Food | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/food/RSS feed for FoodenThu, 01 Dec 2016 17:07:03 +0000The Best Books About Food of 2016http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/best-books-about-food-2016-180961263/Looking for the perfect gift for the food lover in your life? Any of these suggestions will hit the spotThu, 01 Dec 2016 17:07:03 +0000This Isolated Australian Region Is Home to Over 100 Winerieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/isolated-australian-region-home-over-100-wineries-180961184/An Australian wine region with epic surfing beaches, a welcoming vibe and standout Cabernets and ChardonnaysFri, 25 Nov 2016 19:16:48 +0000New Book Clarifies Butter’s Spread and Chronicles Its Wars With Margarinehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/new-book-clarifies-butters-spread-and-chronicles-its-wars-margarine-180961165/The story of milk agitated into greatness Mon, 21 Nov 2016 15:36:32 +0000The Story of How McDonald’s First Got Its Starthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/story-how-mcdonalds-first-got-its-start-180960931/From the orange orchards of California, two brothers sought a fortune selling burgersTue, 01 Nov 2016 13:00:00 +0000Meet the 11-Year-Old Who Invented a Healthy Lollipophttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/meet-11-year-old-who-invented-healthy-lollipop-180960951/Made with plant-derived sugar alternatives, Alina Morse's Zollipops help reduce the risk of cavitiesMon, 31 Oct 2016 14:19:26 +0000A Taste of the Wild Side: Finding Local Flavor in Armenia’s Edible Highlandshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/taste-wild-side-out-yerevan-and-armenias-local-dishes-180960889/ Thu, 27 Oct 2016 18:32:58 +0000Rick Bayless Preaches the Gospel of Modern Mexican Cuisine http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/rick-bayless-preaches-gospel-modern-mexican-cuisine-180960911/The trail-blazing Chicago chef and cookbook author wins the second annual Julia Child Award and makes a donation to the SmithsonianWed, 26 Oct 2016 13:00:00 +0000Are Pumpkin Beers, Thank God, Finally on the Way Out?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/are-pumpkin-beers-thank-god-finally-way-out-180960892/Some breweries are slowing production, as the trend may be fizzlingMon, 24 Oct 2016 17:09:19 +0000Wacky, Wonderful, Wild Hops Could Transform the Watered-Down Beer Industryhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/science-and-history-hops-180960846/The diversity of hops reflects a diversity of tastes and traditions that are part of an extraordinary evolution in beerThu, 20 Oct 2016 19:05:09 +0000This Champion Pumpkin Weighs More Than a U-Haulhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/world-champion-pumpkin-weighs-1910-pounds-could-make-600-pies-180960829/At the annual Half Moon Bay Pumpkin Weigh-In, a pumpkin weighing 1,910 pounds took the crownWed, 19 Oct 2016 16:11:05 +0000The New Nightspots Transforming Havana's Social Scenehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/havana-cuba-nightlife-going-out-social-scene-cultural-travel-180960609/Chic is rapidly replacing gritty in many of Havana's newly imagined gathering spotsMon, 17 Oct 2016 23:03:01 +0000Ajiaco, Cuba in a Cauldronhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ajiaco-cuba-food-history-atlas-of-eating-cultural-travel-180960688/With origins in the island’s oldest culture, <i>ajiaco</i> is a stew that adapts to the timesFri, 14 Oct 2016 17:27:03 +0000