Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenThu, 20 Nov 2014 18:14:19 +0000Millennials Are Different, Just Not the Way You Thinkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/millennials-are-different-just-not-way-you-think-180953414/Young adults today are more optimistic despite facing more economic strain than the previous two generationsThu, 20 Nov 2014 18:14:19 +0000More Than 35 Million People Around the World Are Slaveshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/more-35-million-people-around-world-are-slaves-180953347/People are slaves in every one of the 167 countries investigated in a new report, including the United StatesMon, 17 Nov 2014 19:30:56 +0000We're Running Out of Chocolate http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/were-running-out-chocolate-180953340/We're eating so much chocolate that plants can't keep upMon, 17 Nov 2014 14:43:29 +0000Eat More Seaweed (It's Good for You)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/eat-seaweed-more-it-good-you-180953338/Foraging for fresh seaweeds gives you option and the best taste according to this Brittany seaweed eaterMon, 17 Nov 2014 14:31:36 +0000Get Past the Vile Smell: Ginkgo Nuts Are Delicioushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/get-past-vile-smell-ginkgo-nuts-are-delicious-180953336/People have been feasting on these tasty little morsels since at least the 11th centuryFri, 14 Nov 2014 19:14:53 +0000This Artist Makes E. coli-Shaped Popsicleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-makes-e-coli-shaped-popsicles-180953324/For those who prefer plants to pathogens, there's popsicle cacti, too Fri, 14 Nov 2014 15:00:11 +0000North Korea Subsidizes About 70 Schools in Japanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/about-70-schools-japan-are-subsidized-north-korea-180953307/The institutions are a way for ethnic Koreans to connect to their culture but are also targets of criticismWed, 12 Nov 2014 18:57:25 +0000Living in Tough Environments Makes People More Prone to Belief in Godhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/living-tough-environments-makes-cultures-more-prone-belief-god-180953296/People living in harsh natural environments are more likely to believe in a tough, moralizing godWed, 12 Nov 2014 14:34:07 +0000Grad Students Carry 40 Percent of All Student Debthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grad-students-carry-40-percent-all-student-debt-180953288/But they make up just 14 percent of enrollment at U.S. universitiesTue, 11 Nov 2014 14:32:19 +0000A Lost John Steinbeck Short Story Was Rediscovered, Publishedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lost-john-steinbeck-short-story-was-rediscovered-published-180953283/The short story deals with the racial politics of the mid-20th centuryMon, 10 Nov 2014 17:32:53 +0000The World of Personal Computers in the 1980s Was A Wacky, Wonderful Placehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-personal-computers-1980s-was-wacky-wonderful-place-180953274/You can experience early video games and operating systems yourself through retrocomputing and adsFri, 07 Nov 2014 19:00:26 +0000Atari Games That No One Wanted Now Selling for $500 a Pop http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/atari-games-no-one-wanted-now-selling-500-pop-180953262/No one wanted Atari's E.T. in 1982, but they want it nowThu, 06 Nov 2014 18:03:32 +0000How the Word “OK” Was Invented 175 Years Agohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-word-ok-was-invented-175-years-ago-180953258/OK is an editorial joke run wild Thu, 06 Nov 2014 15:00:23 +0000Nearly 400 Journalists Have Been Murdered Over the Past Ten Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nearly-400-journalists-have-been-murdered-over-past-ten-years-180953253/Only ten percent of their killers are ever reprimanded Thu, 06 Nov 2014 14:07:42 +0000Scotland Is No Longer Home to the World’s Best Whiskyshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scotland-no-longer-home-worlds-best-whiskys-180953234/When it comes to whisky, Japan, the US and even England now reign supreme Tue, 04 Nov 2014 16:17:53 +0000How to Protect the Lincoln Memorial From Crazy Floodinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-protect-lincoln-memorial-crazy-flooding-180953229/The capital city's decades-old system of levees to keep water back during storms and flooding is getting an upgradeMon, 03 Nov 2014 18:39:05 +0000The European Space Agency Has Made the Weirdest Short Filmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/european-space-agency-has-made-weirdest-short-film-advertise-space-mission-180953194/The ESA's advertising Rosetta with a very unusual sci-fi shortThu, 30 Oct 2014 17:00:45 +0000Artists In Search of Inspiration Can Now Find Their Muse On a Cargo Shiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artists-search-inspiration-can-now-find-thier-muse-cargo-ship-180953189/Container ships now join Amtrak trains, dune shacks and remote islands in the Arctic circle as sights dedicated to artistic pursuitThu, 30 Oct 2014 13:29:26 +0000You’ll Soon Be Able to Talk to London And Manchester’s Statueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/youll-soon-be-able-talk-london-and-manchesters-statues-180953179/Just scan a tag near the statues with your cell, and they'll call you with a quick first-person history lessonWed, 29 Oct 2014 13:50:37 +0000America's Finally Getting Its First Permanent Cat Cafehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cat-cafes-are-real-and-popping-around-america-180953172/Cappuccino and a Siamese, pleaseTue, 28 Oct 2014 17:08:49 +0000When Becoming a Man Means Sticking Your Hand Into a Glove of Antshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/brazilian-tribe-becoming-man-requires-sticking-your-hand-glove-full-angry-ants-180953156/Young men must subject themselves to a ritual involving bullet ant-filled gloves not once but 20 times Mon, 27 Oct 2014 18:56:33 +0000This Photographer Set Out on a Quest to Rediscover the World's Lost Species of Frogs http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/photographer-set-out-quest-rediscover-worlds-lost-species-frogs-180953061/Some of the subjects are new to science, others haven't been seen in 15 to 160 yearsThu, 16 Oct 2014 13:18:40 +0000Unbelievable Reactions People Have Had to the Ebola Outbreakhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/unbelievable-reactions-people-have-had-ebola-outbreak-180953056/For some, the disease is a chance to make money; for others, it brings out racism Wed, 15 Oct 2014 18:54:37 +0000How Endangered Snails Are Endangering Hawaiian Public Radiohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-endangered-snails-ruined-hawaiian-public-radio-180953010/The mating season of protected snails delay radio repairs during pledge season Tue, 14 Oct 2014 17:09:01 +0000In the U.K., Posting Nude Pictures of Another Person Is About to Become a Jailable Offensehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-laws-uk-would-send-revenge-porn-sharers-jail-many-us-states-its-still-legal-jennifer-lawrence-photos-180953008/This year, 28 states introduced or proposed legislation pertaining to revenge porn, though many are still pending Tue, 14 Oct 2014 16:29:34 +0000Here's What Happens When a Hawk And a Drone Fight http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-happens-when-hawk-and-drone-fight-180953006/This raptor was not ok with a quadcopter fronting on its turf Tue, 14 Oct 2014 13:27:55 +0000New Jersey Encourages Hunters to Add Bear to Menuhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-jersey-encourages-hunters-add-bear-menu-180953003/New Jersey is hoping more hunters will take advantage of bear seasonMon, 13 Oct 2014 18:57:32 +0000This Comedy Club Charges By the Laughhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/barcelona-comedy-club-charges-laugh-180952996/In Barcelona, a comedy club is keeping tabs on its patrons' laughs with facial recognition technologyFri, 10 Oct 2014 19:52:57 +0000More Americans Speak Arabic at Home Than Italian or Polishhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/more-americans-speak-arabic-home-italian-or-polish-180952982/21 percent of Americans speak another language at home Thu, 09 Oct 2014 16:13:08 +0000Columbus Day Is Now Indigenous People’s Day in Seattle And Minneapolishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/columbus-day-now-indigenous-peoples-day-seattle-and-minneapolis-180952958/Some cities seek to change the second Monday in October to a more politically correct, inclusive holiday Tue, 07 Oct 2014 15:13:10 +0000The Grand Canyon Will Not Be Mined for Uranium http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grand-canyon-will-not-be-mined-uranium-180952950/Uranium mining will be banned for the next 20 years on nearly 1 million acres of land near the Grand Canyon Mon, 06 Oct 2014 16:56:17 +0000One Human Year Does Not Equal Seven Dog Yearshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-human-year-does-not-equal-seven-dog-years-180952929/No one knows where the dog years myth came from, but experts agree that it's simply not true Fri, 03 Oct 2014 13:41:39 +0000Movie Theaters Boycott Netflix’s First Feature Filmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/movie-theaters-balk-change-boycott-netflixs-first-feature-film-180952906/AMC, Regal, Carmike and Cinemark thumb their nose at Netflix's upcoming sequel to "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Wed, 01 Oct 2014 16:32:28 +0000The CIA Has Its Own High-Security Starbuckshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cia-has-its-own-high-security-starbucks-180952872/Even spies need their morning coffee Mon, 29 Sep 2014 16:41:17 +0000Anyone Can Make Up Their Own Weird Or Random Holidayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anyone-can-make-their-own-weird-or-random-holiday-180952869/Case in point: Today is International Coffee Day as well as National Poisoned Blackberries DayMon, 29 Sep 2014 14:53:37 +0000 Boston Just Found a Time Capsule That No One Knows How to Openhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/boston-just-found-time-capsule-no-one-knows-how-open-180952864/The 113-year-old copper box is inside a golden lion statue's headFri, 26 Sep 2014 18:48:13 +0000