History | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/history/RSS feed for HistoryenThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Russell Crowe Takes a New Look at an Old Battlehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/russell-crowe-takes-new-look-at-battle-gallipoli-180954962/The Australian actor/director's controversial film views the legendary Gallipoli from the Turkish sideThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Taking Stock of 75 Years of McDonald'shttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/taking-stock-75-years-mcdonalds-180954950/Has the original fast-food restaurant finally reached the end of its success?Thu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Beautiful Drawings by Darwin's Artist-in-Residencehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/beautiful-drawings-darwins-artist-residence-180954953/On the famous HMS Beagle voyage, painter Conrad Martens depicted the sights along the journeyThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000Why Nylons' Run is Overhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-nylon-run-over-180954954/They were a craze when they debuted 75 years ago, but have since been replaced by new social normsThu, 23 Apr 2015 18:00:00 +0000John Paul Jones and His Romantic Romp Through Parishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/john-paul-jones-and-his-romantic-romp-through-paris-180955059/After the naval hero gained acclaim in the American Revolution, he met many adorers in the French cityTue, 21 Apr 2015 17:39:37 +0000Why We Should Teach Music History Backwardshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-we-should-teach-music-history-backwards-180955053/Rock fans do their own investigative work to understand their favorite groups’ influences. So why can’t the rest of us get with the program?Tue, 21 Apr 2015 13:28:48 +0000170-Year-Old Champagne Recovered (and Tasted) From a Baltic Shipwreckhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/170-year-old-champagne-recovered-and-tasted-baltic-shipwreck-180955050/The uncorked bubbly goes from notes of wet hair and cheese to something spicy and smoky, enologists reportMon, 20 Apr 2015 19:00:00 +0000These Are Home Movies From Hitler's Vacationshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/these-are-home-movies-from-hitlers-vacations/Hitler's relationship with Eva Braun was a closely kept secret. If she wasn't such a home-movie buff, their vacations would have remained a secretFri, 17 Apr 2015 21:21:05 +0000How Einstein's Brain Ended Up at the Mütter Museum in Philadelphiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/how-einsteins-brain-ended-mutter-museum-philadelphia-180954987/Sixty years after the great scientist's death, his gray matter is on display Fri, 17 Apr 2015 18:32:50 +0000The Untold Story of the Vengeful Japanese Attack After the Doolittle Raidhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/untold-story-vengeful-japanese-attack-doolittle-raid-180955001/When the U.S. responded to Pearl Harbor with a surprise bombing of Tokyo, the Imperial Army took out its fury on the Chinese peopleWed, 15 Apr 2015 18:01:45 +0000What Booth Said After He Killed Lincolnhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/what-booth-said-after-he-killed-lincoln/John Wilkes Booth certainly saw himself as a dramatic figure in history. Upon shooting Lincoln, he jumped onto the stage and condemned his victim in LatinTue, 14 Apr 2015 20:24:34 +0000Only a Handful of People Can Enter the Chauvet Cave Each Year. Our Reporter Was One of Them.http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/only-handful-people-can-enter-chauvet-cave-each-year-our-reporter-was-one-them-180954981/A rare trip inside the home of the world’s most breathtaking cave painting leaves lasting memoriesTue, 14 Apr 2015 17:07:08 +0000How Samuel Mudd Went From Lincoln Conspirator to Medical Saviorhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/how-samuel-mudd-went-lincoln-conspirator-medical-savior-180954980/Banished to an island prison in the Gulf of Mexico, the doctor who set Booth’s broken leg saved dozens of lives in a yellow fever outbreakTue, 14 Apr 2015 12:50:58 +0000The Plot to Kidnap Lincoln?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-plot-to-kidnap-lincoln/John Wilkes Booth knew he had to act quickly to save the South. But his original plan wasn't to kill Lincoln—it was to kidnap himMon, 13 Apr 2015 18:17:33 +0000A Host of Relics from Lincoln's Last Days All Came to Reside at the Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/host-relics-lincolns-last-days-all-came-reside-smithsonian-180954832/The Lincoln collection at the American History Museum marks the horrific tragedy and the poignancies of a nation in mourningSat, 11 Apr 2015 11:00:39 +0000Why We Have a Civic Responsibility to Protect Cultural Treasures During Wartimehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/why-we-have-civic-responsibility-protect-cultural-treasures-during-wartime-180954887/With the recent deliberate destruction of cultural treasures in the Middle East, we remember the measures taken in the past to preserve our heritageFri, 10 Apr 2015 17:57:36 +0000What is the Nine Millionth Patent?