1500 Brodercik St
Oroville, CA 95965
Oroville Chinese Temple Complex & Museum Website »
Built in 1863 to serve the largest community of Chinese north of Sacramento, this temple of treasures is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and also as a California Landmark. It was first opened to visitors during California's 1949 Centennial. Although it is now a museum, it is still an active temple and used occasionally for worship.
The main temple is unique in that it serves many eastern religions as “The Temple of Many deities (Liet Sheng Kong). As the area prospered, separate temples for Confucianism and Buddhism were added. In 1968, Tapestry Hall was built to display the extensive collection of embroidered tapestries, parade parasols, and other objects of beauty. A priceless collection of Chinese and American costumes is arranged to contrast the two cultures representing the decades from 1850 to 1930. In 2008, the Fong Lee Company Building was built to display artifacts from the medicinal herb sales and gold purchasing shop of the Chan family.
Participation in Museum Day is open to any tax-exempt or governmental museum or cultural venue on a voluntary basis. Smithsonian magazine encourages museum visitation, but is not responsible for and does not endorse the content of the participating museums and cultural venues, and does not subsidize museums that participate.