Photos | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/photos/RSS feed for the photosenMon, 30 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Lizard on a Mushroomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-30/lizard-mushroom/Mon, 30 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Fog Under the Manhattanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-30/fog-under-manhattan/Mon, 30 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Straight Chillin'http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-29/straight-chillin/Surf washes over an elephant seal pup.Sun, 29 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Wonderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-28/wonder/Sat, 28 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Dying Threadshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-27/dying-threads/Fri, 27 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000American Farmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-26/american-farm/Thu, 26 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Perchedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-25/perched/A female golden silk orb-weaver rests on her nest.Wed, 25 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Reading at the Louvrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-24/reading-louvre/Tue, 24 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Mobula Rays Feed at Nighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-23/mobula-rays-feed-night/Mon, 23 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Lizard Face-Offhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-22/lizard-face-/Sun, 22 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Rainy Day in Lofotenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-21/rainy-day-lofoten/Sat, 21 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Fog Between the Treeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-20/fog-between-trees/Fri, 20 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Climbing the Minarethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-19/climbing-minaret/Reina, Barita and friends play on the main minaret of the Grand Mosque in Bani, Burkina Faso, during Eid al-Fitr.Thu, 19 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Stare Downhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-18/stare-down/Wed, 18 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000A Tree Dreaminghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-17/tree-dreaming/Tue, 17 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Wave Breakhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-16/wave-break/Mon, 16 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Hsinbyume Pagoda After Hourshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-15/hsinbyume-pagoda-after-hours/Young Buddhist novices run on Hsinbyume Pagoda after the tourists have left. Sun, 15 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000A Caracal Licks Its Lipshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-14/caracal-licks-its-lips/Sat, 14 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Statues on a Benchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-13/statues-bench/Fri, 13 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Dead Quiethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-12/dead-quiet/Thu, 12 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000From Up and Abovehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-11/from-up-and-above/Looking down at a wheat field in Bagan from a hot air ballonWed, 11 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Wildflowers in Titcomb Basinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-10/wildflowers-titcomb-basin/Tue, 10 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Alone at Seahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-09/alone-sea/Mon, 09 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000The Shy Manateehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-08/shy-manatee/Sun, 08 Mar 2015 07:00:00 +0000Ma's Chairhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-07/mas-chair/Sat, 07 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Spring in the Palousehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-06/spring-palouse/Fri, 06 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Her Eidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-05/her-eid/A girl at an orphanage plays with new toys in celebration of Eid.Thu, 05 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Ladybug on a Magnolia Flowerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-04/ladybug-magnolia-flower/Wed, 04 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Luminariashttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-03/luminarias/Each year on January 16, people across Spain celebrate San Anton, the patron saint of animals. Towns and cities hold events to purify and bless the animals that contribute to work or those who faithfully accompany their owners for years. During Las Luminarias de San Bartolomé de Pinares, horses and riders jump across bonfires to purify body and soul.Tue, 03 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Polar Mother and Cubshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-02/polar-mother-and-cubs/Mon, 02 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Home With Grandmahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-03-01/home-grandma/Sun, 01 Mar 2015 08:00:00 +0000Sunrise in Yangshuohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-28/sunrise-yangshuo/Sat, 28 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Geisha Detailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-27/geisha-detail/Fri, 27 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Up and Downhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-26/and-down/Thu, 26 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Spiral Rhythmhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-25/spiral-rhythm/Wed, 25 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Snowy Owl Chickhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-24/snowy-owl-chick/Tue, 24 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Curiosityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-23/curiosity/Mon, 23 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Street Colorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-22/street-colors/Sun, 22 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Surma Woman Carries Meathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-21/surma-woman-carries-meat/Sat, 21 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Harvesting Salthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-20/harvesting-salt/Fri, 20 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Philippines Supermoonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-19/philippines-supermoon/A supermoon rises over the eastern coast of the Philippines.Thu, 19 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Patiencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-18/patience/A young girl waits patiently for an artist to paint her likeness at the Drum Tower in Xi'an China.Wed, 18 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Photographer's Frustrationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-17/photographers-frustration/A bird photographer shows his frustration at the non-arrival of the main attraction: a kingfisher.Tue, 17 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Balloon Sellerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-16/balloon-seller/Mon, 16 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Sisters in Arkhangelskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-15/sisters-arkhangelsk/Sun, 15 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Underwater Lovehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-14/underwater-love/Sat, 14 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Street in Kathmanduhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-13/street-kathmandu/Fri, 13 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Reading Momenthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-12/reading-moment/Thu, 12 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000"I'm Not Here!"