Innovation | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/innovation/RSS feed for InnovationenTue, 16 Sep 2014 14:33:24 +0000Peek Behind the Scenes to Preview the New West Wing at the American History Museumhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/peek-behind-scenes-preview-new-west-wing-american-history-museum-180952708/After years of renovations, the museum begins a reopening of some of its galleries next summerTue, 16 Sep 2014 14:33:24 +0000What Idea From Science Fiction Would You Most Like To See Become Reality?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-idea-science-fiction-would-you-most-see-become-reality-180952696/Astronomers, writers and an astronaut weigh in with some interesting answersMon, 15 Sep 2014 19:21:22 +0000Researchers Trick E. Coli Into Making Propanehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/researchers-trick-e-coli-into-making-propane-180952651/European researchers have taken an important first step toward renewable propane, powered by the sunFri, 12 Sep 2014 19:03:16 +0000IBM's Watson Will Match Cancer Patients With Trials at Mayo Clinichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/ibms-watson-will-match-cancer-patients-with-trials-at-mayo-clinic-180952671/By pairing patients with trials in seconds, the supercomputer will help speed the pace of medical innovationThu, 11 Sep 2014 19:56:27 +0000The 5 Biggest Challenges to the Success of the Apple Watchhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/5-biggest-challenges-success-apple-watch-180952672/Even though wearables are on the rise, Apple's newest product has its obstacles, from limited battery life to a hefty price tagThu, 11 Sep 2014 16:50:48 +0000Vote for the Winner of the 2014 People's Design Awardhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/vote-winner-2014-peoples-design-award-180952652/Marvel at these breakthroughs in innovative design and select your favoriteWed, 10 Sep 2014 12:00:00 +0000Software Creates One Picture That Says It Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-software-creates-one-picture-says-it-all-180952632/Researchers at UC Berkeley have created software that averages image searches into one artistic resultMon, 08 Sep 2014 18:25:23 +0000Google’s Delivery Drones Will Airlift Supplies Practically Anywherehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/googles-delivery-drones-will-airlift-supplies-practically-anywhere-180952607/Project Wing, a development platform, completes test deliveries over AustraliaFri, 05 Sep 2014 14:23:29 +0000The Innovative Spirit: Changing Our World For the Betterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/innovative-spirit-changing-our-world-better-180952004/A special look at the innovative spirit at the Smithsonian Institution and beyondThu, 04 Sep 2014 19:53:20 +0000Sit Anywhere on a Chair You Can Wearhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/sit-anywhere-chair-you-can-wear-180952523/A Swiss startup has created a trim exoskeleton that lets factory workers perch for quick breaksFri, 29 Aug 2014 16:50:28 +00007 Ways Technology is Changing How Art is Madehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/7-ways-technology-is-changing-how-art-is-made-180952472/Technology is redefining art in strange, new ways. Works are created by people moving through laser beams or from data gathered on air pollution Wed, 27 Aug 2014 16:17:24 +0000Navdy Projects Apps and Text Messages Onto the Windshield of Almost Any Carhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/navdy-projects-apps-and-text-messages-onto-the-windshield-of-almost-any-car-180952467/A California startup is launching a system that puts maps, texts and calls right at eye levelTue, 26 Aug 2014 19:54:38 +0000Benjamin Franklin Worked Herehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/benjamin-franklin-worked-here-180952109/Step into the London house where the inventor, scientist and founding father lived and worked Mon, 25 Aug 2014 13:29:34 +0000Thomas Edison's House of Wizardryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/thomas-edisons-house-wizardry-180952108/A visit to the invention factory where Edison would earn the nickname “Wizard of Menlo Park” Fri, 22 Aug 2014 17:13:39 +0000Good-bye, Dry Cleaning. Hello, Self-Cleaning Cashmere http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/good-bye-dry-cleaning-hello-self-cleaning-cashmere-180952422/Researchers in Hong Kong have developed a nano-coating that cleans fabric when exposed to lightThu, 21 Aug 2014 19:27:12 +0000The Navy Tests Its Ships in This Indoor Oceanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/navy-tests-ships-indoor-ocean-180952431/New technology can precisely recreate eight open-water conditionsThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000The Invention of the “Snapshot” Changed the Way We Viewed the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/invention-snapshot-changed-way-we-viewed-world-180952435/A century before drones cruised the skies, American camera hounds made photography a personal artThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000What Lies Beneath Stonehenge? