Latest articles | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/latest_articles/RSS feed for with the latest articlesenFri, 27 May 2016 17:57:14 +0000The Best Way to Find IEDs?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/smithsonian-channel/the-best-way-to-find-ieds/A dog's sense of smell is 100,000 more sensitive than a human's. That's why the U.S. military uses them to detect improvised explosive devicesFri, 27 May 2016 17:57:14 +0000How Drunk Are You? Ask Your Bracelethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-drunk-are-you-ask-your-bracelet-180959255/The BACtrack Skyn, a wearable similar in style to a Fitbit, tracks your blood alcohol level in real timeFri, 27 May 2016 16:34:49 +0000Neanderthals Built Mysterious Stalagmite Semicircleshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/neanderthals-built-mysterious-stalagmite-semicircles-180959257/But why?Fri, 27 May 2016 15:53:21 +0000For One Day Only, Visit the Farm and Cryogenics Laboratory Trying to Save Endangered Livestock Breedshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-one-farm-is-trying-to-save-heritage-livestock-one-embryo-at-a-time-180959048/Enjoy a farm tour, cryogenics demonstration and a heritage-breed beef burger at Newport, Rhode Island's Swiss Village FarmFri, 27 May 2016 15:27:37 +0000Inside the Effort to Digitize Medieval Monks' Chantshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/inside-effort-digitize-medieval-monks-chants-180959191/Scanning and interpreting centuries-old manuscripts is a challenge because musical notation wasn't formalized yetFri, 27 May 2016 14:20:00 +0000The Merchant Marine Were the Unsung Heroes of World War IIhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/merchant-marine-were-unsung-heroes-world-war-ii-180959253/These daring seamen kept the Allied troops armed and fed while at the mercy of German U-boatsFri, 27 May 2016 14:13:30 +0000Five Landmarks Threatened by Climate Change http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-landmarks-threatened-climate-change-180959248/Will a warming planet destroy humankinds' most precious cultural treasures? Fri, 27 May 2016 13:52:43 +0000This Edible Supercapacitor Could Transform Ingestible Electronicshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-edible-supercapacitor-could-transform-ingestible-electronics-180959243/The materials for a new electronic component that could power a tiny camera sound more like breakfast than scienceFri, 27 May 2016 13:28:15 +0000Five Times the United States Officially Apologizedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/five-times-united-states-officially-apologized-180959254/These are a few instances where the U.S. admitted it had done wrongFri, 27 May 2016 13:00:00 +0000A Long-Lost Manuscript Contains a Searing Eyewitness Account of the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/long-lost-manuscript-contains-searing-eyewitness-account-tulsa-race-massacre-1921-180959251/An Oklahoma lawyer details the attack by hundreds of whites on the thriving black neighborhood where hundreds died 95 years agoFri, 27 May 2016 11:50:03 +0000