Photos | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/photos/RSS feed for the photosenFri, 24 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Anolis capitohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-24/anolis-capito/Fri, 24 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Sunset Dancehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-23/sunset-dance/Dassanech tribe dance on the bank of Omo RiverThu, 23 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000The Brave Riderhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-22/brave-rider/Wed, 22 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Ravenel Bridge at Duskhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-21/ravenel-bridge-dusk/Tue, 21 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Of The Godshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-20/gods/Godafoss waterfall in Iceland, or Waterfall of the GodsMon, 20 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000"I Just Cannot Believe It"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-19/i-just-cannot-believe-it/Sun, 19 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Sunrise Steeplehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-18/sunrise-steeple/Sat, 18 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Fade Into Darknesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-17/fade-darkness/A manta ray emerges from the deep.Fri, 17 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Rice Terrace Sunsethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-16/rice-terrace-sunset/Two farmers hunt for frogs at sunset on a rice terrace.Thu, 16 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Valley Viewhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-15/valley-view/Wed, 15 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Local Healerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-14/local-healer/Kormodo Halidu is a traditional healer in the Sahel region of Burkina Faso.Tue, 14 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Focushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-13/focus/A mountain lion moves through the snow.Mon, 13 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Pier in Paradisehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-12/pier-paradise/Sun, 12 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Cuban Bluehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-11/cuban-blue/Sat, 11 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Dock Workerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-10/dock-worker/Fri, 10 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Eagle Eyehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-09/eagle-eye/Thu, 09 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Tufa Towershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-08/tufa-towers/Wed, 08 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Lemur Leaf Froghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-07/lemur-leaf-frog/Rare daytime sighting of the critically endangered Agalychnis lemurTue, 07 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Freezing Painshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-06/freezing-pains/Pangong Tso, a high-altitude brackish lake on the India-Tibet border, in winterMon, 06 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Leaf After Rainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-05/leaf-after-rain/Sun, 05 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Footsteps to the Skyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-04/footsteps-sky/Sat, 04 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Rainy Day Flighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-03/rainy-day-flight/Fri, 03 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Grassland Foghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-02/grassland-fog/Thu, 02 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Milky Way Over Second Beachhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-10-01/milky-way-over-second-beach/This photo received the most votes in September in the <a href="http://wilderness.smithsonian.com/vote/vote-180952419/">Wilderness Forever Readers' Choice competition</a>. Vote for the October winner <a href="http://wilderness.smithsonian.com/vote/vote-180952419/">here</a>, and see the full show at the Natural History Museum in Washington, D.C. on view through summer 2015. Photographed at Second Beach in Olympic Wilderness, WA.Wed, 01 Oct 2014 07:00:00 +0000Swimming With Friendshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-30/sharing-pond/Tue, 30 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Basel Nighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-29/basel-night/With a view of Mittlere Brücke (Middle Bridge)Mon, 29 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Silver Rock Lagoonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-28/silver-rock-lagoon/Sun, 28 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Woman Watches City http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-27/woman-watches-city/Sat, 27 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Cowboy Silhouettehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-26/cowboy-silhouette/Fri, 26 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Baobab With Star Trailshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-25/baobab-star-trails/Thu, 25 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Langdale Sunrisehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-24/langdale-sunrise/Wed, 24 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Nudibranch and Emperor Shrimphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-23/nudibranch-and-emperor-shrimp/Tue, 23 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Soul Searchinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-22/soul-searching/Mon, 22 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Reflectionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-21/reflection/Sun, 21 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Up Close and Personalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-20/close-and-personal/Sat, 20 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Three Faceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-19/three-faces/Fri, 19 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Mount Whitney by Morning Lighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-18/mount-whitney-morning-light/Morning light illuminates the 14,505-foot peak of Mount Whitney in the eastern Sierra NevadaThu, 18 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Disturbancehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-17/disturbance/Wed, 17 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Listeninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-16/village-discussion/Tue, 16 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Mud Wrestlinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-15/mud-wrestling/Mon, 15 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Florida Morninghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-14/florida-morning/Sun, 14 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Man in Costumehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-13/man-costume/A man dressed as the Hindu deity Lord HanumanSat, 13 