Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenFri, 22 May 2015 18:37:28 +0000Watch a Baby Bee Go From Wriggly Larvae to Adult in Just Over a Minutehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-baby-bee-grow-just-over-minute-180955386/From larvae to adult thanks to the magic of timelapse photographyFri, 22 May 2015 18:37:28 +0000Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Once Helped Clear an Innocent Man of Murderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sir-arthur-conan-doyle-investigates-180955379/On his birthday, revist the mystery author's most famous caseFri, 22 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000There Will Be an Extra Week of Summer This Yearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/there-will-be-extra-week-summer-year-180955381/Cultural summer ensures 106 days of fun in the sunFri, 22 May 2015 14:50:48 +0000After Two Years On the Job, Women’s Confidence Plummetshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-two-years-job-womens-confidence-plummets-180955373/New research shows dropping levels of ambition and confidence for mid-career womenFri, 22 May 2015 12:30:00 +0000Vikings Didn't Just Raid, They Traded Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/first-vikings-tried-trade-then-resorted-pillaging-180955377/Reindeer artifacts found at Medieval market sites suggest the famed raiders tried the merchant thing firstFri, 22 May 2015 07:00:00 +0000How Chemistry Gives New York City Bagels an Edgehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-chemistry-gives-new-york-bagels-edge-180955362/Is it really all in the water? Thu, 21 May 2015 16:00:05 +0000There’s a Hospital for Statues in Argentina http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-hospital-statues-argentina-180955365/When the going gets tough for Buenos Aires statues, they head to a statue-only hospital for a bit of TLCThu, 21 May 2015 15:54:27 +0000Is This a Portrait of Shakespeare? One Historian Says Yes, Many Say Nohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/historian-have-found-portrait-shakespeare-made-while-he-lived-180955353/Many experts doubt whether the engraving found in a 400-year old book is actually the Bard himselfWed, 20 May 2015 15:29:33 +0000A Malaysian Farm is Playing Classical Music to its Chickens http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/malaysian-farm-uses-classical-music-healthier-chickens-180955337/Drug-free chickens roam in a barn filled with tunes from MozartTue, 19 May 2015 17:42:09 +0000Postal Workers Are Bitten By Dogs Nearly 6,000 Times Per Year http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/postal-workers-are-bitten-dogs-nearly-6000-times-year-180955330/Los Angeles, Houston lead the list of cities with the most dog attacks Mon, 18 May 2015 19:00:00 +0000Here's How Video Game Designers Give Voices to Imaginary Creatureshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-video-game-designers-make-artificial-creatures-sound-real-180955268/All they need are digital vocal cords, voice box and mouthFri, 15 May 2015 12:30:00 +0000Picasso Painting Breaks Auction Record by $37 Million http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/picasso-painting-sells-record-breaking-price-auction-180955242/"Women of Algiers (Version O)" fetched nearly $180 millionWed, 13 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Archivists Are Uncovering Lost Mark Twain Stories http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archivists-uncover-stash-lost-mark-twain-stories-180955225/Digital archives reveal Samuel Clemens, struggling journalistMon, 11 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Germans and Americans Agree That They're Allies, Disagree On Whyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germans-americans-disagree-why-theyre-allies-180955213/A new survey shows differing opinions on foreign policy and the importance of historical eventsFri, 08 May 2015 15:30:00 +0000Here's How to Make Harper Lee’s Crackling Cornbread http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artists-and-writers-cookbook-1961-has-harper-lees-crackling-cornbread-180955194/The recipe is offered with a side serving of dry witThu, 07 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000Reading Harry Potter Might Make You a Better Personhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/reading-harry-potter-might-make-you-better-person-180955196/Young readers who identify with the Boy Who Lived may grow up to be more tolerant.Thu, 07 May 2015 14:26:01 +0000Labyrinths in Prisons and Hospitals Might Actually Help People Relaxhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/labyrinths-prisons-and-hospitals-might-actually-help-people-relax-180955190/Labyrinths are experiencing a revivalThu, 07 May 2015 12:00:00 +0000Why People Call Apartments 'Pads'http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-do-we-call-apartments-pads-180955185/The slang term has a sordid pastWed, 06 May 2015 16:30:00 +0000The Mystery of What Venus de Milo Was Once Holdinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/3-d-printing-offers-guess-what-venus-de-milo-might-have-been-holding-180955176/A distaff, thread and spindle could have been held in her upraised arms and would have been appropriate for the goddess of love Wed, 06 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Two French Towns Are Battling Over a Saint’s Remainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/two-french-towns-are-battling-over-saints-remains-180955174/Should Saint Bernadette be laid to rest in the town she made famous…or the one she chose to live in?Tue, 05 May 2015 17:00:00 +0000You Can See South Korea’s Seaweed Farms From Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/south-koreas-seaweed-farms-can-be-seen-space-180955155/Seaweed farms offer a sustainable source of vegetable proteinTue, 05 May 2015 11:00:00 +0000Germany Just Opened a Nazi Museum in the Party's Former Headquarters