Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-march-2015-180954327/From our readersThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Blood Relics From the Lincoln Assassinationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-blood-relics-from-the-lincoln-assassination-180954331/Even now, 150 years later, objects from the murder of the president provide a powerful link to the eventThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Who Can Save the Grand Canyon?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/who-can-save-the-grand-canyon-180954329/A holy war is being fought over a proposal to build a $500 million commercial development, on the rim of America's natural treasureThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000What the Newspapers Said When Lincoln Was Killedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-the-newspapers-said-when-lincoln-was-killed-180954325/The initial reaction to the president's death was a wild mixture of grief, exultation, vengefulness and fearThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Spiritualist Who Warned Lincoln Was Also Booth's Drinking Buddyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-spiritualist-who-warned-lincoln-was-also-booths-drinking-buddy-180954317/What did Charles Colchester know and when did he know it?Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Were the Terracotta Warriors Based on Actual People?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/were-terracotta-warriors-based-on-actual-people-180954321/To answer that question, archaeologists are looking at variations in the soldiers' ears Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Are QR Codes Safe and Other Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/are-qr-codes-safe-and-other-questions-from-readers-180954334/ You asked, we answeredThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000They Found Richard III. So Now What?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/they-found-richard-third-so-now-what-180954322/What the remains of the "hunchback" king can teach us about other English royals Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Bringing the Wood Bison Back to Alaskahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/bringing-wood-bison-back-to-alaska-180954326/ Once nearly extinct, the subspecies is set to return to the United StatesThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Someone Built a Bold New Font Out of Buildingshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/someone-built-new-font-out-of-buildings-180954330/Created out of aerial photography, you'll never guess where the "O" comes from Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000How the Photocopier Changed the Way We Worked—and Playedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/duplication-nation-3D-printing-rise-180954332/Decades before 3-D printers brought manufacturing closer to home, copiers transformed offices, politics and artThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Closest Source We Have to Really Knowing John Wilkes Booth Is His Sisterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-closest-source-we-have-knowing-john-wilkes-booth-is-his-sister-180954328/In a post-assassination memoir, Asia Booth Clarke recalled her brother's passion, his patriotism and his last words to herThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000When Steve Fossett Became the Magellan of the Skieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/when-steve-fossett-became-magellan-of-skies-180954323/Ten years ago, the pioneering adventurer took off in pursuit of a new record in circumnavigationThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Bjork Is Getting a Retrospective at the Museum of Modern Arthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/bjork-retrospective-museum-modern-art-180954320/The Icelandic singer's iconic style will be on view at the New York institutionThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-february-2015-180953957/From our readersWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Unbelievable Success of the American Steamshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unbelievable-success-american-steamship-180953963/How “Fulton’s Folly” transformed the nation’s landscapeWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Wrists of Birds Reveal Evolution Undoing Itselfhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/wrists-birds-reveal-evolution-undoing-itself-180953964/Contrary to earlier claims, a new study shows that evolution may be reversibleWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Do Wolves Wag Their Tails Like Dogs and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/do-wolves-wag-their-tails-dogs-and-more-questions-our-readers-180953968/Other questions ask if DNA testing has led to the redesignation of speciesWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The International Space Station Will Soon Be Able to Measure Forest Density Using Lasershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/international-space-station-will-soon-be-able-measure-forest-density-using-lasers-180953970/Strengthening the planet’s forests is one critical way to combat climate changeWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Why Footbinding Persisted in China for a Millenniumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/why-footbinding-persisted-china-millennium-180953971/Despite the pain, millions of Chinese women stood firm in their devotion to the traditionWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Can the Siberian Tiger Make a Comeback?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/can-siberian-tiger-make-comeback-180953973/In Russia’s Far East, an orphaned female tiger is the test case in an experimental effort to save one of the most endangered animals on earthWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000America Has a Tiger Problem And No One’s Sure How to Solve Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/america-has-tiger-problem-and-no-ones-sure-how-solve-it-180953974/No one even knows how many of the big cats are in the United StatesWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000A New View of the Battle of Gallipoli, One of the Bloodiest Conflicts of World War Ihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/new-view-battle-gallipoli-one-bloodiest-conflicts-world-war-i-180953975/The Turks are now rethinking their historic victory in the terrible battleWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Why Malcolm X Still Speaks Truth to Powerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/why-malcolm-x-still-speaks-truth-power-180953976/Fifty years after his death, Malcolm X remains a towering figure whose passionate writings have enduring resonanceWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Exploring the <i>Titanic</i> of the Ancient Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/exploring-titanic-ancient-world-180953977/Scientists search the wine-dark sea for the remains of a ship that sank 2,000 years ago—carrying what is believed to be the world’s first computerWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Decoding the Antikythera Mechanism, the First Computerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/decoding-antikythera-mechanism-first-computer-180953979/Hidden inscriptions offer new clues to the origins of a mysterious astronomical mechanismWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000 Who Was the Marquis de Sade?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/who-was-marquis-de-sade-180953980/Even in the age of <i>Fifty Shades of Grey</i>, the 18th-century libertine is as shocking as everWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000What Makes Humans Different? Fiction and Cooperationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/what-makes-humans-different-fiction-and-cooperation-180953986/Historian Yuval Noah Harari previews his book on the past and future of Homo sapiensWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000