Smart News Arts & Culture | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/smartnews-arts-culture/RSS feed for Smart News Arts & CultureenWed, 27 Jul 2016 21:02:05 +0000Watch the Chincoteague Ponies Complete Their 91st Annual Swimhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/watch-chincoteague-ponies-complete-their-91st-annual-swim-180959938/For nine decades, the local fire department has herded the horses from Assateague to Chincoteague Island to auction off the foals Wed, 27 Jul 2016 21:02:05 +0000Civil Rights Legend John Lewis Won a Prestigious Comic Book Awardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/civil-rights-legend-john-lewis-won-prestigious-comic-book-award-180959918/With <i>March</i>, Lewis brings his life story to a whole new generationTue, 26 Jul 2016 19:14:00 +0000The World Trade Center's Only Surviving Art Is Headed Back Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/world-trade-centers-only-surviving-art-headed-back-home-180959910/Battered, but not broken, Fritz Koenig's "Sphere" will be reinstalled near its original location at Ground Zero Tue, 26 Jul 2016 15:46:39 +0000Why VHS and Five Other Formats May Live Foreverhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/why-vhs-and-five-other-formats-may-live-forever-180959892/The final VCRs will ship later this month, but if recent history is any indicator, it doesn't mean the VHS format will vanish for goodTue, 26 Jul 2016 14:24:53 +0000This App Puts a Museum in Your Phonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/app-puts-museum-your-phone-180959874/Get out and get some culture with a newly released app that gives art a smart spinMon, 25 Jul 2016 17:00:00 +0000An Artist Will Slice Up a Peninsula to Remember Norway's 2011 Massacrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-will-slice-peninsula-remember-norways-2011-massacre-180959891/"Memory Wound" will evoke the brutal losses of the July 22 tragedyMon, 25 Jul 2016 16:22:31 +0000Common African Union Passport to Allow Free Movement Across the Continenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/common-africa-passport-to-allow-free-movement-across-continent-180959875/The African Union unveiled a new passport earlier this week that will allow citizens to cross between its 54 member states without visasFri, 22 Jul 2016 17:55:35 +0000Alexander McQueen Is Being Turned Into Leatherhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/alexander-mcqueen-being-turned-leather-180959837/The late designer's DNA is part of a bizarre experiment in fashion ethicsWed, 20 Jul 2016 13:53:08 +0000The World’s Largest Picnic Basket Faces an Uncertain Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-largest-picnic-basket-faces-uncertain-future-180959835/The fast decline of a kitschy landmarkTue, 19 Jul 2016 16:49:18 +0000Jane Austen’s Music Collection Is Now Onlinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jane-austens-music-collection-now-online-180959819/Play piano like a Darcy with nearly 600 Austen-approved tunesMon, 18 Jul 2016 14:28:44 +0000Unesco Names New World Heritage Siteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-are-unescos-new-world-heritage-sites-180959822/Rock art, irrigation and education add to the organization's growing list of sites worthy of protectionFri, 15 Jul 2016 19:27:29 +0000Anyone Can Contribute to This Giant Poem...if You Can Find This Typewriterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/anyone-can-contribute-giant-poem-new-york-if-you-can-find-this-typewriters-180959758/A roving typewriter tries to capture New York's subconsciousFri, 15 Jul 2016 14:41:22 +0000Go Inside New York’s Nearly Secret Botanical Libraryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/go-inside-new-yorks-nearly-secret-botanical-library-180959813/It’s a gardener’s fragrant fantasyFri, 15 Jul 2016 13:53:20 +0000Did Rembrandt Have Help With His Most Famous Paintings? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-rembrandt-have-help-180959809/A new study suggests the old master also knew his opticsFri, 15 Jul 2016 10:00:00 +0000Meet Your New Librarian of Congresshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-your-new-librarian-congress-180959807/Carla Hayden will make history as the first African-American in the role—and the first womanThu, 14 Jul 2016 17:30:00 +0000The Girl Scouts' Newest Badges Bring Art Outsidehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/girl-scouts-newest-badges-bring-art-outside-180959704/Scouts designed and voted on the new badgesThu, 14 Jul 2016 16:00:00 +0000Meet William Merritt Chase, the American Master Coming Back into Fashionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meet-william-merritt-chase-americas-artist-coming-back-into-fashion-180959665/At