Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenThu, 16 Apr 2015 17:40:48 +0000"Look Ma, No Hands!" A Rock Climber Scales Cliffs Without Using His Handshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/look-ma-no-hands-rock-climber-scales-cliffs-without-using-them-180955017/Famous British rock climber Johnny Dawes puts a twist on his sportThu, 16 Apr 2015 17:40:48 +0000These Were 2014’s Most Challenged Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-were-2014s-most-challenged-books-180954973/Native Americans, Iran and gay penguins top the American Library Association’s Top Ten List of Frequently Challenged BooksMon, 13 Apr 2015 16:30:37 +0000Nine Out of Ten Americans Consider Themselves Middle Classhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nine-out-10-americans-consider-themselves-middle-class-180954970/In a day and age when teens are tasked with picking multimillion dollar dream homes, it's not hard to see why Mon, 13 Apr 2015 14:30:38 +0000What Would Closing the Wage Gap Mean?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/women-earn-money-nearly-half-families-kids-180954937/The effects for single moms and racial minorities would be particularly significantFri, 10 Apr 2015 17:00:06 +0000These Mud Figures Fight Injusticehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-mud-figures-fight-injustice-180954927/“Figures” challenges British austerity policies—and an artist’s physical endurance Thu, 09 Apr 2015 17:30:46 +0000Meet Your New Favorite Fonthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-favorite-font-180954910/Haas Unica, Helvetica’s long-lost sibling, is back after 30 years in obscurity Wed, 08 Apr 2015 16:00:10 +0000Paintings Have Become Increasingly Bluehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paintings-have-become-increasingly-blue-180954909/Move over, orange: modern art is all about hues of blue Wed, 08 Apr 2015 14:40:42 +0000Cash-Strapped Museums are Selling Their Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cash-strapped-museums-are-selling-their-art-180954886/Faced with budget cuts and debt, museums turn to “deaccessioning” Mon, 06 Apr 2015 16:30:33 +0000Here’s What the Apostles Ate at the Last Supperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-apostles-ate-last-supper-180954838/Beans, charoset, and unleavened breadThu, 02 Apr 2015 17:00:02 +0000This Ancient Egyptian Masterpiece Might Be Fakehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-egyptian-masterpiece-might-be-fake-180954822/“Egypt’s Mona Lisa” is likely a shamWed, 01 Apr 2015 17:57:17 +0000There Are Communities of People Who Call Themselves Vampireshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/there-are-communities-people-who-call-themselves-vampires-180954817/"Their self-described nature begins to manifest around or just after puberty"Wed, 01 Apr 2015 13:30:21 +0000It Doesn’t Matter How Much Time Parents Spend With Their Kidshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/it-doesnt-matter-how-much-time-parents-spend-their-kids-180954799/New research shows no link between amount of time spent with children and emotional, behavioral, or academic outcomesMon, 30 Mar 2015 16:11:45 +0000This 13-Year-Old Girl Just Finished One of the World's Hardest Rock Climbshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/13-year-old-girl-just-finished-one-worlds-hardest-rock-climbs-180954720/Ashima Shiraishi scaled Spain's 'Open Your Mind Direct' in about ten minutes after a few days working on the projectTue, 24 Mar 2015 13:30:17 +0000Numbers Don’t Lie: The CD Really Is Dead http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/numbers-dont-lie-cd-really-dead-180954684/Streaming revenues surpass CD revenues for the first time ever Fri, 20 Mar 2015 16:29:13 +0000There's a Good Reason Why People Really Hate Paying Their Taxeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-why-people-really-hate-paying-their-taxes-180954680/In a word: corporations Fri, 20 Mar 2015 15:30:36 +0000Wikipedia Editing Shows That Different Countries Have Different Sets of Interestshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wikipedia-editing-shows-different-countries-have-different-sets-interests-180954643/New analysis shows that interests are local, not global Thu, 19 Mar 2015 16:40:25 +0000Watching Cooking Shows Could Make You Fathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watching-cooking-shows-could-make-you-fat-180954617/Put down the remote—new research links cooking shows, higher BMIWed, 18 Mar 2015 17:45:13 +0000There’s Finally Free Wifi in Cubahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-finally-free-wifi-cuba-180954574/Cuba becomes more connectedMon, 16 Mar 2015 15:15:30 +0000There’s an Invader in the International Space Stationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/theres-street-art-international-space-station-180954563/An Invader mosaic has found its way to space Fri, 13 Mar 2015 19:00:34 +0000When Breathtaking Rock Billboards Dominated the Sunset Striphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/when-breathtaking-rock-billboards-dominated-sunset-strip-180954545/A new exhibition showcases the Sunset Strip's "rock 'n' roll billboards"Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:30:44 +0000Sorry, ‘Ben-Hur’ Remake...No Circus Maximus for You http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sorry-ben-hur-remakeno-circus-maximus-you-180954547/Rome blocks the remake from filming at the historic stadiumThu, 12 Mar 2015 16:00:10 +0000How Long Do Cultural References Last?