Food | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/food/RSS feed for FoodenTue, 20 Sep 2016 13:12:38 +0000The Founder of the Smithsonian Institution Figured Out How to Brew a Better Cup of Coffeehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/founder-smithsonian-institution-how-brew-better-cup-coffee-180960208/Almost two hundred years ago, James Smithson devised a method for better brewing. We recreated it.Tue, 20 Sep 2016 13:12:38 +0000Find Out Why Boudin Is Louisiana's Most Famous Sausagehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/louisiana-boudin-180960105/The state is studded with shrines to the rice-filled pork treatFri, 16 Sep 2016 17:48:27 +0000Inside Hong Kong’s Annual Milk Tea Competitionhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/hong-kong-milk-tea-competition-180960425/ Wed, 14 Sep 2016 18:50:22 +0000It’s Sherbet, Not Sherbert, You Dilettanteshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/its-sherbet-not-sherbert-you-dilettantes-180960347/The frozen treat has been mispronounced by generations of AmericansTue, 06 Sep 2016 16:01:07 +0000The Story of the Weber Grill Begins With a Buoyhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/story-weber-grill-begins-buoy-180960335/When metalworker George Stephen, Sr. put two halves of a buoy together, he didn't know he was making a charcoal grill that would stand the test of timeFri, 02 Sep 2016 14:56:20 +0000Here's a Food Wrapper You Can Eathttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/heres-food-wrapper-you-can-eat-180960287/Made from milk protein, it not only keeps food from spoiling, but it also could keep a lot of plastic out of landfillsTue, 30 Aug 2016 14:30:51 +0000Here’s an Ingeniously Simple Method for Making Bakailaoa Pil-pilean, the Traditional Basque Mealhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/heres-ingeniously-simple-method-making-bakailaoa-pil-pilean-traditional-basque-meal-180960245/Digesting the lessons that the Basque chefs taught at this summer’s Folklife Festival Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:20:13 +0000These Five Museums Put the “Culture” in “Agriculture”http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/these-five-museums-put-culture-agriculture-180960214/It's a lot more than just "tractor art"Mon, 22 Aug 2016 17:57:42 +0000Acclaimed Chef Christian Puglisi’s New "Farm of Ideas" Might Be the Next Big Foodie Destinationhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/chef-christian-puglisis-ambitious-new-project-farm-ideas-180960175/The Danish restaurateur is creating a place for food producers, chefs and foodies from around the world to gather and learnMon, 22 Aug 2016 12:30:00 +0000This Rio Restaurant Is Using Surplus Food From the Olympic Village to Feed the Homelesshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/this-rio-restaurant-using-surplus-food-from-olympic-village-feed-homeless-180960163/At Refettorio Gastromotiva, top chefs from around the world are cooking five-star cuisine for the poorThu, 18 Aug 2016 13:00:00 +0000Move Over, Community Gardens: Edible Forests Are Sprouting Up Across Americahttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/move-over-community-gardens-edible-forests-are-sprouting-across-america-180960024/These new urban forests let you pick your own produce. But will the concept take root?Tue, 16 Aug 2016 14:00:00 +0000The Unusual Origins of Pink Lemonade http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/unusual-origins-pink-lemonade-180960145/It’s a pretty scary story. It does involve clowns, after allTue, 16 Aug 2016 13:15:09 +0000Soil Has a Microbiome, Toohttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/soil-has-microbiome-too-180960088/The unique mix of microbes in soil has a profound effect on which plants thrive and which ones dieThu, 11 Aug 2016 14:00:00 +00003D Print Your Own Breakfasthttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/3d-print-your-own-breakfast-180960048/A team of researchers at Columbia University has developed a 3D food printer capable of printing and cooking multiple ingredients at one timeTue, 09 Aug 2016 15:50:37 +0000Japan's Most Mouthwatering Dishes Are Made of Plastichttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/meet-makers-plastic-food-180959989/Discover <i>sampuru</i>, the art of mind-blowingly realistic fake foodThu, 04 Aug 2016 17:01:52 +0000What Does a Beer Historian Do? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/what-does-beer-historian-do-180960000/The American History museum’s latest job opening made headlines. But what does the job actually entail?Wed, 03 Aug 2016 13:47:03 +0000Dive into a Pool of Sprinkles at the Museum of Ice Cream in New Yorkhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/museum-ice-cream-opens-nyc-180959870/Grab your spoons—this delicious popup will melt in a monthThu, 28 Jul 2016 18:35:17 +0000