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-is-the-nine-millionth-patent-180954928/The landmark announcement is part of the United States Patent and Trademark Office's celebration of the 225th anniversary of the Patent ActFri, 10 Apr 2015 17:29:59 +0000The Curtain Hasn't Closed Quite Yet on America's Longest-Running Puppet Theaterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/magic-strings-bob-baker-marionette-theater-180954908/Though its namesake died last year, the Bob Baker Marionette Theater is still hosting performances for audiences of all agesFri, 10 Apr 2015 14:46:21 +0000200 Years After Tambora, Some Unusual Effects Lingerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/200-years-after-tambora-volcano-eruption-unusual-effects-linger-180954918/Frankenstein, famine poetry, polar exploration—the "year without a summer" was just the beginningThu, 09 Apr 2015 14:30:00 +0000The Final Hours of John Wilkes Boothhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/final-hours-john-wilkes-booth-180954853/"I have too great a soul to die like a criminal," Booth once wroteWed, 08 Apr 2015 18:54:37 +0000The Night Abraham Lincoln Was Assassinatedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/abraham-lincoln-team-of-rivals-180954850/What happened on that fateful Good Friday eveningWed, 08 Apr 2015 18:23:27 +0000The Assassination of Abraham Lincolnhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/assassination-abraham-lincoln-180954794/A look back at the fateful night 150 years ago that changed American history foreverWed, 08 Apr 2015 18:19:48 +0000Two Eerie Medusa Heads Watch Over Turkey’s Waterwayshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/two-eerie-medusa-heads-watch-over-turkeys-waterways-1-180954883/Why the Greek monster stares out from an ancient cistern in IstanbulWed, 08 Apr 2015 16:04:11 +0000Where to Go to Visit the Oldest Breweries in America http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/celebrate-national-beer-day-visiting-oldest-breweries-america-180954894/To commemorate National Beer Day, throw back a cold one for historyTue, 07 Apr 2015 16:30:31 +0000How the India Pale Ale Got Its Namehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/how-india-pale-ale-got-its-name-180954891/A look to the hoppy brew’s past brings us to the revolution in craft beer todayTue, 07 Apr 2015 12:50:43 +0000Back to Brontosaurus? The Dinosaur Might Deserve Its Own Genus After Allhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/back-brontosaurus-dinosaur-just-might-deserve-its-own-genus-species-science-180954892/The popular name could be pulled back out of the scientific wastebasket, based on new analysis of dozens of related dinosaursTue, 07 Apr 2015 11:00:00 +0000The Year of Jackie Robinson's Mutual Love Affair With Montrealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/year-jackie-robinsons-mutual-love-affair-montreal-180954878/Before he became a major leaguer, Robinson spent a formative year in the more hospitable environs of CanadaMon, 06 Apr 2015 14:13:59 +0000The Gentleman's Agreement That Ended the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/gentlemans-agreement-ended-civil-war-180954810/When Generals Grant and Lee sat down at Appomattox Court House, they brought an end to the struggle that had consumed the nation for five, long yearsMon, 06 Apr 2015 13:52:49 +000014 Easter Inventions That Never Quite Took Offhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/14-easter-inventions-that-never-quite-took-off-180954816/This holiday take a look at these products, from egg coloring devices to tomb pendantsFri, 03 Apr 2015 13:37:48 +0000Where to See the Fabled Fabergé Imperial Easter Eggshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-you-can-see-fabled-imperial-russia-faberge-eggs-180954863/Remnants of a vanished past, Fabergé Easter eggs live on in museums and collections across the worldFri, 03 Apr 2015 12:05:43 +0000This Chart From 1790 Lays Out the Many Dangers of Alcoholismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/chart-1790-lays-out-many-dangers-alcoholism-180954777/Founding father Benjamin Rush was greatly concerned with the amount of booze imbibed in post-Revolution AmericaFri, 27 Mar 2015 14:39:28 +0000The Brief History of “Americanitis”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/brief-history-americanitis-180954739/More than a century ago, the experts thought that Americans worked too hard, putting their collective health at riskWed, 25 Mar 2015 13:00:00 +0000Who Were the First Yogis?