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Portrait of a Kinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-12/portrait-king/Fri, 12 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Ghost of Mining Pasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-11/ghost-mining-past/Thu, 11 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Antelope Canyonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-10/antelope-canyon/Wed, 10 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Navigating Technologyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-09/navigating-technology/Tue, 09 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Relaxed Red Foxhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-08/relaxed-red-fox/Mon, 08 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Mentawai Huntershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-07/mentawai-hunters/Sun, 07 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Ballooning in Baganhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-06/ballooning-bagan/Sat, 06 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Family Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-05/family-time/Fri, 05 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Local Characterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-04/local-character/Thu, 04 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Shepherd at Sunsethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-03/sherpherd-sunset/Wed, 03 Sep 2014 07:00:00 +0000Inle Lake Fisherman http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-02/inle-lake-fisherman/Tue, 02 Sep 2014 04:00:00 +0000Stroll Through Fushimi Inari Shrinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-09-01/stroll-fushimi-inari-shrine/Mon, 01 Sep 2014 04:00:00 +0000Train Hopping (or "Texas, Ho!")http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-31/train-hopping-texas/Sun, 31 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Abandoned Farm Househttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-30/abandoned-farm-house/Sat, 30 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Baby Honeybeehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-29/baby-honeybee/Fri, 29 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Colorful Carnival in Olindahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-28/colorful-carnival-olinda/Thu, 28 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Mardi Gras Madnesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-27/mardi-gras-madness/Wed, 27 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Sailfish Skips Schoolhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-26/sailfish-goes-school/Tue, 26 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Small Momentshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-25/small-moments/Mon, 25 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Iguana Encounterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-24/iguana-encounter/Sun, 24 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Lindisfarne Castle http://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-23/lindisfarne-castle/Sat, 23 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Pink Peek-A-Boohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-22/pink-peek-boo/Fri, 22 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Fishermen on Stiltshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-21/fishermen-on-stilts/Thu, 21 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Jellyfish Vienshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-20/Jellyfish-Veins/Wed, 20 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Bighorn in the Rockieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-19/bighorn-rockies/Tue, 19 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Beautiful Vietnam Valleyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-18/beautiful-vietnam-valley/Mon, 18 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Circle of Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-17/circle-life/Sun, 17 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Okavango Skyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-16/okavango-sky/Sat, 16 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Cattle Skullhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-15/cattle-skull/Fri, 15 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Going for a Climbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-14/going-climb/Thu, 14 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Ruins of a Churchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-13/ruins-church/Wed, 13 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Fire in the Mountainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-12/fire-mountain/Tue, 12 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Chin State, Myanmarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-11/chin-state-myanmar/Mon, 11 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000The Hunt is Onhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-10/hunt/Sun, 10 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Gray Sky Ghost Townhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-09/gray-sky-ghost-town/Sat, 09 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Leopards on the Prowlhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-08/leopards-prowl/Fri, 08 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Preparing a Meal for the Monkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-07/preparing-meal-monks/Thu, 07 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Caterpillar Building a Cocoonhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-06/caterpillar-building-cocoon/Wed, 06 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Sankranthi Harvest Festivalhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-05/sankranthi-harvest-festival/Tue, 05 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Tangled Trunkshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-04/tangled-trunks/Mon, 04 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Mystical Morning in Myanmarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-03/mystical-morning-myanmar/Sun, 03 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Baby Octopus Rolls the Dicehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-02/baby-octopus-rolls-dice/Sat, 02 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Alpe di Siusihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-08-01/alpe-di-sius/Fri, 01 Aug 2014 07:00:00 +0000Fishing by Lamplighthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-07-31/fishing-lamplight/Thu, 31 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000A Nurturing Dragonflyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-07-30/nurturing-dragonfly/Wed, 30 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000Neck Scratchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-07-29/neck-scratch/Tue, 29 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000Nevada Impalahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-07-28/nevada-impala/Mon, 28 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000Chambered Nautilushttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/photo-contest/2014-07-27/chambered-nautilus/Sun, 27 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000