Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000These Are the Extinct Animals We Can, and Should, Resurrecthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/these-are-extinct-animals-we-can-should-resurrect-180954955/Biologist Beth Shapiro offers a guide to the science and ethics of using DNA for de-extinctionThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Nylons' Run is Overhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-nylon-run-over-180954954/They were a craze when they debuted 75 years ago, but have since been replaced by new social normsThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Beautiful Drawings by Darwin's Artist-in-Residencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/beautiful-drawings-darwins-artist-residence-180954953/On the famous HMS Beagle voyage, painter Conrad Martens depicted the sights along the journeyThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-may-2015-180954952/Letters from our readersThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Soon, Your Doctor Could Print a Human Organ on Demandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/soon-doctor-print-human-organ-on-demand-180954951/At a laboratory in North Carolina, scientists are working furiously to create a future in which replacement organs come from a machineThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Personal Writings of Arthur C. Clarke Reveal the Evolution of "2001: A Space Odyssey"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/personal-writings-arthur-c-clarke-reveal-evolution-2001-space-odyssey-180954967/Works donated from the author's archives in Sri Lanka include letters to Kubrick and an early draft of his most famous novelThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Taking Stock of 75 Years of McDonald'shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/taking-stock-75-years-mcdonalds-180954950/Has the original fast-food restaurant finally reached the end of its success?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The U.N. Uses Satellites to Track Humanitarian Crises Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/united-nations-uses-satellites-track-humanitarian-crisis-180954966/With help from George Clooney, the United nations embarks on a new frontier in monitoring the world from aboveThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Artist Transforms Beach Trash Into Stunning, Majestic Imageshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/this-artist-turns-beach-trash-into-stunning-majestic-images-180954949/Mandy Barker didn't have spend too much time on the shores to collect enough debris for her masterpiecesThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Decoding the Deadly Secret of Snake Venomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/decoding-deadly-secret-snake-venom-180954965/The world's animals have developed an incredible variety of venoms. But how?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Brain-to-Brain Communication Is No Longer Unthinkablehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/why-brain-brain-communication-no-longer-unthinkable-180954948/Exploring uncharted territory, neuroscientists are making strides with human subjects who can "talk" directly by using their mindsThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Extreme Makeover: ISS Editionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/extreme-makeover-iss-edition-180954964/How to give the International Space Station a little bit more roomThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Filipino Cuisine Was Asian Fusion Before "Asian Fusion" Existedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/filipino-cuisine-asian-fusion-180954947/A wave of Filipino families in Las Vegas is putting a Pacific spin on fried chicken, hot dogs and Sin City itselfThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finding a Voice for Iranian Womenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/finding-voice-iranian-women-180954963/Artist Shirin Neshat uses Persian poetry to reveal the conflict between tradition and modernityThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Quest to Upload Your Mind Into the Digital Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/quest-upload-mind-into-digital-space-180954946/The idea is about as science fiction as it gets. But surprising progress in neuroscience has some entrepreneurs ready to press "send"Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Russell Crowe Takes a New Look at an Old Battlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/russell-crowe-takes-new-look-at-battle-gallipoli-180954962/The Australian actor/director's controversial film views the legendary Gallipoli from the Turkish sideThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How to Predict a Famine Before It Even Strikeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/predict-famine-before-strikes-180954945/Hundred of miles about Earth, orbiting satellites are becoming a bold new weapon in the age-old fight against drought, disease and deathThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Stroke of Genius Could Allow You to Write With Your Brainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/stroke-genius-could-allow-write-brain-180954961/Not Impossible Labs has developed a breakthrough approach to communicationThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Hoverboard Fantasy Comes True, Just As "Back to the Future" Predictedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/hoverboard-fantasy-comes-true-back-to-the-future-180954960/Hold onto your flux capacitors; the future is hereThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How Do Seals Find Their Prey and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/seals-find-prey-more-questions-readers-180954959/You asked, we answeredThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Protecting the World's Last Isolated Communities From Abovehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/protecting-worlds-last-isolated-communities-from-above-180954958/Advances in satellite technology mean that untouched villages can remain that wayThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000We're Not That Far From Being Able to Grow Human Bones in a Labhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/grow-human-bones-lab-180954957/The company EpiBone could be on the verge of a major breakthroughThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How Farms Became the New Hot Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-farms-became-new-hot-suburb-180954956/A new real estate trend has developments planted around working farms. But are these communities sustainable?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Solar-Powered Plane is Currently Circumnavigating the World http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/solar-powered-plane-circumnavigate-world-180954587/With 17,000 solar cells in its wing and tail, the aircraft relies solely on sunshine to keep its motors runningMon, 23 Mar 2015 18:35:48 +0000New Works by Nam June Paik Are Discovered at the Smithsonian American Art Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/new-works-nam-june-paik-discovered-smithsonian-american-art-museum-180954571/While inventorying the massive archival materials left by the artist, a researcher comes across forgotten works of artMon, 23 Mar 2015 13:00:00 +0000The Underappreciated and Forgotten Sites of the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/underappreciated-forgotten-sites-civil-war-180954579/To commemorate the end of the war 150 years ago, here are fascinating locales that remind us of the conflict's sprawling impactThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:50:47 +0000Can Returning Farmland to the Wild Help Bumblebees in Crisis?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/returning-farmland-wild-help-bumblebees-180954584/Even if only a small percentage of current farmland became wild meadows, it could bring populations back to previous levelsThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Who Determined That the Sun Was a Star and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/who-determined-sun-star-more-questions-from-readers-180954657/You asked, we answeredThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Discussion April 2015http://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-april-2015-180954658/From our readersThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Remembering the Astrodome, the Eighth Wonder of the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/remembering-astrodome-eighth-wonder-world-180954585/Fifty years after its grand opening, the spectre of the Houston stadium still looms largeThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Terrible Beauty of Glaciers Melting and Oceans Risinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/terrible-beauty-glaciers-melting-oceans-rising-180954588/Daniel Beltra's aerial photographs reveal the human impact on natureThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000These Bats Use Sonar to Jam the Signals of Their Rivalshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/these-bats-use-sonar-jam-signals-rivals-180954583/How hungry Mexican free-tails sabotage the competitionThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Rome's Very Short Street With a Long, Magnificent Historyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/rome-very-short-street-180954580/Taste the food life on the Via Margutta, once home to Fellini and since 1953, the scene of Americans' sweetest Roman HolidayThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Retracing the Footsteps of China's Patron Saint of Tourismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/retracing-footsteps-china-patron-saint-tourism-180954581/Travelers are discovering the Ming dynasty's own Indiana Jones, an adventurer who dedicated his life to exploring his country's Shangri-LasThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Marquis de Lafayette Sails Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/marquis-lafayette-sails-again-180954590/Now that the ship that the Frenchman took on his 1780 trip to America has been rebuilt, its time to revisit his role in historyThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finally, the Beauty of France's Chauvet Cave Makes its Grand Public Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/france-chauvet-cave-makes-grand-debut-180954582/A high-tech recreation of the immortal artworks shines a new light on the dawn of human imaginationThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The 11 Most Endearing Small Streets Worth Visitinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/top-ten-small-streets-worth-visiting-180954589/These tiny corridors around the world invite you in with their charm and surprising level of bustleThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000