Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000There Are 120 Years of Lakota History on This Calendarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/120-years-lakota-history-on-calendar-180953641/The visual recording of life in the nation sheds light on a vanished cultureWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How to Create a Virtual Organismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-create-virtual-organism-180953645/Through OpenWorm, scientists are hoping to allow anyone with a computer to unlock the secrets of animal behaviorWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Will the Search for Amelia Earhart Ever End?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/will-search-for-amelia-earhart-ever-end-180953646/Nearly eight decades after she disappeared in the South Pacific, the aviator continues to spark intense passion—and controversyWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000“Descent of Man”, a New Poem by Timothy Steelehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/descent-man-new-poem-timothy-steele-180953649/The award-winning poet penned this new piece about evolutionWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How Australia Put Evolution on Darwin’s Mindhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/australia-put-evolution-darwins-mind-180953651/The famous naturalist’s revolutionary theory first took shape not in the Galápagos but in the primeval Blue MountainsWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Did Civil War Soldiers Have PTSD?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/ptsd-civil-wars-hidden-legacy-180953652/One hundred and fifty years later, historians are discovering some of the earliest known cases of post-traumatic stress disorderWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000When Texas Was at the Bottom of the Seahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/when-texas-was-bottom-sea-180953653/A hike to the “top of Texas,” the world’s most famous fossil reef, leads to a new sense of the sublimeWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Want to Excite Your Inner Dinosaur Fan? Pack Your Bags for Albertahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/want-excite-inner-dinosaur-fan-pack-bags-for-alberta-180953654/Canada’s badlands are the place to see fantastic dinosaur fossils (and kitsch)—and eye-opening new evidence about the eve of their fallWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Unpublished Photos by Gordon Parks Bring a Nuanced View of 1950s Black Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/unpublished-photos-gordon-parks-bring-nuanced-view-1950s-black-america-180953660/An exhibit in Boston highlights unpublished photos from the acclaimed <i>Life</i> magazine photographerWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-January-2015-180953629/From our readersWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Monopoly Was Designed to Teach the 99% About Income Inequalityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/monopoly-was-designed-teach-99-about-income-inequality-180953630/The story you’ve heard about the creation of the famous board game is far from trueWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000What Does “Happy New Year” Even Really Mean?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-does-happy-new-year-even-really-mean-180953633/Physicists engage in a strange debate about whether time really passesWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Illustrious History of Misquoting Winston Churchillhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/illustrious-history-misquoting-winston-churchill-180953634/Saying exactly what Churchill said isn’t easy—or cheap Wed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Why the Leatherback Turtle Has a Skylight in its Headhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-leatherback-turtle-skylight-head-180953635/How do animals with poor vision see in dark locales?Wed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How Did Right-Handedness Evolve? And More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-did-right-handedness-evolve-and-more-questions-our-readers-180953636/You asked, we answeredWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Is String Theory About to Unravel?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/string-theory-about-unravel-180953637/Evidence that the universe is made of strings has been elusive for 30 years, but the theory's mathematical insights continue to have an alluring pullWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Radical Paradox of Martin Luther King’s Devotion to Nonviolencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-weve-forgotten-about-martin-luther-king-devotion-nonviolence-180953639/Biographer Taylor Branch makes a timely argument about civil right leader’s true legacyWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000These are the Forgotten Places in Your Neighborhood, Paintedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/these-forgotten-places-neighborhood-painted-180953448/Artist Kim Cadmus Owens celebrates the places we ignoreWed, 03 Dec 2014 16:28:06 +0000The Roosevelt Family Built a New York Coffee Chain 50 Years Before Starbucks http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/roosevelt-family-built-new-york-coffee-chain-50-years-starbucks-180953398/Teddy Roosevelt’s children brought fresh-roasted beans and European coffeehouse culture to ManhattanThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Controversial Afterlife of King Tuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/controversial-afterlife-king-tut-180953400/A frenzy of conflicting scientific analyses have made the famous pharaoh more mysterious than everThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000These Intense Photos of Lion-Tailed Macaques Will Turn You Into a Conservationisthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/these-intense-photos-lion-tailed-macaques-will-turn-you-conservationist-180953401/A few thousand macaques still exist in the wild—but for how much longer?Thu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000Why the SR-71 Blackbird is the Epitome of Cold War Spycrafthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/why-sr-71-blackbird-epitome-cold-war-spycraft-180953402/The sleek and shadowy plane still commands awe 50 years after its first test flightThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Horrific Sand Creek Massacre Will Be Forgotten No Morehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/horrific-sand-creek-massacre-will-be-forgotten-no-more-180953403/The opening of a national historic site in Colorado helps restore to public memory one of the worst atrocities ever perpetrated on Native AmericansThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Mystery of Why This Dangerous Sand Dune Swallowed a Boyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/mystery-why-dangerous-sand-dune-swallowed-boy-180953404/When a boy suddenly disappeared into a sand dune, a scientist embarked on a quest to find out where he wentThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Story Behind Thomas Hart Benton’s Incredible Masterworkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/story-behind-thomas-hart-bentons-incredible-masterwork-1-180953405/The famed artist drew on his extensive travels to paint “America Today”Thu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000Discussion http://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-december-1-180953388/From our readersThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000It Could Have Been Reginald the Red-Nosed Reindeer http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/it-could-have-been-reginald-red-nosed-reindeer-180953390/Inside the very shiny life of a 75-year-old marketing gimmickThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Origin of the Number Zerohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/origin-number-zero-180953392/Deep in the jungle, an intrepid scholar locates a symbol of power and mysteryThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000Why Do Humans Have Thumbs?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-do-humans-have-thumbs-180953393/There’s a never-ending stream of theories about Homo sapiens’ most important digit Thu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000A New Canal Through Central America Could Have Devastating Consequenceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/new-canal-through-central-america-could-have-devastating-consequences-180953394/The ramifications of the proposed route have environmentalists worried, and for good reasonThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000What’s the Difference Between Streets and Avenues and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/whats-difference-between-streets-and-avenues-and-more-questions-our-readers-180953395/You asked, we answeredThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000When Pedestrians Ruled the Streetshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/when-pedestrians-ruled-streets-180953396/The driverless car may take a while to catch on—just as the automobile did a century agoThu, 20 Nov 2014 19:00:00 +0000Bill Nye on the Risks of Not Debating With Creationistshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/bill-nye-risks-not-debating-creationists-180953249/Bill Nye the Science Guy has a book out on evolution. Here’s what he has to sayThu, 06 Nov 2014 14:40:18 +0000