the turn of the century, Chase was one of the most well-known painters and teachers in the United States. A new exhibit revisits his revolutionary skillThu, 14 Jul 2016 16:00:00 +000010 Downing Street’s “Chief Mouser” Is Keeping His Job Despite Brexithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/10-downing-streets-chief-mouser-keeping-his-job-despite-brexit-180959799/Larry the Cat will outlast David Cameron at the Prime Minister’s residenceThu, 14 Jul 2016 14:18:42 +0000New Zealanders Just Crowdfunded a New Addition to this National Parkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-zealander-just-crowdfunded-newest-addition-to-this-national-park-180959795/Over 40,000 people donated to buy Awaroa Beach and gift the site to Abel Tasman National ParkThu, 14 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Britain’s Most Famous Plundered Art Could Finally Go Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/britains-most-famous-plundered-art-could-finally-go-home-180959792/There’s a new attempt to return the Parthenon marbles to GreeceWed, 13 Jul 2016 17:50:00 +0000Before Pokémon Go, These Scavenger Hunts Were All The Ragehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pokemon-go-these-scavenger-hunts-were-all-rage-180959788/"X" marks the spotWed, 13 Jul 2016 14:10:16 +0000A Seattle Dump Just Got Some Clever Public Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/seattle-dump-just-got-some-clever-public-art-180959688/Recycled rebar will make the Seattle North Transfer Station more beautifulTue, 12 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000 How an Anti-Lynching Banner From the 1920s and '30s Is Being Updated to Protest Modern-Day Violencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-an-anti-lynching-banner-from-1920s-30s-being-updated-to-protest-modern-day-violence-180959752/One artist took inspiration from the NAACP's iconic flagMon, 11 Jul 2016 17:53:21 +0000This Exhibit Captures the Magic of Being a Kidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/exhibit-captures-magic-being-kid-180959671/The Metropolitan Museum of Art peeks into the idealized lives of kids pastMon, 11 Jul 2016 15:00:00 +0000This Renaissance Sculptor Is Getting His First U.S. Showhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/renaissance-sculptor-getting-his-first-us-show-180959734/Luca della Robbia is finally getting a showcase in the StatesMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:30:00 +0000These Beatrix Potter Illustrations Were Found Tucked Inside a Mansion’s Bookshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/these-beatrix-potter-illustrations-were-found-inside-mansions-books-180959742/The children’s book author found inspiration on vacationMon, 11 Jul 2016 14:00:00 +0000The KGB’s Favorite Restaurant Reopens in Moscowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/kgbs-favorite-restaurant-reopens-moscow-180959732/Aragvi, the haunt of Soviet-era celebrities and spies opens after a 13-year absence and $20 million renovation Mon, 11 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000Captain America Is Getting a Real-Life Statue, But Some Say It’s in the Wrong Placehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/captain-america-getting-real-life-statue-some-say-its-wrong-place-180959706/Did Steve Rogers grow up in Brooklyn or the Lower East Side?Wed, 06 Jul 2016 19:20:30 +0000Transgender People Can Now Serve Openly in the U.S. Militaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/transgender-people-can-now-serve-openly-us-military-180959677/One of the last restrictions on who can serve in the military has been removedFri, 01 Jul 2016 17:51:56 +0000Researcher Unearths a Trove of New Shakespeare Documentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/researcher-unearths-trove-new-shakespeare-documents-180959673/Archival papers show the Bard was interested in improving his social statusFri, 01 Jul 2016 17:40:53 +0000This Pass Might Help Get More Toddlers Into New York City’s Museumshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/pass-might-help-get-more-toddlers-new-york-citys-museums-180959653/The Cool Culture pass helps low-income families introduce their children to cultural institutionsThu, 30 Jun 2016 15:33:50 +0000A New Project Tells the Stories of the Women of Route 66http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-project-tells-stories-women-route-66-180959614/An oral history project with the National Park Service follows women on the iconic highwayThu, 30 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000The Poster That Started the "Keep Calm" Craze is on Salehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-poster-that-started-the-keep-calm-craze-is-on-sale-180959609/Learn about the print that launched a thousand memesWed, 29 Jun 2016 17:45:00 +0000Take a Peek Inside the International Center for Photography’s New Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/take-peek-inside-international-center-photographys-new-home-180959597/The Center’s newest exhibition explores what it means to be constantly in front of the lensWed, 29 Jun 2016 14:44:56 +0000Smithsonian Curator on the Priceless Impact Pat Summitt Made on College Athleticshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/smithsonian-curator-on-the-priceless-impact-pat-summitt-made-on-college-athletics-180959589/The winningest coach in NCAA Division I history left an incredible legacyTue, 28 Jun 2016 16:44:24 +0000Explore the Netherlands’ Most Iconic Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/explore-netherlands-most-iconic-museum-180959578/The Rijksmuseum is now the best-represented institution in the Google Cultural InstituteTue, 28 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Sculptor's New Show is a Riot of Color http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/sculptort-new-show-is-a-riot-of-color-180959567/Dale Chihuly sets out to "overwhelm with light and color" in 'Persian Ceiling'Mon, 27 Jun 2016 18:25:00 +0000An Ancient Squash Dodges Extinction Thanks to the Efforts of Native Americanshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/ancient-squash-dodges-extinction-thanks-efforts-native-americans-180959565/Indigenous people carefully tended an ancient squash for thousands of years and now the seeds are seeing a resurgence in popularityMon, 27 Jun 2016 15:10:00 +0000A Lucky Artist Will Be Marooned on a Deserted Islandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/lucky-artist-will-be-marooned-deserted-island-180959525/An artist-in-residence program invites applicants to consider spending a month alone in paradiseThu, 23 Jun 2016 16:50:29 +0000Murder of Environmental Activists Reaches All-Time Highhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/murder-environmental-activists-reaches-all-time-high-180959528/At least 185 environmental activists were murdered in 2015, according to a new reportThu, 23 Jun 2016 16:15:41 +0000What Brexit Would Mean for U.K.'s Arts, Sciences and Other Sectorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-brexit-would-mean-for-uks-arts-sciences-and-other-sectors-180959516/Exiting the European Union could have far ranging consequences for industries throughout the United KingdomTue, 21 Jun 2016 17:19:53 +0000This Floating School Was a Design Nerd’s Dreamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/floating-school-was-design-nerds-dream-180959479/…until it sankMon, 20 Jun 2016 18:00:00 +0000As U.S.-Cuba Relations Warm, This Long-Dead Author Benefitshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/us-cuba-relations-warm-long-dead-author-benefits-180959465/A new conservation facility is on its way to Hemingway’s home near HavanaMon, 20 Jun 2016 13:54:45 +0000Check Out NASA's Retro Mars Recruitment Postershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/nasa-releases-retro-mars-recruitment-posters-180959453/Farmers, teachers, surveyors and engineers will all be needed in the envisaged Mars settlementFri, 17 Jun 2016 14:50:00 +0000Japan Honors the Creator of the California Rollhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-honors-creator-of-california-roll-180959446/Some may see it as an affront against sushi, others see an ambassador for cultureThu, 16 Jun 2016 18:30:30 +0000The Expanded Tate Modern Opens Its Doors Fridayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/expanded-tate-modern-opens-its-doors-friday-180959419/The museum is being called the UK’s most important new cultural building since the British LibraryThu, 16 Jun 2016 17:05:50 +0000One Day Only: A Chance to View One Map to Rule Them Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/one-day-only-chance-view-one-map-rule-them-all-180959391/A rare Tolkien-annotated map goes on display June 23Wed, 15 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Net Neutrality Was Just Upheld in the U.S. Court of Appealshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/net-neutrality-was-just-upheld-us-court-appeals-180959402/It’s a victory for open internet activists—but will it stick?Tue, 14 Jun 2016 16:37:39 +0000This New York Project Wants You to Write on the Wallshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/new-york-project-wants-you-write-walls-180959380/Writing On It All gives voice—and a pen—to one and allTue, 14 Jun 2016 16:10:00 +0000One of the World's Most Colorful Places Is in Taiwanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/worlds-most-colorful-place-is-in-taiwan-180959382/Rainbow Family Village shows there's nothing a man with a paintbrush can't do Tue, 14 Jun 2016 12:00:00 +0000The Library of Congress Needs Your Help to Identify These Silent Movieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-library-of-congress-needs-your-help-to-identify-these-silent-movies-180959366/For the fifth year, the "Mostly Lost" film festival calls on its audience to help identify obscure details in movie-making historyFri, 10 Jun 2016 16:55:43 +0000Refugees Are Teaching Germans How to Cook Their Traditional Foodshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/refugees-are-teaching-germans-how-cook-their-traditional-foods-180959355/Cooking classes are bridging the gaps between Germans and Middle Eastern refugeesFri, 10 Jun 2016 14:32:00 +0000'Hamilton' Creator Lin-Manuel Miranda Joins the War Against Botshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hamilton-creator-lin-manuel-miranda-joins-war-against-bots-180959339/Ticket-buying bots are snatching up seats and jacking up the price of concert and theater ticketsThu, 09 Jun 2016 14:34:49 +0000Parisians Are in an Uproar Over Their New Newstandshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/parisians-are-uproar-over-their-new-newstands-180959326/Paris’ iconic kiosks are being updated and replacedWed, 08 Jun 2016 18:45:55 +0000Artwork by Muhammad Ali Is Going up For Auctionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artwork-muhammad-ali-is-going-auction-180959341/You could own a painting by the Louisville LipWed, 08 Jun 2016 14:38:59 +0000Vandals Destroyed 8,000-Year-Old Aboriginal Artworks in Tasmaniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vandals-destroyed-8000-year-old-aboriginal-artworks-in-tasmania-180959328/The priceless rock art is damaged beyond repairWed, 08 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000Last Known 9/11 Search-and-Rescue Dog Dieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/last-known-911-search-and-rescue-dog-dies-180959331/Bretagne was the last surviving dog from the 300 that worked at the World Trade Center siteTue, 07 Jun 2016 15:40:16 +0000Olympics Allows Refugees to Compete on Their Own Teamhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/olympics-allows-refugees-compete-their-own-team-180959321/Ten refugee-athletes from Syria, Sudan, Ethiopia and the Republic of Congo will compete at the Rio OlympicsTue, 07 Jun 2016 13:00:00 +0000After a Century, an Anthropologist Picked up the Trail of the "Hobo King"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-century-anthropologist-picked-trail-original-hobo-king-180959313/One hundred-year-old graffiti by “A-No.1” and others were found by the L.A. RiverMon, 06 Jun 2016 16:18:55 +0000What Happens to the Coins Tossed Into Fountains?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-what-happens-all-coins-tossed-fountains-180959314/All that money has to go somewhereMon, 06 Jun 2016 14:55:38 +0000Instead of Tagging Real-Life Surfaces, Graffiti Artists Can Use a New Simulatorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/instead-tagging-real-life-surfaces-graffiti-artists-can-use-new-simulator-180959302/Fake bombing has never felt so realFri, 03 Jun 2016 14:16:47 +0000Bordeaux’s New Wine Museum Is Open for Businesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/bordeauxs-new-wine-museum-open-business-180959287/The “City of Wine” is a vino lover’s amusement parkThu, 02 Jun 2016 17:43:15 +0000This Museum Made Art Out of a John Deere Harvesterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/museum-made-art-out-john-deere-harvester-180959281/'Continuous Service Altered Daily' finds life inside a familiar machineWed, 01 Jun 2016 16:38:44 +0000Paris’ Iconic “Love Locks” Bridge Is Now Home to a Set of Creepy Statueshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/paris-iconic-love-locks-bridge-now-home-set-creepy-statues-180959275/The rotating art installation on the Pont des Arts bridge was inspired by classical mythology Wed, 01 Jun 2016 14:33:00 +0000Vladimir Nabokov’s Butterfly Drawings Take Flight in This New Bookhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/vladimir-nabokovs-butterfly-drawings-take-flight-new-book-180959264/A little-known fact: The author of “Lolita” was also an avid lepidopteristWed, 01 Jun 2016 10:00:00 +0000Land of Oz Theme Park Will Temporarily Reopen Its Emerald Gateshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/land-oz-theme-park-will-temporarily-reopen-its-emerald-gates-180959268/This June, the yellow brick road will once again take you to see the WizardTue, 31 May 2016 18:55:08 +0000