http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/germany-just-opened-nazi-museum-180955154/70 years later, Munich's mayor says the city is ready to "face up to its Nazi past" Fri, 01 May 2015 17:30:00 +0000Curling, Baking, Typos: How This Year’s Kentucky Derby Contenders Got Their Nameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/curling-baking-typos-how-years-kentucky-derby-contenders-got-their-names-180955152/What’s in a name? A lot, if you want to tackle the Triple CrownFri, 01 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000Gender-Neutral Clothes Are Trendy, But Not New — Humans Dressed Similarly for Centurieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/gender-neutral-clothes-arent-new-humans-dressed-similarly-centuries-180955109/Fashion with distinct looks for men and women is a relatively recent, Western-centric phenomenonWed, 29 Apr 2015 17:20:26 +0000Friday Knight Fights: Russian MMA Fighters Go Medieval http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/friday-knight-fights-180955124/The duels are so popular with the fans that the company is actively searching for more knights to fill out its ranksWed, 29 Apr 2015 15:39:33 +0000Culinary Diplomacy: Why Governments Are Starting Food Trends http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-governments-are-starting-food-trends-180955116/Promoting your country's food is becoming a trendy tactic for nations looking to raise their profile (and tourist revenue)Tue, 28 Apr 2015 17:30:00 +0000How a Piano Dropped from a Helicopter Paved the Way For Woodstock http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/day-piano-fell-sky-180955093/The Piano Drop set the stage for the outdoor rock festival Fri, 24 Apr 2015 16:46:44 +0000The Mystery of Colorado’s “Book Tosser” Has Been Solvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mystery-colorados-book-tosser-has-been-solved-180955092/The litterbug blames Amazon, arthritis for his habit of illegally discarding booksFri, 24 Apr 2015 15:00:00 +0000Vinyl Presses Struggle to Keep up with the Resurgent Demand for Recordshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/old-vinyl-presses-struggle-keep-resurgent-demand-records-180955077/Only a handful of pressing plants can make records in the U.S. and their machinery is finicky Thu, 23 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000Busted: A Years-Long Bourbon Conspiracyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/busted-years-long-bourbon-conspiracy-180955074/Rogue distillery employee suspected to be at the center of a huge bourbon theft ring Wed, 22 Apr 2015 16:30:00 +0000An Artist Is Trying To Preserve India’s Fading Street Soundshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-trying-preserve-indias-fading-street-sounds-180955043/As shopping malls and suburbs come to Delhi, one woman fights to save the sound of its street vendorsMon, 20 Apr 2015 15:15:00 +0000"Look Ma, No Hands!" A Rock Climber Scales Cliffs Without Using His Handshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/look-ma-no-hands-rock-climber-scales-cliffs-without-using-them-180955017/Famous British rock climber Johnny Dawes puts a twist on his sportThu, 16 Apr 2015 17:40:48 +0000These Were 2014’s Most Challenged Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-were-2014s-most-challenged-books-180954973/Native Americans, Iran and gay penguins top the American Library Association’s Top Ten List of Frequently Challenged BooksMon, 13 Apr 2015 16:30:37 +0000Nine Out of Ten Americans Consider Themselves Middle Classhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nine-out-10-americans-consider-themselves-middle-class-180954970/In a day and age when teens are tasked with picking multimillion dollar dream homes, it's not hard to see why Mon, 13 Apr 2015 14:30:38 +0000What Would Closing the Wage Gap Mean?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/women-earn-money-nearly-half-families-kids-180954937/The effects for single moms and racial minorities would be particularly significantFri, 10 Apr 2015 17:00:06 +0000These Mud Figures Fight Injusticehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-mud-figures-fight-injustice-180954927/“Figures” challenges British austerity policies—and an artist’s physical endurance Thu, 09 Apr 2015 17:30:46 +0000Meet Your New Favorite Fonthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-favorite-font-180954910/Haas Unica, Helvetica’s long-lost sibling, is back after 30 years in obscurity Wed, 08 Apr 2015 16:00:10 +0000Paintings Have Become Increasingly Bluehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paintings-have-become-increasingly-blue-180954909/Move over, orange: modern art is all about hues of blue Wed, 08 Apr 2015 14:40:42 +0000Cash-Strapped Museums are Selling Their Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cash-strapped-museums-are-selling-their-art-180954886/Faced with budget cuts and debt, museums turn to “deaccessioning” Mon, 06 Apr 2015 16:30:33 +0000Here’s What the Apostles Ate at the Last Supperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-apostles-ate-last-supper-180954838/Beans, charoset, and unleavened breadThu, 02 Apr 2015 17:00:02 +0000This Ancient Egyptian Masterpiece Might Be Fakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-egyptian-masterpiece-might-be-fake-180954822/“Egypt’s Mona Lisa” is likely a shamWed, 01 Apr 2015 17:57:17 +0000There Are Communities of People Who Call Themselves Vampireshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/there-are-communities-people-who-call-themselves-vampires-180954817/"Their self-described nature begins to manifest around or just after puberty"Wed, 01 Apr 2015 13:30:21 +0000It Doesn’t Matter How Much Time Parents Spend With Their Kidshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/it-doesnt-matter-how-much-time-parents-spend-their-kids-180954799/New research shows no link between amount of time spent with children and emotional, behavioral, or academic outcomesMon, 30 Mar 2015 16:11:45 +0000