History | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/history/RSS feed for HistoryenFri, 27 Mar 2015 14:39:28 +0000This Chart From 1790 Lays Out the Many Dangers of Alcoholismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/chart-1790-lays-out-many-dangers-alcoholism-180954777/Founding father Benjamin Rush was greatly concerned with the amount of booze imbibed in post-Revolution AmericaFri, 27 Mar 2015 14:39:28 +0000The Brief History of “Americanitis”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/brief-history-americanitis-180954739/More than a century ago, the experts thought that Americans worked too hard, putting their collective health at riskWed, 25 Mar 2015 13:00:00 +0000Who Were the First Yogis?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/who-were-the-first-yogis/Dr. Jim Mallinson has been studying yoga for years and has some interesting insight on the true origins of the practiceTue, 24 Mar 2015 21:32:58 +0000Where to Catch Tulip Maniahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/where-catch-tulip-mania-180954717/The Netherlands isn’t the only place for glorious tulip displays Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:02:58 +0000This is the Carriage That Took Lincoln on his Fateful Trip to Ford's Theatrehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/this-is-carriage-took-lincoln-fateful-trip-fords-theatre-180954568/As the April anniversary of Lincoln's last ride approaches, an historian recounts the president's other horse and buggie momentsMon, 23 Mar 2015 16:31:06 +0000The Underappreciated and Forgotten Sites of the Civil Warhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/underappreciated-forgotten-sites-civil-war-180954579/To commemorate the end of the war 150 years ago, here are fascinating locales that remind us of the conflict's sprawling impactThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:50:47 +0000Retracing the Footsteps of China's Patron Saint of Tourismhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/retracing-footsteps-china-patron-saint-tourism-180954581/Travelers are discovering the Ming dynasty's own Indiana Jones, an adventurer who dedicated his life to exploring his country's Shangri-LasThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Finally, the Beauty of France's Chauvet Cave Makes its Grand Public Debuthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/france-chauvet-cave-makes-grand-debut-180954582/A high-tech recreation of the immortal artworks shines a new light on the dawn of human imaginationThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Remembering the Astrodome, the Eighth Wonder of the Worldhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/remembering-astrodome-eighth-wonder-world-180954585/Fifty years after its grand opening, the spectre of the Houston stadium still looms largeThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000The Marquis de Lafayette Sails Againhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/marquis-lafayette-sails-again-180954590/Now that the ship that the Frenchman took on his 1780 trip to America has been rebuilt, its time to revisit his role in historyThu, 19 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Should We Be Wearing Blue on St. Patrick’s Day? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/should-st-patricks-day-be-blue-180954572/Before green came on the scene, blue was the color associated with the Saint and the Emerald IsleTue, 17 Mar 2015 16:34:14 +0000No One Really Knows What a Shamrock Ishttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/no-one-really-knows-what-shamrock-180954578/The three-leaf clover is what everyone wears, but what species is it?Mon, 16 Mar 2015 16:09:44 +0000Indiana Almost Made Pi Equal to 3.2, and Other Pi Day Factshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/indiana-almost-made-pi-equal-32-and-other-pi-day-facts-180954521/As you celebrate the mathematical holiday, here's a history of notable moments in the irrational number's pastFri, 13 Mar 2015 13:00:00 +0000Humans Relied on Rainforest Riches 12,000 Years Earlier Than Thoughthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/humans-relied-rainforest-riches-12000-years-earlier-thought-180954550/Fossil remains suggest that prehistoric people in Sri Lanka may have eaten monkeys and other forest speciesThu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000On Occasions Like This, I Envy the Dead: The St. Francis Dam Disasterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/occasions-i-envy-dead-st-francis-dam-disaster-180954543/William Mulholland was the savior of Southern California until he wasn'tThu, 12 Mar 2015 12:59:05 +0000The Ridiculous World of Magna Carta Kitschhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/ridiculous-world-magna-carta-kitsch-180954515/Throughout the United Kingdom, retailers are going mad over an 800-year-old documentTue, 10 Mar 2015 16:38:37 +0000Who Was Edmund Pettus?