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-long-do-cultural-references-last-180954509/Not foreverMon, 09 Mar 2015 17:00:18 +0000How Dick Tracy Invented the Smartwatch http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-dick-tracy-invented-smartwatch-180954506/The detective’s two-way wrist radio paved the way for the Apple Watch and other wearablesMon, 09 Mar 2015 16:03:13 +0000Here’s What Music Specially Composed for Your Cat Sounds Likehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-music-specially-composed-your-cat-sounds-180954503/Research shows that cats prefer “species-specific” with frequencies and tempos that mimic the sounds of purring and birdsMon, 09 Mar 2015 15:30:24 +0000This Treehouse Has It Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/check-out-reclaimed-redwood-treehouse-among-redwood-trees-180954494/Salvaged fence boards, given new life, help Jay Nelson create dwellings that blend with natureFri, 06 Mar 2015 18:29:23 +0000UN: Destroying the Ancient City of Nimrud Was a “War Crime” http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/un-destroying-ancient-city-nimrud-was-war-crime-180954489/Global outcry after ISIS razes 3,000-year-old archaeological site with bulldozersFri, 06 Mar 2015 15:12:57 +0000Ringling Brothers Is Phasing Out Its Elephant Acthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ringling-brothers-phasing-out-its-elephant-act-180954482/After years of fielding controversy and claims of abuse, “The Greatest Show on Earth” will soon be retiring its trained elephants for goodThu, 05 Mar 2015 18:45:22 +0000Vigilantes in Quito Have A Mission to Correct Graffiti Artists' Spelling and Grammarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vigilantes-quito-have-mission-correct-graffiti-artists-spelling-and-grammar-180954452/Meaning is important, the group says to explain their illicit copyediting dutiesTue, 03 Mar 2015 19:00:12 +0000Grave Robbers Once Held Charlie Chaplin’s Body For Ransomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grave-robbers-once-held-charlie-chaplins-body-ransom-180954443/Months after his death, thieves stole the actor’s body in hopes of a $600,000 payout; it didn’t turn out as they had hopedMon, 02 Mar 2015 18:30:00 +0000Someone Found Chris Hadfield’s Flight Suit in a Thrift Store http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/someone-found-chris-hadfields-flight-suit-thrift-store-180954439/The astronaut isn’t sure how his suit made its way to a Toronto second-hand shopMon, 02 Mar 2015 16:00:37 +0000Popular Music Changed the Most in 1964http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/popular-music-changed-most-1964-180954438/Scientists use genomic data to show how pop music evolves Mon, 02 Mar 2015 15:30:14 +0000Victor Hugo Also Created Dramatic Pen and Ink Drawingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/victor-hugo-also-created-dramatic-pen-and-ink-drawings-180954431/The sketches, many done with pen and ink, are almost modern and surrealFri, 27 Feb 2015 19:39:54 +0000The Great Goldfish Swallowing Craze of 1939 Never Really Endedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/great-goldfish-swallowing-craze-1939-180954429/A Harvard undergrad’s $10 bet set off a sensation among college students that still echoes on the Internet todayFri, 27 Feb 2015 18:48:46 +0000Adultery Is Now Legal in South Korea http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cheating-now-legal-south-korea-180954414/62 years after the passage of a morality law, spouses can’t be prosecuted for extramarital affairsThu, 26 Feb 2015 18:15:34 +0000This Is How New Words Enter the Vernacular of ASLhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-new-words-enter-vernacular-asl-180954419/Selfie, photobomb and five-second rule all have signs in progressThu, 26 Feb 2015 17:45:22 +0000Found: One Lost Sherlock Holmes Storyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-one-lost-sherlock-holmes-story-180954381/It was in the attic, my dear WatsonMon, 23 Feb 2015 15:15:08 +0000These Glass Sculptures Were Inspired By the New York City Ballethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ballet-inspires-sandwiched-glass-sculptures-dancing-figures-180954350/The artist wanted to convey that "all of your memories are stuck inside your bone marrow" and make them visibleThu, 19 Feb 2015 15:00:17 +0000See the Swoops of Seagulls’ Flight Patternshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/see-swoops-seagulls-flight-patterns-180954337/Special video effects shows more than an hours worth of seagull flight as curling pathsWed, 18 Feb 2015 14:16:02 +0000