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-lies-beneath-Stonehenge-180952437/A new Smithsonian Channel show reveals groundbreaking research that may explain what really went on thereThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Here's What Happens When You Put Instant Film in a Microwavehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/heres-what-happens-when-you-put-instant-film-microwave-180952184/A German photographer made a name for himself by treating his photos like last night's leftoversThu, 21 Aug 2014 18:00:00 +0000Your Next Smartphone Could Charge Six Times Fasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/your-next-smartphone-could-charge-six-times-faster-180952384/A California startup is implementing faster, smarter charging for next year’s mobile devicesTue, 19 Aug 2014 15:08:34 +0000Multitask Like Never Before With These Robotic Fingershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/multitask-like-never-before-with-these-robotic-fingers-180952325/Many hands make light work, right? Well, MIT researchers have created a wrist-worn robot with a couple extra digits Tue, 12 Aug 2014 16:51:24 +0000Cigarette Butts Could Help Power Future Deviceshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/cigarette-butts-could-help-power-future-devices-180952305/South Korean researchers have found a simple way to turn toxic trash into high-performance supercapacitorsMon, 11 Aug 2014 19:51:26 +0000These Ear Buds Will Play Music and Track Your Heart Ratehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/these-ear-buds-will-play-music-and-track-your-heart-rate-180952303/Wristbands get all the attention, but souped-up earpieces can do a better job of tracking your body metrics when you work outMon, 11 Aug 2014 16:52:59 +0000Why Are Scientists Trying To Make Fake Shark Skin?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/why-are-scientists-trying-to-make-fake-shark-skin-180951514/Faux marine animal skin could make swimmers faster, keep bathrooms clean and cloak underwater robotsMon, 11 Aug 2014 12:58:32 +0000Google Thinks These 18 Teenagers Will Change the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/google-thinks-these-18-teenagers-will-change-the-world-180952293/The global finalists of this year’s Google Science Fair take on cyberbullying countermeasures, tar sands cleanup and wearable techFri, 08 Aug 2014 19:24:16 +0000Indoor Mapping Lets the Blind Navigate Airportshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/indoor-mapping-lets-blind-navigate-airports-180952292/A prototype system of an iPhone app and location beacons launched at San Francisco International AirportFri, 08 Aug 2014 15:00:21 +0000No Network? This Device Will Get Texts Through No Matter Whathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/no-network-device-will-get-texts-through-no-matter-what-180952267/The GoTenna smartphone accessory uses short-wave radio signals to send messages, no cell tower necessaryWed, 06 Aug 2014 16:57:38 +0000What a City Bike Needs: Handlebars That Let You Know When to Turnhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-city-bike-needs-handlebars-let-you-know-when-turn-180952229/Designers are transforming bikes with new tech to make it safer and easier to navigate city streetsFri, 01 Aug 2014 21:05:55 +0000How Solar-Powered Recycled Smartphones Could Save the Rainforesthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-solar-powered-recycled-smartphones-could-save-rainforest-180952214/A Silicon Valley non-profit is ready to give the forests of Africa and the Amazon ears to listen for loggers—and the ability to phone the authoritiesFri, 01 Aug 2014 16:32:01 +0000A Device That Counts Calories for Youhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/device-counts-calories-you-180952228/GE researchers are developing a system that calculates the exact calories in food using microwavesFri, 01 Aug 2014 14:43:48 +0000This Temporary Tattoo Can Unlock A Phonehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-temporary-tattoo-can-unlock-a-phone-180952199/Motorola and VivaLnk release an electronic sticker that replaces your passcodeWed, 30 Jul 2014 13:35:49 +0000How Do You Build the World's Tallest Water Slide?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-do-you-build-worlds-tallest-waterslide-180952069/From conceptualization to the first plunge, building the world's tallest water slide takes more trial-and-error than you might believeMon, 28 Jul 2014 15:09:01 +0000Airbus Demos A Near-Silent, Zero-Emission Planehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/airbus-demos-a-near-silent-zero-emission-plane-180952165/The E-Fan 2.0 is the first step on the road to all-electric and hybrid flightFri, 25 Jul 2014 19:39:14 +0000How to Plan the Most Beautiful Stroll Through a Cityhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-to-plan-the-most-beautiful-stroll-through-a-city-180952161/A team of researchers has used crowdsourcing to develop an algorithm that can map out the most eye-pleasing walksFri, 25 Jul 2014 16:03:37 +0000The Legacy of Hip-Hop Producer J Dilla Will Be Recognized Among the Collections at the Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/legacy-hip-hop-producer-j-dilla-will-be-recognized-among-collections-smithsonian-180952164/The late producer's mother announced she is donating his synthesizer and beat machine.Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:00:11 +0000Next-Generation Electric Cars May Never Need A Battery Swaphttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/next-generation-electric-cars-may-never-need-battery-swap-180951825/U.S. Department of Energy researchers pinpoint the reasons why rechargeable batteries lose their ability to hold a charge over timeFri, 25 Jul 2014 13:58:29 +0000Better Traffic-Light Timing Will Get You There Fasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/better-traffic-light-timing-will-get-you-there-faster-180952123/New algorithms from MIT researchers keep gridlock at bay by predicting traffic before it startsWed, 23 Jul 2014 15:46:37 +0000