Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenThu, 18 Dec 2014 18:30:25 +0000"White Christmas" Is Actually the Saddest Christmas Songhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/white-christmas-actually-saddest-christmas-song-180953675/The season would have reminded composer Irving Berlin of his young son who died Christmas Day in 1928Thu, 18 Dec 2014 18:30:25 +0000Architects Analyze Kevin McCallister's "Home Alone" Booby Trapshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/architects-analyze-kevin-mcallisters-home-alone-booby-traps-180953674/Overanalyze Home Alone in every way possible — and it still stands up, all these years laterThu, 18 Dec 2014 18:00:23 +0000Get Set Up With a Family in NYC for Christmashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-set-family-nyc-christmas-180953667/Don’t be sad at the prospect of spending the holiday alone, a popular photoblog will match you up with a familyThu, 18 Dec 2014 14:15:32 +0000Vinyl Producers Can’t Keep Up With Hipsters’ Demandshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vinyl-producers-cant-keep-hipsters-demands-180953663/Vinyl is cool again, but will it last?Wed, 17 Dec 2014 18:58:18 +0000America's Best Butter Is Handchurned in Vermonthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/americas-best-butter-handchurned-vermont-180953656/The price for perfection is $49 per poundWed, 17 Dec 2014 15:23:00 +0000Making Dead People's Pulses Beat Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/making-dead-peoples-pulses-beat-again-180953624/A new device can transform 150-year-old printed representations of heart beats into actual sound Tue, 16 Dec 2014 16:03:04 +0000Online Students Give Better Reviews to Professors They Think Are Malehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/online-college-students-give-better-evaluations-if-they-think-their-professors-are-male-180953572/Even if the teachers were actually women, if the students thought they were men, the bias stuck Wed, 10 Dec 2014 14:39:24 +0000Norwegian Nobel Winners Release Their Inner Avant-Garde Musicianshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/norwegian-nobel-winners-are-using-their-moment-fame-release-their-inner-avant-garde-musician-180953558/Nobel laureates in Physiology or Medicine repurposed a Norse folk tune for a science lecture Mon, 08 Dec 2014 18:30:39 +0000Someone Walked Off With a Picasso From a Miami Beach Art Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/someone-walked-picasso-miami-beach-art-festival-180953554/An $85,000 silver plate went missing late last weekMon, 08 Dec 2014 16:00:10 +0000Queen Victoria Dreamed Up the White Wedding Dress in 1840http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/queen-victoria-sparked-white-wedding-dress-trend-1840-180953550/For most people, wearing a white wedding dress wasn't really a thing until the 1950sMon, 08 Dec 2014 14:30:41 +0000Found in "Penny Papers" from the 1800s, A Lost Walt Whitman Poemhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-penny-papers-1800s-lost-walt-whitman-poem-180953542/A professor at the University of Nebraska stumbled upon an ode to Whitman’s contemporary William Cullen BryantFri, 05 Dec 2014 15:00:30 +0000Russia Has Its Own Classic Version of an Animated Winnie-the-Poohhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/russian-version-winnie-pooh-different-also-classic-180953496/Three short films produced from 1969 through 1972 follow the adventures of A.A. Milne's charactersMon, 01 Dec 2014 18:21:14 +0000Computers Write Novels Faster Than You Dohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/computers-write-novels-faster-you-do-180953491/Silicon chips don't suffer writer's blockMon, 01 Dec 2014 14:34:58 +0000Pardoned Turkeys Spend a Night in a Hotel Firsthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pardoned-turkeys-spend-night-hotel-first-180953469/After an evening in a $350 hotel room, today President Obama will spare the birds from the butcher's blockWed, 26 Nov 2014 15:26:44 +0000Heroin Use Is on the Rise Again, Thanks to Suburban White Usershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heroin-rise-again-us-thanks-suburban-white-users-180953464/OxyContin is heroin's new gateway drug, experts say Tue, 25 Nov 2014 20:48:36 +0000Millennials Are Different, Just Not the Way You Thinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/millennials-are-different-just-not-way-you-think-180953414/Young adults today are more optimistic despite facing more economic strain than the previous two generationsThu, 20 Nov 2014 18:14:19 +0000More Than 35 Million People Around the World Are Slaveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/more-35-million-people-around-world-are-slaves-180953347/People are slaves in every one of the 167 countries investigated in a new report, including the United StatesMon, 17 Nov 2014 19:30:56 +0000We're Running Out of Chocolate http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/were-running-out-chocolate-180953340/We're eating so much chocolate that plants can't keep upMon, 17 Nov 