Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenThu, 21 May 2015 18:20:53 +0000Did This Map Guide Columbus?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/did-this-map-guide-columbus-180955295/Researchers decipher a mystifying 15th-century documentThu, 21 May 2015 18:20:53 +0000Why We'd Be Better Off if Napoleon Never Lost at Waterloohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/we-better-off-napoleon-never-lost-waterloo-180955298/On the bicentennial of the most famous battle in world history, a distinguished historian looks at what could have been Wed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000What Makes the "Lion Whisperer" Roar?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-makes-lion-whisperer-roar-180955290/He's famous for getting dangerously close to his fearsome charges, but what can Kevin Richardson teach us about ethical conservation—and ourselves?Wed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Shaky Science Behind Predicting Earthquakeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/shaky-science-behind-predicting-earthquakes-180955296/A powerful earthquake in Italy killed hundreds of people—and set in motion a legal battle and scientific debate that has kept seismologists on edgeWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000When Colorado Was (And in Many Ways Still Is) the Switzerland of Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/colorado-switzerland-america-180955293/A hundred years ago, city slickers looking for wild times in Rocky Mountain National Park invented a new kind of American vacationWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Ill-Fated History of the Jet Packhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/ill-fated-history-jetpack-180955294/The space-age invention still takes our imaginations on our wild ride Wed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Inside the Daily Lives of Iraq's Kurdshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/inside-daily-lives-iraq-kurds-180955297/America's most important ally in the battle against ISIS is closer than ever to fulfilling their hope of founding a new nationWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/jun15_discussion_article-180955292/Reader responses to our May issueWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Brief History of the Ferris Wheelhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/history-ferris-wheel-180955300/Originally the American answer to the Eiffel Tower, the summertime amusement became a hallmark of summer funWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Scenes From the Calgary Stampedehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/scenes-calgary-stampede-180955304/Noted photographer Richard Phibbs has a new book that sends him back home on the rangeWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Do Humans Have Chins?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-do-humans-have-chins-1-180955299/The most distinctive human feature might be that bony protrusion that made Jay Leno famousWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000When Did Americans Lose Their British Accents And More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/when-did-Americans-Lose-British-accents-ask-smithsonian-180955291/You asked, we answeredWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000One Man's Lifelong Pursuit of Pluto is About to Get Realhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/one-man-lifelong-pursuit-pluto-real-180955303/When the New Horizons spacecraft races by the quasi-planetary body, Alan Stern will have finally met his matchWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000The World's Largest Picture Frame?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/worlds-largest-picture-frame-180955302/The government of Dubai is taking this abstract structure to the next levelWed, 20 May 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finding a Voice for Iranian Womenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/finding-voice-iranian-women-180954963/Artist Shirin Neshat uses Persian poetry to reveal the conflict between tradition and modernityThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Filipino Cuisine Was Asian Fusion Before "Asian Fusion" Existedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/filipino-cuisine-asian-fusion-180954947/A wave of Filipino families in Las Vegas is putting a Pacific spin on fried chicken, hot dogs and Sin City itselfThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Russell Crowe Takes a New Look at an Old Battlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/russell-crowe-takes-new-look-at-battle-gallipoli-180954962/The Australian actor/director's controversial film views the legendary Gallipoli from the Turkish sideThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Quest to Upload Your Mind Into the Digital Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/quest-upload-mind-into-digital-space-180954946/The idea is about as science fiction as it gets. But surprising progress in neuroscience has some entrepreneurs ready to press "send"Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Stroke of Genius Could Allow You to Write With Your Brainhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/stroke-genius-could-allow-write-brain-180954961/Not Impossible Labs has developed a breakthrough approach to communicationThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How to Predict a Famine Before It Even Strikeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/predict-famine-before-strikes-180954945/Hundred of miles about Earth, orbiting satellites are becoming a bold new weapon in the age-old fight against drought, disease and deathThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Hoverboard Fantasy Comes True, Just As "Back to the Future" Predictedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/hoverboard-fantasy-comes-true-back-to-the-future-180954960/Hold onto your flux capacitors; the future is hereThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How Do Seals Find Their Prey and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/seals-find-prey-more-questions-readers-180954959/You asked, we answeredThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Protecting the World's Last Isolated Communities From Abovehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/protecting-worlds-last-isolated-communities-from-above-180954958/Advances in satellite technology mean that untouched villages can remain that wayThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000We're Not That Far From Being Able to Grow Human Bones in a Labhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/grow-human-bones-lab-180954957/The company EpiBone could be on the verge of a major breakthroughThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000How Farms Became the New Hot Suburbhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-farms-became-new-hot-suburb-180954956/A new real estate trend has developments planted around working farms. But are these communities sustainable?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000These Are the Extinct Animals We Can, and Should, Resurrecthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/these-are-extinct-animals-we-can-should-resurrect-180954955/Biologist Beth Shapiro offers a guide to the science and ethics of using DNA for de-extinctionThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Nylons' Run is Overhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-nylon-run-over-180954954/They were a craze when they debuted 75 years ago, but have since been replaced by new social normsThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Beautiful Drawings by Darwin's Artist-in-Residencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/beautiful-drawings-darwins-artist-residence-180954953/On the famous HMS Beagle voyage, painter Conrad Martens depicted the sights along the journeyThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/discussion-may-2015-180954952/Letters from our readersThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Soon, Your Doctor Could Print a Human Organ on Demandhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/soon-doctor-print-human-organ-on-demand-180954951/At a laboratory in North Carolina, scientists are working furiously to create a future in which replacement organs come from a machineThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Personal Writings of Arthur C. Clarke Reveal the Evolution of "2001: A Space Odyssey"http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/personal-writings-arthur-c-clarke-reveal-evolution-2001-space-odyssey-180954967/Works donated from the author's archives in Sri Lanka include letters to Kubrick and an early draft of his most famous novelThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Taking Stock of 75 Years of McDonald'shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/taking-stock-75-years-mcdonalds-180954950/Has the original fast-food restaurant finally reached the end of its success?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The U.N. Uses Satellites to Track Humanitarian Crises Around the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/united-nations-uses-satellites-track-humanitarian-crisis-180954966/With help from George Clooney, the United nations embarks on a new frontier in monitoring the world from aboveThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000This Artist Transforms Beach Trash Into Stunning, Majestic Imageshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/this-artist-turns-beach-trash-into-stunning-majestic-images-180954949/Mandy Barker didn't have spend too much time on the shores to collect enough debris for her masterpiecesThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Decoding the Deadly Secret of Snake Venomhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/decoding-deadly-secret-snake-venom-180954965/The world's animals have developed an incredible variety of venoms. But how?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Brain-to-Brain Communication Is No Longer Unthinkablehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/why-brain-brain-communication-no-longer-unthinkable-180954948/Exploring uncharted territory, neuroscientists are making strides with human subjects who can "talk" directly by using their mindsThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Extreme Makeover: ISS Editionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/extreme-makeover-iss-edition-180954964/How to give the International Space Station a little bit more roomThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000