Magazine | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/magazine/RSS feed for MagazineenTue, 15 Aug 2017 12:00:37 +0000The "Quaker Comet" Was the Greatest Abolitionist You've Never Heard Ofhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/quaker-comet-greatest-abolitionist-never-heard-180964401/Overlooked by historians, Benjamin Lay was one of the nation's first radicals to argue for an end to slaveryTue, 15 Aug 2017 12:00:37 +0000A Newly Discovered Diary Tells the Harrowing Story of the Deadly Halifax Explosionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/newly-discovered-diary-tells-harrowing-story-deadly-halifax-explosion-180964066/On the eve of the disaster’s centennial, a sailor’s 1917 journal details a rare eyewitness account of the massive harbor blastFri, 14 Jul 2017 17:01:27 +0000The Cuban Government Brought New Life to Hollywood Movies With These Vivid Postershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/cuban-government-new-life-hollywood-movies-posters-180963670/ The U.S. embargo didn’t keep Cubans from watching movies they lovedThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:41:21 +0000Discussionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/magazine/julaug2017_discussion-180963736/Feedback from our readersThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000Do Other Animals Have Baby Teeth and More Questions From Our Readershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/do-animals-have-baby-teeth-more-questions-readers-180963688/You asked, we answeredThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000A Pittsburgh Church Holds the Greatest Collection of Relics Outside of the Vaticanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/pittsburgh-church-greatest-collection-relics-outside-vatican-180963680/ Behold the treasures of this tiny neighborhood churchThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000A Legendary Photographer Visits an Isolated Christian Community in Ethiopiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/intrepid-photographer-visits-isolated-christian-community-ethiopia-180963675/High in the mountains of eastern Africa, an ancient way of life continues apaceThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000Explore the Timeless World of Vodou, Deep Within the Caves of Haitihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/explore-timeless-world-vodou-haiti-180963673/ Photographer Troi Anderson captures the religion that has been misunderstood for centuriesThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000Portraits of Faithhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/portraits-of-faith-180963669/ In a world changing faster than ever, the enduring appeal of religious tradition shines in these photographsThu, 29 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000Step Right Up! See the Reinvention of the Great American Circus!http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/reinvention-great-american-circus-180963682/As Ringling Bros. packs up its tent for good, all sorts of newfangled spectacles have sprung up to take its placeWed, 28 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000Racing the Storm: The Story of the Mobile Bay Sailing Disasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/racing-storm-story-mobile-bay-sailing-disaster-180963686/When hurricane-force winds suddenly struck the Bay, they swept more than 100 boaters into one of the worst sailing disasters in modern American historyTue, 27 Jun 2017 15:58:37 +0000Will the Public Ever Get to See the "Dueling Dinosaurs"?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/public-ever-see-dueling-dinosaurs-180963676/America’s most spectacular fossil, found by a plucky Montana rancher, is locked up in a secret storage room. Why?Tue, 27 Jun 2017 15:26:18 +0000Which Books Do Americans Take on Vacation?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/which-books-americans-take-on-vacation-180963677/Our city-by-city breakdown uncovered some surprisesTue, 27 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000What Makes Salt Water Taffy the Perfect Summer Candy?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/what-makes-salt-water-taffy-perfect-summer-candy-180963674/The first families of the sugary treat stir up another season of making history by the bite Tue, 27 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000How (and Where) Did Hannibal Cross the Alps?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/how-hannibal-crossed-the-alps-180963671/ He pulled off one of the greatest military feats ever. Now new scientific evidence points to Hannibal's legendary route to RomeTue, 27 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000From Ptolemy to GPS, the Brief History of Mapshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/brief-history-maps-180963685/ We now have the whole world in our hands, but how did we get here?Mon, 26 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000How GPS Learns to Speak Your Languagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-gps-learns-to-speak-your-language-180963679/A peek into that voice that tells you when and where to turn Mon, 26 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000The Army Veteran Who Became the First to Hike the Entire Appalachian Trailhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/army-veteran-became-first-hike-entire-appalachian-trail-180963678/His journal and hiking boots are in the Smithsonian's National Museum of American HistoryMon, 26 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000What Happened to America's Public Intellectuals?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-happened-americas-public-intellectuals-180963668/ Our nation has always depended on these heavyweights to guide us, but are they still with us, and if so, who are they?Mon, 26 Jun 2017 15:00:00 +0000