2014 14:43:29 +0000Eat More Seaweed (It's Good for You)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eat-seaweed-more-it-good-you-180953338/Foraging for fresh seaweeds gives you option and the best taste according to this Brittany seaweed eaterMon, 17 Nov 2014 14:31:36 +0000Get Past the Vile Smell: Ginkgo Nuts Are Delicioushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-past-vile-smell-ginkgo-nuts-are-delicious-180953336/People have been feasting on these tasty little morsels since at least the 11th centuryFri, 14 Nov 2014 19:14:53 +0000This Artist Makes E. coli-Shaped Popsicleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-makes-e-coli-shaped-popsicles-180953324/For those who prefer plants to pathogens, there's popsicle cacti, too Fri, 14 Nov 2014 15:00:11 +0000North Korea Subsidizes About 70 Schools in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/about-70-schools-japan-are-subsidized-north-korea-180953307/The institutions are a way for ethnic Koreans to connect to their culture but are also targets of criticismWed, 12 Nov 2014 18:57:25 +0000Living in Tough Environments Makes People More Prone to Belief in Godhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/living-tough-environments-makes-cultures-more-prone-belief-god-180953296/People living in harsh natural environments are more likely to believe in a tough, moralizing godWed, 12 Nov 2014 14:34:07 +0000Grad Students Carry 40 Percent of All Student Debthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grad-students-carry-40-percent-all-student-debt-180953288/But they make up just 14 percent of enrollment at U.S. universitiesTue, 11 Nov 2014 14:32:19 +0000A Lost John Steinbeck Short Story Was Rediscovered, Publishedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lost-john-steinbeck-short-story-was-rediscovered-published-180953283/The short story deals with the racial politics of the mid-20th centuryMon, 10 Nov 2014 17:32:53 +0000The World of Personal Computers in the 1980s Was A Wacky, Wonderful Placehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-personal-computers-1980s-was-wacky-wonderful-place-180953274/You can experience early video games and operating systems yourself through retrocomputing and adsFri, 07 Nov 2014 19:00:26 +0000Atari Games That No One Wanted Now Selling for $500 a Pop http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/atari-games-no-one-wanted-now-selling-500-pop-180953262/No one wanted Atari's E.T. in 1982, but they want it nowThu, 06 Nov 2014 18:03:32 +0000How the Word “OK” Was Invented 175 Years Agohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-word-ok-was-invented-175-years-ago-180953258/OK is an editorial joke run wild Thu, 06 Nov 2014 15:00:23 +0000Nearly 400 Journalists Have Been Murdered Over the Past Ten Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nearly-400-journalists-have-been-murdered-over-past-ten-years-180953253/Only ten percent of their killers are ever reprimanded Thu, 06 Nov 2014 14:07:42 +0000Scotland Is No Longer Home to the World’s Best Whiskyshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scotland-no-longer-home-worlds-best-whiskys-180953234/When it comes to whisky, Japan, the US and even England now reign supreme Tue, 04 Nov 2014 16:17:53 +0000How to Protect the Lincoln Memorial From Crazy Floodinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-protect-lincoln-memorial-crazy-flooding-180953229/The capital city's decades-old system of levees to keep water back during storms and flooding is getting an upgradeMon, 03 Nov 2014 18:39:05 +0000The European Space Agency Has Made the Weirdest Short Filmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/european-space-agency-has-made-weirdest-short-film-advertise-space-mission-180953194/The ESA's advertising Rosetta with a very unusual sci-fi shortThu, 30 Oct 2014 17:00:45 +0000Artists In Search of Inspiration Can Now Find Their Muse On a Cargo Shiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artists-search-inspiration-can-now-find-thier-muse-cargo-ship-180953189/Container ships now join Amtrak trains, dune shacks and remote islands in the Arctic circle as sights dedicated to artistic pursuitThu, 30 Oct 2014 13:29:26 +0000You’ll Soon Be Able to Talk to London And Manchester’s Statueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/youll-soon-be-able-talk-london-and-manchesters-statues-180953179/Just scan a tag near the statues with your cell, and they'll call you with a quick first-person history lessonWed, 29 Oct 2014 13:50:37 +0000America's Finally Getting Its First Permanent Cat Cafehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cat-cafes-are-real-and-popping-around-america-180953172/Cappuccino and a Siamese, pleaseTue, 28 Oct 2014 17:08:49 +0000When Becoming a Man Means Sticking Your Hand Into a Glove of Antshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brazilian-tribe-becoming-man-requires-sticking-your-hand-glove-full-angry-ants-180953156/Young men must subject themselves to a ritual involving bullet ant-filled gloves not once but 20 times Mon, 27 Oct 2014 18:56:33 +0000