Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenSat, 25 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Carrot Liqueur Could Be Coming to a Cocktail Near Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/carrot-liqueur-could-be-coming-cocktail-near-you-180956065/What’s Next?! Kale?! Sat, 25 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Carbon Dating Reveals One of the Oldest Known Copies of the Quranhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/might-be-oldest-copy-quran-180956036/Manuscript fragments found in U.K. library were written between 568 and 645Fri, 24 Jul 2015 19:41:02 +0000Listen to 98 hours of Shakespeare’s Poems and Plays Performed by Great Actorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/listen-98-hours-shakespeares-poems-and-plays-performed-great-actors-180956007/The playlist includes the voices of Edith Evans, Dylan Thomas, Orson Welles and Sir Ian McKellenFri, 24 Jul 2015 12:51:41 +0000Root Beer Is For Adults Again http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/search-edge-craft-breweries-put-hard-root-beer-tap-180956008/This is not your soda fountain’s root beerThu, 23 Jul 2015 16:30:00 +0000You Can Pay for This Transylvanian Music Festival in Blood http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/transylvanian-music-festival-trades-blood-tickets-180955985/Dracula would totally approve of this payment systemWed, 22 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000Central Park Has 22 Statues of Historical Figures. Every Single One is a Man.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/central-park-has-no-statues-real-women-180955973/Could a crusade to bring historic women into the park change the face of the city?Wed, 22 Jul 2015 13:28:49 +0000Someone Stole the Skull of ‘Nosferatu’ Director F.W. Murnauhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/someone-stole-skull-nosferatu-director-fw-murnau-180955958/Thieves left behind traces of wax, suggesting occult practices might be at play here Mon, 20 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000150 Years Ago, a Fire in P.T. Barnum's Museum Boiled Two Whales Alivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pt-barnums-bizarre-museum-burned-ground-1865-180955955/Attracting tourists and locals alike, the museum mixed freakshow performers with educational collectionsMon, 20 Jul 2015 14:00:00 +0000Of Course Some People Think NASA's Pluto Pictures Are Fakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/course-some-people-think-pluto-pictures-are-fake-180955949/Or at least doctored to exclude evidence of alien life.Mon, 20 Jul 2015 12:37:12 +0000What’s the Deal With Wine Baths?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/whats-deal-wine-baths-180955945/Chemists investigate the science behind the hypeFri, 17 Jul 2015 14:30:00 +0000The Statue of Liberty Arrived in New York in 350 Pieceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/statue-liberty-arrived-350-pieces-180955920/Luckily, she also came with an instruction manualFri, 17 Jul 2015 12:36:15 +0000Australians Are Building a Skyscraper Inspired by Beyoncéhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/australians-are-building-skyscraper-inspired-beyonce-1-180955902/Architects envision a rippling structure that takes a page from the singer’s famous lookThu, 16 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000What to Expect From Harper Lee’s Long-Lost Second Novel http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scout-finch-rides-rails-first-chapter-harper-lees-long-lost-second-novel-180955890/Controversy still surrounds the release of <i>Go Set a Watchman</i>Tue, 14 Jul 2015 13:00:00 +0000San Diego’s First Comic-Con Was Held in a Basementhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/san-diegos-first-comic-con-was-held-basement-180955891/The original fan gathering only attracted 145 peopleTue, 14 Jul 2015 12:30:00 +0000Here’s What the First Lady Has to Do if She Wants to Redecoratehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-happens-when-first-lady-decides-redecorate-180955889/A few throw pillows and a touch of new paint? No way.Tue, 14 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000Why Was One of Hollywood's First Female Film Directors, Dorothy Arzner, Forgotten?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/1920s-dorothy-arzner-paved-way-female-directors-today-180955904/Arzner directed 20 feature films Mon, 13 Jul 2015 15:00:00 +0000Conservationists Want You to Stop Building Rock Pileshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/stacking-rocks-wilderness-no-good-180955880/Cairns have a long history and purpose, one that newer stacks sometimes subvertMon, 13 Jul 2015 12:32:07 +0000When This Photographer Got Sick, He Started Taking Beautiful Photos of Painkillers and Tears http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/photographer-snaps-microscopic-images-painkillers-and-tears-180955886/The extreme closeups were one way for the photographer to understand what he was takingFri, 10 Jul 2015 16:00:00 +0000Real-life Vampires Exist, but They Are Scared to Admit Their Practices to Doctorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/real-life-vampires-exist-they-are-scared-admit-their-practices-doctors-180955877/Even vampires need non-judgmental help sometimesFri, 10 Jul 2015 15:23:44 +0000Washington D.C. Just Got a 10,000 Square Foot Ball Pithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-takes-visitors-beach-180955861/A giant ball pit exhibit allows National Building Museum visitors to experience an indoor oceanThu, 09 Jul 2015 14:30:00 +0000Why Is there Wine on the UNESCO World Heritage List?