Latest articles | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/latest_articles/RSS feed for with the latest articlesenTue, 06 Dec 2016 16:03:37 +0000The Electoral College Has Been Divisive Since Day Onehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/electoral-college-has-been-divisive-day-one-180961171/It has always had the potential for chaos—one that hasn’t been tapped...yetMon, 21 Nov 2016 16:51:56 +0000This Artist Wants to Send a Sculpture of Your Laughs Into Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/artist-wants-send-sculpture-your-laughs-space-180961295/#Laugh is on orbit to become the first art piece created in spaceTue, 06 Dec 2016 16:03:37 +0000How Colombia's Failed Peace Treaty Could Wreak Havoc on Its Diversity-Rich Ecosystemshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-colombias-failed-peace-treaty-could-wreak-havoc-diverse-ecosystems-180960983/A potential influx of legal and illegal mining leaves the country's megadiverse landscapes—and the communities who depend on them—in jeopardyFri, 04 Nov 2016 16:05:47 +0000After 52 Years, the War Between Colombia and the FARC Will End http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/after-52-years-war-between-colombia-and-farc-will-end-180960267/Four out of five of the decades-long conflict's dead were civiliansFri, 26 Aug 2016 18:07:28 +0000The Four Newest Elements Now Have Nameshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/four-newest-elements-now-have-names-180959350/Chemistry governing body officially approves names for the four newest additions to the Periodic TableWed, 08 Jun 2016 20:39:37 +0000The Science of How to Fly Stress-Free Over the Holidayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/fly-stress-free-over-holidays-180953397/From getting to the airport to avoiding lost luggage, a little research can help you have a stress-free plane tripMon, 24 Nov 2014 18:31:06 +0000Sexism Sucks for Everybody, Science Confirmshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/sexism-sucks-everybody-science-confirms-180961178/Adhering to masculine norms can be toxic for men, not to mention everybody elseMon, 21 Nov 2016 20:25:56 +0000How to Save Your Election Day Newspaperhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-to-save-your-election-day-newspaper-1-180948995/Here's what you need to know to preserve your copy of historySat, 08 Nov 2008 13:30:40 +0000A Controversial Museum Tries to Revive the Myth of the Confederacy’s “Lost Cause”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/controversial-museum-tries-revive-myth-confederacys-lost-cause-180960820/The ideology has been used to whitewash slavery’s role in the Civil War for generationsThu, 20 Oct 2016 19:35:23 +0000The Best Places Around the World to See Bats (by the Millions)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-around-world-see-bats-180953185/Bat tourism might sound creepy, but it may be the best way to help bat conservation around the worldFri, 31 Oct 2014 10:00:00 +0000