Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenFri, 26 May 2017 15:20:13 +0000New Photos Reveal What's Left Behind When a Rocket Travels to Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/photos-reveal-left-behind-rocket-travels-space-180963242/Michael Soluri captures these strangely evocative traces of America’s heroic extraterrestrial journeysFri, 26 May 2017 15:20:13 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/jun17_fob_discussion_article-180963239/Reader responses to our May issue Fri, 26 May 2017 15:01:25 +0000When a Jet-Powered Car Raced in the Indianapolis 500http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/jet-powered-car-raced-indy-500-180963240/The racecar tore up the track and dazzled fans at the legendary competition—and then vanished Fri, 26 May 2017 15:00:58 +0000Stephen Talty's Guide to Culturehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/stephen-talty-guide-culture-180963298/The detective novelist offers his picks for movies, tv shows and Twitter accounts to followFri, 26 May 2017 13:42:53 +0000How Does Earth's Geomagnetic Field Work?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-earth-geomagnetic-field-work-180963302/You asked, we answeredThu, 25 May 2017 15:00:45 +0000The Future of Zero-Gravity Living Is Herehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/future-zero-gravity-living-is-here-180963243/Entrepreneurs predict there will be thousands of us living and working in space. Our correspondent takes off to see what that feels likeThu, 25 May 2017 14:59:30 +0000Bjarke Ingels Makes the Impossible Concretehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/bjarke-ingels-makes-impossible-concrete-180963301/The star architect is mapping out a new daring plan for the SmithsonianWed, 24 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000How Mastiffs Became the World’s Top Dogshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/mastiffs-worlds-top-dogs-180963300/The large, furry dogs of Tibet took an evolutionary shortcut millenia ago Wed, 24 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000Can Human Mortality Really Be Hacked?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/human-mortality-hacked-life-extension-180963241/Backed by the digital fortunes of Silicon Valley, biotech companies are brazenly setting out to “cure” agingWed, 24 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000What the Unisphere Tells Us About America at the Dawn of the Space Agehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unisphere-america-dawn-space-age-180963244/A towering tribute to the future past—and one man’s egoTue, 23 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000A Visit to Seoul Brings Our Writer Face-to-Face With the Future of Robotshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/visit-seoul-writer-future-robots-180963238/In the world’s most futuristic city, a tech-obsessed novelist confronts the invasion of mesmerizing machinesTue, 23 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000Joe Pyne Was America's First Shock Jockhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/joe-pyne-first-shock-jock-180963237/Newly discovered tapes resurrect the angry ghost of Joe Pyne, the original outrageous talk show hostTue, 23 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000One Girl's Mishap Led to the Creation of the Antibiotic Bacitracinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/one-girl-mishap-creation-antibiotic-bacitracin-180963236/Margaret Treacy was the namesake for a breakthrough medicationTue, 23 May 2017 15:00:00 +0000