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/unescos-newest-world-heritage-sites-are-vineyards-180955850/Bordeaux, Champagne wine regions get world heritage designationsWed, 08 Jul 2015 18:30:00 +0000Behold the World’s Tallest Sandcastle, 41 Feet Tallhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/behold-worlds-tallest-sandcastle-180955842/The battle for tallest sand structure rages onWed, 08 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000A Sculpture Meant to Celebrate the Renewal of the Gowanus Canal Just Got Caught on Trash and Sankhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/toxic-gowanus-canal-dragged-down-sculpture-meant-celebrate-its-renewal-180955812/R.I.P. Harvest Dome 2.0Fri, 03 Jul 2015 15:00:00 +0000One of the Earliest Feature Films Was This Italian Adaptation of Dante’s Infernohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-earliest-feature-films-was-italian-adaptation-dantes-inferno-180955805/It's the earliest surviving complete feature-length film, made in 1911Fri, 03 Jul 2015 13:00:00 +0000Almost Half of Black and Latina Scientists Report They’ve Been Mistaken for Administrative Assistants or Janitorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/almost-half-black-and-latina-scientists-report-theyve-been-mistaken-administrative-assistants-or-janitors-180955808/Women of color in science are more likely to experience some forms of bias Fri, 03 Jul 2015 12:00:00 +0000For Veterans' Sake, Make A Little Less Noise With Your 4th of July Fireworkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/veterans-sake-make-little-less-noise-your-4th-july-fireworks-180955796/Fireworks can trigger PTSD in some veterans, and one organization is trying to raise awarenessThu, 02 Jul 2015 15:00:00 +0000How the Internet Tracked Down the Designer of the Beloved Jazz Paper Cuphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/where-did-snazzy-jazz-design-paper-cups-come-180955779/Meet Gina, the woman behind the iconic paper cup pattern Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:02:07 +0000Racehorse Speed Hasn’t Peaked Yethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/racehorse-speed-hasnt-peaked-yet-180955707/But how will horses fare in the race to get faster?Thu, 25 Jun 2015 20:00:00 +0000This Mockumentary Explains the Appeal of Skateboarding to Scared Parents http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mockumentary-explains-appeal-skateboarding-sixties-squares-180955702/“The Devil’s Toy” looks “an epidemic from which no one was secure”: having fun on skateboardsThu, 25 Jun 2015 18:08:44 +0000Did an Auction of Hitler’s Art Go Too Far? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-auction-hitlers-art-go-too-far-180955691/A collection of Hitler’s paintings just sold for $450,000Thu, 25 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000The Murky Tale of John Smith and the Mermaid http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/no-john-smith-did-not-see-mermaid-1614-180955692/Alexander Dumas probably just made it up Thu, 25 Jun 2015 12:30:00 +0000An Art Dealer Just Found a Forgotten Monet Pastel Hidden Behind Another Drawinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/art-dealer-just-found-forgotten-monet-pastel-hidden-behind-another-drawing-180955693/The pastel depicts a lighthouse and jetty near Monet’s childhood homeThu, 25 Jun 2015 12:00:00 +0000A Genetically Modified Sheep was Sent to a Slaughter House and Sold for Meathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/genetically-modified-lamb-accidentally-sold-market-paris-180955684/The lamb came from a agricultural research lab and was equipped with a jellyfish gene Wed, 24 Jun 2015 13:30:00 +0000Is This a Photograph of Vincent Van Gogh? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-vincent-van-gogh-photograph-1887-180955677/Some scholars think the camera shy artist can be spotted in an image taken by an amateur photographer, while others disagreeWed, 24 Jun 2015 12:41:21 +0000Poachers Are Killing Andean Camels for Their Woolhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/poachers-are-killing-andean-camels-180955674/To meet a growing demand for vicuña wool in Europe and Asia, gangs are massacring herds of the animals in South AmericaTue, 23 Jun 2015 13:30:00 +0000The Creators of Super Mario Drafted The Game on Graph Paperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/creators-super-mario-drafted-game-graph-paper-180955653/The levels were originally planned out one at a time by handMon, 22 Jun 2015 18:00:00 +0000A Pickle A Day May Keep Your Anxiety At Bayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pickle-day-may-keep-your-anxiety-bay-180955661/Fermented food appears to calm the nerves of the socially challengedMon, 22 Jun 2015 15:15:00 +0000Some 19th-Century Physicians Thought Music Could Infect the Brainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/19th-century-physicians-thought-music-was-disease-180955662/When it comes to music in the brain, medicine has come a long wayMon, 22 Jun 2015 14:45:00 +0000Etsy Won’t Let Witches Sell Spellshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/etsy-wont-let-witches-sell-spells-180955631/The craft site’s ban on metaphysical services stirs up