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/who-was-edmund-pettus-180954501/The march to freedom started on a bridge that honors a man bent on preserving slavery and segregationSat, 07 Mar 2015 14:33:47 +0000Oldest Human Fossil Unearthed in Ethiopiahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/oldest-human-fossil-unearthed-ethiopia-180954470/At about 2.8 million years old, the Ledi jaw may belong to "the stem for the Homo genus," according to its discoverersWed, 04 Mar 2015 18:00:00 +0000Photos From the Battle of Iwo Jima to Mark Its 70th Anniversaryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/battle-of-iwo-jima-70th-anniversary-world-war-II-180954384/The battle for the Pacific island in the late winter of 1945 positioned the United States to invade mainland Japan, but at a costTue, 24 Feb 2015 13:28:24 +0000Documenting War for the First Timehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/documenting-war-for-the-first-time/As technology changed, cameras got smaller and color film got simpler, it became possible for soldiers to document the war raging around themMon, 23 Feb 2015 22:39:39 +0000Meet the Madam on the Mallhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/meet-madam-mall-180954371/Mary Ann Hall ran a successful brothel in D.C. for years, but it took a 1997 dig to tell the whole storyFri, 20 Feb 2015 18:55:28 +0000The Spiritualist Who Warned Lincoln Was Also Booth's Drinking Buddyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-spiritualist-who-warned-lincoln-was-also-booths-drinking-buddy-180954317/What did Charles Colchester know and when did he know it?Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Were the Terracotta Warriors Based on Actual People?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/were-terracotta-warriors-based-on-actual-people-180954321/To answer that question, archaeologists are looking at variations in the soldiers' ears Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000They Found Richard III. So Now What?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/they-found-richard-third-so-now-what-180954322/What the remains of the "hunchback" king can teach us about other English royals Thu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000When Steve Fossett Became the Magellan of the Skieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/when-steve-fossett-became-magellan-of-skies-180954323/Ten years ago, the pioneering adventurer took off in pursuit of a new record in circumnavigationThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Frightening Legacy of Typhoid Maryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-frightening-legacy-of-typhoid-mary-180954324/ With concerns about infectious disease in the news, a look back at history's most famous carrierThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000What the Newspapers Said When Lincoln Was Killedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-the-newspapers-said-when-lincoln-was-killed-180954325/The initial reaction to the president's death was a wild mixture of grief, exultation, vengefulness and fearThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Closest Source We Have to Really Knowing John Wilkes Booth Is His Sisterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-closest-source-we-have-knowing-john-wilkes-booth-is-his-sister-180954328/In a post-assassination memoir, Asia Booth Clarke recalled her brother's passion, his patriotism and his last words to herThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000Who Can Save the Grand Canyon?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/who-can-save-the-grand-canyon-180954329/A holy war is being fought over a proposal to build a $500 million commercial development, on the rim of America's natural treasureThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Blood Relics From the Lincoln Assassinationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-blood-relics-from-the-lincoln-assassination-180954331/Even now, 150 years later, objects from the murder of the president provide a powerful link to the eventThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000How the Photocopier Changed the Way We Worked—and Playedhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/duplication-nation-3D-printing-rise-180954332/Decades before 3-D printers brought manufacturing closer to home, copiers transformed offices, politics and artThu, 19 Feb 2015 19:00:00 +0000The Human Right to Speak Whatever Language You Want is Worth Celebratinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/human-right-to-speak-whatever-language-you-want-worth-celebrating-180954341/With an ever increasing lack of language diversity, There Needs to Be More Recognition of February's International Mother Language dayWed, 18 Feb 2015 20:42:10 +0000How Oregon's Second Largest City Vanished in a Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/vanport-oregon-how-countrys-largest-housing-project-vanished-day-180954040/A 1948 flood washed away the WWII housing project Vanport—but its history still informs Portland's diversityWed, 18 Feb 2015 14:45:24 +0000The Founding Fathers and the Women, Not Their Wives, Whom They Wrote Tohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/founding-fathers-and-women-not-their-wives-whom-they-wrote-180954278/These words today would raise suspicion if written between married men and their female friendsFri, 