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/who-were-the-first-yogis/Dr. Jim Mallinson has been studying yoga for years and has some interesting insight on the true origins of the practiceTue, 24 Mar 2015 21:32:58 +0000Where to Catch Tulip Maniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-catch-tulip-mania-180954717/The Netherlands isn’t the only place for glorious tulip displays Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:02:58 +0000This is the Carriage That Took Lincoln on his Fateful Trip to Ford's Theatrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/this-is-carriage-took-lincoln-fateful-trip-fords-theatre-180954568/As the April anniversary of Lincoln's last ride approaches, an historian recounts the president's other horse and buggie momentsMon, 23 Mar 2015 16:31:06 +0000The Underappreciated and Forgotten Sites of the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/underappreciated-forgotten-sites-civil-war-180954579/To commemorate the end of the war 150 years ago, here are fascinating locales that remind us of the conflict's sprawling impactThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:50:47 +0000Retracing the Footsteps of China's Patron Saint of Tourismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/retracing-footsteps-china-patron-saint-tourism-180954581/Travelers are discovering the Ming dynasty's own Indiana Jones, an adventurer who dedicated his life to exploring his country's Shangri-LasThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finally, the Beauty of France's Chauvet Cave Makes its Grand Public Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/france-chauvet-cave-makes-grand-debut-180954582/A high-tech recreation of the immortal artworks shines a new light on the dawn of human imaginationThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Remembering the Astrodome, the Eighth Wonder of the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/remembering-astrodome-eighth-wonder-world-180954585/Fifty years after its grand opening, the spectre of the Houston stadium still looms largeThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Marquis de Lafayette Sails Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/marquis-lafayette-sails-again-180954590/Now that the ship that the Frenchman took on his 1780 trip to America has been rebuilt, its time to revisit his role in historyThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Should We Be Wearing Blue on St. Patrick’s Day? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/should-st-patricks-day-be-blue-180954572/Before green came on the scene, blue was the color associated with the Saint and the Emerald IsleTue, 17 Mar 2015 16:34:14 +0000No One Really Knows What a Shamrock Ishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/no-one-really-knows-what-shamrock-180954578/The three-leaf clover is what everyone wears, but what species is it?Mon, 16 Mar 2015 16:09:44 +0000Indiana Almost Made Pi Equal to 3.2, and Other Pi Day Factshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/indiana-almost-made-pi-equal-32-and-other-pi-day-facts-180954521/As you celebrate the mathematical holiday, here's a history of notable moments in the irrational number's pastFri, 13 Mar 2015 13:00:00 +0000Humans Relied on Rainforest Riches 12,000 Years Earlier Than Thoughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/humans-relied-rainforest-riches-12000-years-earlier-thought-180954550/Fossil remains suggest that prehistoric people in Sri Lanka may have eaten monkeys and other forest speciesThu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000On Occasions Like This, I Envy the Dead: The St. Francis Dam Disasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/occasions-i-envy-dead-st-francis-dam-disaster-180954543/William Mulholland was the savior of Southern California until he wasn'tThu, 12 Mar 2015 12:59:05 +0000The Ridiculous World of Magna Carta Kitschhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/ridiculous-world-magna-carta-kitsch-180954515/Throughout the United Kingdom, retailers are going mad over an 800-year-old documentTue, 10 Mar 2015 16:38:37 +0000Who Was Edmund Pettus?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/who-was-edmund-pettus-180954501/The march to freedom started on a bridge that honors a man bent on preserving slavery and segregationSat, 07 Mar 2015 14:33:47 +0000Oldest Human Fossil Unearthed in Ethiopiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/oldest-human-fossil-unearthed-ethiopia-180954470/At about 2.8 million years old, the Ledi jaw may belong to "the stem for the Homo genus," according to its discoverersWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000