Design | Smithsonianhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/rss/design/RSS feed for DesignenMon, 27 Jul 2015 15:35:02 +0000What’s the Deal With Google’s Sidewalk Labs?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/whats-deal-googles-sidewalk-labs-180955847/The tech giant's first move in urban planning is installing Wi-Fi hubs throughout New York City. Next, it could take on inefficiencies in public transitMon, 27 Jul 2015 15:35:02 +0000What It's Like to Live in This Smart, Energy-Efficient Home of the Futurehttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-its-like-to-live-smart-energy-efficient-home-future-180956001/Nine months in, a family of four adjusts to life in the Honda Smart Home, a testing ground for new technologies at University of California, DavisWed, 22 Jul 2015 17:40:17 +0000Seven Ways to Revamp Deserted Spaces Under New York City's Highways and Elevated Trainshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/seven-ways-revamp-deserted-spaces-under-new-york-citys-highways-elevated-trains-180955726/The Design Trust for Public Space reimagines neglected areas under the city's infrastructureFri, 17 Jul 2015 11:07:25 +0000A Look Into the Innovative Mind of One of the World's Most Inventive Architectshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/a-look-innovative-mind-one-worlds-most-inventive-architects-180955826/A new show at the Cooper Hewitt reveals the process behind designer Thomas Heatherwick's projectsWed, 08 Jul 2015 10:00:00 +0000In Hawaii, Old Buses Are Being Turned Into Homeless Sheltershttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/hawaii-old-buses-are-being-turned-into-homeless-shelters-180955700/A group of architects envisions a rolling solution to the state's homelessness problemMon, 29 Jun 2015 19:06:59 +0000Is Architecture Actually a Form of Weaving?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/architecture-actually-form-weaving-180955698/David Adjaye, lead architect of the National Museum of African American History and Culture, approaches building design as creating "fabric"Mon, 29 Jun 2015 14:45:10 +0000Barbers Are Giving Buzz Cuts to Detroit's Overgrown Lotshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/barbers-are-giving-buzzcuts-to-detroits-overgrown-lots-180955227/A new project funded by a Knight Cities grant has local barbers and landscape contractors working to revitalize vacant spacesWed, 24 Jun 2015 14:15:32 +0000Restaurants and Hotels Breathe New Life into Beautiful, Abandoned Churches and Monasterieshttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/abandoned-churches-reimagined-restaurants-hotels-180955611/Vaulted ceilings and stained glass windows adorn these restored and reimagined structuresWed, 17 Jun 2015 16:34:00 +00002 World Trade Center and the Promise of Green Skyscrapers http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/2-world-trade-center-and-promise-green-skyscrapers-180955584/New renderings of the tower show impressive sky gardens—a trendy feature that's difficult to pull offTue, 16 Jun 2015 16:07:24 +0000Sleep With the Fishes: The Best Places to Spend a Night Underwaterhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/sleep-fishes-best-places-spend-night-underwater-180955494/As the weather heats up, escape to these hotel rooms beneath the wavesTue, 16 Jun 2015 11:00:00 +0000What Is a Maker Faire, Exactly?http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/what-maker-faire-exactly-180955574/Billed as the world’s greatest show and tell, the DIY extravaganza might just make a maker out of youFri, 12 Jun 2015 12:36:42 +0000Ride This Bizarre, Old-School Elevator Before They All Shut Downhttp://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/ride-bizarre-old-school-elevator-they-all-shut-down-180955461/The paternoster elevators of Europe are weird, a bit scary and getting harder and harder to find. For now, there are still a few you can rideThu, 04 Jun 2015 14:10:18 +0000