Food | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/food/RSS feed for FoodenFri, 19 Sep 2014 12:40:00 +0000Best Places to Celebrate Oktoberfest Other Than Munichhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/best-places-celebrate-oktoberfest-outside-munich-180952714/If drinking beer and eating schnitzel alongside 6 million people doesn't appeal to you, here are places to celebrate while avoiding Munich's crowdsFri, 19 Sep 2014 12:40:00 +0000In 100 Years, Maryland's Crab Cakes Might Be Shrimp Cakeshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-does-climate-change-mean-chesapeake-bay-180952690/Rising temperatures and a more acidic ocean may spell trouble for the Chesapeake Bay's iconic crabs, oysters and fishTue, 16 Sep 2014 20:34:48 +0000Four Handy Tips for Growing Your Garden on Marshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/four-handy-tips-growing-your-garden-mars-180952713/Is it possible to have a green thumb on the Red Planet? Perhaps, after you’ve mastered a few space gardening tricks Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:15:54 +0000Five Coffee Mysteries the Bean’s Genes May Crackhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science/five-coffee-mysteries-beans-genes-may-crack-180952614/The newly sequenced coffee genome might reveal the origins of caffeine and pave the way for better-tasting, healthier brewsThu, 04 Sep 2014 18:00:00 +0000Why Earthquakes Make Napa Wine Taste So Goodhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-earthquakes-make-napa-valley-wine-great-180952466/The soil that makes Napa Valley grapes so special also makes the region vulnerable to earthquakesMon, 25 Aug 2014 21:43:18 +0000These Sculptures of Giant Tomatoes Are Ripe For the Pickinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/these-sculptures-of-giant-tomatoes-are-ripe-for-the-picking-180952188/What physical traits do humans find desirable? Artist Jessica Rath looks in her grocery store's produce section for answers Wed, 20 Aug 2014 14:33:02 +0000How Dinner at a Food Court Has Become Something Exciting, not Excruciatinghttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/how-dinner-food-court-has-become-something-exciting-not-excruciating-180952367/A new trend across America’s urban centers has reinvigorated the nation’s taste budsMon, 18 Aug 2014 15:44:56 +0000Where is Your Closest Farmers’ Market?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/where-your-closest-farmers-market-180952238/Farmers’ markets are becoming more and more ubiquitous. Use this map to find the one nearest your homeTue, 05 Aug 2014 14:48:07 +0000Your Guide to Shopping at the Farmers' Market and Keeping Your Purchases Fresh at Homehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/how-pick-and-keep-your-summer-farmers-market-finds-fresh-180952224/The summer is prime time for shopping at the farmers market, yet, making those finds last can be a challenge Mon, 04 Aug 2014 18:39:54 +0000In Search of the Great American Beerhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/search-great-american-beer-180951966/Once considered unfit for brewing, wild American hops are making their solo debut on the beer market. Will it change the way we think of American beer?Wed, 30 Jul 2014 17:48:45 +0000How Will Japan Celebrate Summer Without Unagihttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/how-will-japan-celebrate-summer-without-unagi-180952183/The freshwater eel is now endangered, but who is to blame and what are the best substitutes?Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:52:36 +0000What Does Your Favorite Drink Look Like Under A Microscope?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/what-does-your-favorite-drink-look-like-under-microscope-180952013/Check out these colorful images of crystallized alcoholic beveragesThu, 24 Jul 2014 13:11:29 +0000