Food | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/food/RSS feed for FoodenWed, 17 May 2017 17:22:12 +0000How Coffee, Chocolate and Tea Overturned a 1,500-Year-Old Medical Mindsethttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/how-coffee-chocolate-and-tea-overturned-1500-year-old-medical-mindset-180963339/The humoral system dominated medicine since the Ancient Greeks—but it was no match for these New World beveragesWed, 17 May 2017 17:22:12 +0000On Restaurant Day in Helsinki, Unofficial Pop-up Eateries Take Over Everything from Home Kitchens to Tattoo Shopshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/restaurant-day-helsinki-unofficial-pop-eateries-take-over-everything-home-kitchens-tattoo-shops-180963276/ Fri, 12 May 2017 14:21:14 +0000Bespoke Produce? A New Farming Venture Tweaks Veggies To Suit Consumers' Needshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/bespoke-produce-new-farming-venture-tweaks-veggies-suit-consumers-needs-180963247/Bowery, a new indoor farming company, offers "customized" greens and herbsWed, 10 May 2017 16:05:06 +0000A Culinary Renaissance in the Israeli Countrysidehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/culinary-renaissance-israeli-countryside-180963116/Beyond Tel Aviv, towns are adopting enticing new approaches to cuisine that celebrate the history of the region and and the diversity of its peopleFri, 05 May 2017 13:20:00 +0000Is Champagne Still Champagne Without Bubbles?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/champagne-still-champagne-without-bubbles-180963114/In a storied part of France, a group of artisan producers is making this beloved wine the old fashioned way—sans fizzThu, 04 May 2017 12:45:00 +0000The Unsavory History of Sugar, the Insatiable American Cravinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unsavory-history-sugar-american-craving-180962766/How the nation got hooked on sweetsWed, 19 Apr 2017 16:24:21 +0000Tree Nut Allergies May Be Massively Overdiagnosed http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/tree-nut-allergies-may-be-massively-overdiagnosed-180962927/But don’t go for the jar of almond butter just yetTue, 18 Apr 2017 14:20:54 +0000The Science Behind Your Cheap Winehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/science-behind-your-cheap-wine-180962783/How advances in bottling, fermenting and taste-testing are democratizing a once-opaque liquidTue, 04 Apr 2017 15:48:57 +0000The Bittersweet Story of Vanillahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/bittersweet-story-vanilla-180962757/Today, less than 1 percent of vanilla flavoring comes from the vanilla flower. Is that a good thing?Mon, 03 Apr 2017 17:56:47 +0000