016 14:18:42 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Britain’s Most Famous Plundered Art Could Finally Go Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/britains-most-famous-plundered-art-could-finally-go-home-180959792/There’s a new attempt to return the Parthenon marbles to GreeceWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:50:00 +0000Before Pokémon Go, These Scavenger Hunts Were All The Ragehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pokemon-go-these-scavenger-hunts-were-all-rage-180959788/"X" marks the spotWed, 13 Jul 2016 14:10:16 +0000A Seattle Dump Just Got Some Clever Public Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/seattle-dump-just-got-some-clever-public-art-180959688/Recycled rebar will make the Seattle North Transfer Station more beautifulTue, 12 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000 How an Anti-Lynching Banner From the 1920s and '30s Is Being Updated to Protest Modern-Day Violencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-an-anti-lynching-banner-from-1920s-30s-being-updated-to-protest-modern-day-violence-180959752/One artist took inspiration from the NAACP's iconic flagMon, 11 Jul 2016 17:53:21 +0000This Exhibit Captures the Magic of Being a Kidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/exhibit-captures-magic-being-kid-180959671/The Metropolitan Museum of Art peeks into the idealized lives of kids pastMon, 11 Jul 2016 15:00:00 +0000This Renaissance Sculptor Is Getting His First U.S. Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renaissance-sculptor-getting-his-first-us-show-180959734/Luca della Robbia is finally getting a showcase in the StatesMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:30:00 +0000These Beatrix Potter Illustrations Were Found Tucked Inside a Mansion’s Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-beatrix-potter-illustrations-were-found-inside-mansions-books-180959742/The children’s book author found inspiration on vacationMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:00:00 +0000The KGB’s Favorite Restaurant Reopens in Moscowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/kgbs-favorite-restaurant-reopens-moscow-180959732/Aragvi, the haunt of Soviet-era celebrities and spies opens after a 13-year absence and $20 million renovation Mon, 11 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Captain America Is Getting a Real-Life Statue, But Some Say It’s in the Wrong Placehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/captain-america-getting-real-life-statue-some-say-its-wrong-place-180959706/Did Steve Rogers grow up in Brooklyn or the Lower East Side?Wed, 06 Jul 2016 19:20:30 +0000Transgender People Can Now Serve Openly in the U.S. Militaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/transgender-people-can-now-serve-openly-us-military-180959677/One of the last restrictions on who can serve in the military has been removedFri, 01 Jul 2016 17:51:56 +0000Researcher Unearths a Trove of New Shakespeare Documentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researcher-unearths-trove-new-shakespeare-documents-180959673/Archival papers show the Bard was interested in improving his social statusFri, 01 Jul 2016 17:40:53 +0000This Pass Might Help Get More Toddlers Into New York City’s Museumshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pass-might-help-get-more-toddlers-new-york-citys-museums-180959653/The Cool Culture pass helps low-income families introduce their children to cultural institutionsThu, 30 Jun 2016 15:33:50 +0000A New Project Tells the Stories of the Women of Route 66http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-project-tells-stories-women-route-66-180959614/An oral history project with the National Park Service follows women on the iconic highwayThu, 30 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000The Poster That Started the "Keep Calm" Craze is on Salehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-poster-that-started-the-keep-calm-craze-is-on-sale-180959609/Learn about the print that launched a thousand memesWed, 29 Jun 2016 17:45:00 +0000Take a Peek Inside the International Center for Photography’s New Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-peek-inside-international-center-photographys-new-home-180959597/The Center’s newest exhibition explores what it means to be constantly in front of the lensWed, 29 Jun 2016 14:44:56 +0000Smithsonian Curator on the Priceless Impact Pat Summitt Made on College Athleticshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/smithsonian-curator-on-the-priceless-impact-pat-summitt-made-on-college-athletics-180959589/The winningest coach in NCAA Division I history left an incredible legacyTue, 28 Jun 2016 16:44:24 +0000Explore the Netherlands’ Most Iconic Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-netherlands-most-iconic-museum-180959578/The Rijksmuseum is now the best-represented institution in the Google Cultural InstituteTue, 28 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Sculptor's New Show is a Riot of Color http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sculptort-new-show-is-a-riot-of-color-180959567/Dale Chihuly sets out to "overwhelm with light and color" in 'Persian Ceiling'Mon, 27 Jun 2016 18:25:00 +0000An Ancient Squash Dodges Extinction Thanks to the Efforts of Native Americanshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-squash-dodges-extinction-thanks-efforts-native-americans-180959565/Indigenous people carefully tended an ancient squash for thousands of years and now the seeds are seeing a resurgence in popularityMon, 27 Jun 2016 15:10:00 +0000