Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenThu, 05 Mar 2015 18:45:22 +0000Ringling Brothers Is Phasing Out Its Elephant Acthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ringling-brothers-phasing-out-its-elephant-act-180954482/After years of fielding controversy and claims of abuse, “The Greatest Show on Earth” will soon be retiring its trained elephants for goodThu, 05 Mar 2015 18:45:22 +0000Vigilantes in Quito Have A Mission to Correct Graffiti Artists' Spelling and Grammarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vigilantes-quito-have-mission-correct-graffiti-artists-spelling-and-grammar-180954452/Meaning is important, the group says to explain their illicit copyediting dutiesTue, 03 Mar 2015 19:00:12 +0000Grave Robbers Once Held Charlie Chaplin’s Body For Ransomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/grave-robbers-once-held-charlie-chaplins-body-ransom-180954443/Months after his death, thieves stole the actor’s body in hopes of a $600,000 payout; it didn’t turn out as they had hopedMon, 02 Mar 2015 18:30:00 +0000Someone Found Chris Hadfield’s Flight Suit in a Thrift Store http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/someone-found-chris-hadfields-flight-suit-thrift-store-180954439/The astronaut isn’t sure how his suit made its way to a Toronto second-hand shopMon, 02 Mar 2015 16:00:37 +0000Popular Music Changed the Most in 1964http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/popular-music-changed-most-1964-180954438/Scientists use genomic data to show how pop music evolves Mon, 02 Mar 2015 15:30:14 +0000Victor Hugo Also Created Dramatic Pen and Ink Drawingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/victor-hugo-also-created-dramatic-pen-and-ink-drawings-180954431/The sketches, many done with pen and ink, are almost modern and surrealFri, 27 Feb 2015 19:39:54 +0000The Great Goldfish Swallowing Craze of 1939 Never Really Endedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/great-goldfish-swallowing-craze-1939-180954429/A Harvard undergrad’s $10 bet set off a sensation among college students that still echoes on the Internet todayFri, 27 Feb 2015 18:48:46 +0000Adultery Is Now Legal in South Korea http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/cheating-now-legal-south-korea-180954414/62 years after the passage of a morality law, spouses can’t be prosecuted for extramarital affairsThu, 26 Feb 2015 18:15:34 +0000This Is How New Words Enter the Vernacular of ASLhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-new-words-enter-vernacular-asl-180954419/Selfie, photobomb and five-second rule all have signs in progressThu, 26 Feb 2015 17:45:22 +0000Found: One Lost Sherlock Holmes Storyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/found-one-lost-sherlock-holmes-story-180954381/It was in the attic, my dear WatsonMon, 23 Feb 2015 15:15:08 +0000These Glass Sculptures Were Inspired By the New York City Ballethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-city-ballet-inspires-sandwiched-glass-sculptures-dancing-figures-180954350/The artist wanted to convey that "all of your memories are stuck inside your bone marrow" and make them visibleThu, 19 Feb 2015 15:00:17 +0000See the Swoops of Seagulls’ Flight Patternshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/see-swoops-seagulls-flight-patterns-180954337/Special video effects shows more than an hours worth of seagull flight as curling pathsWed, 18 Feb 2015 14:16:02 +0000A Computer Can Tell Real Jackson Pollocks From Fakeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/now-computer-can-differentiate-between-real-jackson-pollocks-and-fakes-180954300/Genuine Pollacks really are distinguishable from random splatters of paint—there's now software to prove itTue, 17 Feb 2015 17:00:17 +0000The Inventor Who Has Developed a Sweet-Smelling "Fart Pill" http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/inventor-whos-developed-sweet-smelling-fart-pill-180954289/One eccentric French man wants to take the guilt out of gas with a tablet designed to make farts smell like flowers, ginger or chocolate Tue, 17 Feb 2015 13:30:17 +0000Men Care More About Having Fancy Kitchens Than Women Dohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/men-care-more-about-having-fancy-kitchens-women-180954251/A survey of prospective homebuyers reverses certain stereotypes about gendered desiresFri, 13 Feb 2015 15:03:30 +0000Technology from ‘Interstellar’ Could Be Useful to Scientists, Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/technology-interstellar-helping-scientists-understand-black-holes-180954249/The movie’s visual effects are now being used for scientific researchFri, 13 Feb 2015 12:02:28 +0000Can Antiquities Looting in Syria Be Stopped?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/can-antiquities-looting-syria-be-stopped-180954242/The Islamic State is selling antiquities to fund their fight, now a secretive group is trying to protect those cultural treasuresThu, 12 Feb 2015 19:15:22 +0000Hypnotize Yourself With a Record-Breaking Traditional Dance http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hypnotize-yourself-record-breaking-traditional-dance-180954234/This synchronized dance won a group of 5,211 Indian women a Guinness World RecordThu, 12 Feb 2015 15:30:20 +0000A Scientist And a Slime Mold Are Set To Play a Duethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientist-and-slime-mold-are-set-play-duet-180954225/The blob-like creatures’ movements inspired a composer to create a way for slime mold to play the piano Wed, 11 Feb 2015 19:45:13 +0000Nothing Says 'I Love You' Like a Bit of Pocket Change http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nothing-says-i-love-you-bit-pocket-change-180954217/Victorians seduced their sweeties with "love tokens"Wed, 11 Feb 2015 15:30:36 +0000These Bells Play Seismic Shifts http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-bells-play-seismic-shifts-180954198/Watch as UC Berkeley’s bells play the earth’s “natural frequencies” Tue, 10 Feb 2015 17:00:23 +0000Here’s The Most Expensive Painting Ever Sold http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-most-expensive-painting-ever-sold-180954184/A Gauguin painting broke the price record this week, selling for nearly $300 millionMon, 09 Feb 2015 16:30:08 +0000Wisconsin is Too Warm for a 66-Foot Ice Tower to Survivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/wisconsin-too-warm-66-foot-ice-tower-survive-180954145/Weather conditions likely played a big factor in the crashing demise of a giant ice sculpture intended to last through the winterWed, 04 Feb 2015 17:56:56 +0000The Taj Mahal Gardens Have a Special Relationship to the Solstice http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/taj-mahal-gardens-have-special-solstice-relationship-180954136/On the day the sun climbs the highest in the sky, careful alignments within the gardens and buildings of the beautiful mausoleum appearTue, 03 Feb 2015 19:12:13 +0000Harper Lee is Releasing A Sequel to “To Kill A Mockingbird” in Julyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/harper-lee-releasing-sequel-kill-mockingbird-july-180954133/The novel was written before her prize-winning book and tells the story of Scout as an adult, returned to her hometown from New YorkTue, 03 Feb 2015 17:34:38 +0000This Music Is Made of Embroideryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/music-made-embroidery-180954129/Here’s what happens when you feed historical cross-stitch through a music boxTue, 03 Feb 2015 15:08:04 +0000New Research May Solve a Mystery Behind Shakespeare’s Sonnetshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-research-may-solve-mystery-behind-shakespeares-sonnets-180954119/The first printing of Shakespeare's 154 sonnets was dedicated to a “Mr. WH”—has a scholar finally identified him?Mon, 02 Feb 2015 17:30:51 +0000South Korea’s 'Women of the Sea’ Have Free Dived For Abalone Since the 17th Centuryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/south-koreas-women-sea-have-free-dived-abalone-17th-century-180954103/Diving supported life on the wind-scoured, rocky island of JejuFri, 30 Jan 2015 17:52:15 +0000Did Archaeologists Just Find Miguel de Cervantes, 400 Years After His Death?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-archaeologists-just-find-miguel-de-cervantes400-years-after-fact-180954057/A centuries-old crypt could hold the answer to the mystery of Cervantes’ missing remains Wed, 28 Jan 2015 17:30:54 +0000Mystery Solved: Footage From a Long-Lost Silent Sherlock Holmes Is Foundhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mystery-solved-footage-long-lost-silent-sherlock-holmes-180954027/William Gillette is responsible for how we see Sherlock Holmes—but the loss of his single silent film was an unsolved mysteryMon, 26 Jan 2015 16:30:42 +0000How One 138-Page Book Inspired the Creation of the Boy Scoutshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/book-began-boy-scouts-180954012/How a little military textbook evolved into a movement that would captivate generations of young menMon, 26 Jan 2015 14:30:17 +0000How to Mind Your Manners at Silent Movies http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/manners-silent-movies-180954009/Vintage slides give an etiquette lesson to obnoxious silent movie audiencesFri, 23 Jan 2015 15:58:35 +0000To Appreciate Surrealistic Art, Think About Deathhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/thinking-about-death-might-help-you-appreciate-surrealistic-art-180954006/Two new studies indicate that thoughts about death can influence how we perceive artFri, 23 Jan 2015 15:00:17 +0000King Tut’s Beard Fell Off...And Was Glued Back on With Epoxyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/king-tuts-beard-fell-and-was-glued-back-epoxy-180953992/Clumsy curators won’t admit who’s behind the irreparable repair Thu, 22 Jan 2015 15:07:50 +0000This 3,500-Year-Old Dagger Made a Really Great Doorstophttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/3500-year-old-dagger-or-really-great-doorstop-180953923/One man’s doorstop is another man’s rare, ancient artifact Mon, 19 Jan 2015 14:30:34 +0000Save the Voices of Tolkien, Joyce And Tennysonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/it-will-take-60-million-continue-preserving-voices-jrr-tolkien-james-joyce-and-other-valuable-british-sounds-180953890/The British Library is fighting time and budget constraints to save its vast collection of audio recordingsWed, 14 Jan 2015 15:00:07 +0000America's Goats Are Concentrated in Texashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/americas-goats-are-concentrated-texas-180953885/In 2012, famers reported more than 2 million goats living in the U.S.Tue, 13 Jan 2015 19:15:42 +0000A Museum in England Is Hiding a Forgery Among Its Masterpieceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-museum-england-hiding-forgery-among-its-masterpieces-180953881/A South London gallery is asking its patrons to identify the fake in order to spark discussion about how and why we appreciate the artTue, 13 Jan 2015 16:30:43 +0000Come for the Giant Rock, Stay for the UFO Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ufo-related-history-worlds-biggest-rock-180953862/George Van Tassel believed he could communicate with aliensFri, 09 Jan 2015 19:30:59 +000060 Years Ago, the First African-American Soloist Sang at the Met Operahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/60-years-ago-first-african-american-soloist-sang-met-opera-180953840/Marian Anderson performed as the fortuneteller Ulrica in Verdi’s Un Ballo in MascheraThu, 08 Jan 2015 19:05:43 +0000