Latest articles | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/latest_articles/RSS feed for with the latest articlesenFri, 28 Aug 2015 18:34:41 +0000How Hurricane Katrina Redrew the Gulf Coasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-hurricane-katrina-redrew-gulf-coast-180956444/While storms here are nothing new, human influence helped Katrina make Louisiana’s ecological problems worseFri, 28 Aug 2015 18:34:41 +0000Laser Technology is Making Tattoo Removal Easier Than Everhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/laser-technology-making-tattoo-removal-easier-ever-180956443/Thanks to recent advances, the tattoo removal business has quadrupled in the last decadeFri, 28 Aug 2015 18:02:25 +0000The Fascinating Afterlife of Peru's Mummieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/fascinating-afterlife-perus-mummies-180956319/From atop bejeweled thrones and sacred mountaintops, the Inca dead continued to wield incredible power over the livingFri, 28 Aug 2015 16:48:10 +0000What Does Neuroscience Know About Meditation?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/what-neuroscience-does-know-about-meditation-180956435/ There are still many unknowns, but the practice seems to improves attention and memoryFri, 28 Aug 2015 15:30:00 +0000Confused Construction Workers Tore Down an Ancient Tomb and Replaced it With a Picnic Tablehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/confused-construction-workers-tore-down-ancient-tomb-and-replaced-it-picnic-table-180956433/Is the tomb's picnic table-like appearance to blame? Fri, 28 Aug 2015 15:30:00 +0000Meth Lab Injuries Are Increasinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/meth-lab-injuries-are-increasing-180956432/Makeshift laboratories can cause burns, respiratory problemsFri, 28 Aug 2015 15:00:00 +0000Could a New Nanomaterial Reduce Greenhouse Gases?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/could-new-nanomaterial-reduce-greenhouse-gases-180956423/Berkeley researchers have developed a way to split carbon dioxide into oxygen and carbon monoxide using a nano-meshFri, 28 Aug 2015 14:47:21 +0000A "Frozen" Summer Adventure Awaits You in Norwayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/disney-frozen-norways-southern-fjords-180956427/If the cold really does bother you, anyway, then visit the fjords in warmer monthsFri, 28 Aug 2015 14:34:03 +0000Studies With Shorter Titles Are Cited More Oftenhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/studies-shorter-titles-are-cited-more-often-180956430/Pithier titles may lead to greater impact factors.Fri, 28 Aug 2015 14:00:00 +0000It's a Boy! The Panda Cub Was Fathered by the National Zoo's Tian Tian (Video)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/its-boy-panda-cub-was-fathered-national-zoos-tian-tian-video-180956436/Zoo scientists say that their newly developed genetic test determined the sex of the pandaFri, 28 Aug 2015 13:55:01 +0000