13 Feb 2015 19:46:01 +0000A Brief History of the Chocolate Pothttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/brief-history-chocolate-pot-180954241/How humans have consumed chocolate sheds lights on its significance to cultures and erasFri, 13 Feb 2015 19:45:18 +0000The Story of Saint Valentinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-story-of-st-valentine/Jesus died for sinners. This saint died for loversFri, 13 Feb 2015 18:02:56 +0000The Short Rise and Fall of the Crazy-for-Cocoa-Trade Cards Crazehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/short-rise-and-fall-crazy-cocoa-trade-cards-craze-180954113/In the late 19th-century, when you bought chocolate, the grocer dropped a delightful prize into your bag, a trade card to save and shareFri, 13 Feb 2015 14:51:35 +0000Five Spots for a Romantic Presidents' Day (or a Presidential Valentine's Day)http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/five-spots-romantic-presidents-day-or-presidential-valentines-day-180954231/These locations combine presidential history and romanceFri, 13 Feb 2015 14:10:29 +0000Ten Fascinating Presidential Facts to Impress on President's Dayhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/ten-fascinating-bits-of-presidential-trivia-180954227/Learn a new side of the Commanders-in-Chief, from whiskey seances and magazine cover boysFri, 13 Feb 2015 13:25:20 +0000What We Know About the Earliest History of Chocolatehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/archaeology-chocolate-180954243/We’ve learned things that could help today’s artisan chocolatiers improve their tradeThu, 12 Feb 2015 20:02:37 +0000How Chocolate and Valentine's Day Mated For Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-chocolate-and-valentines-day-mated-life-180954228/Tracing the lovers, the leaders and the ladies responsible for the pairing of chocolate to Valentine's DayThu, 12 Feb 2015 15:48:21 +0000Healers Once Prescribed Chocolate Like Aspirinhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/healers-once-prescribed-chocolate-aspirin-180954189/From ancient Mesoamerica to Renaissance Europe, the modern confectionary treat has medical roots Thu, 12 Feb 2015 14:00:00 +0000How the Backwater Town of Washington, D.C. Became the Beacon of a Nationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/how-backwater-town-washington-dc-become-beacon-nation-180954144/As the Anacostia Community Museum delves into daily life in a city at war, author Ernest B. Furgurson recalls the nascence of a city on the verge Wed, 11 Feb 2015 17:03:35 +0000The Home of Milk Chocolate and Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/the-home-of-milk-chocolate-and-beer/Two of the most well-known Pennsylvania pioneers have become household names, with factories that continue to produce two classic American productsTue, 10 Feb 2015 20:11:50 +0000The Rich and Flavorful History of Chocolate in Spacehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/rich-and-flavorful-history-chocolate-space-180954160/From vacuum-sealed pudding to Blue Bell ice cream, astronauts have been taking the treat into orbit since the dawn of the space ageTue, 10 Feb 2015 17:42:52 +0000The Surprising Raucous Home Life of the Madisonshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/surprising-raucous-home-life-madisons-180954205/One of America’s founding families kept their true selves for the friends and familyTue, 10 Feb 2015 17:22:11 +0000The World of Chocolatehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/world-chocolate-180954163/Both within the Smithsonian and in the broader world, the story of chocolate has many fascinating morselsMon, 09 Feb 2015 21:22:37 +0000Spanish Conquest of the Incas Caused Air Pollution to Spikehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/spanish-conquest-incas-caused-air-pollution-spike-180954187/A sample of Peruvian ice has revealed a surge in pollution linked to mining that wasn't exceeded until the Industrial RevolutionMon, 09 Feb 2015 20:00:00 +0000How to Lie for Your Lifehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/videos/category/history/how-to-lie-for-your-life/Helias Doundoulakis, a young WWII spy for the U.S., was sent to German-occupied Thessalonike to gather enemy secretsTue, 03 Feb 2015 17:19:03 +0000Why this 14th-Century Chinese Artist Is Having a Rebirthhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/why-this-14th-century-chinese-artist-is-having-rebirth-180954080/The rare works of Wang Meng, an artist with a brilliance for brushstrokes, bring millions at auctionMon, 02 Feb 2015 15:37:26 +0000Getting up Close and Personal with American Soldiershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/getting-close-and-personal-american-soldiers-180954048/A new photography exhibit takes a multi-decade look Wed, 28 Jan 2015 21:30:59 +0000The Coast Guard’s Most Potent Weapon During Prohibition? Codebreaker Elizebeth Friedmanhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/coast-guards-most-potent-weapon-during-prohibition-codebreaker-elizebeth-friedman-180954066/A pioneer of her time, Friedman was a crucial part of the fight to enforce the ban on boozeWed, 28 Jan 2015 20:30:12 +0000