Latest articles | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/latest_articles/RSS feed for with the latest articlesenFri, 24 Apr 2015 20:34:43 +0000A Kit to Build Your Own Mud Battery and Other Wild Ideas That Just Got Fundedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/kit-mud-battery-wild-ideas-funded-180955095/Also, a campaign to build a Little Free Museum Fri, 24 Apr 2015 20:34:43 +0000How Settlers Wiped Out the Caribbean’s Rodents of Unusual Sizehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/europeans-wiped-out-caribbeans-cat-sized-rats-180955096/The eradication of rice rats in the Lesser Antilles was part of a massive mammal extinction eventFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:52:48 +0000One Way to Visit Bhutan Is By Way of El Pasohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/one-way-to-visit-bhutan-is-by-way-el-paso-180955065/After making its debut at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, a temple from the Himalayan kingdom is uniquely reincarnated on a Texan university campusFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:41:17 +0000To Get Rid of Space Junk, Shoot It Down With Lasershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/get-rid-space-junk-shoot-it-down-lasers-180955097/Proposals to send debris-targeting craft into orbit are piling up, and one mission may soon start test firing from the space stationFri, 24 Apr 2015 18:22:09 +0000The Hubble Space Telescope Has Been In Space for 25 Years, Here's What it Has Seenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/hubble-space-telescope-has-been-space-25-years-180955094/The telescope has sent back some real beauties Fri, 24 Apr 2015 17:30:00 +0000How a Piano Dropped from a Helicopter Paved the Way For Woodstock http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/day-piano-fell-sky-180955093/The Piano Drop set the stage for the outdoor rock festival Fri, 24 Apr 2015 16:46:44 +0000How Scientists Are Monitoring Water Quality With Tamponshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-scientists-monitoring-water-with-tampons-180955008/The feminine hygiene products glow under ultra-violet light after absorbing pollutants called optical brightenersFri, 24 Apr 2015 16:11:23 +0000The Mystery of Colorado’s “Book Tosser” Has Been Solvedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/mystery-colorados-book-tosser-has-been-solved-180955092/The litterbug blames Amazon, arthritis for his habit of illegally discarding booksFri, 24 Apr 2015 15:00:00 +0000An Imagined Catalogue of Self-Assembling Furniture http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/catalogue-self-assembling-furniture-180955091/The furniture of the future will put itself togetherFri, 24 Apr 2015 14:18:56 +0000Japan Plans a Trip to the Moon by 2018http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/japan-plans-land-moon-2018-180955088/The lander will use information from Japan’s moon-orbiting satellite to stick the landingFri, 24 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000