a cauldron of controversyThu, 18 Jun 2015 15:38:57 +0000Some African Countries Are Trying to Use Science to Make Homophobic Laws, Now African Scientists are Pushing Backhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/africans-scientists-speak-out-against-homophobic-laws-180955579/Some African countries have tried to use science to justify laws that criminalize homosexualityWed, 17 Jun 2015 17:46:31 +0000Destroyed Buddha Statues Are Coming Back to Life in Afghanistan as Beautiful 3D Projectionshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/destroyed-statues-are-coming-back-life-afghanistan-180955601/3D light projections recreate a pair of statues destroyed by the Taliban Tue, 16 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Half of All Languages Come From This One Root Tongue. Here’s How it Conquered the Earth.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-how-indo-european-languages-conquered-earth-180955578/Today, three billion people speak Indo-European langaugesTue, 16 Jun 2015 12:15:40 +0000Which Wine Should You Pair With Your Weed?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/which-wine-should-you-pair-your-weed-180955571/Forget the cheese and charcuterie Fri, 12 Jun 2015 14:00:00 +0000Here’s Why Americans Waste So Much Foodhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-americans-waste-so-much-food-180955569/Spoiler alert: desire for freshness, fear of food poisoning play a role Fri, 12 Jun 2015 12:00:00 +0000Google is Trying to Count Calories in Food Pornhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/google-trying-count-calories-food-porn-180955548/All you need is an Instagram photo and an algorithm Thu, 11 Jun 2015 13:00:00 +0000About 12,200 People Are Erroneously Declared Dead Every Year by the U.S. Governmenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/about-12200-people-are-erroneously-declared-dead-every-year-us-government-180955549/Being officially dead because of a typo makes living life difficultWed, 10 Jun 2015 16:00:00 +0000Amateur Women's Baseball Teams Existed as Early as 1866http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-giants-once-had-girls-team-180955519/They typically challenged local a men’s teams to playTue, 09 Jun 2015 12:42:22 +0000There's Only One Way to Make a Dark 'n' Stormy Without Breaking the Lawhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/surprising-litigious-history-dark-n-stormy-180955518/The cocktail has a surprising, and litigious history Mon, 08 Jun 2015 14:35:59 +0000French Government Plans to Fine Grocery Stores That Throw Away Foodhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/french-government-plans-fine-grocers-who-throw-away-food-180955504/New regulations require that markets donate extra food or face finesFri, 05 Jun 2015 18:30:00 +0000Water Wives: Men in India Marry Extra Women to Fetch Them Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/water-wives-men-india-marry-extra-women-fetch-them-water-180955511/Parched regions of India depend on women who take on the time-consuming, inconvenient task of obtaining and carrying waterFri, 05 Jun 2015 18:04:02 +0000Museums Issue Most-Threatened List of Iraqi Treasureshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museums-issue-most-threatened-list-iraqi-treasures-180955488/Seven types of cultural objects are under threat from the Islamic State and instability in IraqWed, 03 Jun 2015 16:02:31 +0000Does Planet Earth Need Its Own Flag?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/does-planet-earth-need-its-own-flag-180955463/Some think we need a universal flag to stake our claim in spaceTue, 02 Jun 2015 18:28:57 +0000How People Write Down Their Laughter Has Changed Over Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/peoples-text-laughter-has-changed-over-time-180955473/"Hehe" means something different than "heehee"Tue, 02 Jun 2015 15:00:00 +0000Lisbon Artists Are Teaching Graffiti Classes for the Elderlyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lisbon-offers-graffiti-classes-elderly-180955456/Grannies learn about street art history and how to tag wallsMon, 01 Jun 2015 14:30:00 +0000London Adds Special Lanes for Duckshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/canal-lanes-make-way-londons-ducks-180955441/A city charity has painted pathways for waddlers on Regents Canal walkwaysMon, 01 Jun 2015 12:55:42 +0000Two Factions Are Battling for Control in an Alternate Reality Gamehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/around-world-two-factions-are-battling-control-alternate-reality-game-180955447/The aliens are here and some want them to stayFri, 29 May 2015 16:00:00 +0000The Independent Bookstore Is Not Dead Yethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/independent-bookstore-not-dead-yet-180955440/Membership in the American Booksellers Association is upFri, 29 May 2015 15:00:00 +0000Here Are Some of the Weird Ways You Could Die in Tudor Englandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/here-are-some-weird-ways-you-could-die-tudor-england-180955433/Pole vaulting and bacon are among the odd causes of death discovered by historians Fri, 29 May 2015 14:00:00 +0000Archivists Uncover an Unfinished Memoir By Orson Welleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/archivists-uncover-unfinished-memoir-orson-welles-180955437/Fragments of “Confessions of a One-Man Band” discovered in a newly-acquired trove of documents Fri, 29 May 2015 13:00:00 +0000