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-11/im-not-here/Wed, 11 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Forgottenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-10/forgotten/A Buddha mask and scriptures lie forgotten in a monastery.Tue, 10 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Mother and Her Babyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-09/mother-and-her-baby/Mon, 09 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000By the Slicehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-08/by-the-slice/Sun, 08 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Footsteps in the Sandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-07/footsteps-sand/Sat, 07 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Driftwood Beachhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-06/driftwood-beach/Fri, 06 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Inquisitivehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-05/inquisitive/Thu, 05 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Demandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-04/demand/Wed, 04 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Cormorant Fishermanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-03/cormorant-fisherman/Tue, 03 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Balloons Over Göreme Valleyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-02/balloons-over-goreme-valley/Mon, 02 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +00001001 Shoeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-02-01/1001-shoes/Sun, 01 Feb 2015 08:00:00 +0000Young Surma Boyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-31/young-surma-boy/Boy from the Surma tribe, covered in body paintSat, 31 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Safe in Mother's Armshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-30/safe-mothers-arms/Fri, 30 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Dancing Shadowhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-29/dancing-shadow/Six-year-old Poli works in a residential house in Chittagong. When she hears a famous song from the movies playing outside, she cannot contain her joy and begins to dance.Thu, 29 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Construction Workerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-28/construction-worker/Wed, 28 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Ali and His Dromedaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-27/ali-and-his-dromedary/A man rides a dromedary on the beach near Essaouira, a late-18th-century fortified town overlooking the sea.Tue, 27 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Fire Dragonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-26/fire-dragon/Farmers celebrate the spring harvest.Mon, 26 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Yak Attackhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-25/yak-attack/Riders drive yaks up a hill.Sun, 25 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Art and the Artisthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-24/art-and-artist/Sat, 24 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Camel Merchanthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-23/camel-merchant/A camel merchant pauses near Pushkar Fair in RajasthanFri, 23 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Village by the Waterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-22/chinese-village-water/Thu, 22 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Collecting Water Lilieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-21/collecting-water-lilies/During the floating season in Vietnam's Mekong Delta, wild water lilies grow everywhere in rice fields covered by water. They are processed into special dishes such as salads and sour soup with fish.Wed, 21 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Bored Marmothttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-20/bored-marmot/Tue, 20 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Joy of Childrenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-19/children-run-joy/Mon, 19 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Holi Festival of Colorshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-18/holi-festival-colors/Sun, 18 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Leaping Lionesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-17/leaping-lioness/A lioness charges through shallow waters towards a herd of buffalo.Sat, 17 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Potter's Handshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-16/potters-hands/Fri, 16 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Making Spice Pastehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-15/making-spice-paste/An elderly, tribal woman makes spice paste.Thu, 15 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Cleaninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-14/cleaning/Wed, 14 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Woman With Cigarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-13/woman-cigar/A woman smokes a cigar at a local market.Tue, 13 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Men in the Rice Paddyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-12/men-rice-paddy/Mon, 12 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Sunrise Craneshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-11/sunrise-cranes/Sunrise dissipates morning fog as sandhill cranes walk through Isenberg Crane Reserve.Sun, 11 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000"Wait, Guys!"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-10/wait-guys/A gentoo penguin with a pigment deficiency known as leucism shuffles across the ice. Sat, 10 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000The Vase Makerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-09/vase-maker/Fri, 09 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Frozen in Thoughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-08/frozen-thought/Long exposure shows movement in the Golden Temple, a central place of worship for Sikhs around the world, as well as the stillness of those deep in thought.Thu, 08 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Keşkekhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-07/keskek/Turkish women stir cauldrons of <i><a href="http://www.unesco.org/culture/ich/index.php?RL=00388" target="_blank">keşkek</a></i>, a wheat and meat dish prepared for weddings, circumcisions and religious holidays. Wed, 07 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Human Linehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-06/human-line/Every day, dozens of Hindus meet at the ghat, or riverfront steps leading to the banks of the Ganges River, to show reverence for and spiritually connect with the divine—an act known as <i>puja</i>.Tue, 06 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Making of Lord Krishnahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-05/making-lord-krishna/Editor's Note: A child has her face painted in the likeness of Lord Krishna, one of the most revered gods of the Hindus. During the Gajan festival, which takes place for one month at the end of the Bengali calendar, devotees seek divine blessings and wish fulfillment for the upcoming year.Mon, 05 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Fishing Ballethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-04/fishing-ballet/Sun, 04 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Naga Monkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-02/naga-monk/A <i>sadhu</i>, or holy man, calls for prayer.Fri, 02 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Storm Break in Zion Canyonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2015-01-01/storm-break-zion-canyon/Thu, 01 Jan 2015 08:00:00 +0000Strengthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-12-31/strength/Women return home from a day's work in the jungle.Wed, 31 Dec 2014 08:00:00 +0000