Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-february-2015-180953957/From our readersWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Unbelievable Success of the American Steamshiphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unbelievable-success-american-steamship-180953963/How “Fulton’s Folly” transformed the nation’s landscapeWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Wrists of Birds Reveal Evolution Undoing Itselfhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/wrists-birds-reveal-evolution-undoing-itself-180953964/Contrary to earlier claims, a new study shows that evolution may be reversibleWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Do Wolves Wag Their Tails Like Dogs and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/do-wolves-wag-their-tails-dogs-and-more-questions-our-readers-180953968/Other questions ask if DNA testing has led to the redesignation of speciesWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000The International Space Station Will Soon Be Able to Measure Forest Density Using Lasershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/international-space-station-will-soon-be-able-measure-forest-density-using-lasers-180953970/Strengthening the planet’s forests is one critical way to combat climate changeWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Why Footbinding Persisted in China for a Millenniumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/why-footbinding-persisted-china-millennium-180953971/Despite the pain, millions of Chinese women stood firm in their devotion to the traditionWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Can the Siberian Tiger Make a Comeback?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/can-siberian-tiger-make-comeback-180953973/In Russia’s Far East, an orphaned female tiger is the test case in an experimental effort to save one of the most endangered animals on earthWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000America Has a Tiger Problem And No One’s Sure How to Solve Ithttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/america-has-tiger-problem-and-no-ones-sure-how-solve-it-180953974/No one even knows how many of the big cats are in the United StatesWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000A New View of the Battle of Gallipoli, One of the Bloodiest Conflicts of World War Ihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/new-view-battle-gallipoli-one-bloodiest-conflicts-world-war-i-180953975/The Turks are now rethinking their historic victory in the terrible battleWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Why Malcolm X Still Speaks Truth to Powerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/why-malcolm-x-still-speaks-truth-power-180953976/Fifty years after his death, Malcolm X remains a towering figure whose passionate writings have enduring resonanceWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Exploring the <i>Titanic</i> of the Ancient Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/exploring-titanic-ancient-world-180953977/Scientists search the wine-dark sea for the remains of a ship that sank 2,000 years ago—carrying what is believed to be the world’s first computerWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Decoding the Antikythera Mechanism, the First Computerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/decoding-antikythera-mechanism-first-computer-180953979/Hidden inscriptions offer new clues to the origins of a mysterious astronomical mechanismWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000 Who Was the Marquis de Sade?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/who-was-marquis-de-sade-180953980/Even in the age of <i>Fifty Shades of Grey</i>, the 18th-century libertine is as shocking as everWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000What Makes Humans Different? Fiction and Cooperationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/what-makes-humans-different-fiction-and-cooperation-180953986/Historian Yuval Noah Harari previews his book on the past and future of Homo sapiensWed, 21 Jan 2015 19:00:00 +0000Want to Excite Your Inner Dinosaur Fan? Pack Your Bags for Albertahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/want-excite-inner-dinosaur-fan-pack-bags-for-alberta-180953654/Canada’s badlands are the place to see fantastic dinosaur fossils (and kitsch)—and eye-opening new evidence about the eve of their fallWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-January-2015-180953629/From our readersWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Unpublished Photos by Gordon Parks Bring a Nuanced View of 1950s Black Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/unpublished-photos-gordon-parks-bring-nuanced-view-1950s-black-america-180953660/An exhibit in Boston highlights unpublished photos from the acclaimed <i>Life</i> magazine photographerWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Monopoly Was Designed to Teach the 99% About Income Inequalityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/monopoly-was-designed-teach-99-about-income-inequality-180953630/The story you’ve heard about the creation of the famous board game is far from trueWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000What Does “Happy New Year” Even Really Mean?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-does-happy-new-year-even-really-mean-180953633/Physicists engage in a strange debate about whether time really passesWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Illustrious History of Misquoting Winston Churchillhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/illustrious-history-misquoting-winston-churchill-180953634/Saying exactly what Churchill said isn’t easy—or cheap Wed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Why the Leatherback Turtle Has a Skylight in its Headhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-leatherback-turtle-skylight-head-180953635/How do animals with poor vision see in dark locales?Wed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How Did Right-Handedness Evolve? And More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-did-right-handedness-evolve-and-more-questions-our-readers-180953636/You asked, we answeredWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Why String Theory Still Offers Hope We Can Unify Physicshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/string-theory-about-unravel-180953637/Evidence that the universe is made of strings has been elusive for 30 years, but the theory's mathematical insights continue to have an alluring pullWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000The Radical Paradox of Martin Luther King’s Devotion to Nonviolencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-weve-forgotten-about-martin-luther-king-devotion-nonviolence-180953639/Biographer Taylor Branch makes a timely argument about civil right leader’s true legacyWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000There Are 120 Years of Lakota History on This Calendarhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/120-years-lakota-history-on-calendar-180953641/The visual recording of life in the nation sheds light on a vanished cultureWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How to Create a Virtual Organismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-create-virtual-organism-180953645/Through OpenWorm, scientists are hoping to allow anyone with a computer to unlock the secrets of animal behaviorWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Will the Search for Amelia Earhart Ever End?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/will-search-for-amelia-earhart-ever-end-180953646/Nearly eight decades after she disappeared in the South Pacific, the aviator continues to spark intense passion—and controversyWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000“Descent of Man”, a New Poem by Timothy Steelehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/descent-man-new-poem-timothy-steele-180953649/The award-winning poet penned this new piece about evolutionWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000How Australia Put Evolution on Darwin’s Mindhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/australia-put-evolution-darwins-mind-180953651/The famous naturalist’s revolutionary theory first took shape not in the Galápagos but in the primeval Blue MountainsWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000Did Civil War Soldiers Have PTSD?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/ptsd-civil-wars-hidden-legacy-180953652/One hundred and fifty years later, historians are discovering some of the earliest known cases of post-traumatic stress disorderWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000When Texas Was at the Bottom of the Seahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/when-texas-was-bottom-sea-180953653/A hike to the “top of Texas,” the world’s most famous fossil reef, leads to a new sense of the sublimeWed, 17 Dec 2014 19:00:00 +0000These are the Forgotten Places in Your Neighborhood, Paintedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/these-forgotten-places-neighborhood-painted-180953448/Artist Kim Cadmus Owens celebrates the places we ignoreWed, 03 Dec 2014 16:28:06 +0000